Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MA articles in Metro Eireann

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Haven’t had a chance to read them all but seem cool.
    I think some of the things he said about Tae Kwon Do was a little.. well Stupid.
    TKD needs to get rid of the ‘wired myths’? board breaking and leave patterns behind?? :eek:

Suppose a WFT class would have suited his personality better.. ;)

Had to laugh about his description of John Ng..

Good aul John, he’s an excellent instructor and sound bloke.. but does tend to waffle a bit sometimes.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

they're not bad at all. fair play to him.

vasch_ro and david jones mentioned in the proceedings all very good.

Apparently the author had dabbled in MT before writing the articles.

Also it seem the pro-wrestling club in bray also train subwrestling
    might have about pro wrestlers as being incapable of actually fighting, by making it a requirement that members be trained in the all-too-real shoot/submission wrestling style. And that’s what we moved onto next.

anyone ever rolled with these guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I read the MMA one.

Fair play to him, he sounds like a reasonable reporting. Amazingly, Dave didn't kill him. He likes to hurt people :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭BLUNT

I looked at the Muay Thai one,not bad but there has been Thai arts taught in Belfast for over 15yrs.Also the myth of the broken class thing aint true,as two Grand Masters ( Ketr Sriyapal 72yrs old & Too Thaiprasert 78yrs old ) both had stated that in all there years learning and teaching,along with being true fighteres them selves,had never once saw broken class on any bound fist ? They also stated that every throw in the Thai arts can be deadly if used correctly.No one would choose to use them,unless driven beyound all tolerance.....as there is so much more than just "Muay Thai" in the Siamese arts and all of these have been taught in Belfast for some time now....keep it real J

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭DITTKD

Cool, I read the TKD one. I'll read the others for defo, something might catch my eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Gorman

Every article a great read, I loved the TKD one, reminded me of a karate teacher I once had. Constant nit-picking, "your foot is at 50º, it should be 45º", it used to really get on my nerves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

Thanks having looking for these articles, the journalist was a friendly guy with a great job and was really into martial arts, plus he gave me a mention !!!:)
    I have to say fair play to him he really got stuck in at NG loughlinstown .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

Oh dear...the Aikido one is cringe-worthy.... :eek:

Now if you were wondering why I never recommend his club, this article will give you some idea why :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

I read the MMA TKD and Aikido ones, good read.
    Oh dear...the Aikido one is cringe-worthy....
    The Aikido read like I'd expect a review of any training I've seen TBH. I thought the comparison to pro-wrestling was actually quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

MaeveD wrote:
    Oh dear...the Aikido one is cringe-worthy.... :eek:

Now if you were wondering why I never recommend his club, this article will give you some idea why :rolleyes:

Good jesus. That's not a great way to intro yourself to a journalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Rob Carry

Scramble wrote:
    Anyone been reading Robert Carry's series of articles in Metro Eireann, titled 'Martial Arts... For the uninitiated'? I've stumbled across the online versions and I gather that the idea is that every week he visits a martial art from a different country (in keeping with the paper's multicultural ethos) and then reports on it.

Carry goes in with his sceptical faculties turned on and manages to capture some of the more ludicrous aspects of some martial arts classes.

The articles on-line:-

Aikido
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=420&Itemid=26

Taekwondo
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=360&Itemid=26

Capoeira
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=328&Itemid=26

Pro-wrestling
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=296&Itemid=26

Gakta
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=273&Itemid=26

Krav Maga
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=264&Itemid=26

Brazillian Jiu Jitsu & MMA
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=221&Itemid=26

Kung Fu

http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=198&Itemid=26

Muay Thai
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=140&Itemid=26

Boxing
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=147&Itemid=26

Hapkido
    http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=110&Itemid=26

I've been wondering why my ears have been burning all week! Thanks for taking the time to post up this thread about my lowly column. I've been writing the thing for months without any feedback whatsoever and I was starting to think my Ma was the only one reading it.

What I was trying to get at in the TKD column, and it's a common theme in most of the columns, is that I'm really not fond of the practices in martial arts that don't make the best use of your time in a practitioner's bid to improve as a fighter (and that's just my own opinion). For me, Kata falls into that category. The 'weird' myths (sorry, that was actually a typo :o ) I was on about where the likes of instructors telling you that you'll break a fighters leg with a flick of the wrist if you concentrate hard enough. Now I know not all TKD instructors will say that sort of stuff but I was basically telling the story of my own experience and the conclusions I drew from it.

On the Muay Thai, apologies for the error on when it came to Ireland. I'd no idea there's been a club in Belfast for that long. And I know there's a debate about whether or not the glass fists thing happened but although it may not have taken place in living memory, the stories have been flying around for quite a while so there's a possibility a couple of fights were settled that way. That's the beauty of a column - they give writers a chance to be more flexible in the things they say!

Anyway, delighted that people are reading the column and there's a load more that have appeared in the paper but which are yet to be uploaded onto the website. There should be stuff on Escrima, kickboxing (tiring), ninjitsu (weird) Iaido (ughh), Bujinkan Tai Jutsu (enjoyable), and Kendo (couldn't find the place) up over the next week or two. I'm actually running low on ideas for where to go next so if you know of a style that I haven't covered, which are now all listed, and the classes in the Dublin area then give me a shout. Also, if you email editor@metroeireann.com with any comments, corrections, criticisms or praise your letter will be published.

And vash_ro, are you the big bloke from the Loughlinstown BJJ/MMA class against whom I had absolutely zero joy when were doing the submittion stuff??

Double post.

Judo? Coolmine, Lusk and in a couple of weeks Marino and some schools/colleges.

Tai Chi Chuan in Rathmines (St. Mary's).

Olympic Wreslting? Lurgan Street (Hercules)

Kyukushin Karate - Kokoro, East Wall or a club in Killester (I think)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

There's Kyukoshin in Swords too.

There's also WTF Taekwondo wich is the Olympic varient

Cheers for that.

I just rang up about a Tai Chi class in Dun Laoghaire. I would have never thought of that. I'm going to hold off on the Judo until the term starts and then head to maybe UCD. Do you by any chance know what night the Olympic wrestling is on in the Hercules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Roper wrote:
    WTF Taekwondo

The nerd in me always sees "what the f*ck Taekwondo" when I see that wtf anywhere. I don't think I'm ever gonna overcome that.

I don't know what time the wrestling is on it. You can check by ringing Mick McAuley on 8315522, this information is in the Irish Fighter Magazine.

i think Tai Chi comes in many different shapes and forms and I'm certainly no expert on them but make sure you try the "hard" and "soft" styles. I've been led to believe that tai chi can be that hand waving yoga stuff done in public parks and san shou (similar to Thai) and wrestling (similar to judo) so try and do all of it.

There's also Silat in Firhourse with Liam which I'd imagine is a fairly "different" martial art.

Also Wing-chun/tsun/suey , Michael O'Leary has a club in Blanch (same place as the judo club in coolmine leisure centre so two birds one stone).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭StrateBlastJim

Good to see everybody giving everyone else a shout out.

As regard wrestling The Shane just informed me that wrestling is on in hercs Tuesdays and Thursdays at 7.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

Rob Carry wrote:

And vash_ro, are you the big bloke from the Loughlinstown BJJ/MMA class against whom I had absolutely zero joy when were doing the submittion stuff??

I am the Garda referred to !

vasch_ro wrote:
    I am the Garda referred to !

Small world eh? I have to say, that was a deadly class, great laugh.

I just got through to Mick McAuley so I'll be wrestling tomorrow evening. I reckon I'll have to pop out to a Silat and San Shou class at some stage aswell.

Is there much of a difference between Kyukoshin and the Wada Ryu stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

worlds apart.

Wado is quite traditional. Kyokushin is badcore full contact. Check it out on youtube. It's like a refined jackass. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

Wrestling in Hercs is on Tuesdays and THursdays and weight training on Saturdays for the Wrestlers.

Prepare to be "man handled" by boys. And I dunno, "monster" handled by the men.

It can also be fairly tricky to find. The best way to get there is say you were coming from Capel Street, you walk away from the Liffey right to the top of the road, coming to Bolton Street. Take a right, cross the road over to the post office and its the second right. Which is Lugan Street, (more like LANE) and if you walk up there about 50 metres you'll see a big white building on the right with a car park/yard walk into the Yard and at the back there's a corridor you go through to a push button locked door. Thats the club.

Pretty much the most difficult, intimidating and place to get training in. Once you do though the benifits are pretty massive. I dont train there though haha.

Peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭O'Leprosy

Haven’t had a chance to read them all but seem cool.
    I think some of the things he said about Tae Kwon Do was a little.. well Stupid.
    TKD needs to get rid of the ‘wired myths’? board breaking and leave patterns behind?? :eek:

Suppose a WFT class would have suited his personality better.. ;)

Had to laugh about his description of John Ng..

Good aul John, he’s an excellent instructor and sound bloke.. but does tend to waffle a bit sometimes.. :D

A good, honest account by the journo. I used to train in Exchequer St. TKD. I do agree with the statement " groundless myths around concentrating body strength and suchlike that are associated with Taekwon-Do and some other Asian forms. That stuff just gives martial arts a bad name. You cannot imbue parts of your body with mystical, physics-defying qualities. no matter what people say, Trad MA is not as bad as some make out, Karate, TKD, Kung Fu etc aren't as completely useless as some preceive. Pity he didn't train with Brendan O'Toole, he's a gas man, but boy, can he do the business, and I'm not talking about kata either.

He rightfully contends that Muay Thai and BJJ are probably the most effective he has encountered.

As for his (fair) contention that BJJ " In a one-on-one fight, BJJ – as trained for MMA – is basically unbeatable. Even a Thai boxer will only get in a couple of shots before generally succumbing to a takedown and submission. Unfortunately, as a form of defence, this is where it falls down. As anyone who has braved O’Connell Street at closing time will tell you, one-on-one fights are rare. This means that the last place you want to end up if set upon is on the ground with your attacker, because as sure as night follows day a third party will start raining down boots until you let go of his buddy. And then all you can do is curl into a ball and wait for John the garda to come help you. " Well if you get into a scrap on O'Connell St or any street for that matter at closing time, your usually half if not fully scuttered and apart from been James Bond or Fatty Seagull ( Steven Segal) - your well and truly bolloxed :D .

As for defending your self against multiple attackers, if you got into a street brawl with another guy, and a 3rd fella comes behind him also raining in punches, kicks, grabs you by the neck etc while the other guy is also pummeling you, in the sheer pannick and few seconds you'll have to 'dispose ' of your attackers...... you'll be waking up in the A + E department. If you ever do get into a situation with multiple attackers - RUN.

There's a few more editions of the column up if anyone is still interested. Here's the lastest:

http://www.metroeireann.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=565&Itemid=26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

That article was brutaly honest and i nearly wet myself reading it-:D

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I laughed- a lot.:D

cowzerp wrote:
    That article was brutaly honest and i nearly wet myself reading it-:D

Cheers. I've decided that holding back on what I really think about some of these forms is actually quite dishonest and could be misleading for readers. So if I don't like something I'm just going to say it!

Rob Carry wrote:
    Cheers. I've decided that holding back on what I really think about some of these forms is actually quite dishonest and could be misleading for readers. So if I don't like something I'm just going to say it!
    Thats the best way to go-then people who choose these arts know what there doing and cant act suprised when they get in a real life situation....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Good articles, fair play.

Disaster about the aikido guy :o

I'm considerably less impressed by the second batch of articles. Obviously the author has the "chip on the shoulder" about non combat-sport martial arts like Iaido and similar. The articles, in my opinion, seem to have taken a route down the "history and lineage" way rather than "this is where I went, who I met, how we trained, what the athmosphere was". Presumably the author is trying to give an overall picture of a martial art rather than the one particular experience of a particular club but then why is he only visiting one club from the one art once?

I'd prefer a bit more factual content on the actual classes rather than some spiel as to what's wrong with the mental state of the Iaido practioneer and some wikipedia lookalike article on martial art legend.

I'm considerably less impressed by the second batch of articles. Obviously the author has the "chip on the shoulder" about non combat-sport martial arts like Iaido and similar. The articles, in my opinion, seem to have taken a route down the "history and lineage" way rather than "this is where I went, who I met, how we trained, what the athmosphere was". Presumably the author is trying to give an overall picture of a martial art rather than the one particular experience of a particular club but then why is he only visiting one club from the one art once?

I'd prefer a bit more factual content on the actual classes rather than some spiel as to what's wrong with the mental state of the Iaido practioneer and some wikipedia lookalike article on martial art legend.

I don't actually recall questioning the mental state of an Iaido practioner and I wouldn't say I have a chip on my shoulder about 'non-combat sport martial arts' - I just don't like non-martial martial arts.

Anyway, one big issue that crops up is time contraints - I don't always have the work hours left to make it out to a martial arts class each week, but I still have to write a column about a form - that's generally the reason as to why there are articles there that are not written about my own experiences. This might happen again - I'm going to have to write about Sumo wrestling at some stage but I doubt I'll be flown out to Japan.

Also, no paper is going to pay a reporter to go to a dozen or so different martial arts classes a week, every week ,for a 900 word column - so going more than once to a class just isn't possible. In fact, journalists write about a huge range of subjects, most of which they have never had any direct experience of, so the column would probably be unusual by virtue of the fact I have went out of my way to go to the vast majority of these classes.

Another thing you should keep in mind is that the column is written for a (relatively) mainstream paper and a general audience, rather than for a specialist martial arts readership. This means that an attempt has to be made to make it interesting for the average reader. Most people who read it will probably never go to a class and so factual information, class times, training drills etc are of no interest. What I do instead to try and keep general readers interested is either tell a story, like the Eskrima one, or take the piss a bit, like the Iaido one. Maybe that's not to your taste but it's impossible to satisfy everyone.

But either way, I wouldn't say the articles are going down the 'history and lineage' path - some do and some don't and that's the way it has been since the start - like with Capoeira for example was history orientated. And Kung Fu - was to a great degree about a 'martial arts legend'. Also, I was wrestling at the Hercules Gym the other week (not online yet for some reason) and I was in MAI last night so they would be more along the 'this is where I went, who I met, how we trained, what the athmosphere was' line. Likewise with the Bujinkan one I posted today.

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read the articles, it's much appreciated, as is the feedback.

Cheers,

Rob.

fair enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Michael O Leary

Hi Rob,

I was pretty disappointed with the standard of your report on Iaido. You measured everything against fighting ability. The main thing is that the goal of Iaido is not fighting ability but it is practiced as a spiritual discipline. That is the difference between Japanese arts which end in “Jitsu” as opposed to “Do” and is linked to a specific period in Japanese history. Examine the difference between Jiu Jitsu/Judo, Kenjitsu/Kendo. Maybe a bit of research before the class might have put things in context for you.

So why were you “disgusted” that the punch bags were taken down before the class? What would punch bags have to do with swordwork? Iaido does not engage in actual fighting. Also Iaido does not claim to practice the full range of a fight with weapons. It is merely concerned with the drawing of the sword. A similar parallel would be drawing the gun and firing as in the old wild west. So yes the amount of moves would be small but just remember the practice of Iaido is not for fighting but for self-cultivation. It is a spiritual discipline. Therefore to practice a move for three years before learning the next one is not as “outrageous” as you make it out to be.

Regarding the etiquette in Iaido, it is based on Japanese culture. For you to rubbish it is the same as making insulting comments on a foreign culture without understanding it and something I would expect from a british tabloid, not Metro.

Michael.
    www.iewto.org

Hi Rob,

Therefore to practice a move for three years before learning the next one is not as “outrageous” as you make it out to be.

www.iewto.org
    How good can you get at drawing a sword-i'd say your man practising 10 years is a beast-:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Hi Rob,

I was pretty disappointed with the standard of your report on Iaido. You measured everything against fighting ability. The main thing is that the goal of Iaido is not fighting ability but it is practiced as a spiritual discipline.

Surely if it's a martial art, it should be about the fighting?

Also, do you not find it somewhat odd that a group of Dublin boys would look so far outside there own culture for a spiritual discipline?

Dragan wrote:

Also, do you not find it somewhat odd that a group of Dublin boys would look so far outside there own culture for a spiritual discipline?

Hi Dragan,:)

The word "Martial Art" is very vague and broad. Some martial arts specialise in sport (kickboxing), others health (some Tai Chi), others character building (Shotokan Karate), other spiritual discipline (Aikido, Iaido), others self-defence (Wing Tsun/Gracie Jiu-Jitsu).

There is a relationship between Iaido and “fighting” which itself is a broad term but to become martially proficient in the area of drawing a sword is a by-product. The “fighting/martial” aspect is only a tool. The goal itself is something else.

I also don’t find it odd that some Dublin “men” would look outside their own culture for a spiritual discipline. That is the world we live in. And maybe they just do it because they like it. When I make the point that Iaido is a spiritual discipline I just mean that you cannot compare the practise of it to MMA (for example) which has a different goal.

Regards,

Michael
    www.iewto.org

Dragan wrote:

Did the founder of Iaido tick the "martial art" box when creating it? It's a martial art because it's called a martial art. Martial arts means nothing specifically. You just interpret at something relating to fighting.

People buy way too much into the spiritual aspect of the Japanese martial arts, the "Do" - the way of life concept. The people who buy into it the most seem to be non-Japanese.

I lived in Japan for a few years and had some exposure to martial arts. I never seen anyone take the "Do" concept very seriously, take Judo for example, the guys who do Judo do it to kick ass and win competitions not to find some deep spiritual enlightenment. Arts like Iaido aren't really seen as a spiritual way of life, they're seem to be a way to keep a tradition, an out of date skill set alive. I actually had a friend who did Iaido there, he was probably the only person in the group under the age of 60 and he was a foreigner.

Saying that Rob was "making insulting comments on a foreign culture without understanding" is not really fair, I have a feeling that most Japanese people would have found the article funny and would have agreed with it.

A group of lads trying to be Samurai or ninjas in the name of spiritual enlightenment..... come on, it is a bit funny :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭O'Leprosy

Hi Dragan,:)

The word "Martial Art" is very vague and broad. Some martial arts specialise in sport (kickboxing), others health (some Tai Chi), others character building (Shotokan Karate), other spiritual discipline (Aikido, Iaido), others self-defence (Wing Tsun/Gracie Jiu-Jitsu).

There is a relationship between Iaido and “fighting” which itself is a broad term but to become martially proficient in the area of drawing a sword is a by-product. The “fighting/martial” aspect is only a tool. The goal itself is something else.

I also don’t find it odd that some Dublin “men” would look outside their own culture for a spiritual discipline. That is the world we live in. And maybe they just do it because they like it. When I make the point that Iaido is a spiritual discipline I just mean that you cannot compare the practise of it to MMA (for example) which has a different goal.

Regards,

Michael
    www.iewto.org

True enough Micheal, " And maybe they just do it because they like it." As a TKDer and mega MMA fan, I can see the reason why people like doing kata etc. As far as I know, Chuck Liddell still trains weekly in Kenpo, Bas Rutten in TKD, George Saint Pierre in Karate. BTW, haven't seen you at BJJ for a while. Wing Tsun keeping you busy ?

Gorman wrote:
    A group of lads trying to be Samurai or ninjas in the name of spiritual enlightenment..... come on, it is a bit funny :D

Hi Gorman, :)

It is actually not funny but it is easy to make fun of people. Labelling Iaido practitioners, as both you and Rob did, as wanna-be Samurai/Ninjas is as insulting to them as labelling Thai Boxers wanna-be Bruce Lees. People have various reasons for practising martial arts, one of which may be for spiritual discipline, another may be because it is fun.

When I state that Iaido is a spiritual discipline I am not saying that those who practise it do so specifically for that reason. The reason that I do make the point that it is meant as a spiritual discipline is to the put the practise of it in context. There is a maxim in architecture that states, “form follows function”. As the function/goal of Iaido is different from Muay Thai/BJJ which the author favours, this means the form/method of training will be different also.

If the people who teach Iaido stated that the practise of it would enable you to defend yourself on the street then you could rightly say that their training methods do not support this but this is not the case.

Rob Carry stated that he was “disgusted” when they took down the punch bags. Was he disgusted with the absence of punch bags when he did the BJJ class or is BJJ less of an easy target?

Regards,

Michael
    www.iewto.org

micheal you have to take into context what the point of his writing is about, if its about martial arts that are beneficial to self defense, like most people want-then he was right to be disgusted when he realised it was a load of ****e, it sounds like the lads who dress up as cling ons from star trek and do the rituals of the cling ons-i still want to see how good i can get at pulling out a blade from its holster!! i'd of loved to be there-:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

Was he disgusted with the absence of punch bags when he did the BJJ class or is BJJ less of an easy target?

Actually we have punchbags a lot of them, we use them during fight class on thursdays. No swords though, so jealous! ;)

Hi Gorman, :)

It is actually not funny but it is easy to make fun of people. Labelling Iaido practitioners, as both you and Rob did, as wanna-be Samurai/Ninjas is as insulting to them as labelling Thai Boxers wanna-be Bruce Lees. People have various reasons for practising martial arts, one of which may be for spiritual discipline, another may be because it is fun.

When I state that Iaido is a spiritual discipline I am not saying that those who practise it do so specifically for that reason. The reason that I do make the point that it is meant as a spiritual discipline is to the put the practise of it in context. There is a maxim in architecture that states, “form follows function”. As the function/goal of Iaido is different from Muay Thai/BJJ which the author favours, this means the form/method of training will be different also.

If the people who teach Iaido stated that the practise of it would enable you to defend yourself on the street then you could rightly say that their training methods do not support this but this is not the case.

Rob Carry stated that he was “disgusted” when they took down the punch bags. Was he disgusted with the absence of punch bags when he did the BJJ class or is BJJ less of an easy target?

Regards,

Michael
    www.iewto.org

Michael, I think our sense of humours might be quite different, I actually found the descriptions in the Iaido & ninjitsu articles very funny. Anyway that's not really the point, not everyone finds Tommy Teirnan or Biily Connelly funny - it's very subjective.

As far as making fun of them, it's fair game to me, I won't be insulted if they made fun of me. I don't see how I insulted anyone with my labelling:

People who study ninjitsu in the article = wannabe Ninja (goes without saying, right?)

People who study iaido in the article = wannabe Samurai. Now I'm not saying that all Iaido practitioners are wannabe Samurai but these guys sure sounded like it, bowing to the swords and dressing in the casual samurai outfit. If a person wants to learn how to draw a sword is all this extra baggage necessary ? especially all this Senpai & kohai BS ? If these guys where honest with themselves they'd admit that all the uniforms and ceremony are still used because it's fun to pretend you're a Samurai for an hour once a week. There's nothing wrong in playing pretend, as long as your honest about it, hell I'm going paintballing at the weekend and I'll pretend that im a soldier. I'll be a wannabe soldier...there's nothing insulting about that.

Anyway, I don't agree about the "spiritual discipline" aspect of any martial art, the thought is absurd to me. I don't think I really know what "spiritual discipline" even means!

Take care

cowzerp wrote:
    if its about martial arts that are beneficial to self defense, like most people want-then he was right to be disgusted

Hi Cowzerp, :)

The point I am making is that Iaido is not a martial art that is beneficial to self-defence. Even some Aikido people who describe their art as a spiritual discipline state their art is great for self-defence. The Iaido people do not state this. Check out www.iaido.ie. It does not mention self-defence anywhere. Like Kyudo, the Japanese “martial art” of archery, it is more a practise of Zen meditation. Check out Eugen Herrigel’s book, “Zen in the art of Archery”.

If the Iaido practitioners invented rituals such as bowing to their sword then it is a bit silly. If that is the etiquette used in traditional Iaido based on Japanese culture then their “ritual” is perfectly legitimate and should be respected.

Regards,

Michael
    www.iewto.org

Hi Michael,

Basically, I tried a martial art and gave my view of what I thought of it. I don't see anything wrong with that.

With regard to your view that I measured Iaido against fighting ability – martial arts vary and I have my own preferences – that's clear from all my articles but I've to do my best to cover them all. I enjoy martial arts that help improve either strength, fitness, flexibility, or most importantly, ability to fight. If a class doesn't do much for me on any of these levels but is still good craic or in some other way enjoyable then that's grand, I'll write about its positives. Iaido did none of the above. You make the point that it isn't supposed to, and that it's more about the spiritual side of things, but as I said in the article there wasn't much of that side of it in evidence. If there had of been, and I had of enjoyed it, I would have written about it in a more positive light. There wasn't, so I couldn't.

To ask you a question on this – what do you think I should have written about a class I didn't enjoy in any way and which I felt was actually a bit of a waste of time? Should I have pretended I liked it just because it was part of someone's 'culture'?

Maybe you think I went too far in laughing at the aspects of the Iaido class which I found funny, but to me saying, 'that's someone's culture so you shouldn't take the piss out of it' isn't a good position to adopt. As far as I'm concerned I've got the right to express my opinions on any subject and there are no cultural sacred cows. For me, just because something has been done for a long time by a people of a nationality other than my own doesn't mean we can't call it into question. I mean, did you ever see that thing they do over in Japan where they all sit on tree trunks and slide down a steep hill? That's been going on for years and people are always getting injured. I find it ridiculous. Same with that bull run thing in Spain, or the vegetarian festival in Thailand when they pierce there faces with bike chains and chop sticks, or the climbing that hill down the country in your bare feet. Do you really think I shouldn't be allowed to say so?

I think the Klingon analogy was spot on. I can't see any difference between guys who dress up as Samuri and guys who dress up as Klingons – both have an equal right to say it's their culture, and I have an equal right to laugh at them.

On being 'disgusted' about the punch bags coming down – I said that because it was at that point that I began to realise I had come to a martial arts centre but would not be getting to do any aspect of martial arts which I enjoy. You may not find the idea of running over the same sword drawing move for 10, 20 or 30 years but I do and I reserve the right to say that.

You said, “Was he disgusted with the absence of punch bags when he did the BJJ class or is BJJ less of an easy target?”

The difference between the two classes, from my point of view, is that I enjoyed BJJ and found it useful, while I didn't enjoy Iaido and I didn't find it useful. That's the extent of it.

To be honest, the lads at the class were sound enough and I don't think they'll take any great offence to the article. Me and Iaido were just a total mis-match so the article was just a bit of fun.

Cheers for the feedback though. You should form it into a letter and we'll print it in our paper.

Rob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭TKD SC

Rob Carry wrote:
    , or the climbing that hill down the country in your bare feet.

Croagh Patrick in Mayo

bare foot and in middle of night for the truly devoted!

TKD SC wrote:
    Croagh Patrick in Mayo

bare foot and in middle of night for the truly devoted!

That's the one. And it always seems to be elderly people hobbling up the that poxy mountian in the drizzle. They should have to pay a sub to mountain rescue before they head off. Can't understand it meself.

lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭TKD SC

yeh, always drizzle! Don't know how they do it.
    I did it once on a sunny day and nearly slipped the whole way down at the very top part! Damn runners instead of proper hiking boots!

They do it for St Patrick and the snakes!

Why when there's so many pubs that serve great Guinness down there would you want to?! :)

Still, impressive enough seeing those old ones do it. Although they do cheat with the big walking sticks!!