Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Veyron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭MAYPOP

OKenora wrote:
    Prob posted before but useless fact about a veyron.....

if a current F1 car doing 100mph passed a parked Veyron and the Veyron set off in chase after the F1 car it could catch it and beat it to 200 mph

Thats some impressive acelleration.

False.

It was said about a McLaren F1, not a Formula 1 car, and it isn't true.
    http://bugattiveyron164.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Beekay wrote:
    Hey, just letting all you Veyron fans know that at the phoenix park motor races this year the bugatti will be on display and will be doing a demo run around the track.

Yup --> http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055125347

Niall Cunningham of C&H in Galway was on TodayFM about 40 minutes ago talking about the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

What he say, did an Irish person buy it?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,776 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

i presume you've all seen this:
    James May takes a Veyron up to top speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

The Indo today are reporting a retired Dublin man has bought one. However I think I remember Niall Cunningham on boards saying it was not a Dublin person, but someone from Cork or Galway that was buying one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's the guy that owns cash and carry kitchens isn't it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,776 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Shy Dub buys fastest, dearest car of all time for €1.5m

Irish Indo
    Wednesday August 01 2007

A RETIRED Dublin businessman with a penchant for fast cars has bought the world's most expensive and powerful production sports car of all time - at a cost of more than €1.5m.

The charcoal grey and black finished Bugatti Veyron, one of just 300 models worldwide, can reach speeds of up 280mph and is so rare there is not even an official retail price for the car in Ireland.

Its middle-aged owner placed his order for the car last year with Cunningham Higgins specialist cars in Galway last year.

The car was delivered last week and the proud buyer agreed for it to go on display at the weekend at the Clayton Hotel overlooking Ballybrit racecourse. Joe Higgins of Cunningham Higgins said the private viewing for customers also raised €20,000 for the cancer unit of the Mater Hospital in Dublin.

He described the new owner, whose previous purchases included a Bentley and a Ferrari as a "car lover". The Bugatti, described by 'Top Gear's' Jeremy Clarkson as "the best car ever made", will be on display for the rest of the week on the upper floor of Cunningham Higgins at Briarhill Business Park, Ballybrit.

The all-wheel-drive sports car has a V16 eight litre quad turbocharged 1,001 horse power engine, which allows it go from zero to 100kmh in just 2.5 seconds. The Veyron is so heavy on the petrol that if driven at full speed its 100 litre fuel tank would empty in about 12 minutes.

EUGENE MOLONEY

Another paper reported the cost at over 2 million

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

When do you think VAG will fit the 150BHP Tdi engine to it ????

It would be some quick yoke then !! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Here is what Niall Cunningham had to say about his sale, the customer and Dublin....

"Definitive Clarification
    Hi Guys, Niall Cunningham of Cunningham Higgins Specialist Cars here;

To clarify some points;

1. We WILL supply a new Veyron within the next three months.
    Sorry DRDRE, you lose that one.

2. The price of a Veyron, as anyone can find out, is €1.2M ex factory plus local taxes, will leave ye to work out the rest.

3. All your guessing as to who the purchaser is, is way off;
    PROSPECT - It is not a Dublin person - Confirmed.
    FOZZIE BEAR - Sorry you are also incorrect - Confirmed.
    (Any One Else) - You a probably wrong also. (TBC)

4. In relation to the car being supplied by ourselves and not a Dublin based outfit, to a Dublin client or not etc. here is what i think;
    a) You dont have to live in Dublin to be able to buy a Veyron.
    b) There is life outside of the pale, M50 etc. Some of ye guys should hop on a train or plane some weekend and visit other Irish cities, you might even see Ferrari's and Porsches out there, believe it or not.
    c) There are more self made millionaires per capita in Galway than any other Irish city, INCLUDING Dublin!!
    d) You dont have to travel (READ : battle your way thru traffic) to Dublin if you want to buy a supercar, we have specialist car business's outside of Dublin also.
    e) Saying that, about 35% of our €100K & upwards client base are in Dublin, so why are they buying in Galway ?? Maybe because it is quicker to travel to our showroom with Aer Arann Dublin to Galway service than drive from D2 to D8 or D Anything for that matter.

4. The car was ordered over one year ago, we just didnt make any fuss of it. I think were it sold by a Dublin dealer, it would have hit the headlines then. We dont need to boast down here in Galway, we have the Galway races, that does that for us....

5. DRDRE - Are you having a laugh?? How could you state that you would need to be from Dublin to buy such as car as "Dublin has the M50 and other open roads" to use the car on...Come on, how could you prefer to drive a supercar on a car conjested, SMOG infested, Road Rage Inflicting, Over Charging, under developed road like the M50 to a beautifuly winding, clean aired, road rage free (whats road rage??), toll free road like you will find in the west of Ireland. DRDRE, please refer to point 4(b) big time.

As i said DRDRE, you have to be having a laugh, but then again if your words include "yeah i think it will be coming through a dublin dealer ,why go to galway to get such an expensive car.." then maybe you need to take an extended holiday outside of Dublin.

6. INTERCEPTOR SAYS: "Cunningham Higgins have used 'unconfirmed' press releases to claim that they were getting an SLR McLaren and various Lamborghinis which never materialised. Me doubt very much they will get a Veyron, but if I get a whiff of it I'll be over in my Cinq to annoy them. "

I SAY TO INTERCEPTOR: We never used unconfirmed reports about any car before, especially an SLR as we never had one. We DID have a new Gallardo in 2004, contary to you belief and we will have a new Gallardo Spider in stock in three to four weeks time if you care to watch our website. You need to change "me very much doubts..." to "me very much wrong..."

7. STEVE06 - Sorry, you are wrong also.

We have already supplied a new Ferrari F599 to a Dublin, sorry i meant to say, a Galway customer last month. I am very surprised if the first Dublin 599 is only coming now, those Dublin guys must be getting slow in their old age...

8. Gordan Ramsey did indeed park his F599 in Galways Eyre Sq about 3-4 weeks ago, he also visited our showroom while in town with a Galway buddie of his. Wonder why he wasnt spotted parked in Stephens Green in Dublin? Maybe he was afraid he would get towed if he didnt pay the over inflated parking charges..

9. FEY! is kind to over look the whole "why not bought / sold in dublin" thing and make a positive comment on our business, ie.looking after the customer. We dont care where you live, where you come from, how wealthy you are or not, we only care that we must offer a customer service unrivalled to anyone else, regardless if it is a €30k used BMW or a new Supercar. Our business motto is, and has been since we set up in 2000
    "If We dont look after the customer, somebody else will." For his un biased comment, i will be emialing FAY! an invitation to see the Veyron in real life very soon.

I would like to say that this car coming to Ireland should be viewed as a
    positive sign that we have a country worth bring such a car to, regardless of where it is going, who sold it and who bought it. Those details are only incidental to the car itself !!

Slan for now from the "Real" Capital of Ireland"

Ah.... the good old "real" capital. So either Niall is wrong or the Indo. (I reckon the Indo might be wrong)

lightening wrote:
    Here is what Niall Cunningham had to say about his sale, the customer and Dublin....

"Definitive Clarification
    Hi Guys, Niall Cunningham of Cunningham Higgins Specialist Cars here;

To clarify some points;

1. We WILL supply a new Veyron within the next three months.
    Sorry DRDRE, you lose that one.

2. The price of a Veyron, as anyone can find out, is €1.2M ex factory plus local taxes, will leave ye to work out the rest.

3. All your guessing as to who the purchaser is, is way off;
    PROSPECT - It is not a Dublin person - Confirmed.
    FOZZIE BEAR - Sorry you are also incorrect - Confirmed.
    (Any One Else) - You a probably wrong also. (TBC)

4. In relation to the car being supplied by ourselves and not a Dublin based outfit, to a Dublin client or not etc. here is what i think;
    a) You dont have to live in Dublin to be able to buy a Veyron.
    b) There is life outside of the pale, M50 etc. Some of ye guys should hop on a train or plane some weekend and visit other Irish cities, you might even see Ferrari's and Porsches out there, believe it or not.
    c) There are more self made millionaires per capita in Galway than any other Irish city, INCLUDING Dublin!!
    d) You dont have to travel (READ : battle your way thru traffic) to Dublin if you want to buy a supercar, we have specialist car business's outside of Dublin also.
    e) Saying that, about 35% of our €100K & upwards client base are in Dublin, so why are they buying in Galway ?? Maybe because it is quicker to travel to our showroom with Aer Arann Dublin to Galway service than drive from D2 to D8 or D Anything for that matter.

4. The car was ordered over one year ago, we just didnt make any fuss of it. I think were it sold by a Dublin dealer, it would have hit the headlines then. We dont need to boast down here in Galway, we have the Galway races, that does that for us....

5. DRDRE - Are you having a laugh?? How could you state that you would need to be from Dublin to buy such as car as "Dublin has the M50 and other open roads" to use the car on...Come on, how could you prefer to drive a supercar on a car conjested, SMOG infested, Road Rage Inflicting, Over Charging, under developed road like the M50 to a beautifuly winding, clean aired, road rage free (whats road rage??), toll free road like you will find in the west of Ireland. DRDRE, please refer to point 4(b) big time.

As i said DRDRE, you have to be having a laugh, but then again if your words include "yeah i think it will be coming through a dublin dealer ,why go to galway to get such an expensive car.." then maybe you need to take an extended holiday outside of Dublin.

6. INTERCEPTOR SAYS: "Cunningham Higgins have used 'unconfirmed' press releases to claim that they were getting an SLR McLaren and various Lamborghinis which never materialised. Me doubt very much they will get a Veyron, but if I get a whiff of it I'll be over in my Cinq to annoy them. "

I SAY TO INTERCEPTOR: We never used unconfirmed reports about any car before, especially an SLR as we never had one. We DID have a new Gallardo in 2004, contary to you belief and we will have a new Gallardo Spider in stock in three to four weeks time if you care to watch our website. You need to change "me very much doubts..." to "me very much wrong..."

7. STEVE06 - Sorry, you are wrong also.

We have already supplied a new Ferrari F599 to a Dublin, sorry i meant to say, a Galway customer last month. I am very surprised if the first Dublin 599 is only coming now, those Dublin guys must be getting slow in their old age...

8. Gordan Ramsey did indeed park his F599 in Galways Eyre Sq about 3-4 weeks ago, he also visited our showroom while in town with a Galway buddie of his. Wonder why he wasnt spotted parked in Stephens Green in Dublin? Maybe he was afraid he would get towed if he didnt pay the over inflated parking charges..

9. FEY! is kind to over look the whole "why not bought / sold in dublin" thing and make a positive comment on our business, ie.looking after the customer. We dont care where you live, where you come from, how wealthy you are or not, we only care that we must offer a customer service unrivalled to anyone else, regardless if it is a €30k used BMW or a new Supercar. Our business motto is, and has been since we set up in 2000
    "If We dont look after the customer, somebody else will." For his un biased comment, i will be emialing FAY! an invitation to see the Veyron in real life very soon.

I would like to say that this car coming to Ireland should be viewed as a
    positive sign that we have a country worth bring such a car to, regardless of where it is going, who sold it and who bought it. Those details are only incidental to the car itself !!

Slan for now from the "Real" Capital of Ireland"

Ah.... the good old "real" capital. So either Niall is wrong or the Indo. (I reckon the Indo might be wrong)
    You should do stand up mate, some good ones there;)

Slan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Chaz

galwaytt wrote:
    Oops, sounds a bit petty to me, JohnCleary.... seeing as you're a guy who went and bought a used 320d off eBay in the U.K. ?..... so, what credibility are you bringing to this, exactly?

Here's what I know: Niall & Joe at CHSC are top men. I have not yet had the combination of motive and opportunity (a.k.a. the right €€ at the right time, when they've had the right car for me...but the that day is coming, and I look forward to it....) but I have sold two vehicles to Joe in the past, and bought them back off him again, and I love what they're doing, the way they're doing it, and where they're doing it - i.e. in the West. Niall, you hit all the right buttons in your post, and you're spot-on....

I've also referred two people to them in the past, one bought a 320d and the other a 520. Both people have nothing but praise for them. And last week, I bought something from someone in a different line of work. The seller drives a 523i, bought new from CHSC in 06, because he felt he was being given short shrift by the official BMW network, despite having bought a half-dozen new ones from the network over the years. And that, to me, is living proof of Niall's statement about looking after the customer - someone else didn't, and CHSC reaped the rewards of doing exactly that - a sale, and a further endorsement of their reputation.

Mind you, been around BeeEmms years myself, and I've always felt that it was a sellers, rather than a buyers market attitude, and that really, really annoys me.....I just sold my 02 one yesterday, and for the first time in 16 years, won't be replacing it with another one. Maybe in 08, after I've tried something else in the meantime........

Personally, there's 2 'yokes' on their floor I'd go for now, but it'd be a stretch too far on the immediate future - I missed a Tip 996 in Green they had for a while, and by the time I could have bought, it was gone...........sigh..........I fear the blue 996 Tip will be gone too soon, for me , but there's always another one coming along............

I bought a car off Cunningham Higgins earlier this year .... while most of the sale went fairly well, it was far from perfect. Perhaps just didnt spend enough to ensure the car was 100% checked before I got it and had to then bring it back to another local dealer to get fixed ....

drdre wrote:
    I know what you mean but i meant like lp640 or high spec ones.Where are the diablos are they in dublin. i havent seen one

There was a Diablo VT 6.0 in Dublin from around 2003-2006 until it was sold and replaced with a Merc AMG. I know the car fairly well, have been in it a few times.

We have a Diablo in kilkenny, well not me exactly but theres a purple one going around, very loud and expensive, hense he's sexy wife.......:(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

Lightening; where/when did that note from Niall Cunningham come from; hadn't seen it before.

In this very thread Fey, but a few pages back closer to the start.

Chaz wrote:
    There was a Diablo VT 6.0 in Dublin from around 2003-2006 until it was sold and replaced with a Merc AMG. I know the car fairly well, have been in it a few times.
    you talking about the orange one that Jim Haughey had?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

Thanks, Ciars.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,386 ✭✭✭fletch

Well what did everyone make of the Veyron? Looked and sounded stunning. The carbon brakes going "on fire" too was a high point :)
    img1440ww3.th.jpg

steve06 wrote:
    you talking about the orange one that Jim Haughey had?
    Yes, but his first name is James (unless you are referring to his Dad, dont know his name)

the breaks went on fire..... jesus... Wonder if the owner would be happy about that.

I got pics but didn't go up to see it race.

Chaz wrote:
    Yes, but his first name is James (unless you are referring to his Dad, dont know his name)

Jim is short for James... and his dad is Edward Haughy

fletch wrote:
    Well what did everyone make of the Veyron? Looked and sounded stunning. The carbon brakes going "on fire" too was a high point :)
    img1440ww3.th.jpg
    Ahh just lovely!

Come on, more veyron pics and vids people, i want to here this baby in action:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,386 ✭✭✭fletch

Plug wrote:
    Ahh just lovely!

Come on, more veyron pics and vids people, i want to here this baby in action:D
    One more vid

Click the pics for more from the races and the Bugatti...
    I made a balls of my camera setting so sorry about the quality lads.

1095144635_b16d283ba8.jpg 1096442772_0c23f91845.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,157 ✭✭✭MarkN

I blagged my way into the private area where the Bugatti was on display today. I took some pics but my data cable is in work and I've no bluetooth so it will be tomorrow :rolleyes:

I was surprised at how laid back the display was - kids of 3 years of age were allowed touch the car, as were people with rings etc on fingers.

Then on the other hand, there was a woman outside in the public area getting very concerned about people touching her husband's Ferrari which had a tape around it? Obviously a Ferrari is just as deserving of special treatment but it was a bit odd in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,385 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I was right beside it when they were offloading it from the truck, they couldn't find the keys. have it on video, will upload to Youtube when I'm less lazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,385 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

MarkN wrote:
    I

Then on the other hand, there was a woman outside in the public area getting very concerned about people touching her husband's Ferrari which had a tape around it? Obviously a Ferrari is just as deserving of special treatment but it was a bit odd in my opinion.
    That the red convertible? Your man was loving the attention driving around!

fletch wrote:
    He didn't exactly let it "rip" now did he? I saw quicker accelerating remote control cars in my life.....
    thanks for sharing the vids though!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Who was driving the veyron lads?