Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭seenitall

From my experience with the nationalities spread throughout the region, the cultures are dodgy to the hilt. Maybe it was the Eastern influence, perhaps it was the addition of Islam to the mix, perhaps.. I honestly don't know... but while they're often very friendly, there's a... flexibility towards honesty and other values which tend to have greater importance in the west. The attitudes and behavior make me feel that they're closer to being M.Eastern than European.

Yes, the Balkans area is a mixture of east and west culturally. And not just in the areas with a lot of Islam present. The racism in some of these nations is almost unbelievable to a regular westerner. A typical Joe in the street is of a firm belief that black people are no more than apes who can speak (thus all the banana-throwing towards black players in football matches). These are hard peoples, with very turbulent and tortured histories throughout; the area is a political pressure-cooker. Politicians like Orban (and others in the region, not to be singling out Hungary and its people) well understand that taking in, ahem, climate refugees would quickly lead to a spectacular sihtshow to the detriment of everyone concerned. It would (and could yet) be done on a very protracted boil-the-frog basis, however most of these countries make up one area of Europe where I don’t have many concerns that the whole dogmatic wokeness around the issue of migrants will be viable for a good while yet. And by the stage one could dream to expect it to become so in the fullness of time, Western Europe will long have been singing from a different hymn sheet altogether, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,183 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭St. Lupulin

Childhood friend of mine working as an accountant busted his a**e for 10 years saving every penny to buy a home for his family, finally got a deposit and decent salary and purchased a house in Hollystown, Dublin 15 for >400k.

Guess who moved in a few doors down for free.

I have never felt more sorry for a fictional character in all my life.

Send my condolences.

seenitall wrote: »
    Yes, the Balkans area is a mixture of east and west culturally. And not just in the areas with a lot of Islam present. The racism in some of these nations is almost unbelievable to a regular westerner. A typical Joe in the street is of a firm belief that black people are no more than apes who can speak (thus all the banana-throwing towards black players in football matches).

Ahh.. racism.. no.. that's not my issue with the Balkans. You see, I would consider myself rather realistic and practical when it comes to racism. I don't hold to these double standards that seem the rage these days.

Every nation has parts of its society who are racist. Whether that's the people living deep in the countryside, or in strictly populated ethnic groupings within a city, we have racism everywhere. Now.. I don't see that as being a particularly bad thing.. it's just the way humanity is. We are generally uncomfortable with those who are obviously different from ourselves, and while experience can mitigate that discomfort, it's also likely to reinforce racial stereotypes, and reinforce preconceived notions about others.

I spent a lot of time in Continental Europe as a teenager. My parents bought a little caravan when we were kids, and the subsequent decade or so, we spent motoring around Europe, and experiencing "all" that it could offer.. and as I picked up a variety of phrases and expressions in various languages, I managed to meet a wide range of people from different countries... and the one common thing was.. a degree of racism. Not the foaming in the mouth Nazi racism that is so often spoken of, nor the white supremacy, but simply a discomfort when it came to other races, and often, other nationalities. There was nothing evil or mean in it.. it was commonplace, and general politeness would generally kick in before it manifested into anything more obvious.

So.. no.. I don't buy into this belief that western nations are/were less racist than others. We just keep telling ourselves and others that we are... Although considering how much the perception about racism has changed over the last few decades, it's a wonder we know whether we are actually racist or not.
    These are hard peoples, with very turbulent and tortured histories throughout; the area is a political pressure-cooker. Politicians like Orban (and others in the region, not to be singling out Hungary and its people) well understand that taking in, ahem, climate refugees would quickly lead to a spectacular sihtshow to the detriment of everyone concerned. It would (and could yet) be done on a very protracted boil-the-frog basis, however most of these countries make up one area of Europe where I don’t have many concerns that the whole dogmatic wokeness around the issue of migrants will be viable for a good while yet. And by the stage one could dream to expect it to become so in the fullness of time, Western Europe will long have been singing from a different hymn sheet altogether, anyway.

Yup, the hardness is definitely there, although the same hardness can be seen throughout Eastern Europe and Russia. I think it's more to do with the degree of corruption that exists at most levels of society and culture. They'll take advantage of the whole wokeness crap going on in Western Europe, while managing to deflect it away from their own societies, which retain a strong sense of traditional thinking, and more rigid social hierarchies.

In any case, for my own part, most of my own experiences with people from the Balkan region has been dodgy. A greater emphasis on dabbling with the illegal or shay side of things, which is often reflected in their own culture, which is why I wouldn't be terribly keen on them being accepted as the same as any other Europeans. But, that's just me.. I guess others are more.. open-minded. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭seenitall

Oh I agree, a lot of corruption and bending the rules going on, since times immemorial really. It’s a whole different mindset to the west; there is no nurturing of the concept of fair play to speak of, for starters. Mind you, human nature being what it is, you will find corruption in countries such as Ireland or dunno, Sweden, I’m sure, it’s just that in the west the problem isn’t as overt or as brutally omnipresent, the west does tend to put on a better sheen on it and at least look like it is working on solutions. I do prefer living in Ireland if we’re talking on that score, no contest.

I think the beauty of multiculturalism is the many differences there are in the world.
    I would hate to be the type of person that judges all people because they are different to Irish/western white society.
    The funny thing is, western white society varies widely in western white countries!
    I would imagine it's tiring, having to judge people all the time based on where they are from.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Another nebulous, personalised non-point.

We’re still yet to see a strong argument for why demographically transformative mass immigration and an adherence to multiculturalism benefits native populations outside of the tiny business and political elite who promote, profit from and protect those processes.

Meanwhile, events and the reality on the ground evidence that it is a terrible, ongoing crime started in greed and a mistake protected in naivety.

Whether you want to talk about pressure on finite space and resources, hair trigger rioting, rape gangs, ghettoisation, the resuscitation of the (real) Far Right, the increasing influence of Islamism as a socio-political force in societies where it lacks any historical presence, the incremental assault on European freedoms of thought and expression or the hundreds of other grave issues rooted in multiculturalism/mass immigration, the argument against those processes and their fruits does not want for tangible ammunition.

But, hey, food and the “many differences there are in the world”.

What in God’s name is a “white western society” anyway?

Indigenous European peoples happen to have light complexions, to greatly varying degrees. This remains a superficial, genetic feature not a culturally defining identifier.

There is a Western society, a European society and an Irish society. King would likely argue that these societies should be judged and defined by their content and character rather than the predominant skin tones among their members.

This cultish race obsession, this insistence on racialising language and every single issue has us on a worrying path.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

They are very irresponsible. I'm pleasantly surprised that Sinn Fein hasn't jumped on that bandwagon. I'd say word from the top ensured it because they have some woke/socialist types too.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

I remember reading something from the UN about Ireland getting rid of direct provision. They emphasised that people not eligible for asylum will have to be deported in a timely manner to ensure faith in the system. It's mad that the UN of all groups is warning the government to deport people. If an Irish politician called for deportations they'd be accused of racism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Even in death the heads of the royal family are quizzed by an increasingly trashy media.

Jeremy Vine once considered a serious BBC journalist was trying to stir things up by suggesting Prince Phillip's funeral was 'too white'. The 30 people allowed are all white, and is this acceptable?

It's the man's family you dipstick!

Shows how far we have been dragged by sensationalist elements of the media and those you think have power and respect may not have that much at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Interesting. This would have been viewed as a completely sane decision in the west not so long ago, now it would be viewed as radical.

https://twitter.com/MeghUpdates/status/1383264077850374153

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

I haven't read the whole thread, only the first and last pages, so apologies if this point has already been made.

It's saddening to me that multiculturalism has retained so much respect from people on the Left. Multiculturalism is a classical liberal idea, which champions the liberty of the individual, and reduces society to notional personal identities. It is just as much a part of the atomisation of society as they liberal economic reforms of the 1980s.

People on the Left should be intending to build coalitions based on shared values (such as dignity at work, equality, and non-oppression), not advocating causes that atomise and fragment our society.

You see the same thing with the politicization of race and gender — well-meaning people going out of their way to divide the society into tinier and yet tinier units, utterly weak. They seem very pleased with themselves, but not as pleased as those who argue that society is a myth.

Well-meaning people who are guaranteeing true racial/identity conflict in the future. I dunno... it's pretty obvious what is going to happen. By creating protections and elevating certain groups over others, and reinforcing the differences between those groups (emphasising race, gender, etc as identifiers), they're encouraging an Us vs Them mentality to form. Which will be compounded by the racial demographic shifts where people form tribal communities, based on their race, which also tends to encourage traditional thinking from their host cultures/religions, in turn, furthering divides.

I'm not so sure that they are well-meaning people... because their focus is so narrow. They've intentionally blind-sighted themselves so that they're unaware of the big picture or broader implications of encouraging separate identities beyond that of national allegiances.

Equality is a becoming more and more of a pipedream, since they're seeking further ways to reinforce differences based on race, gender, class, etc. We were moving away from class as an identifier, and now we're swinging back to it once more. All because these people need to promote their chosen groups as being victims, so they grasp at any number of identifiers to box people into being victims, and therefore needing help. And since all victims need a bully or aggressor, this further encourages divisions by casting others as being responsible.

There was a time, when all of this was new, and I could have believed that these people were well-meaning.. but I don't any longer. Most of those involved in this stuff are well-educated. They have the ability to see the society that they're encouraging to evolve..

I haven't read the whole thread, only the first and last pages, so apologies if this point has already been made.

It's saddening to me that multiculturalism has retained so much respect from people on the Left. Multiculturalism is a classical liberal idea, which champions the liberty of the individual, and reduces society to notional personal identities. It is just as much a part of the atomisation of society as they liberal economic reforms of the 1980s.

People on the Left should be intending to build coalitions based on shared values (such as dignity at work, equality, and non-oppression), not advocating causes that atomise and fragment our society.

Great point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Lemon Davis lll

Chinese man overstays student visa, buys a legitimate NI birth cert & is issued an Irish passport under a false name.

On foot of the passport shenanigans, he then obtains a driving licence, a taxi licence, a Public Service Card and a mortgage. Loved the line from his Counsel that many people in the US from this country were living such lives as his client lived here.

This chaps been a grifter from the get go and common sense alone would point to the conclusion he should be out on his ear.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-lived-under-false-name-for-eight-years-1.4543878

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭clytemnestra

Chinese man overstays student visa, buys a legitimate NI birth cert & is issued an Irish passport under a false name.

On foot of the passport shenanigans, he then obtains a driving licence, a taxi licence, a Public Service Card and a mortgage. Loved the line from his Counsel that many people in the US from this country were living such lives as his client lived here.

This chaps been a grifter from the get go and common sense alone would point to the conclusion he should be out on his ear.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-lived-under-false-name-for-eight-years-1.4543878

I wonder if this is the tip of a particular iceberg. We already have many here illegally but I wonder how many granted citizenship took advantage of weak spots in our public records system, passport application process etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

I wonder if this is the tip of a particular iceberg. We already have many here illegally but I wonder how many granted citizenship took advantage of weak spots in our public records system, passport application process etc?

For sure. Theres 100s of thousands of illegals in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Good to see their priorities are right, at least they'll pay now.

Meanwhile we'll see mass emigration of Irish post covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Jesus christ... and ofcourse muggins here will be expected to pay for them

What do you think you will have to pay for?

bubblypop wrote: »
    What do you think you will have to pay for?

Social housing, social welfare , education, prison spaces, gardai, court fees etc...

Id rather pay for 17,000 one way plane tickets

Social housing, social welfare , education, prison spaces, gardai, court fees etc...

Id rather pay for 17,000 one way plane tickets

But those people are already living here, they are clearly looking after themselves as they cannot claim social welfare.
    I would prefer 17,000 people working and paying their own way then the thousands of people we have in this country getting everything spoonfed to them.

Prison spaces and gardai? You will have to explain this one, you think that 17,000 people, who we will assume have been law abiding up till now are suddenly going to turn into massive criminals and end up in prison?
    Crazy thinking Eric.

Btw, there won't be anymore spending on any of those things.

But those people are already living here, they are clearly looking after themselves as they cannot claim social welfare.
    I would prefer 17,000 people working and paying their own way then the thousands of people we have in this country getting everything spoonfed to them.

Prison spaces and gardai? You will have to explain this one, you think that 17,000 people, who we will assume have been law abiding up till now are suddenly going to turn into massive criminals and end up in prison?
    Crazy thinking Eric.

Btw, there won't be anymore spending on any of those things.

I would suspect many have been working in kitchens for half nothing and given a chance will absolutely jump on to social welfare instead. Also social housing lists instead of remaining in cramped shacks etc...

All of these people are already criminals, entering illegally, working illegally, not paying tax etc.. if you think thats the only illegal things their morality will let them do then I thinks its naive.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

How are they paying income tax?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

I would suspect many have been working in kitchens for half nothing and given a chance will absolutely jump on to social welfare instead. Also social housing lists instead of remaining in cramped shacks etc...

All of these people are already criminals, entering illegally, working illegally, not paying tax etc.. if you think thats the only illegal things their morality will let them do then I thinks its naive.

Ah you suspect!
    So something you made up in your head.
    Right :)
    You know nothing about their morality of otherwise, non tax payers? We wouldn't have enough prison space to put all the tax dodgers into !

You know what you should actually be worried about?
    The amount of people living here, completely legally, and we have no idea who they are or anything about them.
    There are criminals living perfectly quiet lived here, completely legally. No requirement for anyone to register anywhere to live in this country.

Wibbs wrote: »
    How are they paying income tax?

I'm assuming, like thousands of others in the country that they are not. They will be in future though.
    We would be a long time locking up tax dodgers in this country.

You can expect that 17,000 figure to rise rapidly and be joined by the unprecedented, ruinous influx the insane changes to DP will cause.

There was no demand for this from the Irish nation.

We will soon have de facto open borders. For the first time in my life, we have extremists in government implementing radical, dangerous policies that Irish people did not want or ask for.

Our children will suffer more than us. They will not have a familiar and comfortable homeland as we did. They will need to negotiate a society in which they are despised. It is they that will be strangers in our cities.

They’ll live in an Ireland so much more tense, divided, unfriendly and violent than the one we inherited.

I'm assuming, like thousands of others in the country that they are not. They will be in future though.
    We would be a long time locking up tax dodgers in this country.

“They will in the future” come off it... even if some of those 17,000 did work, and if an even tinier percentage worked hard enough to actually pay tax, the ones that won’t work at all will still suck so much out of the system that those who do pay wont offset it. With the stroke of a pen the government further burdening us with debt for no good reason and with that lit a giant neon sign to the rest of the world saying “free houses and piss easy access to the EU over here lads”

They may well be. But the whole system of social welfare in this country just rewards people who don't want to work. I would be happier seeing people with a proven track record of working and looking after themselves be allowed to stay and do just that, then see the layabouts we already have, squeezing more out of the system.
    I really don't understand your idea that these people are going to do that? That is in your head, with no evidence at all.
    Crazy thinking Eric.

They may well be. But the whole system of social welfare in this country just rewards people who don't want to work. I would be happier seeing people with a proven track record of working and looking after themselves be allowed to stay and do just that, then see the layabouts we already have, squeezing more out of the system.
    I really don't understand your idea that these people are going to do that? That is in your head, with no evidence at all.
    Crazy thinking Eric.

Or how about just because we have problems in sections of society that are legally here / born here, we don't start using that as an excuse to allow thousands of criminals keep taking the piss out of our immigration system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Jane98 wrote: »

You're having a laugh with that. The article is from a trash website that has a far right racist hate agenda. The website editor has been found to frequently make stuff up and to copy other journalists work.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Or how about just because we have problems in sections of society that are legally here / born here, we don't start using that as an excuse to allow thousands of criminals keep taking the piss out of our immigration system.

Who is allowing thousands of criminals to take the piss?

Annasopra wrote: »
    You're having a laugh with that. The article is from a trash website that has a far right racist hate agenda. The website editor has been found to frequently make stuff up and to copy other journalists work.

You should do some research before you speak. You've went straight to attacking the source without even looking to see if it was true or not. It is true by the way, I've found in on Swedish news sites, which you could of too if you did any research.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

TomTomTim wrote: »
    You should do some research before you speak. You've went straight to attacking the source without even looking to see if it was true or not. It is true by the way, I've found in on Swedish news sites, which you could of too if you did any research.

Yes. Exactly. The source isnt credible. You're not even disputing that.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Yes. Exactly. The source isnt credible.

The substance is though, so in this instance there's no problem with the sources work.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Crazy thinking Eric.

UCL ran a study in the UK that found that Non-EU migrants took out £120 billion more in benefits than they contributed in tax between 1995-2011. And this is counting the highly skilled amongst the rest.

Conversely, EU migrants paid in a surplus of £20 billion during that period.

Non-EU migrants to Ireland are not going to pay for pensions, no matter what the woolly-headed think. They will be a net deficit, that will require more money doled out than they will contribute. So O'Gorman's lunacy is just going to lumber us with more and more debt and higher tax to pay for this "brotherhood of man" fantasy.

The website editor has been found to frequently make stuff up and to copy other journalists work.

Is this the journal?

TomTomTim wrote: »
    The substance is though, so in this instance there's no problem with the sources work.

The source has a racist agenda.

The source frames the story racistly using particular language and images.

How can people in this thread who go out of their way to say they are not racist be taken seriously when they are sharing links from racist websites.

Terry Pratchet

Who is allowing thousands of criminals to take the piss?

What does illegal mean?

The source has a racist agenda.

The source frames the story racistly using particular language and images.

How can people in this thread who go out of their way to say they are not racist be taken seriously when they are sharing links from racist websites.

Well... Cheers for that. A single poster provides a link, and suddenly we're all responsible for the sharing of that link.

Come on. You've been on boards long enough not to pander to that kind of retarded logic.

UCL ran a study in the UK that found that Non-EU migrants took out £120 billion more in benefits than they contributed in tax between 1997-2011. And this is counting the highly skilled amongst the rest.

Conversely, EU migrants paid in a surplus of £20 billion during that period.

Non-EU migrants to Ireland are not going to pay for pensions, no matter what the woolly-headed think. They will be a net deficit, that will require more money doled out than they will contribute. So O'Gorman's lunacy is just going to lumber us with more and more debt and higher tax to pay for this fantasy.

I would suggest that non EU migrants will always be a higher percentage in Britain than Ireland.
    I'm not sure the study could be comparable.
    As for them paying pensions? No, some might contribute more then others. This particular group have shown they can look after themselves, so I wouldn't have a big issue with them being made legal.

Well... Cheers for that. A single poster provides a link, and suddenly we're all responsible for the sharing of that link.

Come on. You've been on boards long enough not to pander to that kind of retarded logic.

It is a racist link from a racist website. A good few posters happy to accept it and discuss that.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

It is a racist link from a racist website. A good few posters happy to accept it and discuss that.

Cool, so can't argue against the material, you just argue against the source. Doesn't matter where it's from if it's accurate or not.

It might be from outside boards, but the old attack the post, not the poster mantra should still apply.

Its a site that takes editorial liberties, copies other journos work and has serious questions around competition winners absolutely... but I fail to see how its a ‘racist website’ let alone how that link is a ‘racist link’

Three posters liked the original posting of the link. I didn't. Again, a few people discussed it. Whereas the majority of the posters to the thread have been accused of racism, myself included. Which you have compounded by suggesting that the people who had been accused of racism were sharing this link and giving it credibility.

You're doing the same as the posters who make sweeping statements about the posters on this thread... stick to discrediting the link. Not the posters on this thread.

Three posters liked the original posting of the link. I didn't. Again, a few people discussed it. Whereas the majority of the posters to the thread have been accused of racism, myself included. Which you have compounded by suggesting that the people who had been accused of racism were sharing this link and giving it credibility.

You're doing the same as the posters who make sweeping statements about the posters on this thread... stick to discrediting the link. Not the posters on this thread.

Would you believe me if I told you that said poster has been active in two recent feedback threads trying to get certain topics shut down? Said poster is now here screaming racism. I wonder why?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

DeadHand wrote: »
    They’ll live in an Ireland so much more tense, divided, unfriendly and violent than the one we inherited.
    Which are the results of this wonderful "diversity" wherever we look. Not just in "multicultural" West either. Any nation, Black, White, Yellow, Christian, Buddhist, Muslim, it doesn't seem to matter, where a sizeable minority exists is near guaranteed to have societal problems. It seems we can't socially engineer human nature no matter how much we try or hope to.

Ireland has decided - or rather its political class have decided - that we must go down this bullshít 'diversity" path too, generations after we could see how its impacted our neighbours. Not just the "natives" either, it's not too great for many of the migrant demographics and over the generations with it. Pick any melting pot and try and find one where non native folks are less likely to be unemployed, poorer, undereducated, or in prison than the natives.

Well as we've noted throughout this thread's existence, the pro multicultural posters have, beyond vague notions of exoticism and charity, almost no answers to the big questions around this politic, so their only defence has been either go rogue and attack the posters and/or point to one post or poster and shout racism as loudly as they can.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

It's not just that, although the costs are important. It's what comes after. There's a habit of ignoring the cultural differences between countries, especially when it comes to corruption, or social values. Many of the illegals who are here come from countries with high degrees of corruption as part of their cultural behavior, with little appreciation for the following of laws.

Many of these illegals will have had relatively good lives here already, by breaking the law. They will have availed themselves of a variety of State supports/welfare while here, because many departments won't exclude those without documentation, and on top of that, there's a range of services which are made available to everyone, regardless of whether they were taxpayers or not. The point being that they've already managed to twist the system to benefit themselves, in many cases, for extended periods of time.

Do we really believe that these people will suddenly take on the tax burdens/costs that the rest of Irish people have been experiencing? That they will suddenly start respecting our laws, and the way of life here? That they won't continue to apply their own perspective of corruption, and the bending of systems to benefit themselves?

This is a bad precedent to set.