Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I am a fish / donk - can you help me??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

oh dear - my sarcasim appears to have been missed by op. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

fair play a consistant profit over 2 years cant be argued with however if you adopted that style of play at a table of boardies (reasonable to assume boardies are decent players) IMHO you would be cleaned out several times over.......but what would i know im just above break even standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

i'm confused as to what it is you are exactly looking for..you've asked for opinions and they have been given, yet for every opinion and criticism given you seem to have an answer for it and from reading your words, i feel you are not very open to these criticisms.

I'm not sure you are being honest with yourself.

To go a little further into a point Ianmc so delightfully put :)

There is nothing wrong with mixing your game up, this is a great advantage and your opponents will have a tough time dealing with you at the table.

The particular reason why raising with 72o UTG is classed as bad play would be for the following...you are raising the pot with another 7 hands behind you to act. I mix my play, just not with 72o UTG...the outcome of the hand is totally irrelevant, try raising UTG every time you are dealt 72o, trust me it's not a winning play and could be very costly on a long term basis even in the name of "mixing it up"

Looking forward to your reasonsing.

Samba

• Registered Users Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

ok, bops ur most recent post there cleared it up for me i think...

your original post sort of read as though you play most/all of your hands in this way, and it also looked like you were asking specific help...

would i be right in saying now that what you meant was that you stepped outside the box for a bit of fun on a few hands and got lucky on them, and were just starting a conversation on whether or not this outside-the-box-steppery is a mortal sin in poker?

is that it?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

bops wrote:
    Firstly I would like to thank you all for the responses so far, I would very much like to spend time replying in detail, but there are way too many of you!!
    anyways, I'll try and keep it short:

Firstly, before I reply 1 by 1, maybe I worded it all wrong but here is the general idea of what I was trying to say:

I played a cash game for 7 hours, in general solid enough (!!) I mixed it up afew times either through boredom / I had a good read on my opponent.

I referred to 3 riduculous hands from I suppose 300? to demonstrate my argument - which was the way people on boards call every second person a fish or a donk.

Then I gave an example of my argument... the 54 eg
    I suppose I drove the boot in then about ABC stuff - just to help generate a response : )

Also im not a professional poker player - i have a seperate income - i do play in excess of 40 hrs per week and i do make a profit - wouldn't want to rely on it for a living tho!!

anyways back to your kind replies - much appreciated btw:

LuckyLloyd: My point EXACTLY Lloyd - it's like black/white - rocks vs fish/donks - It just always appears to be one sided...
    Very well written and I couldn't agree with you more thanks

ianmc38: Your UTG raise with 27o is pathetic/moronic/donkish/related negative words as is playing 37o etc for a raise. Exactly the response i was expecting - thanks!

El Stuntman: Winning non-professional : ) my fault explained above soz!
    2 years continuous profits are enough argument for me, who cares what your style is? now I love your attitude - alas everybody else seems to have something to say about everyone elses style of play - that was my main point - thanks

5starpool - yep soz i suppose i got a bit on the defensive there alright - i just was takin aback by the levels of direct insult tbh

phantom lord: funny u should mention that the KK vs 73 was a good friend of mine - I think that was my main reson for writing this - his reaction.
    Im not lookin for a pat on the back - and that's for sure - thanks

Ollyk1: I'd dont play many cash games in dublin - im a culchie - if your ollie boyce - we have shared tables in tourneys - this post is very cash game based. I was v surprised at Gholi's opinion of me - really - thats the only time i've sat with him i think - i wasn't looking for any feedback on my play etc - i was just trying to start a debate/discussion that i find very interesting. TBH i honestly would have no interest of what people think of my general play - If you want to know ask these boardsters: they know me well enough:
    ppp special
    nicnicnic
    mdwexford

El Stuntman - LOL no and no (well sometimes - depends on a few factors!)

Ste05 - No help required - just a discussion (at my expense : ) )
    I love the game and I love the banter - I don't like making enemies at the poker table - guys who next week i'll be sitting with again - OK enemies are GOOD at the table - but I mean people who really take personal offence over the way you play a hand ???? I suppose thats sorta my point

WombatMan - I got VALUE after the flop!! not relivant anyways...not the point ty all the same

Nicky O'D: If i knew hectors real name it' would help - anyways the ITS NOT THE POINT!!! lol altho i would be interested in the insults he would throw at me! - I'll bet i've never played him at a cash table...

BigCityBanker: TYVM - yep they all did get fairly irate - its good for the discussion - i have learned much from it so far.

kakak1 - exacly - my God someone has figured it out wd m8 - i do recall slagging you about your name before - you were on the carlow or waterford team for the pokerevents yoke a while ago. anyways exacly i am a cnut and was trying to stir it - very successfuy me thinks!!

Sum Guy - soz to Gholi - but he really rubbed me up the wrong way - with the fishy callinstation remark - anyways I understanded your point about the maths etc and for 95% of my game thats how i play - do you understand about how i can play the other 5% of my game tho - gut feelings - playing like a wanker etc etc?? If its all math its not a game and therefore no fun and therefore why would i do it? - u see where im comming from??

nicnic - lol hiya - long time! - it was based on a game in waterford!! I thought u'd be along? Weak tight passive sounds about right m8
    cheers (!!) and cya soon

lafortezza - yep that was the general idea - just tried to set it off - i tought it would make for a good friendly general discussion!!

HectorJelly - Interesting stats etc and v good description too - i play v successful STTs 200$ generally - if you want a worthwhile opinion of my play ask gregior or wardonkee theyre the guys i play with the most - i def. dont play cash 2/4 for profit - not belittling people who do but it aint my game i might pop in for a few mins and tilt away or fk around a couple of hunderd $ - very loose and v agg. - this post was not intended to be anything to do with my play in general if that makes any sense...

thats another point - the idea of using pottracker or whatever and all those other yokes to tell u what your opponents are up to, what to bet, when to bet - make me ask the question again - are you really playing poker?- ffs just go and write a program to do it for you - honestly m8 no offence intended - maybe im too old school - but i hate the idea of all that ****e - but hey i know i couldn't be more wrong - dont get me wrong i like making money - but i play poker for enjoyment moreso - if i wanted to make a solid living i think there are much better ways to do so - just remember poker is all about fun fun fun!!!!!!!!!!!

Gholi - hiya m8 and soz for the outburst ; )
    wasn't boasting...
    wasn't lookin for help...
    just lookin for reactions!
    me: fishy callinstation!!?? - i really mean no offence here but if u really got that impression from me - fk! - shudda gome to specsavers ; )
    BTW: when i said to you in other post about the rock with the 45 - there was a "hint" of sarcasim there m8 - he was pure awful!! (nearly as bad a you - heehee)

Luckyvegas: LOL cheers buddy wp gg

...if anybody had the patience to read this far - thanks again :)

Great response!

Just to clarify, I wasn't calling you a donk, rather I was saying that some of the plays you mention are those that would be made by donks and losing players as they have a -EV expectation.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

poker is fun
    for everyone
    except my opponents
    they should a
    practiced avoidance

they arent big proponents
    in thinking
    not just at the moment
    but the possible
    future problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

bops wrote:
    thats another point - the idea of using pottracker or whatever and all those other yokes to tell u what your opponents are up to, what to bet, when to bet - make me ask the question again - are you really playing poker?- ffs just go and write a program to do it for you - honestly m8 no offence intended - maybe im too old school - but i hate the idea of all that ****e - but hey i know i couldn't be more wrong - dont get me wrong i like making money - but i play poker for enjoyment moreso - if i wanted to make a solid living i think there are much better ways to do so - just remember poker is all about fun fun fun!!!!!!!!!!!

although this is incredibly badly written (;) ), I find myself nodding my head at the sentiment

probably encapsulates why I've given up on online poker

poker is fun
    for everyone
    except my opponents
    they should a
    practiced avoidance

in thinking
    not just at the moment
    but the possible
    future problems

lol - 'Hector's Haiku'!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

Umm, funny read.
    I'm not sure what exactly the point of it is? Your pissed off for taking your mates stack with donkish calls? You wanted to be validated for loose play? You were hoping to be congratulated for excellent play? What exactly were you after?
    Anyways, raising with 72o UTG isn't always donkey play, take Sam Farha, for example, liable to raise from anywhere with any rubbish. (not that I'm comparing you to him!).

Were exactly in Wexford do you play? I must have played with you many times.

unfortunately I cant take credit!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-4gT6FJX-M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

bops wrote:
    Me thinks I have insulted ........

Surely its ROONEY_DIVES :D

lol - 'Hector's Haiku'!!

Surely a haiku is 3 lines?

Just watched that video. Absolutely cringeworthy stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

poker is fun
    for everyone
    except my opponents
    they should a
    practiced avoidance

in thinking
    not just at the moment
    but the possible
    future problems

I very rarely use the term "knob" to describe anyone but Prahlad Friedman is a super knob.

ianmc38 wrote:
    Surely a haiku is 3 lines?

you are quite right (you little smarta$se bo$$ix!!)

so here's some examples...(not mine, I prefer limericks)

Iraq
    A ballot box is
    Not big enough to hold all
    The bloody bodies.

Jazz
    ruptures in hot slurs
    streakes in cool trumpet improv
    buzzing with warm tone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

wasn't boasting...
    wasn't lookin for help...
    just lookin for reactions!

I missed that Part, first thing in the morning i'm going down to my local gym to find a body builder then i'm going to call him a dumb **** ****

Just to see his reaction.

my grandad claims to have written this, he may of been lying

There was a young lady named alice
    Who pissed in the vaticans palace
    it wasnt the need
    that prompted the deed
    but sure bloody minded protestant malice

my grandad claims to have written this, he may of been lying

There was a young lady named alice
    Who pissed in the vaticans palace
    it wasnt the need
    that prompted the deed
    but sure bloody minded protestant malice

LOL, dirty protestants (such as myself - before people get upset)

anyway....continuing on the religious theme:

The Bishop of Cork was held in slavery
    By a vice both obscene and unsavoury
    With bloodcurdling howls
    He buggered young owls
    That he kept in an underground aviary

I'll do some poker haikus tomorrow

With bloodcurdling howls
    He buggered young owls

LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

LOL, dirty protestants (such as myself - before people get upset)

anyway....continuing on the religious theme:

With bloodcurdling howls
    He buggered young owls

I'll do some poker haikus tomorrow

Thats a limerick, not a haiku just in case you were confused

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

WTF @ this thread.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,850 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

lafortezza wrote:
    WTF @ this thread.
    Don't you be doing any lockymifying of this here thread now, you hear?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

Ed Moulton is the master of the Hi-Ku.

Waving a white flag
    Then ambushing your captors
    Why else wave the sh!t

Ancient Indians
    used to gamble heavily
    on the next rainfall

The cheaters would dance
    Hidden inside their teepees
    and be paid in pelts

-Ed Moulton-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

BigDragon wrote:

lol, dam. I should have thought of that. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

lafortezza wrote:

Ah crap, they don't have any porn clips.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

aodea - ty (for my part) - i find it a tad more interesting than guessing how the poor boardster gets his aces cracked by...you know the rest...

Tact - nice work!!

NickyOD - altho i smell sarcasim - well said!

RoundTower - Far be it from me to give you advice on your play which might rob you of your individuality and turn you into another mindless soulless rock atlho reaking with sarcasim - you completely underestimate the strenght of your excellent point imo

Gholimoli - alsolute bolix - and my point in a nutshell - i cudda stayed up all night and i couldn't have phrased my counter-arguement any better ty

Big City banker - and there was foolish me thinking you were not one of the flock - ah well silly me i suppose

bubbleking - yes you boardies rock alright! - its funny to think that the one night in the last month that i made a heavy loss in a live cash game (2k) i played a very solid mathematical based game and was ripped apart by 8 v drunk clowns/donks/fish there were 2 other decent players at the table you also left empty handed shakin there heads - true story!!

Samba - 100% open to general criticisms - just being polite and responding to each individual one and givin further info and my reasoning and opinion with 100% honesty!!

Reasoning for raising utg with 72 - simple - 2 orbits later - did v same raise with AA got 3 callers - pushed on raggy flop - 1 caller with top pair - took down 280 pot / alternative reason i was having fun!

SumGuy - yep 1st post was a bit wishywashy - soz! - but i sorta wanted to keep it kinda non-specific
    and YES the mortal sin element is key to this discussion - nice of you to give it some real thought - thanks

Ianmc38 - no offence taken my friend and thanks! of course they are -EV, but that why they're mentioned!

HectorJelly - (yep i rem u now alright) -lol : )

El Stuntman - im tired m8 : ) but....
    I find myself nodding my head at the sentiment

probably encapsulates why I've given up on online poker

BINGO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    RESULT...now it has all been WORTHWHILE

afferetti - none of the above, but i can tell from your questions you are the enemy!!

shamrock / cesars palace / blazin aces seldom - newbay most wednesdays and sometimes at the weekend

Samba - unfortunatley its the best way imo to get a truely honest reaction...

Lafortezza - WTF @ this thread. ...dont ask me! ; )

5starpool: good man!! : )

Big Dragon - wow lol thats me alright!! wtf is that??

On a side note - i'm just very satisified that i managed to get your thoughts, it's good to have a meaningful heated debate now and again?? - apologies if i've offended anyone along the way - no offence intended - good night and gl
    : )