Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Applied computing WIT or Computer Science UCD?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

cyberwit wrote:
    I am not the one whom has a superiority complex

Awh thanks, im glad you think so highley of me :D
    I was simply offering my option and did not once critique the Applied Computing course unlike some the information given above by me about the different computer course offered at WIT is accurate unlike the information provided by sully04 no offence intended.

No, but clearly you got offended when I said Commercial Computing was supposed to be ****e. You went of on a big rant, so much you posted twice :D

I offered my opinion, and you offered yours. Face facts man, there two different courses and one is clearly better then the other! I didnt really provide inaccurate information, you can never get an accurate review on a course. Commercial is ****e by some peoples standards, and award winning by yours. Nobody can ever win that argument really.

This discussion started as a dicussion between Applied Computing or Computer Science, but ended up as a debate on Commercial Computing being ****e, which course did what Maths topic first, which course students can spell better and then stating the other IT Related courses (which I commented on with as much accuracy as possible, as the college is never going to be fully honest about it).
    There is no more diplomas or higher certificates being offered for this years applicants, there are now three year ordinary degrees
    after the first two years of the Commercial Computing course or Information Technology course according to a lecturer of mine they can still gain a higher cert if they want which they can use like i can this year to enter the second year of the applied computing course go on in the course they are in or go to another IT or a University (Note if they wish to enter a university with a higher certificate they will require a higher certificate at distinction or Merit 1 level).

Well when I was in 6th year, thats not what I was told by the college. Things must have changed, forgive me for not keeping an eye on changes of a course I have no interest in.
    When we did critical thinking in first year they showed us how to use a comma.

Thanks for that useful piece of information. Ill value that, amongst your other posts. ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

cyberwit wrote:
    The main value of this system is you continually gain qualifications along the four years of your degree.

Some employers prefer people who did a straight 4 year degree, and not ones who did an Ordinary Degree, then went onto the Higher Degree - like Commercial and other courses do.

Its a pitty, as your knowledge doing it that way is probably the same as doing it straight through. [If the material is the same of course]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭cyberwit

Sully04 wrote:

This discussion started as a dicussion between Applied Computing or Computer Science, but ended up as a debate on Commercial Computing being ****e, which course did what Maths topic first, which course students can spell better and then stating the other IT Related courses (which I commented on with as much accuracy as possible, as the college is never going to be fully honest about it).

A discussion which i did not initiate. All i did was give my option on C++ which unlike you i have studied before then because of your own limitations you resolved to bad mouth my course.

christophicus asked about C++ and doing a 2/3 year degree which i answered by providing him/her with the different options (accurate information)

I am well aware that Applied Computing and Commercial Computing are two different courses i was not the one whom bad mouthed any course.
    I am increadibly supprised that you do not do C++ in the first year or two. Isnt C++ one of THE most commen lanuages?
    One of the lectureers came out to my school last year and gave a presentation on computing in WIT and he said somehting about being able to do a 2/3 year degree and then add on the third/fourth if you want, or you can start off saying you are going to deffinatly do the four years , you can do the four years .

The debate that went on in this forum ended for me along time ago all i wanted is to provided Unprejudiced information about the different options available at WIT for christophicus before the CAO deadline. THE DEBATE HAS NOW ENDED FOR ME. I HAVE NOW TAKEN THE HIGH ROAD.:D :D:D
    cyberwit wrote:
    Current computer courses offered by WIT

Three years ordinary degree courses (3 years)
    BSc Commercial Computing*
    BSc Information Technology*
    BSc Multimedia Applications Development*

Four years Honours degree courses (4 years)
    BSc Hons in Physics with Computing
    BSc Applied Computing

*Honours degrees for those whom successfully completed one of the ordinary degree's mentioned above (1 year after three years of BSc)
    BSc Hons Commercial Software Development
    BSc Hons Information Technology

Are you still posting? ><
    A discussion which i did not initiate. All i did was give my option on C++ which unlike you i have studied before then because of your own limitations you resolved to bad mouth my course.

Interesting. You gave your option? Your letting your guard down cyber, last thing ya want is to show off the Commerical guys as having bad spelling!!

Anyway, you did C++ outside the course which isnt much help to the OP. Unless, its done within your course. I dont see how its my limitation, just cause my course didnt cover it yet. I did computers in LC (along with some VisualBasic) and then moved into the Applied Computing to expand my knowledge. Before choosing which IT course, I considered Commercial but was given so much bad reviews I decided not to go ahead with it. Dont blame me, blame them for giving me apparently false information!
    christophicus asked about C++ and doing a 2/3 year degree which i answered by providing him/her with the different options (accurate information)

He did? Where? His orignal post compared two courses;

Applied Computing / Computer Science which are 4 year degrees.

Commercial Computing isnt. And apparently, in the first two years of the course C++ wasnt done (tho it seemes to be mentioned as a language you use). Maybe if you decided to continue with the course, it is? You said you done C++ before entering the course. Absolute no use to the OP unless it actually is done within the course. Has it been for you?
    The debate that went on in this forum ended for me along time ago all i wanted is to provided Unprejudiced information about the different options available at WIT for christophicus before the CAO deadline.

Ah but in fairness, you did go off in a big rant with your angry smileys when I said that the course was apparently ****e and even offered you to make your opinion on the course. Not rant and rave about how we cant spell, how your all great at maths, how ya done same subjects or done others before us and even graduates were lucky enough to work with the government who as most of us are aware made a complete balls of anything IT related they tried to implemen! :D
    THE DEBATE HAS NOW ENDED FOR ME. I HAVE NOW TAKEN THE HIGH ROAD.

Ah here we go, loosing your head again! Your not a very good rep for your course. Anywhome, take it easy on that road mate. See you at the other end :D

OK since cyber has finished his ranting, and iv replied to his excellent posts - lets switch back onto the topic at hand. :)

chris:- Good to hear you put the course down as first choice. It does seem to be an excellent choice if you enjoy computing and want to graduate with a very good knowledge of computing to help you out in the market. If you need anything from me to give you a better feel, just ask. I can show you some notes / exam papers if you want or watever. I know the college aint great at helping out, so maybe I can help. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Cheers man I really appreciate your help, as I do yours cyberwit and rawr. I havent done computing in the LC ( I didnt know you could) but I do have a general interest in computing, although that interest does extend more towards the hardware side of things . Yeah sully I may jsut take you up on your offer. Your damn write about the collage not being very helpfull. I dont think any college really provides enough info to undergraduate applicants. Yeah sure some off them tell you what modules you will be doing, but they dont actually tell you what is involved in each of the modules , which is very frustrating.

Computing in the LC was optional for schools to take up. My school in Tramore (CBS) had the offer with WIT & UL. Twas a great subject :)

The link provided below gives a complete break down of the UCD Degree modules in Computers

https://sisweb.ucd.ie/usis/w_sm_web_inf_browser.show_major?p_term_code=200600&p_major_code=S0123&p_show_prog_link=Y&p_crumb=%23p1%23%3F%22%3E%20UCD%20Degrees%20by%20CAO%20Code%3C%2FA%3E

Information on there modules is provided anyway

Cheers man I had forgotten about that, I ad acyually looked at that 3 or 4 weeks ago , but didnt have enough time to delve deep into it.

cyberwit wrote:
    The link provided below gives a complete break down of the UCD Degree modules in Computers

https://sisweb.ucd.ie/usis/w_sm_web_inf_browser.show_major?p_term_code=200600&p_major_code=S0123&p_show_prog_link=Y&p_crumb=%23p1%23%3F%22%3E%20UCD%20Degrees%20by%20CAO%20Code%3C%2FA%3E

Information on there modules is provided anyway

A lot of that is what we have done in Applied Computing, which is handy to know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

*reads Sully04 and Cyberwits "debate" :D:D:D:D:D *
    *falls off chair laughing*

Jeese, you guys crack me up.

Dispite the bad reviews given about the Commercial Comp. Course, it isnt all that bad, I do it myself, though it wasnt my first choice, it was all that I was offered, even though I had the points for Applied Computing, and there were loads of spaces in that course, I didnt have the option, so I took what I got. And once I settled in, I decided to stick with it. And as for employers preference of straight degrees, my CV will show "Comercial Software Development" which is what you get as a Higher Degree if you stick with this course through to the end.

As for employer preference, a friend of mine doing Business in UCC (and never stops bragging about how "superior" UCC is to WIT) says that employers will always preference University graduates to IT graduates, dispite the superiority of most ITs in the IT courses, where as Uni courses tend to be more general pupose academic, not sure how true that statement is, but it is food for thought

*reads Sully04 and Cyberwits "debate" :D:D:D:D:D *
    *falls off chair laughing*

No debate here. We are discussing the lack of detail in Undergraduate Prospectus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭ec18

Applied computing not a bad course when the class bothers to show up :p, C/C++ is mainly used in areas where code efficiency is the highest priority, in console programming for example, it part (ii) of the games development course offered you start c++ and then move on to "pure" c in part (iii) of the course.

The applied computing course seems very good i suppose, i'm doin the physics degree and cyberwit i have heard your course is ****e and even leading on to the higher degreee its still **** from what i've heard.

The lecturers are sound specially rob he teaches the computer architecture in first year at the moment anyway, the classes are shared for prog and computer architecture between physics and Applied computing.

Besides tis collage most important thing is to have a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭neon_glows

Rawr of course you dropped out, you suck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Rawr!

You feck off now.... Ya never know what yer talkin about....

And don't be talkin to me right! Unless ya have something interesting that I wanna hear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭neon_glows

so why did you really drop out? was it cause u new i was coming into the course?

you really wanna know?!

Neon_Glows: You also dropped out, wtf are you talking about?! Did **** all in second year so did first year and from what im being told your doing **** all their either!

Leave it be the both of ye. If ye wanna moan about why ye dropped out, do it over PM or meet up in a pub somewhere.

neon glows is a waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssstttttttteeeeeeeeeer
    waster, go get a haircut

hey now.... play nice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

Well I did the Applied Computing course after doing the now gone cert in Industrial Computing. This also meaning that I did the Industrial side of the Applied Computing course.

Wouldnt change it for the world... Easily the highest degree that WIT can offer - its even been adopted by international universities I just saw the other day in the Alumni monthly booklet.

I pretty much had my pick of jobs after finishing up in WIT so went off to Oz for a year - enjoyed the life and came back to walk into almost any job I wanted here.

Best course by far...

ec18 wrote:
    neon glows is a waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssstttttttteeeeeeeeeer
    waster, go get a haircut

Get a grip. If you are who I think you are, you have longer hair.

Seriously, this was a good discussion until it turned into a bitching session!! Back ON TOPIC!!

junior_apollo; When did you graduate? The course has changed a lot since you did it. What did you think of the Maths?

hehe your so serious sully

Well I did the Applied Computing course after doing the now gone cert in Industrial Computing. This also meaning that I did the Industrial side of the Applied Computing course.

Wouldnt change it for the world... Easily the highest degree that WIT can offer - its even been adopted by international universities I just saw the other day in the Alumni monthly booklet.

I pretty much had my pick of jobs after finishing up in WIT so went off to Oz for a year - enjoyed the life and came back to walk into almost any job I wanted here.

Best course by far...

I just checked theis forum it out to see if there were any more oppinions , its nice to see that there are, even if the bulk of them are about who may or may not suck .:P:D

Was it the Applied computing course that got you the pick of jobs or Industrial computing??

Also teh guy that came around and talked to us said that you do most of your learning through actually DOING what your learning about .eg writing code, instead of just learning off reams , is this true?

Anyway at this rate it looks like I am going to fail the LC, I still havent started studying and I think I am well and truely fooked .:(

Kind of true.. Not in every subject, but the majority in first year at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Just to let you guys know that WIT are introducing 3 new Computer Degrees this year which ARE NOT available through the CAO system. They are intended for direct application to the college.

I'll try dig out the email if anyone's interested as the only specific course I can remember is the (B.sc [Hons] Computing and Psychology).

Yeah cheers man it would be great if you could get some more info here about them .:)

I misses me class at college :(

Thats what I get for leavin!

OK So i did **** all for the LC and to be honest I am suprised I didnt fail everything.

I got offered Commercial computing , so it looks like that is going to be the coarse that I do. I am going to try and get in contact with someone at WIT and see if there is any way to move from commercial computing to applied computing at any stage.

It would be great if those of you doing the commercial computing coarse could tell me what you think of it :) .

Chris: After 2(or 3) years you have the option of doing the BSc Applied Computing (to go from a Cert to the Degree).

Also, sometimes the college will make an exception and let you in to the BSc Applied Computing - they have done it before. If you email the course leader, she might be able to help. (Currently away I believe)

OK so would that be the BSc (Honours) in Applied Computing ?

Ok I will defo email her ( its Mairead Meagher isn't it?) , although I dont really have a leg to stand on asking for an exception because I only got 230 points anyway ( although I am appealing a fail) .