Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who else is sick of shell to sea?

• 11-11-2006 12:59AM

Having watched the scenes on RTE tonight I must say I have lost any bit of sympathy I had for the Corrib gas protesters.

This project has the support of the majority of the people in this country, the courts and an independant saftey review. Blatent scaremongering has incited the people of Westport to fever pitch. I blame the far left activists and the ever present rent a protest crowd. And of course shinners is never far from a violent protest when there is mud to be thrown in the governments eye.

Just read through shell to sea web site. You can see the sort of crap they are pushing down the Westport residents gobs.

Like it or not the govenment did this deal many years ago; short of turning the nation into a communist state there is nothing the corrib gas protesters can do.

So I leave you with this point
    *"The gas extracted provides no benifit to the people of ireland"
    - Taxes levied on shells operation, employment in the area, the fact we have imported gas from abroad for years based on the fact we would make this gas field available and who knows how many other favourable deals were done in europe based on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Meh, I've had no trouble living my life entirely oblivious to whatever this Shell crap is up till now and I'm sure I'll have no problem in continuing to do so. So like I said; Meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

I'm sick of seeing them on the news and hearing about them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Meh, I've had no trouble living my life entirely oblivious to whatever this Shell crap is up till now and I'm sure I'll have no problem in continuing to do so. So like I said; Meh.

I for one second that opinion and if the price of gas goes down, then so much the better. Meh also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Did you happen to see where the two guards dropped that guy over the barrier!
    That was a bit much imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ireland as a nation is opposed to development, look at the second runway at dublin airport, greystones harbour, ballsbridge, the sandyford tower, corrib etc...
    but having said that is it true that ireland is giving away the gas from corrib, i saw one of those posters saying that norway and other countries were getting the gas and ireland was getting none.
    if that is the case then i have full support for shell to sea, if not then i have no support for them and they should not be allowed to stand (or fall) in the way of a development that will benifit the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,409 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Apparently according to one of the protestors there is going to be open war. I'm looking forward to the shock and awe tactics of the Irish army.

As for that stupid name, it would be like starting a boards.ie to ram protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

That was a bit much imo.

A bit much?! give me more pity it wasnt a cliff with rapist pirates !!

peaceful protest..........me feck on tha!!6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Sparky-s wrote:
    That was a bit much imo.

I would have thrown the fecker over too and gave him a rap on the head with me batton.Im sick of hearing about it all now and when i saw the likes of Swampy Eco Warrior Crustys sitting on the road on the news last night i thought "ah well there goes all credibility".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Sparky-s wrote:
    That was a bit much imo.
    That was hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

magick wrote:
    A bit much?! give me more pity it wasnt a cliff with rapist pirates !!
    LOLLLLLLLLL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Thirded (?). meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Sparky-s wrote:
    That was a bit much imo.
    Wondered about that - are they legally able to do that? Arresting and detaining is all very well, but actullay chucking someone over a barrier and into a ditch?

Without knowing the ins and outs of the Corrib debate, If I'm ever in a position where I have to defend myself or a belief against the guards, I'd be seriously pissed off if this was the attitude.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Sparky-s wrote:
    That was a bit much imo.

A bit much? All too similar to the May Day riots - untrained, incompetent gobsite Gardai who can't handle a situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Wondered about that - are they legally able to do that?

**** em they deserved it, An Garda Siochana gave them loads of warnings, they didnt move so force was used, i would have lobbed all them over. The majority of them were Sinn Feiners anyway so i would have been doing everybody a favour.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,074 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Steyr wrote:
    The majority of them were Sinn Feiners anyway so i would have been doing everybody a favour.:D
    Yup, the usual development where people travel miles from their own home to have their 'rights' infringed. :rolleyes: Peaceful protest my árse.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Have any groups of protestors ever won their case in ireland in recent times?

faceman wrote:
    Have any groups of protestors ever won their case in ireland in recent times?

Ya those Anti War fools who hacked a US Navys "War Plane" Nosecone at Shannon, total idiots, the Aircraft in fact was just a converted Boeing 737 which did not carry Weapons or was/is capable of carrying Weapons. Again...Fools.

In fact has anybody noticed that alot of them are not even Irish, the mojority of them are English and come over to here and other patrs of Europe as the plod in the UK are after them at home:mad: They make my blood boil and whats with them wearing "Combat" clothing?:mad: Fools.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Steyr wrote:
    Ya those Anti War fools who hacked a US Navys "War Plane" Nosecone at Shannon, total idiots, the Aircraft in fact was just a converted Boeing 737 which did not carry Weapons or was/is capable of carrying Weapons. Again...Fools.

In fact has anybody noticed that alot of them are not even Irish, the mojority of them are English and come over to here and other patrs of Europe as the plod in the UK are after them at home:mad: They make my blood boil and whats with them wearing "Combat" clothing?:mad: Fools.

if you think they're bad you want to see the anti animal cruelty nut jobs who protest outside pharmaceutical companies!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,074 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Steyr wrote:
    Yes, remember those 'warriors' in the Glen of the Downs who left all the litter after them. My favourite incident there was the swampy who chained himself to the front of a Hino tipper truck and swallowed the key. He thought he was the business. The driver of the truck just removed the very heavy steel front bumper and left swampy with it on his back. What a muppet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

fuck the lot of them,
    motherfuckin hippie retards.

not one of them can see further than their own crusty nose to understand how anything more than a vegan food giveaway can work in a normal society

faceman wrote:
    if you think they're bad you want to see the anti animal cruelty nut jobs who protest outside pharmaceutical companies!!

Are they just as bad or worse?

subway wrote:
    fuck the lot of them,
    motherfuckin hippie retards.

not one of them can see further than their own crusty nose to understand how anything more than a vegan food giveaway can work in a normal society

Thank you, more like minded people wanna join my gang?:D

faceman wrote:

They make me sick the lot of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I love the soviet-era commie styled language the crusties/indymedia types use.
    Evening of Activist video and "DANCE, DANCE, DANCE YOUR ANGERS AND YOUR JOYS FOR WE SEE TOMORROW AND THERE IS AN OGONI STAR IN THE SKY." - Ken Saro-Wiwa, murdered by Shell.
    Shame on the Guards & their masters in Dublin! From Catalonia I send you the protesters of both a national issue and one with obvious global implications - sympathy & solidarity & encouragement.
    Shell itself regards the free state governemnt as little more than a compliant tribal cheif , and the state regards it as its duty to serve the interests of the British establishment and the yankee Landlords in a servile manner, just as Ray Burke and Des O'Malley could sell the future of Ireland to foreigners for a few baubles and blankets and perhaps a top hat . What we are witnessing in Mayo is colonialism in action
    The No23 Leninist Collective farm Workers send best wishes across Socialist Europe to our like-minded comrades in the struggle against international capitalist tyranny. We have named our latest vegetable variation in honour of your fight - The Rossport Beetroot tastes very good!
    It tastes of victory!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,554 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Imprison the lot of them till the project is done, then invite them as guests of honour to the grand opening! anti development scum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Steyr wrote:
    **** em they deserved it, An Garda Siochana gave them loads of warnings, they didnt move so force was used, i would have lobbed all them over. The majority of them were Sinn Feiners anyway so i would have been doing everybody a favour.:D

Trying to work out are a left wing Anarchist who wants a complete ethnic-clensing style armed free-for-all or a conservative nutjob who wants hanging for everyone who doesn't see everything exactly the same way you do.

Force, to the best of my knowledge, can only be used to detain or in self defence. Warnings were given, but the Gardai were the physical aggressors and no matter how much muppetry was going on, it doesn't gave them the right to break the laws they're paid to uphold.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

Steyr wrote:
    Thank you, more like minded people wanna join my gang?:D
    where do i sign,

would it be legal for us to hold a sit down protest against the "shell to sea" camapaign?
    we could block them from reaching their protest sites....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Heh! Bet RTE would'nt film the resulting riot.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

tom dunne wrote:
    A bit much? All too similar to the May Day riots - untrained, incompetent gobsite Gardai who can't handle a situation.

Yeah, I agree. They should have sent in the Riot Squad and really beat the $h!t out of them!;)