Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Applied computing WIT or Computer Science UCD?

• 30-01-2007 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭

Which coarse would you say has a better recognition in industry, or is considered better at the end of the coarse??

cheers
    Chris

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Im in my second year of Applied Computing at WIT, there is only 5 of us. Its a tough course, but very interesting all the same. Maths is tough, and we have had nothing but trouble with it. I believe the 1st years are experincing similar problems, and there is a LOT more of them then us 5!

We covered only Java in programing so far. Done some assignments like a Bank, Text Based Game (with rooms (locked & open), an intenory, picking up and dropping items etc) and a football league. We are doing some sort of Web Development programing, but I believe we will be still using Java but for the web.

Covered the theory of planning before developing software (stuff like Use Case Diagrams, CRC Cards, Class Diagrams, Activity Diagrams etc) which is boring but over-laps what we learned in programming which is good. Most of his assignments tie in with research (like now we are researching Software Testing) or our programming assignments.

Done stuff like Project Management & Communication, Computer Architecture, Computer Essentials, Data Communcations etc.

I picked the Networking & Computer Forensics streams. So far, they are very interesting. The maths is Probability & Statistics, which isnt to bad so far.

The 1st years have apparently devloped a much more advanced version of our Zuul text-based game (with AI even!) which we have yet to even cover. There were other assignments for them like creating a application that encodes text and stuff. Seems to have changed since our 1st year, and the course was new (well revamped!) when we started.

Most lectures are dead on, very helpful & approachable, sound out and damn good - such as Rob OConnor & Deborah Duffy to mention two!

Never done Comp Science in UCD, I might transfer into it next year after my work experience depending on a few things back home :)

Hope that gives you some idea like the courst at WIT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

cheers man , thanks for replying to me,What do you actually do In computer Architecture,that seems to be what I am interested in. Do you not learn to code in c++?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Hi Chris,

Not a bother. Glad to be of help! Comp Arch was only one subject which lasted about 5 months, in 1st Year. I cant recall exactly what it was, but nothing special anyway. Ill try get somethings hooked up for ya like past exam papers, and what we did in subjects I only mentioned. :)

I dont know if we do C++, but some of them are talking about doing some bit of C (in a subject called Virtual Machines, which is about the Java Virtual Machine. Apparently, we will touch on C in this). Also talk about doing Perl in programming.

Last semester we done stuff like Operating Systems (Memory Management was something we covered a lot of for example), Software Enginering, Digital Electronics (continuation of Physics from Semester 1 - which was basicaly LC Physics) and Maths (Vectors for example).

Anything specific you need, or if you need me to explain stuff we done in more detail - feel free. I found the college were useless at providing course information and they get the A+ Grade students to comment in the book (the ones who aint gonna say anything negative).

Yeah they dont really explicitly tell you what you will be doing in these coarses which is really quite annoying. I am increadibly supprised that you do not do C++ in the first year or two. Isnt C++ one of THE most commen lanuages?

We were told that C is "going out" and being "replaced" by Java based programing, and that is why we are being geared towards that more then anything apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭cyberwit

I am a second year commercial computing student. The computer courses at WIT are constantly changing, and I have had discussions with lecturers on new modules been added as well as streams. There are about four streams for the Applied Computing and i did some C++ before coming to WIT prefer Java but once you have a good foundation in one programming language its very easy to learn another so don't worry with regards to that.

Maths in computing is going to be hard anyway the choice is whether to do it in a university where you may not get the same level of personal attention as that you will get in WIT. I remember reading some where that C++ is covered in UCD but for one semester or one year.

I would strongly recommend NOT doing the Commercial Computing certificate in the WIT. Iv heard nothing but bad reports on it - its apparently the worst course in the college for IT. Not to sure what you think of it tho cyber.

C/C++ might be done in the Games Development stream tho.

Yeah thats what i was thinking, that its used for games. Isnt java more focused on website ,flash type things?

Can be applications to I believe, but we are doing the webside of things this semester.

ok cool thanks . I will come back here when I have some more questions. But just to ask my original quesion againn. If an employer was going to hire someone based purely on the course that they have done, would I be right in sating that they are more likely to hire someone that has done Computer science in UCD as opposed to Applied computing in the WIT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Minto

I was in a similar postion last year, I was trying to decide between BIS in UCC and BBS in WIT. I don't think it really matters as long as you have the relavent experience/qualifications they are looking for. Plus, with any luck, WIT will be a university in a year or two, maybe even by September, but i'm not gonna get into a universtiy debate with anyone here.

Yeah I hope your right, although I know many people in dublin that would never even consider UCC let alone WIT, hopefully hta tdoe snot permiate into the majority of people up there.

Sully , you were saying the maths is very hard. IS that only with the forensics module you took or is it with teh whole course in general?
    IF you dont mind me asking could you tell me what level maths you did in the LC.

regards
    chris.

We had Maths 4 times so far (no choice in the matter). Same lecturer first two semester, with the first semester being a disastor and they had to grade the papers slightly different as a result. Third semester lecturer just gives out notes, does a few examples, bitches that we cant program and are all wasters, and leaves.

This semester we are doing Probability and Statistics -- so far so good anyway. Nice lecturer, very friendly.

I did Ordinary Level Maths, and I hate Maths :P But, im not just giving a narrow minded review. My current year is as small as it is cause of the Maths (its like Applied Maths for the first two semesters at least) and none of us currenty like the Maths still. The new first years have also experienced difficulties.

Hope that helps.

ok cool thanks . I will come back here when I have some more questions. But just to ask my original quesion againn. If an employer was going to hire someone based purely on the course that they have done, would I be right in sating that they are more likely to hire someone that has done Computer science in UCD as opposed to Applied computing in the WIT?

Applied Computing to me sounds more advanced then Computer Science. "Applied" term is often used to describe that kind of material.

Tho, I honestly dont know anything about the UCD course so I couldnt be sure.

I would somehow doubt a employer would pick a UCD student over a WIT student, or visa-versa. They would base it on what that job needs, and what the guy applying for the job has done.

Minto wrote:
    Plus, with any luck, WIT will be a university in a year or two, maybe even by September, but i'm not gonna get into a universtiy debate with anyone here.

Doubt it. Highley unlikely for September anyway. It doesnt seem to be going to well with them.

Good thing is WIT is a well respected IT / near-UNI. So that helps

Sully04 wrote:
    I would strongly recommend NOT doing the Commercial Computing certificate in the WIT. Iv heard nothing but bad reports on it - its apparently the worst course in the college for IT. Not to sure what you think of it tho cyber.

I would strongly refute any accusations that Commercial Computing is "apparently the worst course in the college for IT". For one thing students on the Commercial Computing course can spell correctly and produce coherent sentences:"Hope that gives you some idea like the courst at WIT." unlike some in Applied Computing Sully

1) Its and ordinary degree now
    2) It deals with software engineering, systems analysis and we have done all of UML, SDLC thank you very much.
    3) Some Commercial Computing students are doing CCNA (Networking)
    4) And it seems we did Statistics before applied computing
    5) Data Structures, operating systems done at the same time as Applied Computing
    6) Applied Computing is the one with the games stream "that its used for games"
    7) Graduates of the honours degree in my course have gone on to work for SAP, Department of the Taoiseach.
    8) Never once have I failed my math’s since starting on the course neither has others on my course.

Sully04 wrote:

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
    I would strongly refute any accusations that Commercial Computing is "apparently the worst course in the college for IT". For one thing students on the Commercial Computing course can spell correctly and produce coherent sentences:"Hope that gives you some idea like the courst at WIT." unlike some in Applied Computing Sully

1) Its and ordinary degree now
    2) It deals with software engineering, systems analysis and we have done all of UML, SDLC thank you very much.
    3) Some Commercial Computing students are doing CCNA (Networking)
    4) And it seems we did Statistics before applied computing
    5) Data Structures, operating systems done at the same time as Applied Computing
    6) Applied Computing is the one with the games stream "that its used for games"
    7) Graduates of the honours degree in my course have gone on to work for SAP, Department of the Taoiseach.
    8) Never once have I failed my math’s since starting on the course neither has others on my course.

cyberwit: Calm down, there really is no need to loose the head and start shouting the odds. I was considering doing your course and was advised by many people who have done your course not to do it. People who have left your course and moved to App. Comp have also said similar. People currently in the course say the same. I guess some people like it, and some people dont. I did not say straight out it "was" the worst course. I said "apparently" because I can not say for sure if it is or not - as iv never sat it (due to all the bad reviews). Im sure you all have excellent spelling, but dont start throwing that as an argument cause your offended.

People have bad mouthed the course (a lot of people, past and present) so I took it that it wasnt the best of courses. Think even lecturers have made that comment before.

1) Isnt a Higher Degree better? :P You can do either if im not mistaken, and the Higher Degree is sitting the App. Comp course in second / third year (if i recall correctly).

2) Ah we done the same, and continue to do so. Not the biggest fan of the subject really. Tho, its in the majority of IT Courses so im told (from people in the UK).

3) CCNA is an optional networking course done in WIT to save time for people who would probably been asked to do it if they were signing up for an IT Job that was networking related. I would have loved to have done it, but im in 9-5 and I like my Friday afternoons of ;). Applied Computing Students sit this course also. Its open to anyone, but mainly of benefit to IT Students. :)

4) Who cares when it was done? Or if it was. We are in the middle of it now, nice break from the other tougher Maths we done in Semester 1, 2 & 3. Each IT course is geared to teach specific areas of IT, some cover material that others dont. Id say the App Computing is very like Commercial - but more advanced.

5) Ya, I know. I was in your class when Michael was lecturing. Not to sure if it was the same material or not.

6) Yes it has a Games Stream, Forensics Steam, Networking Stream, etc. Does Commercial have this, or do you join us if you continue on and do a Higher Degree?

7) Fair play to them. They also have worked with people like Siemens (neighbour of mine). Have no idea about past job placements in Applied Computing.

8) Lucky for some! But, isnt Commercial Computing a small class anyway? What maths did ye do? Pitty the Maths in our course has a high failure rate - often wonder is it the lectures or the material.

Anyway cyber, you dont need to get so defensive. I cant prove its not the best course - I was advising the OP not to do it as he seems more focused on the advanced courses in Computing (which I believe Commercial isnt) and the reviews I was told before and after going to WIT is not that good. To be honest, your the first person to tell me you like the course :D Nice to hear some positive feedback.

Didnt mean to offend, and I hope my spelling didnt offend you in anyway. Its good to see that Commercial Computing students have excellent spelling and grammar :):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Rawr!

Applied Computing is hard.... Way too hard.... I'm out! LOL...

Too hard for me ;)

Rawr! wrote:
    Applied Computing is hard.... Way too hard.... I'm out! LOL...

Too hard for me ;)

A first year I take it?

Yep.... Not for much longer tho...

cheers for the replies lads . Applied computing is 4 years isnt it? im quite sure it is , its just that i saw something that was said in this thread makes it seem as though it isnt. One of the lectureers came out to my school last year and gave a presentation on computing in WIT and he said somehting about being able to do a 2/3 year degree and then add on the third/fourth if you want, or you can start off saying you are going to deffinatly do the four years , you can do the four years .

You end up with the same degree at the end , its just that if you do the four years staright out( I think it was called Abenitio of something like that) then you get a period of work expeariance which you dont do if you do teh course which requires you too add on years/a year. can anyone enlighten me about this?

Applied Computing is a four year course.

Commecial Computing (have to be careful what I say here :P) is I believe a 2 year course if you do the cert. If you want to do the diploma thingy, you then move into Applied Computing for a year / 2 years. Maybe someone else can confirm this, as im not to sure. Thats probably what he was on about. I somehow dont think its the "same degree" as I believe Applied Computing is more advanced then Commerical Computing.

Again, to avoid persecution, I am not 100% sure but I think thats how it works.

Applied Computing is a straight 4 year honours degree course. No breaks, or "thinking" breaks.

Nevermind those lecturers giving presentations, there desperate for people in IT Courses.

FOR those of us whom know what we are studying:
    Current computer courses offered by WIT

Three years ordinary degree courses (3 years)
    BSc Commercial Computing*
    BSc Information Technology*
    BSc Multimedia Applications Development*

Four years Honours degree courses (4 years)
    BSc Hons in Physics with Computing
    BSc Applied Computing

*Honours degrees for those whom successfully completed one of the ordinary degree's mentioned above (1 year after three years of BSc)
    BSc Hons Commercial Software Development
    BSc Hons Information Technology

Ah cyber, where would we be without ya! At least someone it WIT knows what they are doing!!

Just some extra info:-

Commercial Computing - Im going to double check this, but im nearly possitive that graduates of the certificate can do the diploma by moving into Applied Computing. At least, this is what I was told when I was thinking about doing the course (then told by outsiders to keep well away).

Information Tech - Have no idea about this course, I know of people in it but no idea whats studied.

Multimedia - Mainly the Multimedia area of IT. You get into some great Computer Labs like D01 with Dual Screens. Very handy!

Physics with Computing - Isnt really a computing course. Its composed of about 90% physics, and a small bit of IT with the Applied Computing gang. The IT side is:- Programing, Operating Systems, Computer Architecture, Games Development, Data Communications, Internetworking (There is confusion over this. It was supposed to be done this year alongside Data Comms but this changed at the start of the Semester. Data Comms has only 1 student in it :P). Weird combination if you ask me!

Applied Computing - A LOT of IT and a small bit of other stuff like;-
    Business, Physics, Maths, Management & Organization.

Commercial Software Dev. - Have no idea about this course, I know of people in it but no idea whats studied.

Hope that helps. Again, all of the above is purley my knowledge of the course when doing research during my leaving cert on what IT Course to do. I am not responsible for any damage or offense caused to those who believe their IT Course is better then another one. Of course, while I tried to give accurate information - it may not be as accurate as I hoped. Oh and, I do apologise for any spelling and grammar mistakes. Lets just say "Thinking and Learning Skills" in first year App. Comp which thought us the history fo the comma - didnt go down to well with us students!

Lol cheers lads, i really do appreciate this help you guys have given me. I have put applied computing as my First choice, I think i will stick with that at the moment.

Sully04 wrote:
    Ah cyber, where would we be without ya! At least someone it WIT knows what they are doing!!

Just some extra info:-

Commercial Computing - Im going to double check this, but im nearly possitive that graduates of the certificate can do the diploma by moving into Applied Computing. At least, this is what I was told when I was thinking about doing the course (then told by outsiders to keep well away).
    Sully04 wrote:
    I believe Applied Computing is more advanced then Commerical Computing.
    I am not the one whom has a superiority complex I was simply offering my option and did not once critique the Applied Computing course unlike some the information given above by me about the different computer course offered at WIT is accurate unlike the information provided by sully04 no offence intended.

There is no more diplomas or higher certificates being offered for this years applicants, there are now three year ordinary degrees
    after the first two years of the Commercial Computing course or Information Technology course according to a lecturer of mine they can still gain a higher cert if they want which they can use like i can this year to enter the second year of the applied computing course go on in the course they are in or go to another IT or a University (Note if they wish to enter a university with a higher certificate they will require a higher certificate at distinction or Merit 1 level).

When we did critical thinking in first year they showed us how to use a comma.

The main value of this system is you continually gain qualifications along the four years of your degree.

lol... you're funny.

cyberwit wrote:
    I am not the one whom has a superiority complex

Awh thanks, im glad you think so highley of me :D
    I was simply offering my option and did not once critique the Applied Computing course unlike some the information given above by me about the different computer course offered at WIT is accurate unlike the information provided by sully04 no offence intended.

No, but clearly you got offended when I said Commercial Computing was supposed to be ****e. You went of on a big rant, so much you posted twice :D

I offered my opinion, and you offered yours. Face facts man, there two different courses and one is clearly better then the other! I didnt really provide inaccurate information, you can never get an accurate review on a course. Commercial is ****e by some peoples standards, and award winning by yours. Nobody can ever win that argument really.

This discussion started as a dicussion between Applied Computing or Computer Science, but ended up as a debate on Commercial Computing being ****e, which course did what Maths topic first, which course students can spell better and then stating the other IT Related courses (which I commented on with as much accuracy as possible, as the college is never going to be fully honest about it).
    There is no more diplomas or higher certificates being offered for this years applicants, there are now three year ordinary degrees
    after the first two years of the Commercial Computing course or Information Technology course according to a lecturer of mine they can still gain a higher cert if they want which they can use like i can this year to enter the second year of the applied computing course go on in the course they are in or go to another IT or a University (Note if they wish to enter a university with a higher certificate they will require a higher certificate at distinction or Merit 1 level).

Well when I was in 6th year, thats not what I was told by the college. Things must have changed, forgive me for not keeping an eye on changes of a course I have no interest in.
    When we did critical thinking in first year they showed us how to use a comma.

Thanks for that useful piece of information. Ill value that, amongst your other posts. ;)

cyberwit wrote:
    The main value of this system is you continually gain qualifications along the four years of your degree.

Some employers prefer people who did a straight 4 year degree, and not ones who did an Ordinary Degree, then went onto the Higher Degree - like Commercial and other courses do.

Its a pitty, as your knowledge doing it that way is probably the same as doing it straight through. [If the material is the same of course]

Sully04 wrote:

This discussion started as a dicussion between Applied Computing or Computer Science, but ended up as a debate on Commercial Computing being ****e, which course did what Maths topic first, which course students can spell better and then stating the other IT Related courses (which I commented on with as much accuracy as possible, as the college is never going to be fully honest about it).

A discussion which i did not initiate. All i did was give my option on C++ which unlike you i have studied before then because of your own limitations you resolved to bad mouth my course.

christophicus asked about C++ and doing a 2/3 year degree which i answered by providing him/her with the different options (accurate information)

I am well aware that Applied Computing and Commercial Computing are two different courses i was not the one whom bad mouthed any course.
    I am increadibly supprised that you do not do C++ in the first year or two. Isnt C++ one of THE most commen lanuages?
    One of the lectureers came out to my school last year and gave a presentation on computing in WIT and he said somehting about being able to do a 2/3 year degree and then add on the third/fourth if you want, or you can start off saying you are going to deffinatly do the four years , you can do the four years .

The debate that went on in this forum ended for me along time ago all i wanted is to provided Unprejudiced information about the different options available at WIT for christophicus before the CAO deadline. THE DEBATE HAS NOW ENDED FOR ME. I HAVE NOW TAKEN THE HIGH ROAD.:D :D:D
    cyberwit wrote:
    Current computer courses offered by WIT

Three years ordinary degree courses (3 years)
    BSc Commercial Computing*
    BSc Information Technology*
    BSc Multimedia Applications Development*

Four years Honours degree courses (4 years)
    BSc Hons in Physics with Computing
    BSc Applied Computing

*Honours degrees for those whom successfully completed one of the ordinary degree's mentioned above (1 year after three years of BSc)
    BSc Hons Commercial Software Development
    BSc Hons Information Technology

Are you still posting? ><
    A discussion which i did not initiate. All i did was give my option on C++ which unlike you i have studied before then because of your own limitations you resolved to bad mouth my course.

Interesting. You gave your option? Your letting your guard down cyber, last thing ya want is to show off the Commerical guys as having bad spelling!!

Anyway, you did C++ outside the course which isnt much help to the OP. Unless, its done within your course. I dont see how its my limitation, just cause my course didnt cover it yet. I did computers in LC (along with some VisualBasic) and then moved into the Applied Computing to expand my knowledge. Before choosing which IT course, I considered Commercial but was given so much bad reviews I decided not to go ahead with it. Dont blame me, blame them for giving me apparently false information!
    christophicus asked about C++ and doing a 2/3 year degree which i answered by providing him/her with the different options (accurate information)

He did? Where? His orignal post compared two courses;

Applied Computing / Computer Science which are 4 year degrees.

Commercial Computing isnt. And apparently, in the first two years of the course C++ wasnt done (tho it seemes to be mentioned as a language you use). Maybe if you decided to continue with the course, it is? You said you done C++ before entering the course. Absolute no use to the OP unless it actually is done within the course. Has it been for you?
    The debate that went on in this forum ended for me along time ago all i wanted is to provided Unprejudiced information about the different options available at WIT for christophicus before the CAO deadline.

Ah but in fairness, you did go off in a big rant with your angry smileys when I said that the course was apparently ****e and even offered you to make your opinion on the course. Not rant and rave about how we cant spell, how your all great at maths, how ya done same subjects or done others before us and even graduates were lucky enough to work with the government who as most of us are aware made a complete balls of anything IT related they tried to implemen! :D
    THE DEBATE HAS NOW ENDED FOR ME. I HAVE NOW TAKEN THE HIGH ROAD.

Ah here we go, loosing your head again! Your not a very good rep for your course. Anywhome, take it easy on that road mate. See you at the other end :D

OK since cyber has finished his ranting, and iv replied to his excellent posts - lets switch back onto the topic at hand. :)

chris:- Good to hear you put the course down as first choice. It does seem to be an excellent choice if you enjoy computing and want to graduate with a very good knowledge of computing to help you out in the market. If you need anything from me to give you a better feel, just ask. I can show you some notes / exam papers if you want or watever. I know the college aint great at helping out, so maybe I can help. :)

Cheers man I really appreciate your help, as I do yours cyberwit and rawr. I havent done computing in the LC ( I didnt know you could) but I do have a general interest in computing, although that interest does extend more towards the hardware side of things . Yeah sully I may jsut take you up on your offer. Your damn write about the collage not being very helpfull. I dont think any college really provides enough info to undergraduate applicants. Yeah sure some off them tell you what modules you will be doing, but they dont actually tell you what is involved in each of the modules , which is very frustrating.

Computing in the LC was optional for schools to take up. My school in Tramore (CBS) had the offer with WIT & UL. Twas a great subject :)

The link provided below gives a complete break down of the UCD Degree modules in Computers

https://sisweb.ucd.ie/usis/w_sm_web_inf_browser.show_major?p_term_code=200600&p_major_code=S0123&p_show_prog_link=Y&p_crumb=%23p1%23%3F%22%3E%20UCD%20Degrees%20by%20CAO%20Code%3C%2FA%3E

Information on there modules is provided anyway

Cheers man I had forgotten about that, I ad acyually looked at that 3 or 4 weeks ago , but didnt have enough time to delve deep into it.

cyberwit wrote:
    The link provided below gives a complete break down of the UCD Degree modules in Computers

https://sisweb.ucd.ie/usis/w_sm_web_inf_browser.show_major?p_term_code=200600&p_major_code=S0123&p_show_prog_link=Y&p_crumb=%23p1%23%3F%22%3E%20UCD%20Degrees%20by%20CAO%20Code%3C%2FA%3E

Information on there modules is provided anyway

A lot of that is what we have done in Applied Computing, which is handy to know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

*reads Sully04 and Cyberwits "debate" :D:D:D:D:D *
    *falls off chair laughing*

Jeese, you guys crack me up.

Dispite the bad reviews given about the Commercial Comp. Course, it isnt all that bad, I do it myself, though it wasnt my first choice, it was all that I was offered, even though I had the points for Applied Computing, and there were loads of spaces in that course, I didnt have the option, so I took what I got. And once I settled in, I decided to stick with it. And as for employers preference of straight degrees, my CV will show "Comercial Software Development" which is what you get as a Higher Degree if you stick with this course through to the end.

As for employer preference, a friend of mine doing Business in UCC (and never stops bragging about how "superior" UCC is to WIT) says that employers will always preference University graduates to IT graduates, dispite the superiority of most ITs in the IT courses, where as Uni courses tend to be more general pupose academic, not sure how true that statement is, but it is food for thought

*reads Sully04 and Cyberwits "debate" :D:D:D:D:D *
    *falls off chair laughing*

No debate here. We are discussing the lack of detail in Undergraduate Prospectus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

Applied computing not a bad course when the class bothers to show up :p, C/C++ is mainly used in areas where code efficiency is the highest priority, in console programming for example, it part (ii) of the games development course offered you start c++ and then move on to "pure" c in part (iii) of the course.

The applied computing course seems very good i suppose, i'm doin the physics degree and cyberwit i have heard your course is ****e and even leading on to the higher degreee its still **** from what i've heard.

The lecturers are sound specially rob he teaches the computer architecture in first year at the moment anyway, the classes are shared for prog and computer architecture between physics and Applied computing.

Besides tis collage most important thing is to have a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭neon_glows

Rawr of course you dropped out, you suck!

You feck off now.... Ya never know what yer talkin about....

And don't be talkin to me right! Unless ya have something interesting that I wanna hear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭neon_glows

so why did you really drop out? was it cause u new i was coming into the course?

you really wanna know?!

Neon_Glows: You also dropped out, wtf are you talking about?! Did **** all in second year so did first year and from what im being told your doing **** all their either!

Leave it be the both of ye. If ye wanna moan about why ye dropped out, do it over PM or meet up in a pub somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

neon glows is a waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssstttttttteeeeeeeeeer
    waster, go get a haircut

hey now.... play nice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

Well I did the Applied Computing course after doing the now gone cert in Industrial Computing. This also meaning that I did the Industrial side of the Applied Computing course.

Wouldnt change it for the world... Easily the highest degree that WIT can offer - its even been adopted by international universities I just saw the other day in the Alumni monthly booklet.

I pretty much had my pick of jobs after finishing up in WIT so went off to Oz for a year - enjoyed the life and came back to walk into almost any job I wanted here.

Best course by far...