Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

trouble in hill 16

• 07-06-2007 12:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

friends of mine were in the hill for the match, who were meath fans and because so many bottles etc were thrown at them they had to be removed, now im sure they were singing etc but surely their is a line and why isnt anything being done about it. the gaa divided the tickets between the four counties after all so they were entittled to be their

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

This has been going on for years,the media don't report it because its the GAA and we cant be having trouble at GAA games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Dub13 wrote:
    This has been going on for years,the media don't report it because its the GAA and we cant be having trouble at GAA games.

Does seem to be an emerging problem and unfortunately Dublin does seem to be involved more than other counties, and yes, obviously because they are a bigger county!

Does seem to be Dublin supporters and ABD supporters. probably equally.

The video that was on Bebo from the Mayo was seriously worrying. It takes a small minority to cause bother despite the large majority!

Seriously been at Liverpool and yes the Man U Derbies are great to watch, BUT, do we GAA supporters need to be segregated? Hopefully not.

Thats what makes the GAA special, the craic and the banter, not just in the pubs, but on the streets. I would have a serious worry, bringing my son to a English soccer match and wondering why they are segregated and spitting on each other when you can go to a GAA match and there's no bother. It would lose fans by the thousands.

These needs to be eradicated and quick. If Dublin fans think their is an element bringing disrepute to their support, same as Meath and other counties they need to be reported. At least with GAA somebody knows somebody causing this bother, just report it to the club and try and sort it out.

My God, there's going to be banter between supporters on the Hill, just take it and give it back. I think Donegal supporters had the same bother in 92.

Seruiously, though no matter what county you support, do all you can to eradicate this. No to segregation, before it's to late.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I have heard that the Meath fans who were thrown out were causing hassle themselves, but they were given plenty too - to what extent the Meath fans caused hassle is another thing altogether.

My limited experience of the Hill is that the craic is great and 90% of the people there are good for a laugh, take part in the standard slagging but aren't at all vicious or serious. Most times GAA matches involve this type of banter and are great to see - there's usually plenty of wit but no real animosity.

That said, I'm not misty-eyed about the Hill and there are plenty of scumbags who turn up there too - usually the fair weather fans. Not sure how much of a problem it is for other counties, but I doubt Dublin is alone in having some idiots for fans.

Sure just look at youtube - a clip up there of a bottle hitting a Garda, which was thrown by someone in the Hill at a Dublin match. Of course most of the cúnts who'd dare to do that only get the balls to when they know there's zero chance of them getting caught.

And I don't think it's a segregation thing - those kinds of idiots are just there to have what they consider to be a laugh. I remember standing next to some yokel in the Hill last year doing coke off a coin. He wasn't there for the sport, I can tell you that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭gucci

did anyone else notice in the first half the cameras flashed into a group of the meath supporters, young lads, only about 15-16 year olds or so and one of them took a good healthy swig straight from a naggin of vodka.......aaah the youth of ireland, wouldnt it make ya proud!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,028 ✭✭✭Trampas

I was on the hill on Sunday and seen it all.

The meath fans where been taken out and giving it loads to the Dublin fans on the hill even though been taken out by the Gardaí. You could see that some of them wanted it to rain down bottles on them. Why they were taken out infront of the hill was behind me and not taken out the other way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭The Rooster

As has been said those Meath fans were thrown out because they were píssed and causing trouble. As they were being escorted out they very cleverly were gesticulating at the Hill, and thus the scum element on the Hill took that as an open invitation to throw missiles at them. The keystone cops were thus also in the firing line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Listen ladies and gents.

The thing about Hill 16 on Sunday,was that you had a minority of scumbags who usually get in and because it was a derby and there is hatred between some Dublin and Meath supporters,it was intensified.

The Meath supporters in the Hill were in unchartered territory even if they had the right to be there but it just highlights the stupidity of those Meath individuals who were drinking and causing trouble.

If 40 knackers were having a fire in a park,I would not go over and pour water on it.Thats the same principle for those Meath fans.They should know to keep the slaggings in the spirit of good banter and not cause trouble.

I do not condone missiles and stuff been thrown but for those Meath fans I also have no sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭clg23

One of the dumbest decisions i have ever seen.. Meath fans were taken out of the nally side of the hill (near Hogan Stand) and paraded across the front of the hill in front of the nets too, they were loving it at first waving/singing etc but had to run for it in the end because there was bottles cans coins raining down on them.. The hill is bound to have trouble on it from time to time as it is mainly made up of young people who have been drinking, closely packed together, with very little garda presence..

Segregation would be terrible for the game but i would advise supporters of other teams to avoid the hill when dublin are playing as there is a minority of people who would prefer to throw stuff at other teams supporters than watch the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The view is much better from the stands anyway. Don't see what all the fuss about Hill 16 is.

Mossy Monk wrote:
    The view is much better from the stands anyway. Don't see what all the fuss about Hill 16 is.

Cause the atmosphere up there is so much better than in the stands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭andrew1977

I was on the hill for the leinster final last year and to my disbelief, i saw a few lads snortinkg cocaine off the match programme.
    Prefer to sit in the stand myself, less hassle and better view

Agree on both counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

I was on the hill aswell and could clearly see those meath fans for the whole game. They were turned around for the the majority of the game, facing back up the hill with their fingers up at Dubs fans and basically asking for it.
    Stupid idea to parade them across, but one Meath fan had to be restrained by a Guard he was giving it so much socks.... they wanted bottles to be thrown at them. No sympathy for them, but not condoning what the dubs fans did.

As for segragation, I think Gaa fans can get on together. However what they did with the Hill was wrong. It should be either done 50-50 or not at all, don't let a small bunch of 10 trouble makers in.

By the way there was other small groups of meath fans on the hill and there was no trouble caused. The one group right beside us and they got their share of abuse from the more 'vocal' dubs fans behind them, but they took it in good spirit and they ended up shaking hands after game. Nice to see after the trouble that had gone on before. They seemed to have the intelligence not to provoke the dubs fans, not like the eejits who had to be taken out.

I'd like to think that a group of supporters could stand on the hill without being hassled (as in stuff being thrown etc) everyone enjoys a bit of banter but there always seems to be some muppets who take it too far and start throwing things. It was a disgrace in previous years when players were targetted - pascal McConnell (tyrone keeper) had coins and stuff thrown at him throughout the 2 games, a lot of coke heads with no interest in seeing the game..

There was some gob****e behind me kept chanting "Hill 16 is Dublin ooonlaaay",I felt like turning around and telling him to shut it.

Luckily at half time,I missed the half time "entertainment" of Meath fans getting throttled and the Gardai "initiative" of bringingt them in front of the Hill.Anyway,I don't think we will get a repeat of this.The GAA and stewards might keep some seats in reserve for Meath fans who are exported out of the Hill or either turn them away at the turnstiles and place them elsewhere.Its a possibility.

Yeah I did notice a complete lack of stewards. I was near enough where the nally and the hill meet and there were people jumping over and back between the two all day.
    I'd say we'll see a bigger presence at the next game....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

As I said before, I know the lads who went onto The Hill and was menat to be there myself, until I swapped my ticket for a Cusack because of the weather.

First off, there are alot of innacuracies being posted here.

The same Meath lads were on the Hill two years ago and caused no trouble. They did not try to rise the Dublin supporters in any way - until they were being escorted off the Hill. They fully admit that they got annoyed being brought out and just before they were taken out, because all manner of items had been thrown at them.

Pretty much from when they walked in, they were getting the odd roar like "you can stick the Royal county up your arse" etc. but didn't mind that. They also got the odd small item thrown eg. a bottle top.

It was onlt when Meath started coming back into the game that the larger items were being thrown ie. bottles and cans, coins and an umbrella.

This was when some of the lads got annoyed and gestured toward the Dublin supporters. The throwing of items had started long before this though and the lads were quite annoyed, as anyone would be. They had the same right to wave for a point for their team as any fans did.

This was when the Gardai came and said that they wanted to move the lads for their own safety. At this point, one of them had been hit in the front of the head with a coin and was bleeding and another had taken a severe knock the back of the head from a bottle.

The bottom line is that the throwing of items had started long before the lads got annoyed and started gesturing back to the Dubs on the Hill.

A few of the lads have already written e-mails and letters of complaint that have been sent to both the GAA and Leinster Council. I'll try and get copies of some if I can.

The lads were sold Hill tickets, it was the only tickets they could get as 3000 Hill tickets were released to Meath. So I don't see how anyone can argue that they were in unchartered territory or other such bull. Dublin fans have no right to claim the Hill.

Croke Park, and all its stands or terraces, are for the people of Ireland. This ignorance that the Dubs own the Hill is what Conor Mortimer was referring to last year when he talked about how the Mayo footballers wanted to put the Dubs in their place.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

andrew1977 wrote:
    I was on the hill for the leinster final last year and to my disbelief, i saw a few lads snortinkg cocaine off the match programme.
    Prefer to sit in the stand myself, less hassle and better view

Yeah - same match as the one I was at when I saw guys snorting it off a coin - might have been the same gobshítes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Jibber

whingin cavan b*astard, give it up on the "croke parks for everyone bullsh1t", the dubs don't claim to own croker, but at least they've earned their chance to play there since the redevelopment.

If Meath got 3,000 Hill tickets.

Where were the 3,000 Meath fans.

You always get other counties fans on the hill and there does be great crack with them.

You can be pretty sure that you will get 2 different sides of the story to who you talk to. Lest be honest about it.

But walking them infront of the hill remind me of Braveheart when Mel Gibson was been brought out of the execution and the food been thrown at him.

Trampas wrote:
    If Meath got 3,000 Hill tickets.

Where were the 3,000 Meath fans.

You always get other counties fans on the hill and there does be great crack with them.

You can be pretty sure that you will get 2 different sides of the story to who you talk to. Lest be honest about it.

But walking them infront of the hill remind me of Braveheart when Mel Gibson was been brought out of the execution and the food been thrown at him.
    All caused by too much drink and garda incompetence.

Lemlin,when I refer to Meath supporters being in unchartered territory it means that they were there but don't know what to do as they are surrounded by Dublin supporters.They are in an unfavourable position.They were the minority.Neither did I say Dublin owned Hill 16.

You say Dublin have no right to claim the Hill but Dublin consistently sell it out and occupy it.Its been that way since the 1970s.So I think Dublin have every right to claim it.If Cavan could do it,I couldn't see you complaining.

I don't see Meath or any other county selling out Hill 16.It also adds an element into the game for both Dublin and their opposition in that it gives each team extra motivation to score into the Hill to either p!ss off the Dubs or give them something to cheer about.I'm not saying Meath fans are not allowed into the Hill but its a brave thing for them to do and something which should be given strong consideration as far as safety is concerned.

Jibber wrote:
    whingin cavan b*astard, give it up on the "croke parks for everyone bullsh1t", the dubs don't claim to own croker, but at least they've earned their chance to play there since the redevelopment.

The fact that I'm from Cavan has nothing to do with this, but thanks for that anyway.

And how is it bull**** that Croke Park is for everyone? Who exactly is it for then?

I didn't say the Dubs claim to own Croker, they just seem to think they own one terrace in it.

Even their management does if Pillar and his management team's reaction to Mayo last year is anything to go by.

The Meath lads were clearly pissed, clearly idiots and clearly trouble-makers. There are at the edge of a gene pool where they get exactly what is coming to them. Its only a pity the guards are too incompetent to arrest any Dub scumbag who throws a missile.

Jibber wrote:
    All caused by too much drink and garda incompetence.

The meath lads were asking for more bottles to be thrown at them. The fans would did thrown shouldn't have but they did.

If to much to drink then why do they let them in?

Gardaí and stewards not doing their job.

Theres no need to call Lemlin a whinging Cavan Bastard,it has nothing to do with it.Lets keep this thread and discussion in good taste yeah and lets not get personal.

I'd be a bit worried if I brought my girlfriend to the Hill for a Dublin match.Her first match in the Hill was last August when we went to Cork-Kerry and Mayo-Laois.She loved it but I'd be a bit concerned for her safety with the bootles and stuff thats thrown about,somebody could easily mis-throw it and hit her.

Dublin have made Hill 16 their home over the years.Its all about tradition and is sort of ritualistic.Thats the key issue to this.Some plonkers go way overboard though.

The Meath lads were clearly pissed, clearly idiots and clearly trouble-makers. There are at the edge of a gene pool where they get exactly what is coming to them. Its only a pity the guards are too incompetent to arrest any Dub scumbag who throws a missile.

If this is true, then why were there no problems until about twenty minutes in when Meath started coming back into the game?

Because the Dub supporters on the Hill didn't like seeing Meath coming back into it and their supporters celebrating so they decided to throw a few bottles etc.

I'm sure you'd be annoyed at having items including an umbrella thrown at you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭gucci

Jibber wrote:
    but at least they've earned their chance to play there since the redevelopment.
    Geography is also on Dublin's side to "earn" their chance to play some early round games there.

Lemlin wrote:
    If this is true, then why were there no problems until about twenty minutes in when Meath started coming back into the game?

Because the Dub supporters on the Hill didn't like seeing Meath coming back into it and their supporters celebrating so they decided to throw a few bottles etc.

I'm sure you'd be annoyed at having items including an umbrella thrown at you?

There were a number of Meath fans near where I was in the Hill. They werent thrown out by the Gardai. But then again, they werent pissed idiots, intent on causing trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 aran5

this is the aggressive response i thought i'd get from some dubs

Lemlin wrote:
    The fact that I'm from Cavan has nothing to do with this, but thanks for that anyway.

And how is it bull**** that Croke Park is for everyone? Who exactly is it for then?

I didn't say the Dubs claim to own Croker, they just seem to think they own one terrace in it.

Even their management does if Pillar and his management team's reaction to Mayo last year is anything to go by.

bullsh1t in that everyone keeps mentioning it, stating the obvious again and again.

Speaking of Pillar,his presence at the sideline is a factor going into the replay.We may see a more organised Dublin side next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Why on earth would you go onto Hill 16 if you were playing against Dublin? You know you're going to get abused!!!!:rolleyes:

aran5 wrote:
    this is the aggressive response i thought i'd get from some dubs

Just like the Meath Fans on the hill you are trying to provoke a reaction...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

blackbelt wrote:
    Speaking of Pillar,his presence at the sideline is a factor going into the replay.We may see a more organised Dublin side next time.

lol Sorry blackbelt but, hah. Pillar is a good manager, possibly a very good manager but he's no tactician. It's his idea to have these interchanging forwards which end up losing their positions and head near the end of games. It was Caffery who has been consistently slow to put on subs when things go wrong.

The problem with Dublin last week was the same problem I've seen with them ever since the Semi-Final against Armagh in 2002. That game damaged them mentally, I think most of the present team were on that panel or close enough to get infected by the problem. Until thats sorted, the Dubs will never win an All-Ireland.
    It's the exact same case with Mayo except Mayoitis only seems to kick in on All-Ireland final day. But the seeds were sown in the 2 Meath finals in 1996 and it hasn't left us yet. As we have found it's one of the hardest things to fix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Jibber, personal abuse cop the **** on.

One and only warning from me.

towards who?

It's true that this is a problem for us. However I think that last Sunday was a step in the right direction. Blew it against Mayo last year, Tyrone this year in the league and countless other games. However on Sunday while we did blow a lead we didn't actually lose the match. its a step in the right direction.
    And no disrespect to Meath but they're no Mayo or Tyrone, but it's a start....small steps as they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

towards who?
    whingin cavan b*astard...

The fact you can't see it really doesn't help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Someone should highlight this issue to Martin Breheny in the Indo. We read him complain about anything and everything so the least he should do is mention something as important and worrying as this growing trend in the terraces.

I'm not just talking about Dublin or Meath supporters on the Hill. At the NHL final in the town end I had the biggest load of ****head Waterford "supporters" in front of me. If you ever replay the match look out for a sports bottle hitting the back of the Kilkenny net before a 21' free, curtosy of them. And it was just a league match!
    I've never been on the hill so I cant speak for either set of supporters but it is something that needs to be addressed. Hopefully segregation isnt be the answer but I fear it will be in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Hehe, i thought we Dubs were getting off light on this one. Wondering why no thread had been made for it. It was only one group of Meath fans that were removed. There were plenty of other groups of Meath fans that didnt get any hassle and remained so im quite sure that group were causing hassle themselves. The fact that they walked by the front of the Hill giving the fingers to the stand would also suggest this. Anyway, im not gonna make any excuses for the bottle throwers. Simple fact is they should be banned from all GAA grounds but until there is some kind of security measure for this small bunch that do it, they will keep getting in and doing it again.

clg23 wrote:
    Segregation would be terrible for the game but i would advise supporters of other teams to avoid the hill when dublin are playing as there is a minority of people who would prefer to throw stuff at other teams supporters than watch the game
    I was going to say this but i dont want it to come across that i think Hill 16 is a Dublin only area. Quite the opposite. I do like it being mostly Dubs but it adds a bit of fun having some rival fans in there also.Anyway, Its simply that at the moment there are a small number of troublemakers in the Hill that cause all this and until they are kept away, it isnt really safe for opposition fans. You do have to note also that some areas of the Hill are worse than others. The group that were removed were over near the old corner of the Hill where alot of the trouble always started back before it was redeveloped and still today. I usually go to the area just left of the goals when looking onto the pitch and have very rarely seen any trouble there, certainly nothing too serious but again id suggest that this group probably knew well which area they were going to. Im not trying to make it out that it was completely their fault or anything of the sort but if you start giving Dublin fans sh*t in that area, you will get trouble back in abundance.

Only slowly reading through this now so sorry for all the posts :D Just read your first post there Lemlin and if thats true, then they were harshly treated but your hearing all this from your friend who was one of them. Your naturally not going to hear a neutral opinion there. The fact is that if it was only when Meath started coming back, why didnt all the other groups of Meath fans get pelted with missiles in the 2nd half? Surely if the bottlers (and i dont mean the 15 dubs on the pitch) saw a reason to throw missiles when Dublin were 3 points up they would have more reason when Meath pulled it even. I have no doubt that the Meath fans were causing hassle and one person here already said they saw them doing it, however i still dont agree with the stuff being hurled at them obviously. And also i dont think Dublin decided they own the Hill, however you cant deny it is pretty much a Dublin terrace going by attendance. Not in ownership but the fact that when tickets do go on sale to other counties, its still 98% Dublin supporters there. Some minority of fans may think that means no other counties are welcome there but on the whole Dubs know well its not our terrace.

PS. The stewards and gardai were absolutely stupid to bring them accross the Hill. Sometimes you wonder if they get any training for this at all!

PPS. Jibber, this forum can get out of hand easily enough without throwing insults around like that. Give the admins a break and only post constructive comments.

deise59 wrote:
    Someone should highlight this issue to Martin Breheny in the Indo. We read him complain about anything and everything so the least he should do is mention something as important and worrying as this growing trend in the terraces.

I'm not just talking about Dublin or Meath supporters on the Hill. At the NHL final in the town end I had the biggest load of ****head Waterford "supporters" in front of me. If you ever replay the match look out for a sports bottle hitting the back of the Kilkenny net before a 21' free, curtosy of them. And it was just a league match!
    I've never been on the hill so I cant speak for either set of supporters but it is something that needs to be addressed. Hopefully segregation isnt be the answer but I fear it will be in the future.
    I dont think segregation is needed, i simply think once you do something like hurl a missile at a fan you should be banned from being a member of any GAA club, banned from purchasing tickets and also banned from all grounds around the country. I saw Manchester City were trying out a new system whereby all tickets are scanned when entering a stadium. If the ticket is not in your name, or the name of a person with you, you cannot enter. I know it would slow things up on entering the ground but if they had a database of all banned fans and when scanned, the ticket is in that persons name, they are turned away. Of course this means they can get their friends to buy their ticket but eventually all their friends would be also banned if they kept their messing up.

There were a number of Meath fans near where I was in the Hill. They werent thrown out by the Gardai. But then again, they werent pissed idiots, intent on causing trouble.

Had they abuse roared at them and bottles thrown?

If you call celebrating your team scoring points, provoking the opposite supporters, then the whole of the Hill must of been provoking the Meath supporters on it. Its only natural to support your team scoring a point.

Its interesting that the same lads were on the Hill two years ago and didn't get the same reaction when Dublin were in the lead throughout the entire game.

Incidentally, did the Meath supporters beside you just stand there and say nothing? Chances are they did because they knew if they showed any sign of support for their team they'd get abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

the hill 16 situation is a joke, the summer dub supporters, as in the ones that only realise dublin are playing when its in the championship do believe that the hill is a dublin only area, after talking to several dub supporters after the game it became quite clear. Its fair enough to say dublin can sell out the hill but thats not the point, the hill could easily be split 60 - 40 or 70 - 30, giving other teams supporters a safe enough crowd of there own people to support there team with, meath were given 3000 tickets for the hill but most meath people know they'd be surrounded by dubs so would be afraid to buy a hill ticket and the tickets would have been handed back to the gaa.

the hill is evenly open when two other teams are playing in croke park, at the meath louth game last year there was a great friendly rivalry between the suppoters and there was even numbers of both, this would never happen with the dubs playing there.

on another note it is very unfair to other teams playing against dublin in croker, having such a concentrated amount of dub supporters makes the split support of other counties look scattered and could easily give the dublin team a lift if you get what i'm saying, not quite sure if its coming across right.

as for the trouble element on the hill, i dont know the situation about how the meath fans came to be thrown out but i seen the amount of stuff that was thrown at them and it certainly was not a minority involved in that! granted it may have been provoked it doesnt show much maturity on behalf of the dublin fans even if it was provoked by a few drunk meath supporters.
    There are at the edge of a gene pool where they get exactly what is coming to them.

I suppose you have the scientic evidence to prove that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Nalced_irl wrote:
    I was going to say this but i dont want it to come across that i think Hill 16 is a Dublin only area. Quite the opposite. I do like it being mostly Dubs but it adds a bit of fun having some rival fans in there also.Anyway, Its simply that at the moment there are a small number of troublemakers in the Hill that cause all this and until they are kept away, it isnt really safe for opposition fans. You do have to note also that some areas of the Hill are worse than others. The group that were removed were over near the old corner of the Hill where alot of the trouble always started back before it was redeveloped and still today. I usually go to the area just left of the goals when looking onto the pitch and have very rarely seen any trouble there, certainly nothing too serious but again id suggest that this group probably knew well which area they were going to.

But you do know that there is an area of the Hill that should be avoided. You don't know for definite if the Meath supporters knew that. A lot of other supporters from other counties would go into this area innocently.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by clg23
    Nalced_irl wrote:
    I was going to say this but i dont want it to come across that i think Hill 16 is a Dublin only area. Quite the opposite. I do like it being mostly Dubs but it adds a bit of fun having some rival fans in there also.Anyway, Its simply that at the moment there are a small number of troublemakers in the Hill that cause all this and until they are kept away, it isnt really safe for opposition fans. You do have to note also that some areas of the Hill are worse than others.

That does sound like segregation in every way except officially sanctioned.

By the sounds of it the solution here is the GAA is target CCTV at these areas and also true Dub supporters that are regulars at games to report the troublemakers to the clubs and authorities. I know its not ideal but its more inportant than a bad name for the Dub supporters, other counties and the GAA.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

draffodx wrote:
    as for the trouble element on the hill, i dont know the situation about how the meath fans came to be thrown out but i seen the amount of stuff that was thrown at them and it certainly was not a minority involved in that!

So how many people are on the hill?? and how many bottles where thrown?

So over 50% of them thrown bottles.

If Meath got 3,000. Louth and Wicklow would have got a couple of thousand between them so wont be long before half the hill is taken up with the other counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Trampas wrote:
    So how many people are on the hill?? and how many bottles where thrown?

So over 50% of them thrown bottles.

If Meath got 3,000. Louth and Wicklow would have got a couple of thousand between them so wont be long before half the hill is taken up with the other counties.

not saying over 50% threw bottles just saying that there was alot of scumbags on the hill if all that threw the bottles were scumbags.

Louth and Wicklow probably got an even smaller allocation than Meath for the hill and would have given them back too because the hill is not a safe zone for any other county supporters when dublin are there, theres just a fear factor surrounding it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

draffodx wrote:

on another note it is very unfair to other teams playing against dublin in croker, having such a concentrated amount of dub supporters makes the split support of other counties look scattered and could easily give the dublin team a lift if you get what i'm saying,

So you are saying it is very unfair that Dublin has a bigger support (due to bigger population) and that i should be evenly split?? Or are you suggesting segregation which in my opinion would be a complete disaster!