Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phrases and words that annoy you

• 09-08-2007 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

And by phrases I generally mean Americanisms. Generally you dont hear them much in the real world but theres a shocking amount of boards folk who use them:

Sausagefest- meh :confused: I dunno, theres just something so California surfer cowabunga dude about it that makes me annoyed.

Fcuk buddy- this is Dublin. Not Manhattan with the Sex in the City crowd. Shes not a fcuk buddy, shes a bird you are occasionally poking but who you arent going out with because she isnt the best looking. Saying fcuk buddy neither makes her better looking nor makes you trendier, it merely makes you a sell out and poser.

Whos humping an ugly piece.

QFT- alright, its net exclusive, but Ive only seen it over the last few months and its retarded.

"Mom"- or more specifically, Irish people referring to the oul one as Mom.

"Random"- as in "this is so, like, random". Only heard it within the past year, and only from college students or D4s, who generally seem to use it to describe anything that is unplanned e.g. "wow, this is like, such a random party" or "this night is, like, sooo random". Where did it come from? Wrecks me tits.

Any more? hmm, I was discussing this with a mate earlier and came up with at least six :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

"Going forward"
    "We'll touch base"
    "Basically ..." and then go on to give anything but a basic explanation

... and people who end sentences, but raise their voices as if it's a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I hate when people say "like" and "you know?" every five words, **** me it's annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Hate it when people say irregardless instead of regardless. Where the f*ck did the extra IR come from?

Also people who say literally in a sentence, when the sentence is something as stupid as "It literally rained cats and dogs" - No it f*cking didn't because thats impossible!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭BenjAii

Americanisms if used sparingly can be tolerable, but any Irish person using Mom, ugghhh >wince<

I find repeated, like, use of the phrase, like, can be, like, really, like, annoying ...

Especially if said person is on the Dart, speaking into a phone loudly beside me in a really grating D4 accent - please go away, hide yourself & die, quickly .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Fcuk buddy- this is Dublin. Not Manhattan with the Sex in the City crowd. Shes not a fcuk buddy, shes a bird you are occasionally poking but who you arent going out with because she isnt the best looking. Saying fcuk buddy neither makes her better looking nor makes you trendier, it merely makes you a sell out and poser.

I see, so if one of your friends asks what the relationship between you and a certain girl are, instead of simply and clearly saying "she's my **** buddy" you say "she's a bird I am occasionally poking but who I am not going out with because she isnt the best looking"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

ned78 wrote:

Remember completeely bricking it in a promotion interview, because I had a mental blank of things to say I used the word "basically" to use up time while i thought of ways to end my sentences :( I was all psyched up and ready going in, but the second interviewer was running 5 minutes late, by the time she arrived I lost the confident buzz and nervously rabbited through the thing for the next 15 minutes.

Business spiel like the aforementioned, theres a game somewhere called Bollix Bingo or something similiar where the object is to cross off a spot whenever some corporate suit uses the usual crap in his presentation :)

About a year ago I read some article re a survey of peoples opinions of various phrases, "at the end of the day" is the most annoying phrase people use. Before reading this i was completely neutral to it, for some reason after reading it and ever since people saying it really gets to me, I even find myself counting how many times they say it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

ned78 wrote:
    "Going forward"
    "We'll touch base"

... and people who end sentences, but raise their voices as if it's a question.

Thank the corporate world for those like 'push the envelope', etc.:) Irish people using Mom is terribly annoying. Time to turn off the telly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

one that annoys me and i think is exclusively Irish is " inanyways" ....

Same difference :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Heard a D4 type on RTE using the words "I was all on my tobler" instead of saying I was all on my own. Annoying ....

The most annoying phrase in human history is, "I bought this here..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

O dear, i use most of the phrases in this here thread :p
    Sausagefest
    Don't use it often but do use it.
    Fcuk buddy- this is Dublin.
    Well i would use it if i had one :p
    "Mom"-
    I always colled my mom mom or sometimes mother when i need something.
    I also call my dad dad.
    That said i wasnt born here so ill use that as an excuse.
    "Random"
    Guilty again though i wouldnt call a party random, i'd generally use it when someone says something that was well random (ie no bearing on conversation) or something that was really unexpected.

I hate all buzz words, generally cos ppl saying them dont really know wtf they talking about.

Also i really really hate the words "ma" and "da".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

i hate when people refer to bed as the scratcher,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭UnReg123

"Will you shift me" - means will you meet/makeout etc. with me
    I HATE that phrase!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

UnReg123 wrote:
    "Will you shift me" - means will you meet/makeout etc. with me
    I HATE that phrase!!!!

Haha, haven't heard that since primary school. :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

What the hell is wrong with Mom?? What did you call her? :rolleyes:

I can't stand 'Craic', and 'Quare' (not sure of the spelling for that) as in 'We had quare good craic last night'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

All of these words....like. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

"Savage"

"Aw man thats savage!!"

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Awful Scut Mk2

tallus wrote:
    Heard a D4 type on RTE using the words "I was all on my tobler" instead of saying I was all on my own. Annoying ....

The attempts of Irish people, mainly Dubs I find, to invent their own type of rhyming slang in order to ape what they hear on Eastenders is enough to make any sane person reach for a pump action shotgun.

But they fade into insignificance compared to people who try to like, sooooooooo imitate the dialogue they learnt from, like, Friends. However, uttering the word 'like' at the end of a sentence is okay as long as it is done in a Cork accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Awful Scut Mk2

Kiith wrote:
    What the hell is wrong with Mom?? What did you call her? :rolleyes:

The word is 'Mam' or 'Mammy'. Mom is the preserve of annoying American brats. Mum is equally criminal on the grounds that it's too Home Counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

One that crops up on Boards a lot that bugs me - tard or any variation of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

wouldn't call it an americanisim but the phrase 'do you not know who I am' is one that always makes me want to start poking out eyes. Yes I know who you are, a pig ignorant count who massively over estimates your own importance.

Touch base is pretty annoying but in my last job the buzzword(s) in the office were 'add value'. It was used EVERYWHERE. Instead of saying 'I think this is where I can help' it was always 'I think this is where I can add value'. So flocking annoying!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

"I'm inquiring to ask about..."

No you're f*cking not. You're asking. Wondering possibly, not inquiring to ask about.

The use of "Of a" for example "I always get the bus home of a Friday".
    Also people who say literally in a sentence, when the sentence is something as stupid as "It literally rained cats and dogs" - No it f*cking didn't because thats impossible!!!
    ^^^ Annoys me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Just remembered another one. "Yore ma" Was funny when I was in school........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Saying guess instead of I suppose
    What's with the raising of baby goats these days? Kids? It's children ffs
    Muuuvies, dear lord, so fillums went out with the injuns, then?

Where did 'pushing the envelope' come from? I honestly don't know what it relates to?

People who use "basically" to me, means they are about to talk rubbish. I tend to discontinue listening from that point on.

At the end of the day. What's wrong with Ultimately?

Should OF instead of should have.

Febry instead of February
    Libry instead of Library

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jb91

People that call Tesco Tesco's. Why???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

So many words, but one that realy pissing me off is ABSOLUTLY, 5 years ago no-one absoluted now on every radio and tv discussion/interview the A word is de-rigur.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

"Alot" is not a word.
    That is all for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Not many annoy me, but one that does and pretty much universally said by Americans is "I could care less"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭jobonar

*puts on best skanger accent*

"Scarlet"
    "Massive"

I have also heard a D4 girl use the phrase "On my tobler"!!! i wanted to beat her with her phone! such a stupid phrase

i could go all day probably but those 3 annoy me more than most! any kinda stupid D4/Skanger type phrases are extremely annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

"chillax" - i hate it!! makes me want to vomit on the persons face and kick them in the balls/vag!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

Normal Speak " today i was on the luas"

D4 Speak" so ya yoday i was on the Daniel day"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Guesstimate. And I hate the bastards that use it.

And people who use Mom, **** off back to America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Mick Shrimpton

All's I know is I ain't not lovin' this thread

oh dear, I hate D4 speak

where Heineken = Heino or Ken. wtf!?

I hate people who refer to me as 'horse' or 'chief'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

ya know i've never heard anyone call it the daniel day though i have heard of people calling it the Daniel Day :p

Pushing the envelope was an aeronautical term. Envelope is also used by engineers to describe certain curves or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭jobonar

what is so hard about saying "today i was on the luas" ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

"Know what I mean" or " You know" at the end of every sentance :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭Rhonda9000

I hate when people use the word tits to be honest. Even women saying "oh my tits look saggy today" etc. It does my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

If Pighead hears "No Pighead you're doing it wrong" one more time there's gonna be lots of :mad:

Oh and the whole "Its not you Pighead, its me" gets tiring also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

B-K-DzR wrote:
    Pushing the envelope was an aeronautical term. Envelope is also used by engineers to describe certain curves or something.

I see. I must go down the LIBRY and get de buke of idioms and see what's what.

tanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

I hate when people say 'spondulics' instead of money.

I hate the phrase 'going forward', or 'lets touch base'

And I HATE 'inanyways'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Glowing wrote:
    I hate when people say 'spondulics' instead of money.

I hate the phrase 'going forward', or 'lets touch base'

And I HATE 'inanyways'

I absolutely hate that phrase "lets touch base" :mad:

The Bollox wrote:
    I hate people who refer to me as 'horse' or 'chief'

I used to say Chief but i've moved onto Horsebox, as in "Watch yourself there, horsebox". Would you hate that too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

The_B_Man wrote:
    "chillax" - i hate it!! makes me want to vomit on the persons face and kick them in the balls/vag!

*nods*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

"kids" when referring to children, they are not ****ing goats for **** sake... :mad: :mad:

Anto McC wrote:
    I used to say Chief but i've moved onto Horsebox, as in "Watch yourself there, horsebox". Would you hate that too?
    actually not really. me and the lads I used to work with called each other Horsebox all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Collie D wrote:
    "Yore ma" Was funny when I was in school........
    Yeah "Yore Ma" certainly was!

"Swings and Roundabouts" is one that really bugs the sh1t out of me. Mainly because it reminds me of a tosser I used to work with.

"Onbelievable" is another one. Arrggghh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

[SIZE=-1]Absolutely, such a horrible word and said far too often. :rolleyes:
    [/SIZE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

I hate people saying "How Bad?" when talking about something good.
    e.g.
    -I found the money that I lost
    - era shure, how bad?

Just smile and nod, saying that makes you seem retarded.