Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How do you like AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

DesF wrote: »
    It's obvious what the problem is, imo.

People are too scared to speak up because they are afraid of the moderators.

I'm making a stance here.

People are afraid that if they say anything that 'goes against the grain' of the AH Clique, then they will be castigated, maybe even banned by self riotous mods.

Forty odd percent is a very sizeable minority, to be fair, and should be catered for.
    Nobody is going to be banned for speaking up and voicing an opinion on how they feel AH should be. This thread is here for people to speak up and voice their opinions.

A few people have already pointed out some of the things they do not like about the place, but they have not been banned for it.

Criticism is welcome.

I don't think I can be any clearer on that aspect.

As for a clique, I don't think there is one.
    Everyone is subject to the same rules.

People shouldn't be afraid to speak up. Nothing is achieved through silence.

Hagar, that's a fair point.
    I'd rather err on the side of caution though and assume most of the ~40% would like to see change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,098 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Karoma wrote: »
    ....The catch-phrases, etc. : Can people please list which phrases they think are repeated too often? Yore ma is being dealt with. Any others? (We have a few that we think are overused but, as above, we want your input.)

That is all. God I hate that one and everyone says it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I would like to see less of the bodily functions / how many times a day do you.....threads

But then I'm probably talking ****e !:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Terry wrote: »
    Nobody is going to be banned for speaking up and voicing an opinion on how they feel AH should be. This thread is here for people to speak up and voice their opinions.
    Fair enough. I knew that, of course.

What I was trying to do is open up the debate, as you said yourself, the malcontents aren't speaking up, and in reality this thread is a love-in.

"Eye Heart The Mods" - well that's great and all, and fair enough of people feel that, more power to them for expressing that, but I reckon that because so many people have done this, the people who have 'complaints' (not really the word I wanted to use) are afraid that their points will be torn apart like a Feedback Fight Da Powah thread.
    A few people have already pointed out some of the things they do not like about the place, but they have not been banned for it.
    Again, fair enough.
    Criticism is welcome.
    That's nice to hear.
    tbh, I don't think it was unclear.

If people think there is a clique, then there is one.
    Hmm, I think you may be taking the wrong end of the stick here. I don't think anyone has ever said that 'more regular' posters to AH are treated differently by the mods.

But it is clear that there is a group of posters who post a lot in AH, this could be considered an AH Clique, could it not?

Once people get comfortabel posting among a bunch of regulars, a n00b who was previously a lurker may be slow to post his opinion in AH, for fear of being ridiculed. Of course, some people just come along and don't care what others think. Fair play to them.

In my opinion, there's not much can be done about this. If a regular poster starts slapping down opinions of n00bs, I've no doubt the mods would take a dim view.

Unless, of course, someone is acting the total numpty.
    People shouldn't be afraid to speak up. Nothing is achieved through silence.
    QFT :)

Am I still getting a pint on Sunday?

DesF wrote:
    What I was trying to do is open up the debate, as you said yourself, the malcontents aren't speaking up, and in reality this thread is a love-in.
    I know that you were trying to open up the debate.
    I was trying to help. :)
    I don't want to see a love-in. I want to see constructive criticism.
    DesF wrote:
    "Eye Heart The Mods" - well that's great and all, and fair enough of people feel that, more power to them for expressing that, but I reckon that because so many people have done this, the people who have 'complaints' (not really the word I wanted to use) are afraid that their points will be torn apart like a Feedback Fight Da Powah thread.
    I'd just like to point out that there will be no cats or manatees or whatever in this thread.
    This is AH, not feedback.
    If you can post in this thread, it means that you have not been banned for being a complete tool, and because of that, you will not be subjected to ridicule of any kind.
    DesF wrote:
    tbh, I don't think it was unclear.
    Ahh, sometimes I don't quite get the message across the way I would like to.
    DesF wrote:
    If people think there is a clique, then there is one.
    Fair point.
    I don't see one myself, but I understand that others might.

DesF wrote:
    Hmm, I think you may be taking the wrong end of the stick here. I don't think anyone has ever said that 'more regular' posters to AH are treated differently by the mods.
    It has been mentioned a couple of times in feeback.
    DesF wrote:
    But it is clear that there is a group of posters who post a lot in AH, this could be considered an AH Clique, could it not?
    It could.
    I view everyone the same way though.
    I don't care if you are a subscriber, moderator, Smod, Cmod or whatever.
    You play by the rules. If you don't, then you're banned. Simple as that.
    Not that I can ban an Smod or a Cmod, but I have no problem bitching them out if they screw around.

Those rules are open to change though, and that is why this thread is here.
    DesF wrote:
    Once people get comfortabel posting among a bunch of regulars, a n00b who was previously a lurker may be slow to post his opinion in AH, for fear of being ridiculed. Of course, some people just come along and don't care what others think. Fair play to them.
    Fair play indeed.
    It can be harsh at times.
    DesF wrote:
    In my opinion, there's not much can be done about this. If a regular poster starts slapping down opinions of n00bs, I've no doubt the mods would take a dim view.
    Things can be done though.
    I don't like to see new members being shot down.
    You are not your post count or your join date or anything else like that.
    You are your contribution.
    DesF wrote:
    Am I still getting a pint on Sunday?
    Yes.

Oh, your post was not edited by me.
    I was using the edit option and posting in the quick reply thingy. I hit save on the edit thingy instead of cancel, which is why it says it was edited by me.

Oh, your post was not edited by me.
    I was using the edit option and posting in the quick reply thingy. I hit save on the edit thingy instead of cancel, which is why it says it was edited by me.
    :eek: :eek:

Mod oppression!

You edited everything bad I said about you and the other mods out of my post, then you quoted the 'new' stuff. That's low Terry. Low.

Damn. I was rumbled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I would like to see less of the bodily functions / how many times a day do you.....threads

But then I'm probably talking ****e !:)

i was supprised by them also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,626 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tazdedub

Can there be bans for anyone who uses "your ma" in post on AH? I think a lot of people on AH would be glad to see the back of it.

Tazdedub wrote: »
    Can there be bans for anyone who uses "your ma" in post on AH? I think a lot of people on AH would be glad to see the back of it.

Can their be bans of people who didn't read the charter before posting ?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=53864771&postcount=8

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I think someone has already gotten banned or infracted for saying yore ma for no reason other than to be the first to say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Two infractions were handed out last night. There have been other warnings and possibly infractions. It's not something we want to ban people for outright (It seems a bit harsh) but it is something we will stamp out and we will ban for if we must.

Yore Ma is out, YORE MAs is in and we even serve beer there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

how many warnings do you get before you are banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

MooseJam wrote: »
    how many warnings do you get before you are banned

It depends on what the warnings are for and whether you've heeded them. It's subjective really. Sometimes we warn people when we think a ban for something would be overly harsh and to give people a chance to cop on a bit without removing their access to the forum etc. It's up to a moderator's discretion over when to warn, infract or ban someone.

Ideally we don't want to ban people, it's hassle for us and them. Warnings and infractions allow us to nudge people away from stuff that will get them banned without affecting their ability to post and so on. Banning people also creates more "disruption" in a forum and again ideally we'd like to never have to get involved but that's not going to happen on a forum this size with such a high number of users coming and going, so we try to keep the disruption for everyone at a minimum etc.

Tazdedub wrote: »
    The thing is, it's an old joke and some still find it funny.

It's grand if it's used in the proper context.
    Just throwing it in there for the sake of it is frowned upon.

What they said.
    The infractions will let us keep track of who we warn - I don't want to have to warn the same people again - it's just as easy to hit the ban button.

DesF wrote:
    Is it possible that there are Fight Da Powah types that are quite happy to click something and, if pressed, to whine and rant without ever providing anything constructive? As ever, you are invited to post whatever you want (with obvious exceptions) as long as you can defend your position. If one cannot defend what they write - is that a problem with everyone else or with them/their view?

To re-iterate: Criticism is welcome. It is listened to. It may be questioned so you may be expected to defend it - we might get somewhere. We will not ban someone for criticising; especially when it was requested.

As for the clique thing: Some people think there is one and are afraid of it. Some people think there is one and their a part of it. These attitude s go beyond AH and beyond Boards.ie - there's not much I can do about it other than make it clear: we welcome everyone's posts unless they're being a git. If others are being gits - hit the report post function. There is definitely no moderator clique - it's very rare that AH moderators all agree with each other. We often discuss things and reach common ground or simply convince others to see another view.

Karoma wrote:
    it's very rare that AH moderators all agree with each other. We often discuss things and reach common ground or simply convince others to see another view.
    That's true.

Earlier today I banned two people.

I was called on it by a couple of the other mods.
    Nothing serious.
    They just thought I had made an error in the length of the bans given.

We do discuss these things though and none of us are infallible.
    We are open to question and we will respond to reasonable requests.
    Just don't start bitching and moaning about something without contacting at least one of us first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I was called on it by a couple of the other mods.
    Nothing serious.
    They just thought I had made an error in the length of the bans given.

To be fair, giving someone a permanent ban from AH just because they started a Dublin thread was a tad harsh.

nesf wrote: »
    To be fair, giving someone a permanent ban from AH just because they started a Dublin thread was a tad harsh.

Hey! After a million reported posts, we just do whatever the **** the same reporter says without questioning on 1 million and one... It's not Terry's fault; it's policy.

nesf wrote: »
    Hey! After a million reported posts, we just do whatever the **** the same reporter says without questioning on 1 million and one... It's not Terry's fault; it's policy.

I'd gladly do it again.
    Damn Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

It's obvious what the problem is, imo.

People are too scared to speak up because they are afraid of the moderators.

really?

tbh, im shocked at that statement. if this is true then we need to make some drastic changes.
    why do you think people are afraid of the moderators?

People are afraid that if they say anything that 'goes against the grain' of the AH Clique, then they will be castigated, maybe even banned by self riotous mods.

the AH clique?

hmmmmm, well, there are lots of people here who post ona very regular basis, who know each other. im not sure what you want the mods to do about that? limit the amount of posting people do?
    perhaps stop users from meeting up off line?

as for being banned by self righteous mods, again, im shocked. i have selected each and every one of the mods that are on AH. and i have no problems with them.

i do have a huge issue with many of the mods on this site. i do think they are self righteous, or over zealous in their moderation. but i dont feel that it applies to this forum. hell, i have even banned some AH mods from this forum.

dont think that mods are above the law here. they arent.

and while i am aware that mods get really fed up of the same crap over and over again, and we make mistakes, i dont think users are banned for holding an opinion. again, id be shocked if this was any sort of a regular occurance.

Forty odd percent is a very sizeable minority, to be fair, and should be catered for.

it is, but at the same time, if we dont get feedback, how are we supposed to know what to do for this forum?
    it may be that 40% of the users are fed up of threads like 'how do you clean your bum'. if thats the reason, then i can live with it. if 40% of the users here feel that changes are needed because all the mods are dicks, then we need to do something serious about it.

and i have yet to see anyone really make any suggestion in that direction.

well, again,. we cant help what people post.

please please please understand we are not responsible for the direction that threads take.
    i put this up as a way of reacting to users needs. if everyone has turned this into a 'we love the mods', then thats relevant feedback as far as im concerned. just becuase you dont like it, doesnt mean its not valid for us. it tells us that lots of people like the mods. and thats good.

you see it as some sort of a negative. it just goes to show that we actually cant please all of the people all of the time. right?

good. because they are not.

so what? i dont see what they point of your argument is here. people post on lots of forums.

yes, and lots of regulars get smacked down but the 'mob'.

what do you suggest we do?

i have to admit, i dont really see it myself. people are allowed to debate, discuss, agree and disagree with other users opinions.
    does disagreeing with another peorson constitute a 'smackdown'?

Unless, of course, someone is acting the total numpty.

gosh, that would never happen on AH :)

karmoa wrote:
    To re-iterate: Criticism is welcome. It is listened to. It may be questioned so you may be expected to defend it - we might get somewhere. We will not ban someone for criticising; especially when it was requested.

QFT.

but i would like to especially point out the bit about 'it will be questioned'.

its debate. ive been a mod for 10years. i like to think i know something about it, but i still ask for input from everyone, because i believe that things can always be done better.
    there are many rules in place for many reasons, and if someone doesnt like something, i will always ask for reasons and evidence for an opinion.
    and i will always tell people why i dont think something will work, or why something is the way it is.

that doesnt mean we havent listened, or that we dont take on board what people say if their suggestion isnt put in place immediately.

persaonlly, i want to see what this other 40% have to say about whats wrong with AH.

WWM.

Please. Did you even look at the way I voted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

WWM.

Please. Did you even look at the way I voted?

i reponded to your points that you put up.

what has that got to do with how you voted?

really?

tbh, im shocked at that statement. if this is true then we need to make some drastic changes.
    why do you think people are afraid of the moderators?

Afraid, hmm, maybe not. Possibly a poor choice of words.

Look at it this way.

Now, more regular users will know and accept that the AH, Carlow IT, Open Source, and whatever other random forum you care to mention, are seperate entities of the wider community.

Some people, however, think that once they see a username in BOLD that they are a Mod of The Site, not just the forum they are assigned to. I, myself, have received PMs from various users since I became a mod asking, among other things, why they were banned from Forum X, how to subscribe to boards.ie etc etc.

I'm just getting to my point now. Go to any feedback thread that has descended into Cat Pictures. The vast majority of people who have posted cat pics, also have their name in BOLD.

It doesn't matter if the OP had a valid point or not. All a user will see is yet another feedback thread descend into chaos, and the OP subjected to ridicule. It doesn't matter if it was deserved or not, it doesn't matter if you, me or DeVore thought it was deserved or not, what matters, imo, is the fact that it may make even one user from commenting on this thread in anything that could be construed as a negative way.

Why bother, if all that is going to happen if a piss taking farce, and no matter what a user posts to get their point across will be deconstructed and flamed?

the AH clique?

hmmmmm, well, there are lots of people here who post ona very regular basis, who know each other. im not sure what you want the mods to do about that? limit the amount of posting people do?
    perhaps stop users from meeting up off line?

Look, I never said a clique was a bad thing, did I? I didn't even imply it.

I don't want the mods to do anything about it, in fact, it should be encouraged imo. Isn't that what boards.ie is about. Isn't that why there's a Boards Beers this very weekend?

Fact remains, that there could possibly be seen to be a clique on AH, and some people will feel that they have no place engaging.

As I said other users will just sign up and post away. More power to them, as I've already said by the way, and I wish everyone would just do that. Unfortunately not everyone is the same.

as for being banned by self righteous mods, again, im shocked. i have selected each and every one of the mods that are on AH. and i have no problems with them.

Yeah, that was a tongue in cheek remark tbh. I spelled it 'riotous' on purpose. :)
    i do have a huge issue with many of the mods on this site. i do think they are self righteous, or over zealous in their moderation. but i dont feel that it applies to this forum. hell, i have even banned some AH mods from this forum.
    Well that's neither here nor there. Every mod is aware that they are no longer mods outside of their own forums. If they choose to act the prick, they deserve to be banned. Simple.
    dont think that mods are above the law here. they arent.
    And quite right too. Mods should be seen to be even more within the bounds imo. No mod should be giving trouble to another.
    and while i am aware that mods get really fed up of the same crap over and over again, and we make mistakes, i dont think users are banned for holding an opinion. again, id be shocked if this was any sort of a regular occurance.
    it is, but at the same time, if we dont get feedback, how are we supposed to know what to do for this forum?
    it may be that 40% of the users are fed up of threads like 'how do you clean your bum'. if thats the reason, then i can live with it.

Well, I don't know what the 40% are thinking, any more than you do.

What I attempted to do was buck the trend of this thread, maybe get some of the 40% to post. I'd like to see for myself also.
    if 40% of the users here feel that changes are needed because all the mods are dicks, then we need to do something serious about it. and i have yet to see anyone really make any suggestion in that direction.
    I don't think there is anh AH mod that could be thought of as a dick. I'd be shocked if that was the case also.

But a user being 'afraid' of a mod does not necessarily equate to them thinking that mod is a dick.
    well, again,. we cant help what people post.
    Nope, you can't. If people only want to vote and not tell you why they are unsatisfied, or what changes they want made, or whatever, you can't help that.

All I was trying to do, as I have stated in this post and another, was trying to show that a fairly regular AH Poster has no problem in posting something which isn't entirely complimentary to AH. I was trying to stimulate the the debate which you started. I take it that was the point of this thread.
    please please please understand we are not responsible for the direction that threads take.
    i put this up as a way of reacting to users needs.
    Of course mods aren't responsible for that, it's the users.

if everyone has turned this into a 'we love the mods', then thats relevant feedback as far as im concerned.
    Indeed it is, and it would seem to be the majority opinion, Fair enough. I have no problem with that, none at all. In fact, it really warms my heart to see that so many people enjoy posting on AH as much as I do.
    just becuase you dont like it, doesnt mean its not valid for us. it tells us that lots of people like the mods. and thats good.
    Wha...?!?:confused:

Who says I don't like it? Jesus, that was a major leap to make there WWM. I simply posted in this thread in an attempt to get some of the 40% to post. I postulated what some of their issues may be. In the hope that either

1. They'd agree with me and post to let you know
    2. They wouldn't agree with me, but post what their actual issues are.
    you see it as some sort of a negative. it just goes to show that we actually cant please all of the people all of the time. right?
    Erm...where did I say it was negative? Please, I'm really confused at this turn in your tone.

Another AH mod copped immediately why I had posted.

Sure, you can't please everyone. I don't think anyone expects that.

but if by posting I encourage even one of the 40% to post their issue, and maybe get it addressed then I done good, right?
    good. because they are not.
    I know. And I never suggested otherwise.
    so what? i dont see what they point of your argument is here. people post on lots of forums.
    Yes, and there's a Soccer Clique, there's a Broadband Clique, there's a Feedback Clique, there's a Carlow IT Clique.

Some people don't feel comfortable upsetting the applecart.

There is nothing anyone can do about that, alls I was pointing out is that it was a possible issue one of the 40% may have had. Possibly not. You clearly disagree, but isn't that what discussion forums are all about?
    yes, and lots of regulars get smacked down but the 'mob'.

what do you suggest we do?
    I suggest you do nothing.

I have no issue there. As I've said many times. You know whay I posted at this stage, I won't repeat it again.

i have to admit, i dont really see it myself. people are allowed to debate, discuss, agree and disagree with other users opinions.

Er, yeah, that's why I said 'if' it happened, it would have a dim view taken of it.

does disagreeing with another peorson constitute a 'smackdown'?.
    Yes*, and you seem to have smacked me down from a height here. :)

*obviously not.

persaonlly, i want to see what this other 40% have to say about whats wrong with AH.
    We both want the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

My eyes, can someone disable the multi quote thingamajig. 19 quotes!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Don't think it would make any differnce on this occasion Hagar.

I've voted 'Nope - Its fine the way it is'

I think the mods do a great job TBH. It's not the mods job to dictate what can be discussed or not discussed*

Crap threads pop up because, well..... some people talk crap.

You can please some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all the time.

*Within reason

Hagar wrote: »
    My eyes, can someone disable the multi quote thingamajig. 19 quotes!

Apologies, but I didn't want to post a series of comments without giving them some context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Didn't read the whole thread, so not sure if someone mentioned it yet, but, if not...

I like After Hours dipped in hot ice cream, and smothered all over yore ma!

=-=

Oh, and when can we bring in the cats? I think DesF wants a cute cuddly kitten:D