Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Big Spiders.. Merged

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

For all you giant-hairy-spider-phobes the only real answer is to get a cat!!! I was at home last year watching tv when something ran across my bare foot :eek: I yelped thinking it was a mouse but then caught sight of the biggest feicking spider that I ever saw dashing under the sideboard. uggggggg!

My friend suggested that I get a cat as they love to eat spiders for a snack. I am literally too terrified to catch a spider in a glass and put it out the window so it seemed like the best option.

On an aside - my cat eats moths too :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

For all you giant-hairy-spider-phobes the only real answer is to get a cat!!! I was at home last year watching tv when something ran across my bare foot :eek: I yelped thinking it was a mouse but then caught sight of the biggest feicking spider that I ever saw dashing under the sideboard. uggggggg!

My friend suggested that I get a cat as they love to eat spiders for a snack. I am literally too terrified to catch a spider in a glass and put it out the window so it seemed like the best option.

On an aside - my cat eats moths too :cool:

3 cats - too many massive spiders to count, they just hang out near the ceiling where moggies cannot go the crafty fckers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

hdowney wrote: »
    3 cats - too many massive spiders to count, they just hang out near the ceiling where moggies cannot go the crafty fckers!
    give them a helping hand :D

3499e0o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Justask

Had a lovely relaxing evening in bed with a great book which was rudely interupted by a massive spider that ran over my book :eek: I heard him aswell as saw him. I never jumped out of bed so quickly :eek::eek:

Are they pumping iron or what?????? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭Senor Willy

I love Spiders and always pick up the large Garden spiders and release
    them into the Garden. I swore I would never hold a Tarantula but I got
    shamed into when my seven year old son held this female one in Kinsealy Petshop.

This is what you call a big spider.

Photo0189.jpg

Photo0190.jpg

Killed 2 last night , i think they are coming down the chimney. We have not used the fire in a long time. But a bit of wind and they are in !

the poor mother had ANOTHER one in her room last nite. I wonder what is is. we have had 2 in the living room since they started coming round again and about 15 in her room (lost count at this point). and now whilst i am not fond of them, i have developed a bit of resiliance and am able to rid the house of them (will not apologise for screaming if one comes legging it toward me!). however the mothers arachnaphobia has NOT decreased any and she will have a coniption over them

• Registered Users Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

My contribution to the thread. I keep finding these big feckers. Must have found 10-15 in the last 3 weeks.

The missus absolutely HATES them, so I'm afraid they usually end up in spidey heaven.

I always find them in the same 2 spots in the house more or less - on the landing, and along 1 wall in the kitchen. They're always on the ground though, never up high or anything.

173429.jpg

173430.jpg

My contribution to the thread. I keep finding these big feckers. Must have found 10-15 in the last 3 weeks.

The missus absolutely HATES them, so I'm afraid they usually end up in spidey heaven.

I always find them in the same 2 spots in the house more or less - on the landing, and along 1 wall in the kitchen. They're always on the ground though, never up high or anything.

173429.jpg

173430.jpg

these are the fckrs in my mothers room. She HATES them. in that second pic there he looks like he is rearing up to box you :D

Thats the guys , its the change in weather that has them coming into the heat.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Shower of wusses... the don't bite.. in fact they clean up the place ..get of flies and other peskys... don't squish... escort them to the door in your hand.

OMG until today I would have agreed; I was throwing a stick for my dog and as I looked down at the dog I saw a small thumbfingernail size spider that looked like it was covered with green moss on it's body but wih brown legs. The f*^<er BIT ME and jumped off. I had a big red dot on my leg and within 10 minutes My leg swelled up like popcorn ; all curly and thick and hurt like hell. 10 hours later it now still hurts and the bite area has swollen to the size of my hand with a green rim and red welts across it.
    I would never have minded spiders until today that is. Totally unbelievable. NOT happy at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

OMG until today I would have agreed; I was throwing a stick for my dog and as I looked down at the dog I saw a small thumbfingernail size spider that looked like it was covered with green moss on it's body but wih brown legs. The f*^<er BIT ME and jumped off. I had a big red dot on my leg and within 10 minutes My leg swelled up like popcorn ; all curly and thick and hurt like hell. 10 hours later it now still hurts and the bite area has swollen to the size of my hand with a green rim and red welts across it.
    I would never have minded spiders until today that is. Totally unbelievable. NOT happy at all.

Peter Parker ?

It wasn't one of the guys I posted above that bit you. Did it have a really rounded abdomen? Sounds like you're the victim of a False Widow bite.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

173429.jpg

173430.jpg

oh my they are huge :eek: didn't think we got big ones like that in ireland :eek:

No it didn't look that evil!!( thanks!) it looks like a nice small scarcer spider that someone had put a blob of green garden moss on top of; the stuff you get on terracotta tiles or really bad Tarmac! It is still getting bigger!!! :0

um would you think to maybe pop to the docs to get the bite checked out - just to be safe like

hdowney wrote: »

um would you think to maybe pop to the docs to get the bite checked out - just to be safe like

Y; was a but worried ; brought it to the pharmacist who shrieked and told me to ring the zoo! :( now I'm worried. Venturing to the doctor later for drugs; it is now swolen as big as an apple :0
    Which answers the OP convincingly :( yes: spiders do bite; hard :( it'll never be the same again..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Y; was a but worried ; brought it to the pharmacist who shrieked and told me to ring the zoo! :( now I'm worried. Venturing to the doctor later for drugs; it is now swolen as big as an apple :0
    Which answers the OP convincingly :( yes: spiders do bite; hard :( it'll never be the same again..

:eek: Are they going to admit you to the zoo? :eek:

:eek: Are they going to admit you to the zoo? :eek:[/Quote]

Haha ! Let's hope not!!! & let's hope it's not a nest of eggs :0 ( feels sick )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Hal Emmerich

Haha ! Let's hope not!!! & let's hope it's not a nest of eggs :0 ( feels sick )
    Yea, I'd say she laid a few eggs*, they'll hatch in a few weeks and you'll be grand.

*hehehe, freaks out OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Raiot

dont know if anyone knows their spiders too good but theyre common house spiders, theyve gotten bigger due to a warmer summer with humidity and are completely harmless, id rather spiders than flies.
    however there is one spider id advise you all to keep an eye out for, its come from australia and looks like a black widow but with a greyish patch instead of red and apparently these hunt widows, ive found 2 so far and have had more sightings of em. they can cause sickness if they bite you so id say get rid of them, i put the one i found back in the shed cos im a spider fan and it aint goin near me anytime soon.also ive a goliath tarantula so they dont really unnerve me so much.
    the spider is called Steatoda Grossa, google it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Yeah, that's a false widow. I've a few of them living in my kitchen velux'

• Registered Users Posts: 14 krustovski

killing on average two a night in my gaff,i know they keep flies at bay but so does flyspray and flyspray doesnt freak me out,every year they getting bigger,i find vannila incense and candles seem to keep them at bay,also apple and cinnemon candles which you can get now comin up to crimbo,ive heard cedar oil and chestnuts work too,just ten minutes ago i spotted a hugh bastard on my balcony,mustve been 3 inches wide,was in the process of making a cup of tea so i fecked a kettle of scallding water over it,normally they curl up but this fecker kept running till he got a boot of my size 10 and went to spidey heaven,is it climate change or maybe house spiders mutating with other stowaway spiders that are being brought into ireland.ive seen smaller tarantulas

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

here's a photo of a friend, who got bitten from a spider in Ireland, not sure, what type of spider that bit him

Warning - graphic photo of bite

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Proof or GTFO

senan s wrote: »
    here's a photo of a friend, who got bitten from a spider in Ireland, not sure, what type of spider that bit him

Are you serious? Or is that a google images copy / paste???

Holy shiznit that's nasty. You sure it wasn't a tiger or something that got hold of his hand?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,151 ✭✭✭✭looksee

There do seem to be an exceptional amount of those enormous spiders around. The 'too close for comfort' prize was the one that came over my shoulder and hiked across the front of my jumper! It went into orbit, then I caught it and put it outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

What kind of spider bit him and what country was he in? Please don't tell me a spider in Ireland did that kind of damage?

Queen-Mise wrote: »
    What kind of spider bit him and what country was he in? Please don't tell me a spider in Ireland did that kind of damage?

You just quoted the answers to both of your questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

That makes me want to cry :eek::(