Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideal policitcal policy

• Registered Users Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

I think one or two of your policies may require reviewing, as they seem to be made of total arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Heres mine. First of all, on the economic front.

Restoring Irelands competitiveness. This is NOT done by increasing taxes on alcohol, tobacco, cars or travel. Our costs have to be reduced. Reducing our costs involves reducing the barrage of steath taxes that impact and hurt the poorest and most vulnerable in our society. Anyone who advocates 20 Euro for a packet of cigarettes is giving smugglers and criminals carte blanche to print money. I'll just talk to my triad buddies in Kuala Lumpur, and smuggle them in through airline stewards who I can buy them off in the George, Front Lounge, etc. Guess what, I'll have free drink from the profits.

Smoking is dangerous and unsocial, but its not a bloody criminal offence, your some prize genius when you don't realise that the European Union has cigarettes at 1 Euro a pack in Latvia.

There is no need for a minimum wage of 8 Euro per hour if direct taxes are reduced. People will work just as hard if prices are lower. Why does it cost

If the housing bubble is gently deflated, our competitive position can be restored.

Lots of other areas, but I'll tackle them later, when I've had the time to expand and improve on this in a rational and coherent manner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

although some of your policies are fine and reasonable, one or two seem to be a bit much, like the no gay blood donors rule, seriously lad anyone that anti-Gay is generaly trying to deny something ( i cite as an example the 'Reverend' Fred Phelps)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

18.Free health care for ALL

No point in having something free if you already cannot provide a proper service.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,114 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

15.More funding for education.(Trinity,NUIG and UCC would all be top 20 in the wotl by 2015)

Would you promise to get yourself educated? Before you took office and made a fool of yourself and the country?

Execution for bad spelling and grammar, FTW. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He is taking execution lessons as we speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

5.Minimum of 20 years in jail for possesion of class A drugs.10 years class B 10 and class C 5 years.
    7.No marraige rights for homosexuals.

followed by
    17.Racism=5 years in prison

so its not ok to be racist (although it is ok to treat foreign criminals differently) but it is ok to discriminate against two other groups who are hurting no one (except themselves in the case of the drug user)

and its ok to discriminate against people who are attracted to the same sex as them to the point where you wouldn't accept their organs for transplants!!! i think its safe to say you're not a scientist because that is what's technical known as a load of arse. your first act as taoiseach would be to enact your anti-discrimination legislation, your second would be to go to jail for 5 years under that legislation

also you suggest more bank holidays and no tax for companies who employ more than 1000 people while proposing many things which together will at least triple need required tax take. you have a money tree in your back garden i take it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

oneeyedsnake, if you put 20 cigs up to €20, I will personally overthrow your government and hang you from a lamppost outside the Dáil.

Anyway, enough of the domestic policies, who are we going to war with? Can we build a stockpile of nukes? Can I be the one to press the red button that fires them? Please?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

agamemnon wrote:

Anyway, enough of the domestic policies, who are we going to war with? Can we build a stockpile of nukes? Can I be the one to press the red button that fires them? Please?

The War On Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Some of your policies I like, some I don't. I probably wouldn't vote for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Nor will homosexuals be allowed to donate blood or organs.
    You can catch the "ghey" now from receiving a transplanted kidney:confused: "Aaggghhh!! take it out doctor, I'd rather die a slow painful death!"
    4.Assylum seekers/forgeiners will be deported on their first criminal offence without the right to appeal.

17.Racism=5 years in prison
    A tad contradictory here. Anyhow if I was the victim of a crime perpetrated by a foreign person I'd like to know they'd get the same punishment as if some Irish scumbag did it - not that they'd get a free trip home where they mighn't even serve a jail sentence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Is there any political party that would agree with all my policies?
    The Nazi party?

Your policies are unaffordable, unsustainable and mostly unconstitutional. Perfect dictator material but not very realistic.
    Once proven upon the point of reasonable doubt the rapist will be dead within the hour, again forensics and so on will play a pivotal role.
    The death penalty is wrong for one simple reason: People make mistakes, and when you execute an innocent person there's no way to undo it. Beyond reasonable doubt is not an absolute guarantee and innocent people have been convicted of crimes before, fortunately not all of them were executed so some recompense could be made to them.
    Again it is not that easy, systems will be in place that will be fool-proof enough to ensure that only the guilty are punished.
    Would you favor the Magic System, or the ever popular Bullshit System?

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Egon

3 pages & no-ones given out about the drugs "policy"? (expecting a load of "too stoned to post" type replys)

legalize/decriminalized (delete as necessary) cannabis tbh, tax it to a reasonable degree, introduce a method to detect stoned-driving which goes along with breath tests, some form of license (much like driving or dog) possibly if people are that worried about it, and badda bing, there's the money for healthcare etc.(& don't say that once it's legalized, cancer rates etc will rise, not many people that don't smoke already will start because of legalization)

although, seeing the eugenics approach oneeyedsnake has taken to homosexuals, I can't see any of the above being done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Give the kid a break, is his name Brendan Campbell, or is it Mr Campbell.

As far as I am concerned, 20 Euro for a packet of fags would be brilliant. The social welfare system could be abolished, with cheap flights to Latvia, many entrepreneurs could fill their suitcases with fags. Who needs the dole, Moore Street and Henry Street could be thriving with the cries of "Cigarettes and Tobacco", and the undercover gardai will be undercover tax collectors again. Twatology of the highest order. We've got the smoking ban, thats enough, now get stuffed. Its good enough for now, until another bright spark anti-smoking fascist comes up with another smart arsed idea to boost the inflation rate even more. Oh.....remember, once they've dealt with tobacco, theres booze. After booze, pornography. After pornography, cars. After cars, red meat. After red meat, whats there to live for. Its stealth fascism, and we should be very very careful of Government legislating against peoples way of life, however hideous some of those habits may appear. When we are all vegetarian, cycling, christian scientologists, then the world will be such a perfect place.

Free Healthcare. Theres no such thing. Theres subsidised healthcare, and you really do not want the healthcare model, where you have the population popping prescription drugs that they perceive to need, but do not need. The only people who thrive on that are the medical companies, and all that at taxpayers expense. Forget that one.

Homosexuals not donating blood or organs. Thats already in place as medical policy. Whether we like it or not, 30% of the gay population of San Francisco carry the virus, 15% of the London gay population, 28% of the Thai gay population, and Dublin has a relatively low base by worldwide standards of between 6% and 10%. But then, any new blood borne disease in the future can appear from any group, black, white, straight or gay. Gay people do not have the monopoly in that regard.

No marriage rights for homosexuals. Marriage is a very misleading term, and you misunderstand exactly what gay people want. Gay people don't want marriage, we want civil partnership. Adam and Steve will not be outside the Pro Cathedral dressed in black and white. They will be at the registry office, so don't worry your sad conservative little head about that one pet. As for adoption, kids are cruel little brats in primary and secondary school, and lets be honest, any adopted child with gay parents could well be bullied by their peers. Hopefully, that stigma will change over time, but it will take a generation, just as the stigma of unmarried mothers, thankfully, no longer exists. Does that make me homophobic. No, its stating a harsh reality. But a child needs more than just parents, they need the support of an extended family. Adam and Steve's children will be fine, because there will be loving aunts, uncles , cousins and grandparents to lend love and support. I know more than a few 'stealth' gay adoption cases. You don't need a statute book to make a loving family. Its just another nice bit of icing on the cake.

Drugs possession.

I'd come down like a tonne of bricks on some drugs. Cocaine, Heroin, Crystal Meth, possession of >/=15 grams = minimum 5 years. Some allowance and leeway towards legalising cannibis. However, lets be realistic, these sentencing policies impact on the poorest in society, and we'd do well to address the cause, rather than the symptom. Drugs will never be eradicated, they have to be accomodated and regulated where possible. I'm no liberal on this, and I've seen plenty of drug consumption in my time. MOST people who take drugs are in control.

Vandalism and unsocial behaviour.

I don't know where to start on that one. It drives me nuts. I'll control myself, and hope anyone else does the same. I'd also hope that parents thank a Garda when their little angel is found misbehaving rather than giving their little darling the benefit of the doubt. Life is unfair, and the sooner kids realise that even when they may be innocent, the sooner they realise the reality of life, and the sooner they grow up into Adults. Harsh, unfortunate, but true. Education will not solve that. Fear of breaking laws will.

The justice system.

If you have done nothing wrong, you have nothing to fear......that seems to be a popular line amongst these amateur student dictators.

Where did I hear that one.

Oh yes, they were pulling my fingernails out in the Lyubyanka comrade. I was having coffee with Laventy Beria. That was sometime in 1950. You know how I found that one. Well....L Ron Hubbard told me in a dream, and it cost me a lot of money. And if you believe that, you'll believe anything :)

No society is perfect. We just, as individuals, have to do the best we can to make it as pleasant as possible for ourselves, and each other. I know you are young, but if there was free healthcare, the Health service have yet to develop a surgical technique for removing shoulder chips. When they do, drop me a line. I could do with a couple removed myself. But at least I admit that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭oneeyedsnake

Jimoslimos wrote:
    You can catch the "ghey" now from receiving a transplanted kidney:confused: "Aaggghhh!! take it out doctor, I'd rather die a slow painful death!"

A tad contradictory here. Anyhow if I was the victim of a crime perpetrated by a foreign person I'd like to know they'd get the same punishment as if some Irish scumbag did it - not that they'd get a free trip home where they mighn't even serve a jail sentence

No of course you can't catch the "ghey" from organ transplants; you can catch AIDS and other nasties though.

Why should we spend our money on imprisoning a foreign criminal. If he/she is deported they will never bother us again, sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

You have a point about foreign criminals costing a lot to imprison compared to deportation, but what about serious crimes like rape and murder? If some scumbag rapes a woman and we just put him on the next flight home, how has he been punished properly?

jor el wrote:
    The Nazi party?

Your policies are unaffordable, unsustainable and mostly unconstitutional. Perfect dictator material but not very realistic.

The death penalty is wrong for one simple reason: People make mistakes, and when you execute an innocent person there's no way to undo it. Beyond reasonable doubt is not an absolute guarantee and innocent people have been convicted of crimes before, fortunately not all of them were executed so some recompense could be made to them.

Would you favor the Magic System, or the ever popular Bullshit System?

My policies would be perfectly affordable would priorities the basic building blocks in society and work from there. I could only spend the money made available to me from taxation, grants and loans. It would be a slow process but eventually I believe I could pull Ireland out of its nose dive.

Well I am afraid that if one of the mistakes you make is one of murder, rape, pedophilia, or drug trafficking then its going to be one of your last mistakes. There would be no blurred lines; evil people would be put to death, simple as.
    I am aware that sometimes people are wrongly convicted but however this miniscule fraction of false convictions would be offset by the lives saved by my policies in this area.

I could talk to you all day about forensics but wouldn't want to bore you. It’s not magic of bull****, just science.

Egon wrote:
    3 pages & no-ones given out about the drugs "policy"? (expecting a load of "too stoned to post" type replys)

legalize/decriminalized (delete as necessary) cannabis tbh, tax it to a reasonable degree, introduce a method to detect stoned-driving which goes along with breath tests, some form of license (much like driving or dog) possibly if people are that worried about it, and badda bing, there's the money for healthcare etc.(& don't say that once it's legalized, cancer rates etc will rise, not many people that don't smoke already will start because of legalization)

although, seeing the eugenics approach oneeyedsnake has taken to homosexuals, I can't see any of the above being done...

Why would I legalize cannabis? It is a pathway drug, its cause’s severe mental problems, it is about 6 times more toxic than cigarettes, and the list could go on for pages. I am trying to increase the heath of the population not destroy it. While not many sensible adults will start smoking it a lot of kids will, hell if I was 16 again and cannabis was legal then the chances are I would have tried it. No there is no way I would legalize cannabis.

agamemnon wrote:
    You have a point about foreign criminals costing a lot to imprison compared to deportation, but what about serious crimes like rape and murder? If some scumbag rapes a woman and we just put him on the next flight home, how has he been punished properly?

Rapists and murders will be executed regardless of their nationality. It is only for the less serious crimes such a vandalism and robbery that foreigners will be deported from the state

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

No of course you can't catch the "ghey" from organ transplants; you can catch AIDS and other nasties though.
    I was under the impression that organs/blood is screened prior to transplant. Yes I know that this might not be possible in an emergency situation but discriminating based on what sexuality somebody placed (often years previously and in some cases subsequently changed) on a donor card. I can imagine the conversation now.

Patient: Well how did the operation go?
    Doctor: Yes, great, your new heart is working perfectly now....em...but..
    Patient: But what doc?
    Doctor: Em..well.....unfortunately the donor was HIV+ and well em....
    Patient: OMG! How could....how???
    Doctor: Ah but not to worry, you've contracted the good HIV, the straight type. None of that nasty "ghey" AIDS.
    Why should we spend our money on imprisoning a foreign criminal. If he/she is deported they will never bother us again, sorted
    Your not grasping this whole crime - punishment malarky are ye? If anybody commits a crime in this country they should be tried according to the laws of this land. Not deported where they will either,
    a) receive little or no jail time for the crime committed
    b) if they got into the country illegally in the first place what's to stop them doing it again??

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

My policies would be perfectly affordable would priorities the basic building blocks in society and work from there. I could only spend the money made available to me from taxation, grants and loans. It would be a slow process but eventually I believe I could pull Ireland out of its nose dive.
    Once policies cause that initial nose dive, you won't be in office long enough to pull it out again.
    Well I am afraid that if one of the mistakes you make is one of murder, rape, pedophilia, or drug trafficking then its going to be one of your last mistakes. There would be no blurred lines; evil people would be put to death, simple as.
    I am aware that sometimes people are wrongly convicted but however this miniscule fraction of false convictions would be offset by the lives saved by my policies in this area.
    Better to execute one innocent man than let 100 guilty men live? I wonder would you still be saying that if it was your own ass in the electric chair :rolleyes:
    I could talk to you all day about forensics but wouldn't want to bore you. It’s not magic of bull****, just science.
    Forensics is the art of obtaining evidence to support theories. Although it is science, like a lot of other science it's not an absolute truth, just an understanding about something up to the limit of our knowledge.

Many items of forensics are a matter of opinion. These opinions are expert and massively experienced, but they are still opinions and as such can be wrong.
    For example, ballistics - matching a bullet to a gun. There's no such thing as a 100% positive ID, only a ballistics expert's opinion that the bullet is extremely likely to have come from that gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Death sentence for those caught in possion of class a with intent to supply = harsher sentences yes, but death?

Mandatory death sentence for padophiles and those caught in the possession of child pornography.This would inculde all priiests previously convicted = same as above

No marraige rights for homosexuals = are you living in the dark ages here?

Cigs banned = the ban in businesses was enough imo, we don't need to be victimized any further

Anti social behaviour = 2 years in prison - A lot of people in jail for enoying a few drinks on a Friday night?

No abortion = seriously lacking any emotional intelligence here, what about pregnancy arising from rape?

Vandalism of any type: 2 years in prison = now it's getting ridicolous

Murder=death sentence with no right to appeal - :o

Racism: 5 years in prison = and there goes freedom of speech

Rape=death sentence life imprisonment maybe

Political forum tbh - but then again, you'd be banned on sight.

... needless to say that anyone with these views would never be voted in.

Thanks for wasting my time tho

dermo88 wrote:
    Give the kid a break, is his name Brendan Campbell, or is it Mr Campbell.

As far as I am concerned, 20 Euro for a packet of fags would be brilliant. The social welfare system could be abolished, with cheap flights to Latvia, many entrepreneurs could fill their suitcases with fags. Who needs the dole, Moore Street and Henry Street could be thriving with the cries of "Cigarettes and Tobacco", and the undercover gardai will be undercover tax collectors again. Twatology of the highest order. We've got the smoking ban, thats enough, now get stuffed. Its good enough for now, until another bright spark anti-smoking fascist comes up with another smart arsed idea to boost the inflation rate even more. Oh.....remember, once they've dealt with tobacco, theres booze. After booze, pornography. After pornography, cars. After cars, red meat. After red meat, whats there to live for. Its stealth fascism, and we should be very very careful of Government legislating against peoples way of life, however hideous some of those habits may appear. When we are all vegetarian, cycling, christian scientologists, then the world will be such a perfect place.

Free Healthcare. Theres no such thing. Theres subsidised healthcare, and you really do not want the healthcare model, where you have the population popping prescription drugs that they perceive to need, but do not need. The only people who thrive on that are the medical companies, and all that at taxpayers expense. Forget that one.

Homosexuals not donating blood or organs. Thats already in place as medical policy. Whether we like it or not, 30% of the gay population of San Francisco carry the virus, 15% of the London gay population, 28% of the Thai gay population, and Dublin has a relatively low base by worldwide standards of between 6% and 10%. But then, any new blood borne disease in the future can appear from any group, black, white, straight or gay. Gay people do not have the monopoly in that regard.

No marriage rights for homosexuals. Marriage is a very misleading term, and you misunderstand exactly what gay people want. Gay people don't want marriage, we want civil partnership. Adam and Steve will not be outside the Pro Cathedral dressed in black and white. They will be at the registry office, so don't worry your sad conservative little head about that one pet. As for adoption, kids are cruel little brats in primary and secondary school, and lets be honest, any adopted child with gay parents could well be bullied by their peers. Hopefully, that stigma will change over time, but it will take a generation, just as the stigma of unmarried mothers, thankfully, no longer exists. Does that make me homophobic. No, its stating a harsh reality. But a child needs more than just parents, they need the support of an extended family. Adam and Steve's children will be fine, because there will be loving aunts, uncles , cousins and grandparents to lend love and support. I know more than a few 'stealth' gay adoption cases. You don't need a statute book to make a loving family. Its just another nice bit of icing on the cake.

Drugs possession.

I'd come down like a tonne of bricks on some drugs. Cocaine, Heroin, Crystal Meth, possession of >/=15 grams = minimum 5 years. Some allowance and leeway towards legalising cannibis. However, lets be realistic, these sentencing policies impact on the poorest in society, and we'd do well to address the cause, rather than the symptom. Drugs will never be eradicated, they have to be accomodated and regulated where possible. I'm no liberal on this, and I've seen plenty of drug consumption in my time. MOST people who take drugs are in control.

Vandalism and unsocial behaviour.

I don't know where to start on that one. It drives me nuts. I'll control myself, and hope anyone else does the same. I'd also hope that parents thank a Garda when their little angel is found misbehaving rather than giving their little darling the benefit of the doubt. Life is unfair, and the sooner kids realise that even when they may be innocent, the sooner they realise the reality of life, and the sooner they grow up into Adults. Harsh, unfortunate, but true. Education will not solve that. Fear of breaking laws will.

The justice system.

If you have done nothing wrong, you have nothing to fear......that seems to be a popular line amongst these amateur student dictators.

Where did I hear that one.

Oh yes, they were pulling my fingernails out in the Lyubyanka comrade. I was having coffee with Laventy Beria. That was sometime in 1950. You know how I found that one. Well....L Ron Hubbard told me in a dream, and it cost me a lot of money. And if you believe that, you'll believe anything :)

No society is perfect. We just, as individuals, have to do the best we can to make it as pleasant as possible for ourselves, and each other. I know you are young, but if there was free healthcare, the Health service have yet to develop a surgical technique for removing shoulder chips. When they do, drop me a line. I could do with a couple removed myself. But at least I admit that.

As I have already mentioned in a previous post, cigarettes will be banned and free nicotine replacement therapy will be put in place. Anybody found smuggling cigarettes will face a severe prison sentence.

The heath care system would be a free as the NHS is at the moment. People would be educated about health care through their GP and pharmacist and drug would not be being "popped" needlessly.

I would maintain the policy on blood and organs from homosexuals despite increasing pressure from the gay community to do otherwise.

I don't understand why they would want a civil partnership?

Pure fear is the only way to rid this country of any other from drugs. It would take a rather large idiot to continue selling drug when 3 of his dealer mates are executed in public.

Exactly once little Tommy sees his mate being plucked from the class room and thrown into a detention center for 2 years then he might think twice about bricking the next bus.

Simple fact: if you have done nothing wrong you have nothing to fear. My changes in the justice system are not that radical bar the introduction of the death penalty for specific horrendous crimes. The only real difference is that sentences will always be completed.

Your right no society is perfect however I believe that today politicians have stopped striving for this ultimately unattainable goal and as a result our country is falling into the gutter. We should always be looking for new ways to improve this great country no just turning on auto pilot and taking a snooze while all our good work comes crashing down around us.

Listen the fact of the matter is that you people are too scared to make these hard decisions. I know that some of my policies are controversial, but I see them as diamonds in the rough. They could all be modified and implemented to make Ireland a better place, and deep down you all know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Jaysus, such a misguided pile of populist shite I've never had the misfortune to clap eyes on.

Re: Death sentences: How do you bring someone back from the dead if they are found to be innocent if future facts come to light? Your no appeals rule (in the case of murder) is about as braindead a concept as have ever graced these hallowed boards. So say I drop a floppy full of child pr0n into your computer, and then call the police. Think its so unlikely? Strikes me as an easy way to get rid of someone.

Re: More prisons, longer prisons sentencing, etc.: Prisons are instruments of punishment, not rehabilitiation. You don't make a better society with more prisons, nor with more police, whose primary purpose is to put people into prisons. Deal with the root problems and the prisons are no longer needed.

Re: Homeless: Many of the homeless are that way because thats what they want, no amount of assistance will make them change their mind. For example, travellers.

Re: Drug / cigarette / Prohibition generally: Oh great, that won't make drug cartels any richer and more powerful as prices go up. What about instead legalising most of it, and let mature people make responsible decisions for themselves, like the Dutch? This has the added bonus of freeing up valuable police time. When our local version of Al Capone knocks on your door for protection money, I hope you'll be happy.

Re: Homosexuality etc: I'm not sure why you haven't been banned yet on the grounds of sheer ignorance for this one. What fucking business of yours is it where someone sticks whatever, once all involved are consenting adults? I don't give a damn if four men want to get married and have a gangbang every night for the rest of their natural lives, and I don't see why anyone else should care.

Re: More funding for education / health / social services: The problem isn't so much lack of funding as it is the abuse and misuse of exisiting funding.

Honestly, this mini mein kampf you've posted up is a disgrace. The education system certainly needs an overhaul, if this is what it produces.

A few changes we need in this country are:
    • Planning permission reform
    • Massively increased support for entrepreneurs and home based industry
    • Streamlined migration and immigration programs
    • Lop off most of the civil service

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Its times like these im glad people from the internet don't run our country.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Simple fact: if you have done nothing wrong you have nothing to fear.
    Actually, you should rephrase that into, "If you have done nothing wrong, you're going to be ****ing terrified that you'll be accused of doing something wrong."

The simple fact is that nobody has done nothing wrong. Every single person in society has broken a law at one point or another, and will probably break one again.
    Draconian laws only serve to create a three-tier police state.
    The bottom level is Joe Soap. He's bloody terrified of breaking the law or even looking crooked at a Garda.
    The next level is the law enforcers. Because the population are so terrified of them, they have superiority complexes and will generally act as prison officers instead of protectors.
    Then you have the people in power and with money. They make the laws, they make the punishments, so they aren't affected by their own law-breaking. Their power corrupts and they generally do their utmost to maintain that power by stamping on the Joe Soaps.

Aside from that if you need to impose heavy punishments, that means that you have failed as a servant of the public. Many of the biggest social problems can be solved with education. If you feel the need to execute and imprison your population that means that you either have no desire to improve their situation or you're admitting that you're unable to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Had the OP added a policy of:
    "Nuke the whales (cos you gotta nuke somethin)"
    It would have been a flawless manifesto of insanity & I would love to have subscribed to his newsletter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

What's the hourly rate for the post of executioner? Or will it be on a per capita (no pun intended) basis?

If I resign from Amnesty International can I have the job? Seems it will be a boom industry in your brave new world, OP...:rolleyes:

[*]Planning permission reform No
    [*]Massively increased support for entrepreneurs and home based industry No
    [*]Streamlined migration and immigration programs Yes
    [*]Lop off most of the civil service No