Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sporting Emporium cash game league final two weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Of course.Retirement revoked.Just dont put up that fcuking 0.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭mickste

seriously really looking foward to it and good luck to all.
    sam we'll chop this up early and attack the town, that's my plan

She put up the 0.:rolleyes:

Deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

delanec8 wrote:
    Nice to meet you too ian:D

Although i presume you meant the other fuktard and you'll be happy to know he lost a lot of his profit back, a fair bit to me i'm happy to say.

haha yeah. you were only mildly annoying :p

It takes quite alot to wind me up these days, but that guy had my blood boiling. Good to hear you caught some of the action anyways. I'd had a decent night and had been up for 22 hours, so was glad to go home to bed!

See you Tuesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭baker1

The 0 was indeed a bad beat Jbravado but as soon as those royalties from the book come rolling it we'll be laughing. As we shall cover in chapter 2 game selection is paramount to a winning strategy and had that been in the SE you'd be still in the game. I might be joining you in Brokesville having lost two 2.5K+ pots in Jackpot omaha game [one especially sick one where i had to call a monkey river bet with QQ on a JJTQ3 board even though i knew he had JJ].

"I found myself possessed, within five minutes, of seventeen hundred gulden. Ah, at such moments one forgets both oneself and one's former failures! This I had gained by risking my very life. I had dared so to risk, and behold, again I was a member of mankind!" Fyoder Dostoevsky "The Gambler"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

baker1 wrote:
    I might be joining you in Brokesville having lost two 2.5K+ pots in Jackpot omaha game [one especially sick one where i had to call a monkey river bet with QQ on a JJTQ3 board even though i knew he had JJ]

Thats some read if you can put him on JJ. I'm going broke with QQ there.

baker1 wrote:

"I found myself possessed, within five minutes, of seventeen hundred gulden. Ah, at such moments one forgets both oneself and one's former failures! This I had gained by risking my very life. I had dared so to risk, and behold, again I was a member of mankind!" Fyoder Dostoevsky "The Gambler"

I nearly went broke[I called and didnt stick in my last 250] but i felt very strongly that i only called his re raise on the turn kinda hoping to catch the case queen. When he bet out on the river i was 95% sure he had JJ but with it being such a big pot i couldnt make the sick laydown. Next time maybe

"I have only to remember what happened to me some months ago at Roulettenberg, before my final ruin. What a notable instance that was of my capacity for resolution! On the occasion in question I had lost everything--everything; yet, just as I was leaving the Casino, I heard another gulden give a rattle in my pocket! "Perhaps I shall need it for a meal," I thought to myself; but a hundred paces further on, I changed my mind, and returned. That gulden I staked upon manque--and there is something in the feeling that, though one is alone, and in a foreign land, and far from one's own home and friends, and ignorant of whence one's next meal is to come, one is nevertheless staking one's very last coin! Well, I won the stake, and in twenty minutes had left the Casino with a hundred and seventy gulden in my pocket! That is a fact, and it shows what a last remaining gulden can do. . . . But what if my heart had failed me, or I had shrunk from making up my mind? . . .

No: tomorrow all shall be ended!"

What a man, he shall feature in the last chapter - "Famous Roulette Players"

I dont know how to those fancy qoute things hence the mess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

What time is this starting at?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

delanec8 wrote:
    What time is this starting at?

I gave John a call last night.

60 players are fighting it out for €28,150. I reckon we will be light anywhere between 5-10 players so there is plenty up for grabs!!

This starts at 9 on the button but John has asked that ppl arrive no later than 8.30 to accomodate seat draws & chip allocations.

60 players are fighting it out for €28,150. I reckon we will be light anywhere between 5-10 players so there is plenty up for grabs!!

This starts at 9 on the button but John has asked that ppl arrive no later than 8.30 to accomodate seat draws & chip allocations.

BCB There is a rumor circulating that the tournie is going to be a p/l holdem/omaha/5card omaha/7 stud. How would you feel about that?

Im probably one of the top 2 regular 5card Omaha/7card stud regulars in the SE so it suits me just fine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Spiral was spotted donating in the Fitz cash game last night, apparently he's become a regular down there.

I wasn't at his table so I didn't get to ask him was he returning to the SE for the cash league final, however I don't recommend that he gets into throwing a strop towards any of the Fitz dealers about being "assaulted" - some of those guys will be happy to let him know what a real assault feels like I reckon!! :p

Has it been confirmed if its p/l or n/l Noel? Not that it matters terribly but I'm pretty pschyed for this....

Anyone boozn before hand?

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭mickste

keoghs for 8-8.15 anyone?

il see u all in Keoghs @ 8ish

Suffice to say Paris is off.....

..........unless buchan and baker get a decent touch.

Updates?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Just home from this even though i was very tempted to jump into a cash game before leaving but stuck to my guns. Started with a 5k stack and got it up to 6k by the break, anyhow managed to get it up to around 18k after the break.

One hand that doubled me up was a massive 56o, folded around to me on the button and sitting on 7k, blinds 300 & 600 so i decided to just limp, no raise form either of the blinds….
    flop 5Q6.R.. sb checks and bb makes it 1500, i raise to 3800 big blind thinks for about 2sec's and pushes for another 6k and of course i ship it in... guy is holding Q3o
    Turn is another 5.... yeee haaa
    and blank on the river.. up to about 15k

win another couple of small hands and am up to 18k....
    then i get jj utg and limp, blinds are 400 & 800.
    folded around to 'Harold' on the button who also limps, no raise from the sb & bb,
    flop is K86 and checked to me so i make it 2600 and Harold re-raises... folded to me which i also insta fold, i show my jj and Harold shows 66 for a set...

make one or two loose calls and back down to 11k, don't play a hand for a couple of orbits blinds are shooting up, 600 - 1200....
    folded to the guy in the CO who makes it 3600 and back to me on the BB, look down at QQ, so i ship it in for 10k total...
    guys thinks for a couple of min's then calls - K10o
    flop is A10x.... Turn is another 10 - river brings a x and thats me elbusto ..... Over all happy with the way I played…. 21st and 200e for my troubles

Even though the blinds were flying up [20min's] John was very accommodating and re played 1 or 2 levels, well done to John and the lads for putting on a good show..

5 way deal done at the final table which saw

Myself
    Halfbaked
    Ray ?
    Colm "slowroller" ?
    John ?

chop it up with myself getting 2k along with Colm, other guys got the rest split pretty even c.3.5k each. A healthy tip to the dealing staff also.

That goes along way to funding Drogheda and Cork...

Full report tomorrow which will involve confessions of a seriously lucky escape with J10, minraising halfbaked from the button and getting him to fold his BB, how to crack KK with 73o etc etc etc.......

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

good job bcb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

Ran KK into AA in the 3rd level:( , then spent 8 hours enhancing my rep as the tightest living human in the cash games.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

mEH. CAME 12TH/13TH ISH. Shoved Q4s UTG when short and called by A8s. That was all she wrote. Good tournament though and happy enough with a monkey for the min starting stack after being horrifcally card dead all night, TT once and AK/AQ once or twice...

Well done to BCB and halfbaked on getting a few quit. How did Eamon finish up do you know? Yeah paris not looking so good unless we got a fantastic deal on flights and accom.

ianmc38 wrote:
    mEH. CAME 12TH/13TH ISH. Shoved Q4s UTG when short and called by A8s. That was all she wrote. Good tournament though and happy enough with a monkey for the min starting stack after being horrifcally card dead all night, TT once and AK/AQ once or twice...

What about the KK hand Ian?

Nice result last night, pretty happy with the 2k in the chop out.

I had 103.5 hours of degeneracy built up over the last 3 months which was pretty good considering I only got maybe 5 hours of this in the first month. Table wasnt the worst ive been at, Im in seat 2, Mickeste is in seat 1, IanMc in Seat 8, delanec8 in Seat 7, SE regulars and good pals Finbar and Donall are to my immediate left, Super Spewy taxi driver Jimmy is in 6 so im happy that anybody I wouldnt like to have sitting to my left are sitting on my right so all is well.

Things are pretty quiet starting off and i pick up a couple of small pots, im just tipping away and then I get involved in my first big pot, Im BB and after a few limpers I pot it to 500 with AA, Mickste calls and then on a 9 high flop he check raises me to the max after i had bet the max - so he has bet 4800 and I insta push for c.7,200. As IanMc pointed out I had an overpair (d nuts) so was never in danger.. My push might have seemed quick but any hand that Mick has that beats me he isnt check raising me with on the flop, he slows down with a set or two pair and bleeds me dry. I didnt think he could fold with all that was in the middle but he did? A couple of hands later im playing my rush when I call a raise from Super Spewy from the Button with AsJs, flop A 8 9, and he bets 1,200, I decide to call and reassess on the turn which is a 6 and he puts in another stern bet and I fold realising im beating nothing - he shows AA for a flopped set - I was happy to get away losing a small amount from that pot.

Later im in the BB with blinds at 200/400 and Super Spewy open raises to 1200, I have Jd10d and decide to peel off a flop which is 10 high and all hearts, I have a brain fart and crai and Jimmy folds JJ face up (yes he had the Jh, and yes he is an awful player - nearly worse than me in fact), OllyK was at the table and as he correctly pointed out I had that move made in my head before I ever saw the flop and was "edgy" with the player from an earlier pot.... Get out of Jail free card - do not pass go, do not collect €200. Lucky Escape............

Things meander along and I dont think I win any pot which I have to show down for a good while. Im content that im just above average and dont have to try and make things happen - all along I reckoned I should play it like a satellite with 5 places getting a ticket of equal value. Next big memorable hand is a car crash of sorts and again Mickste is the unfortunate one. UTG Mick raises to the max of 4,800 (I think), Im next to act and look down at KK and jamm it all in baby!! Mick makes an agonising call with AsKs and Micks stack is crippled whilst im now set to go deep.

Battle of the blinds.. Oooooooopppppsssssyyy... 2 tables out and Its folded to the SB who completes (blinds 1k/2k), I look down at 73o and happily check my option - Flop 10 7 3 and we get it all in with the SB holding KK... ship It.. I was slipping a bit in chips at that point and again needed this pot to be comforatable.

Final Table which also includes boardsies Halfbaked and OllyK and in truth its a pretty mixed bunch of players. Big hand early on, 10 hands into the FT. Im SB, Halfbaked open raises UTG to 10k (Blinds 2/4), folded back to the button who goes all in for 13k (Button is cash game regular Martin - he always has a decent holding here imo 1010+ AQ+, with an orbit to go he is not throwing his chips in for value. I squeeze my cards - Ah (oh baby - could it be?), Kh, that will do me - All In. Peter looks like somebody has ran from afar and kicked him in the bollix. After a minute or so he folds QQ face up, Martin tables AQ and mhig with an A on the river to help Peter sleep better. I think this is a quite an interesting hand and one worthy of discussion maybe in a seperate thread.

We are 6 handed and Im button with blinds at 2/4, its folded to me and look down at Ah2h, now the SB has 2k in the middle and he has 4.5k behind - by my reckoning he cant fold any hand here, I also feel im not strong enough to take him on my own and want to "invite" Peter to the party. So I minraise to 8k, the SB amazingly folds as does Peter face up showing 6 2 whilst laughing his head off at me!! I show him my 2h for a laugh..

4 hands later we are five handed and deal is struck and 2k adds nicely to the tank!! Pretty happy overall but disappointed with how I played 3 hands over the course of the night. I was looking forward to this game for quite some time and had it marked down as a means of paying for Cork and Drogheda.. Roll on!!

5 way deal done at the final table which saw

Myself
    Halfbaked
    Ray ?
    Colm "slowroller" ?
    John ?

chop it up with myself getting 2k along with Colm, other guys got the rest split pretty even c.3.5k each. A healthy tip to the dealing staff also.

That goes along way to funding Drogheda and Cork...

Full report tomorrow which will involve confessions of a seriously lucky escape with J10, minraising halfbaked from the button and getting him to fold his BB, how to crack KK with 73o etc etc etc.......

Well done Noel, Peter and John. Ye were the best players at the FT I felt and I hoped it would lead to a good result for ye. Shame I couldn't quite last until the final dealmaking stage. :o

I managed to finish in 9th for €500 which wasn't too bad all things considered. I just couldn't catch a double up despite taking part in 3 races in the last 2 hours whilst fairly card dead.

I don't want to be whinging (since the lads in the SE put on a great evening with good food and the game was played in good spirits) but it was a shame that the structure had to be altered so much throughout the night.

Personally I'd like to see this played on a Saturday with the €200 month game structure. The reason I think this is justified is because of the much larger prizepool then a typical monthly game. Normally the prizepool for the month game is @15k this game had approx twice the prizepool and less players.

By starting it earlier (at 7 say) the cash games wouldn't suffer and I personally wouldn't mind if a reg fee was taken to pay for staff if it resulted in a more playable game.

Having said that (and as a player I would say the above wouldn't I?) John did react well to requests for change and exteneded levels and repeated levels as the night wore on however people had gone in to serious pushbot mode at that stage and others had already looked ahead and decided they should gamble because of the structure.

One thing I really liked was the pot limit aspects of the game in the early levels although it did seem to lead to people making bet sizing mistakes. I'd be inclined to make it no limit later in the game for ease of play but it lead to more poker play in the earlier levels I felt.

Edit: I'd love to hear the views of people who started with big stacks in this game on what effect it had on their play. I had a feeling it would put a lot of additional pressure to convert the above average stack into a big money finish and from what I could see it definitely had an impact in some cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

nice post BCB - it's like the good, the bad, and the ugly!

2 things:
    good fold with the AJ - think back a year and see how quick you wudda gone broke!!

nice lesson on why one should never complete the blinds from the SB - raise baby raise!!

ps how come no mention of sexy dealers??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

Halfbaked open raises UTG to 10k (Blinds 2/4), folded back to the button who goes all in for 13k (Button is cash game regular Martin - he always has a decent holding here imo 1010+ AQ+, with an orbit to go he is not throwing his chips in for value. I squeeze my cards - Ah (oh baby - could it be?), Kh, that will do me - All In. Peter looks like somebody has ran from afar and kicked him in the bollix. After a minute or so he folds QQ face up, Martin tables AQ and mhig with an A on the river to help Peter sleep better.

beautiful....