Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

trouble in hill 16

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Sorry,my bad,I meant an unimpressive full strength Dublin team when I was talking about O Rourke.The aul noggin isn't 100% today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

And btw!! Little or no chance of winning?? Might be a tough match but we'd them (/ye? are you a kerryman?) as good a run as anyone else!!!
    Little or no chance of winning?....thats an interesting comment,you are like Colm O Rourke in your analysis,a bit lob sided and exaggerated.

Sorry lads, what I meant here was Longford fans travelled to Kerry with little or no chance or winning and would dubs do likewise i.e. travel if they were probably going to lose, I agree Dubs can give any team a run, I put a decent sized bet on them to win sam last year and they probably would have if not for implosion against Mayo.

I'm not anti Dublin really, there are just a few things like the scum element and the bandwagon that turns me against them every summer, fooking FM104/98FM/Evening Heralds hype drives me insane too.

I go to good few of dublins c'ship and some league games and follow the club championship up here, as GAA fan I love to watch players like Brogan/Cullen and the high paced style of dubs can be great to watch.

As you said this debate could go on forever so i'll draw a line under my argument now!

Why can't we all just get along :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 TheRugger

In all fairness people , the meath lads down the front were asking for it , i wasabout half way up the hill between the goal , so those lads where below meand to the right , saw it all , after about 25mins they turned around faced us and start calling us scum, unreal, they had only one thing in mind ,, to cause trouble , they werent even watch the match , bunch of pissed w##kers, so they got what they deserved , i wouldnt go to meath on a night out shouting meath scum , because Iv a brain unlike those twats!!! , and iv read on a well known site that about 100 meath fans have hill and nally tickets and there going to start trouble , but their only going to go one way and that is down, 100 meath vs thousands of dubs , very stupid lads!!!
    peope keep going on and on about dub scum but if you listened to us it would be grand, "HILL 16 IS DUBLIN ONLY" , the country wouldn have a big stadium if it wasnt for the dubs , we sell out all of fixture unlike other counties , i bet if it was meath vs wexford , f##k all of yous would come up for it , yes its because you want to see the dubs , we are a great team
    And we ill beat the royal county and we will keep Hill 16 dublin only on sunday , and il be there singing!!!!!!!

Meath fans seriosly dont come near the Hill on sunday !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

The Rugger, i didnt see it so i (unlike the anti-Dub fools here) will still reserve judgement. Altho you are the second person to say this and when they passed in front of the area where i was they were giving the fingers to the Hill, and shouting stuff, but im sure they were actually giving peace signs and shouting good luck and the likes. Just the evil Dubs up to their old tricks ya know? ;) Anyway, its too late so0 im not gonna type anything long. Just damn happy i got my tickets today (F**kin Leinster Council!! Out of the 362 tickets my club asked for they got 140. And Joe Tout could ring those dirtbags and get as many as he likes. Joke!) only for the Nally but once im in the stadium i dont care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Smarmore

TheRugger wrote:
    In all fairness people , the meath lads down the front were asking for it , i wasabout half way up the hill between the goal , so those lads where below meand to the right , saw it all , after about 25mins they turned around faced us and start calling us scum, unreal, they had only one thing in mind ,, to cause trouble , they werent even watch the match , bunch of pissed w##kers, so they got what they deserved , i wouldnt go to meath on a night out shouting meath scum , because Iv a brain unlike those twats!!! , and iv read on a well known site that about 100 meath fans have hill and nally tickets and there going to start trouble , but their only going to go one way and that is down, 100 meath vs thousands of dubs , very stupid lads!!!
    peope keep going on and on about dub scum but if you listened to us it would be grand, "HILL 16 IS DUBLIN ONLY" , the country wouldn have a big stadium if it wasnt for the dubs , we sell out all of fixture unlike other counties , i bet if it was meath vs wexford , f##k all of yous would come up for it , yes its because you want to see the dubs , we are a great team
    And we ill beat the royal county and we will keep Hill 16 dublin only on sunday , and il be there singing!!!!!!!

Type of gob***** I was referring to earlier. Little coward in the crowd...
    It's dissapointing to hear the Meath fans are planning to do that though because things will obviously turn nasty. Hopefully they will have more sense or the gardaí will spot them and deal with them early doors. Whatever about my feelings about the Hill it will be a sad day if we go home and watch the News and the main headline is Meath and Dublin fans riot on the Hill. If you are such a big man "TheRugger", what kind of a name is that for a GAA fan for a start, be an even bigger man and turn a blind eye. Or just don't bother going because you sound like the kind of muppet that will get involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Yes Rugger, thats not the attitude I like to see from a fellow county man.

Boo hiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

TheRugger wrote:
    100 meath vs thousands of dubs , very stupid lads!!!

Sadly the rules on attacking the post and not the poster restrain me from telling you what I think of you.

For your information there wasnt 100 meath -v- thousands of Dubs, there were a few idiots on both sets opf supporters who are unable to seperate fantasy from reality and who are also in the majority too young and too drunbk to know better.

Meath fans are welcome to be on the hill. I have no problems with them, I'm sure the "denizens of the hill" are Martin Beheny once called us who posted here will have no problems either. TBH I dont know if you really are a Dublin fan and believe that in which case you are a discrace to your county and to yourself or someone who isnt and has just created an account to have a bit of a wind up, in which case the admins wil suss you out and you'll be off the Ruthie's leauge of bastards with all due haste, you muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭sparkulicous

TheRugger wrote:

This is the kind of altitude that creates the 31 against 1 mentality and As a neutral fan on Sunday after reading that post I'm gona be slightly siding with Meath.
    As a Cavan man this is about as easy as swallowing razorblades. ;)

Lads if u read my piece youd see that im not talking about myself , id never take a bottle to anyone and yes i love and play football, and to put something straight to one of yous that commented , im was talking about the 100 meath fans that said their coming to the hill this week not 2 weeks ago , read it properly and dont misqoute me !!
    Im sick of people talking crap it the same every summer , hate the hill hate the dubs, The gaa arent going to stop giving the dubs most of the hill tickets so my advice is to let us be , anyone coming to the hill from a dif county is looking for trouble , and iv no problem with them coming but others on the hill do and one day it will end in tears

I am reading you properly. OK, the 100 you refer to are not the same as there were there two weeks ago.

But you did say this:
    In all fairness people , the meath lads down the front were asking for it , i wasabout half way up the hill between the goal , so those lads where below meand to the right , saw it all , after about 25mins they turned around faced us and start calling us scum, unreal, they had only one thing in mind ,, to cause trouble , they werent even watch the match , bunch of pissed w##kers, so they got what they deserved

OK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

I hope i dont get shot for saying this but i would agree that for the most part, its a certain type of fan that actually tries to get a Hill ticket when playing against the Dubs. If the Hill was a traditional Meath terrace, i wouldnt want to stand on it for 70 mins surrounded by the opposition and getting abuse but i think alot of people who do look for Hill tickets are doing so to try and p1ss off the Dubs there. Obviously there are plenty that end up in the Hill due to the ticket shortage, but there are also a few that do go there to try and get in the faces of the Dub crowd. Does this deserve getting bottled? Of course not, even if the group that were moved were acting the *****. I would agree they were asking for trouble (not bottles, but trouble) but to say they deserved it is a little harsh IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Ticket were pretty scarce. I'm sure they didn't 'want' to go in the hill, probably didn't really have a choice. If it was the only one you cold get you'd probably take it.

If any tickets r hard to get its hill tickets and if meath fan didnt want trouble they wuld swap tickets with dubs , i know a lot of people that would swap stand tickets for hill in a flash
    but i hope sunday is a great and trouble free game , and i hope Mr Gearghty respects the ref , he was an absolute disgrace in the last match and should have been sent off a number of times . he must think hes still playing international rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

TheRugger wrote:
    Im sick of people talking crap it the same every summer , hate the hill hate the dubs, The gaa arent going to stop giving the dubs most of the hill tickets so my advice is to let us be , anyone coming to the hill from a dif county is looking for trouble , and iv no problem with them coming but others on the hill do and one day it will end in tears

Segregation then? The Dubs from every other county ?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Segregation then? The Dubs from every other county ?

Actually, the Hill is now constructed for that eventuality. There is no access from the Hill 16 Terrace into the Nally Terrace and vice versa. The rationale is that all counties have supporters who like to stand on terraces, not just Dublin. In the old stadium the vast majority of supporters on the hill would be dubs and vice versa on the canal end.

With the canal end terrace being removed it was decided to have two separate terraces in effect at the railway end. So, there are no potential problems if there was a sufficient demand from other counties for segregated tickets it could be done - all the dubs in the hill terrace, the competing counties on the day in the nally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Actually, the Hill is now constructed for that eventuality. There is no access from the Hill 16 Terrace into the Nally Terrace and vice versa. The rationale is that all counties have supporters who like to stand on terraces, not just Dublin. In the old stadium the vast majority of supporters on the hill would be dubs and vice versa on the canal end.

With the canal end terrace being removed it was decided to have two separate terraces in effect at the railway end. So, there are no potential problems if there was a sufficient demand from other counties for segregated tickets it could be done - all the dubs in the hill terrace, the competing counties on the day in the nally.

Would be a shame though because of a minority in some counties who can't take a bit of banter or their team losing

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I'll be on the Hill today so I'll let ye know if there's any trouble.......Unless of course I get arrested as I don't think there's interweb in the cells ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭finbarrk

How was the Hill on Sunday by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭The Rooster

finbarrk wrote:
    How was the Hill on Sunday by the way?
    Far fewer Meath people on it. The few I saw were with friends who were Dublin supporters. I believe the full Hill allocation went to Dublin, unlike the first game when tickets were set aside for opposition supporters.

No trouble on the Hill at all this time. However, there is a helluva lot of booze on the Hill these days. At the end of games the ground is littered with empty beer cans and nagins. Without proper stewarding and policing, the gougers will get "braver" and will eventually cause a serious incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

TheRugger wrote:

What a fantastic attitude to have. And people wonder why some country folk don't like Dublin's sunshine supporters.

Yes, mate, you believe all that, and don't forget that Ireland would be a third world country without Dublin, as I was once told by one moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

From todays Sindo (I know, I know)

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/i-saw-cocaine-taken-on-hill-16-742655.html

EXTRA gardai will be on patrol on and outside Hill 16 today - in order to monitor cocaine abuse among an unruly element of the fans as Dublin face Offaly at Croke Park.

Additional officers will be on patrol to combat open drug-taking which occurred on the Hill last Sunday during the Dublin/Meath replay.

While the GAA are no doubt delighted to see Dublin progress in the Championship as they are guaranteed a Croke Park sell-out almost every time, stories of cocaine use and violence on the Hill will not please the sport's senior officials.

Earlier last week, several callers to a national radio show detailed how they saw young men openly sprinkle cocaine on the cisterns in the toilets before snorting the drug.

I also observed coke being taken. As others went about their business in one of the large toilet areas underneath the expansive terrace, I saw young men - in full view of everyone - lining up to take cocaine.

"I have been on the Hill for over 20 years and I have never seen anything like that, that's rotten. I have my kids with me," one man said to me as he left the toilet and headed back to the Hill.

At present, several homemade videos containing images of people on the famous Hill throwing bottles at stewards and gardai are uploaded on internet website YouTube.

On the way into the Hill last Sunday, many fans were subjected to searches by stewards and gardai, but the officials' priority was to confiscate glass alcohol bottles. Fans spoke openly about having bottles of beer taken off them - while sizeable blocks of hash in their pockets were left undisturbed.

The Sunday Independent understands that undercover gardai will be on duty on Hill 16 in addition to the uniform police to monitor events as they progress.

Garda sources have confirmed that they were made aware of what happened last Sunday and measures are being put in place to combat such events.

The newly-revamped Hill 16 was the last part of the stadium to be redeveloped. It holds close to 14,000 people when full.

The match today is not a sell-out, but the crowd is expected to be around 70,000. Throw-in at the Dublin/Offaly match is at 4pm.

- Daniel McConnell

From todays Sindo (I know, I know)
    I also observed coke being taken. As others went about their business in one of the large toilet areas underneath the expansive terrace, I saw young men - in full view of everyone - lining up to take cocaine.

Pity you didnt write about it last week then - you'd have got an exclusive. Methinks Aengus should take you aside aand remind you what he pays you for kiddo.
    "I have been on the Hill for over 20 years and I have never seen anything like that, that's rotten. I have my kids with me," one man said to me as he left the toilet and headed back to the Hill.

Of course he did.....:rolleyes: