Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying to conceive/Planned parenthood/Assisted Reproduction Chat thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

Detectivfoxtrot thanks so so much for the lovely welcome :) I'm
    So sorry to hear about your hard times too (with having to take meds) I can't even begin to understand what you must be going through...
    Your information is great! I'm due my period on Wed & plan on trying your advise as soon as possible :) I'm hoping the reason I haven't been able to get pregnant again is to do with us trying on the wrong days.. Fingers crossed for next month!
    Massive hugs to you :) heres to us all getting great news soon x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 CassieD

This is my first time posting and i guess i am really just looking for some ladies that understand to chat with me. heres a little of my story.... one of my friends has children and never experienced a miscarriage and got pregnant first time on both her children. none of my other friends have experienced a miscarriage or our ready to start trying to get pregnant. So its really hard to talk with them about how i am feeling. They have been very supportive but unless you go through it you cant understand. I got married in September and to our delight we got pregnant on Honeymoon. I was 11 weeks gone when i discovered at a scan that i had a missed miscarriage and our baby stopped developing at 9 weeks. We were absolutely devastated. i then had a horrible few days at home because the Miscarriage clinic did not open on Friday and was told to come back on Monday. On Monday i was given the tablets to bring on miscarriage.took them Tuesday ended up been rushed into hosp Tuesday bleeding too much and stayed 2 days in hospital and ended up needing a D & C in the end. hardest time i have ever had in my life i never thought i could get through it when it happened 2 months ago. we were giving the go ahead 6 weeks after miscarriage to go ahead because i had had my first period and with a cycle that generally is all over the place. i used an ovulation kit and am just waiting now until the weekend to do a pregnancy test.. I am so desperate to get pregnant now and nervous as hell.. it is totally consuming me. every time i go to the toilet i am praying my period does not come its due this week... its crazy i never thought i would be like this.... its all just so hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

CassieD, I am so terribly sorry for your loss. It must have been awful, especially after the high of your wedding.
    I know what you mean about not realising it would be so hard. I suppose no one really expects to have a miscarriage, so its such a shock to the system when it does happen.

You're in good company here, hopefully you will find it helps to discuss it here. I find it difficult to talk to people about in 'real life' & find it a lot easier to open up about here.

Hopefully you wont have too long to wait til you get your positive result. Take care if yourself x

Well I had my ultrasound today, early indicators are pointing towards Polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS).
    The way the Doctor explained it to me, my ovaries have follicles that the eggs release from. Each month there should be one dominant egg, however all my eggs are the same size, so basically I'm not ovulating.

In one way I think it takes the pressure off this month, I know theres no real point getting my hopes up of anything happening this month, so in that sense I can relax.

I've to visit my GP on Friday to discuss it further, in the mean time I'm off to google PCOS to see what I'm in for.
    I've heard of it before, but don't have any idea what it entails. Wish me luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭dublinlady

Hey all, Hope everyone doin ok!
    Tigeress - hope you get a positive result soon, its heartbreaking month after month!
    Cassie, you're def in the right place! Everyone here understands how you feel, not everyone has had to experience a m/c (and hopefully wont have to) but i do know how you feel, i lost my baby at only 7 weeks and it completely broke my heart, still dealing with it now 7 months on. Have been trying since with no luck. Having people to talk to and to give you information is invaluable, so welcome to the thread!
    Caprill - i would maybe consider changing accupuncturist? Its just, well maybe im just lucky with mine, but she spends at least half the time talking to me and helping me to realise my feelings and how to deal with them, as a result i do feel more rational and less stressed (still v.stressed by other peoples standards....but in general better!!) really not even sure if its the accupunture thats helping or the 'therapy' im getting there!!

I had a lovely weekend away, drank and ate waaaaayy too much but thats another story :o
    Plenty of the deed done tho, so that will be day 10, 13,14,15,16 this month, i can do no more.....seriously i cant...cystitis is killin me!!:D;)
    Still sufferin with the anxiety a little, day 17 now, so im hopin i can keep a lid on it til day 30!!
    Also have a new weird one for ye!! :p Because of my coldness (in particular the worry of my cold uterus) i have been wearing curaheat period heat patches for the last few days, plan on wearing them for the next wee or so, they are only meant for when you have your period - for period pains and cramps, but all they do is heat the area up, i mentioned it to my accupuncturist who thought it was a good idea, so said id give it a whirl!

Anyway, babydust to all! It has to happen for one of us soon!!:)

Great suggestion with the heat pads DL, that definitely sounds like it could help :)

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Quins5

Hey Dublinlady I'm loving the idea of the heat packs! :D
    Great idea!
    Best of luck to everyone this month :)
    We're on hold for 3 months as I had to get the MMR boooo!
    Still having fun tho ;)

Thanks Dublin Lady...

I just did a pregnancy test well two today and they were positive worried now that i may just still have raised HCG levels in my system. had miscarriage 9 weeks ago. I have been researching on net but cant seem to get a proper answer. Trying not to get my hopes up today until i go to the doc in the morning... I really hope i am but terrified i will have another miscarriage. when i told husband today he didnt react like i thought he would. He was so excited about it the last time. he just said ah great.... dont get excited yet until the danger time is past... I am trying to stay positive and we are blessed if the doc confirms that i am in fact pregnant tomorrow. fingers crossed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

CassieD fingers crossed it will be a big congratulations tomorrow.
    I had my op yesterday, a bit sore today but otherwise fine. I've to go back again in two weeks and hopefully they have everything gone now. Doc said it turned out not to be a fibroid but a lot of adhered tissue so we hope that's it.
    On the accupuncture he said everything including my dry skin was connected, and my skin has just so cleared up, my face and hands actually feel soft. Now it could have to do with drip fluids yesterday but I don't remember them doing that before, so I'm putting it down to accupuncture. Basically cause I was cold everything was drying out, including my normal fluids down below :-) making getting pregnant hard.

Barbiegirl- hope you're feelin ok? Must be quite sore, wishin you a speedy recovery!

Cassie - really hope all is well and that ya have good news for us!! Fingers and toes crossed for ya!

Hi All,

Thanks for your kind wishes. I had good news at Doc today and I am pregnant. i cant believe it happened so soon. So blessed. feeling very emotional today. Completely different then last time i found out. I feel very scared and worried and happy at the same time but trying to not get too attached this time or excited.

Baby Dust x

Congrats congrats congrats :-) Delighted for you. Try to enjoy it i understand the fear but in all liklihood you'll be fine this time. :-)

CassieD - CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!
    Fantastic to read some good news on this thread, I am really delighted for you!
    Here's to a very Happy & Healthy pregnancy :)

I seen my GP this morning & she's referring me to a gynae to start a course of clomid. Still can't believe this is happening, I got pregnant twice successfully (ok one ended in miscarriage, but I was ovulating) & now my ovaries have decided to stop working.

This sounds stupid I know, but I thought fertility problems only happened to other people.

Are there any private clinics where I could get the clomid treatment? Or are they very expensive?
    The help it would give to ovulating aside, I'm in constant pain apparently due to the lack of ovulation & it has me worn out. I'm worried it might take a long time to get a referral to the local hospital. :(

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Big Congrats to you CassieD, wishing you a safe and happy pregnancy. :)

No baby dust for me this month - Got my period today. *sigh* 20 cycles and nada. Hopefully the meds are starting to work, will be getting my prolactin levels checked during the week so hopefully they will be normal.

Are there any private clinics where I could get the clomid treatment? Or are they very expensive?
    The help it would give to ovulating aside, I'm in constant pain apparently due to the lack of ovulation & it has me worn out. I'm worried it might take a long time to get a referral to the local hospital. :(
    The Merrion Clinic is where I go and IUI with Clomid trigger injections scans etc is €520 per cycle.
    Best of luck

Thanks a mill Barbiegirl, I googled & found there's fertility clinic right on my doorstep here in Kilkenny so I've mailed them to see what their costs/availability are like.

Do you mind me asking, did that €520 include initial consultation or was that additional?

That was additional €150 if memory serves me. :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Cap, Clomid is cheap, 30 quid for a six cycle supply. Unfortunately you fork out for the consultation (circa €200) to get it, and then the protocol is you need to be monitored on it. In the six months I'm on it I only got a transvag ultrasound once (€100). The transvag u/s proved that 50mg was working as they saw a dominant follicle. After that no more monitoring.

Please take my advice and take it going to bed. It can cause eye pain, headaches and severe mood changes (emotional/weepy). If you take it at night you will sleep through most of these side effects. These side effects only exist when taking the drug, not all cycle. Ask for the lowest dose (50mg). I was instructed to take it on day 2 to day 6, but more than likely you'll be told to take it day 5 to day 9.
    I'm with HARI Rotunda. They're ok but I've heard great reports about SIMS Dundrum. HARI are a bit stuck up if you ask me. I don't like their manner/attitude at all, and I'm not the first to have experienced that.

GL x

Thanks for the info on the Clomid treatment DL x
    Especially about taking it at night time, after the loss my gp put me on lexapro anti depressants & the side effects were similar.
    I took them in the morning & was in really bad shape all day long, whereas when I took them at night I slept off the side effects.

Its also really handy knowing what to expect. I was in a rush when I went to my GP Friday morning so didn't have time to discuss any of this with her.

I'm in Kilkenny, I seen on another thread in this forum that a few people have attended the fertility clinic here & it seems to be getting good feedback, so I'm going to give them a call Monday & see if they can fit me in.
    My gp is referring me to the local hospital, but I know already their gynae/maternity dept. is up to absolute maximum capacity because of the amount of births at the moment, so I have a feeling if I was to wait for that appt it could take a very long time.
    I'm not good with patience in matters like this :o

Hope ye are all having a good weekend. I'm going out tonight for the first time in ages. At least I can have a guilt free drink or two without worrying that it might be affecting my babymaking abilities!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Hi caprilicious, just want to add to the good feedback for the KK clinic. A friend of mine went there, had nothing but good things to say about the place and the staff. It took a while, but she now has the most gorgeous and mental twin boys. Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 spingler

Hi i am new to this so bear :eek: with me! i have just had my first round of ovulation induction, i am 36 and have my 37th birthday coming round the corner... we have being trying for our first child for two years now.. my god i never realised the heartache and trauma that is involved in this... keeping positive is so hard when every month you just get the dissapointments and a lot of pregnant friends.. well i had the hcg in dec, travelled in the ice for the experience but happily.. not bad at all, all clear, then because i got an 11 and 9.3 fsh and low progestrone in the bloods, we have just completed our first ovulation induction; because i guess it was our first exp of self injecting and using the gel, we found it very stressful.. now our two week wait is almost over and praying my period does not come, terrified everytime i go to the loo... keeping all crossed.. the not knowing and waiting is awful:confused: but if its a thing i got to carry on and have more cycles i will get stronger and more positive once i understand WHAT is going on with my body... on our day ten scan it showed i had two well grown follicles after the puregon injectables... wow what if i can report back with twins... well id would be so happy to be pregnant and have one. by the way its great to be able to share this, so many people have no idea how lonely this experience is

Hey Spingler,
    The two week wait is excruciating! Hope ur doin ok, i think the trick is to try and find a way to distract yourself. Ive been trying the accupuncture this month, its doing wonders for my mind!!! Im alot more relaxed even after just 3 sessions, i'd really recommend it! I finally am starting to feel like a normal person again (after m/c in august) and this is the first month ive started enjoying my life again and have been able to stop thinkin about ttc constantly. Still have 8 days til af due so we'll see if i can keep it up, but i really do feel now that i wont be as upset this month if it doesnt happen, i have the faith that it will soon, and in the meanwhile i want to be able to relax and be my old carefree self! For my sake and my husbands!!
    I really wish u the very best of luck this month, ill have everythin crossed for ya!

• Registered Users Posts: 24 kernaw

Hi Dublin lady,

Where are you doing the accupuncture? Do you find it expensive??

Thank you dublin lady, great that somebody can actually relate to me. I know you are right about keeping distracted, i spent tooo long yesterday thinking and picking my nails in dreamland about the prospect of am i or amn't i pregnant, felt quite distressed later in the evening but after a good chat to my hubby i chilled a bit...... Period didnt come today so far so fingers still crossed, best of luck to you, i get reflexology done sometimes and reike, i find it all so relaxing to... continue to have faith as will i...:)

round one proved to be a negative:mad:, tough but have brushed myself off and am going to embrace round two... this is going to happen........icon14.gif

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

I posted this on the prolactin thread, but didnt get any replies so asking here instead, where it might get a little more traffic.

I got a pm from someone who is looking for either a GP or Gynae Doc who will do all the necessary referrals for a prolactin issue in Dublin - preferably a female doctor.

She is not trying to conceive so fertility specialists are not really suitable and my doc, while she was brilliant in getting my prolactin referrals and tests in record time but is in Galway so its no good to her.

If anyone can recommend, you can either post on thread (if its allowed in the charter?) or I will happily accept PM's.

Thanks!

Many thanks!
    Neyite

Spingler - sorry it didnt work out this month, as you say you just have to try and keep positive, as you said - it will happen, the time just has to be right - i have faith in that anyway, when my baby is ready to come - it will, and ill be able to love it so much for as a result of having to wait and pray for it!

Gernaw - i go to a lady near portobello in dublin, i find her absolutely fantastic, its definitely working for me, whether or not it results in my conceiving i am still yet to see , but i know for sure its helping me to maintain my sanity during the process!!:rolleyes:

Neyite - sorry im no help, i know nothing about prolactin levels, and my gp sucks :p

I did my day 21 blood test today (on day 22) and got the results of my day 3 last week - which were all good thank god. Hopefully this set will show im ovulating ok, or even better...that ill be pregnant before i get the results!:eek: :pac:

Ah well - hope y'all doin well, x

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

Hi all, I hope everyone is well :) just finished my monthly visitor yesterday, so we're starting a new routine this month! I'm pretty sure I'm Ovulating on 19th so hopefully this month will be lucky :)

Dublinlady I know what you're going through.. We lost our baby at the end of July and life feels anything but normal :( i try to stay positive and upbeat for my own sanity but it really consumes me.. I want it so much and after 7 months since m/c I had hoped we'd be well into another pregnancy.. But sure we'll struggle on trying to stay positive and hopefully we'll be lucky! We're gonna give it till July before seeking further help from a doctor..

I'm really glad I've found this chat, I find it very hard to talk about this and for sine reason I feel I can let go here.. Thanks for listening ladies!

Baby dust to all :)

Tigeress wrote: »
    Hi all, I hope everyone is well :) just finished my monthly visitor yesterday, so we're starting a new routine this month! I'm pretty sure I'm Ovulating on 19th so hopefully this month will be lucky :)

Dublinlady I know what you're going through.. We lost our baby at the end of July and life feels anything but normal :( i try to stay positive and upbeat for my own sanity but it really consumes me.. I want it so much and after 7 months since m/c I had hoped we'd be well into another pregnancy.. But sure we'll struggle on trying to stay positive and hopefully we'll be lucky! We're gonna give it till July before seeking further help from a doctor..

I'm really glad I've found this chat, I find it very hard to talk about this and for sine reason I feel I can let go here.. Thanks for listening ladies!

Baby dust to all :)

Hey hun, best of luck with new cycle!
    It is great to have somewhere to come that you can meet people in the same situation as you, who truly understand, look at us, our m/c only a month apart. Its definitely a good thing to talk about how ur feeling and to let it all out, its ok to be angry and frustrated, just dont let it become all that you feel, allow yourself a small amount of time every day (20mins max) to grieve and feel sad if you need to, then for the rest of the day try and make everything positive! eventually you start to feel happier naturally, as your dealing with your loss but also moving on. This is the first month ive started to feel myself again. Ive accepted it may take me several months to get pregnant, and thus i dont have all my hopes hanging on this month, im telling myself its ok, it will happen, and trying to live my life in the meanwhile! OK ill prob be back on next tuesday crying cos i have me period, but the next day ill pick myself up and dust myself off, for my sake and my husbands, we cant let this take over our lives.
    Enjoy your trying (at least theres a fun part!!) x x

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi girls,

Got my positive on Monday! Really can't believe it. Just did a cheapie early indication test & there was a faint line. Did another cheapie & a clear blue yesterday morning & both were positive. Was only due on Tuesday, so literally 4 weeks now - very early!

Myself & my partner were in an accident on Saturday, so I was at the doc yesterday anyway, so told him about it. He used the ultrasound probe & said he thought there was a really faint heartbeat, not lining up with my own. Didn't even think they'd find one that early. So excited, but trying to hold back, because I know it's very early. Have never been pregnant before, so here's hoping all goes well!

Hoping that after the trauma of Saturday, everything turns out ok. The result was so welcome, because we were both so down after what happened.

Hi girls,

Got my positive on Monday! Really can't believe it. Just did a cheapie early indication test & there was a faint line. Did another cheapie & a clear blue yesterday morning & both were positive. Was only due on Tuesday, so literally 4 weeks now - very early!

Myself & my partner were in an accident on Saturday, so I was at the doc yesterday anyway, so told him about it. He used the ultrasound probe & said he thought there was a really faint heartbeat, not lining up with my own. Didn't even think they'd find one that early. So excited, but trying to hold back, because I know it's very early. Have never been pregnant before, so here's hoping all goes well!

Hoping that after the trauma of Saturday, everything turns out ok. The result was so welcome, because we were both so down after what happened.

Massive Congrats to you and your hubby!!! hopefully you will have a happy and safe pregnancy- all these good news posts are giving me a sense of optimism.. :)

I am back into the next cycle - currently on day 6 so gearing up for ovulation shortly. Staying upbeat.
    Had a crap weekend. Got my period on friday, so I was a bit fragile but not upset. Then we went out with friends, one of who started (yet again) about us getting a move on so I just had enough and told her straight that we were trying thankyou very much and told her I had a problem that was causing infertility. She then proceeds to tell me, uninvited, how easily she got pregnant on hers, then tells me that I 'need to forget about it and relax, and it will happen'.
    So thats what I was doing wrong then, eh?:rolleyes: Hundreds of euro spent on a fertility specialist,and tests months of feeling like a voodoo doll from all the needles, getting various implements inserted in my nether regions, and even though I've being diagnosed with a wonky hormone caused by a fricking tumour, thats not causing the problem, apparently, its me not relaxing.
    Im grand now, but lads, I had steam coming out of my ears at the time.