Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People that take up a seat on the bus for their bag

Boxing.Fan wrote: »
    About the music thing, I was on a 17a a couple of weeks ago and some gob****e was playing music on his phone downstairs. The bus driver stopped at a bus stop and announced unless the music was stopped he wasnt driving any further. I've only had good experiences with the go ahead service. So far anyway.

I was terribly hungover on an intercity Irish Rail once so I put head phones in to dissuade anyone from making conversation with me. Which can often happen on Trains - and I usually enjoy it but not that day.

Anyway this grumpy git sat beside me after boarding half way into my journey and about 10 minutes after sitting down shoved my arm. I took the headphones out to see what the problem was and he demanded I turn my music down and I should be more considerate of other passengers.

It shut him up when I pointed out to him that the other end of the headphones were not even connected to anything and I politely asked him how he would like me to achieve his request exactly.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I don't have a problem with folk on the outside seat with the inside empty, that might be their preference and they got there but I'm not asking for permission to sit there, I'm just saying "excuse me" and stepping through.

If your bag is on the seat, I'm sitting there too, regardless of other free seats.

razorblunt wrote: »
    I don't have a problem with folk on the outside seat with the inside empty, that might be their preference

Indeed and I can give an example of that - I sit on the outside seat like that sometimes when I know I am getting off relatively soon.

I do this _with_ consideration for other passengers however - not without it.

Because if I was sitting on the inside and someone sat down - I would shortly have to ask them to stand up again. Possibly while the bus is moving - which for older people particularly can be quite an issue.

So by sitting on the outside - when they come to sit I stand up and let them sit on the inside - and then I sit down again. Now I do not have to ask them to rise when I have to get off.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Indeed and I can give an example of that - I sit on the outside seat like that sometimes when I know I am getting off relatively soon.

I do this _with_ consideration for other passengers however - not without it.

Because if I was sitting on the inside and someone sat down - I would shortly have to ask them to stand up again. Possibly while the bus is moving - which for older people particularly can be quite an issue.

So by sitting on the outside - when they come to sit I stand up and let them sit on the inside - and then I sit down again. Now I do not have to ask them to rise when I have to get off.

Kudos to you, dude. Lot of thought went into that that. Still makes you look like one of those asshats who sits in the outside seat though. Not quite as bad as bah on seat monsters, but still the optics are all wrong.

Kudos to you, dude. Lot of thought went into that that. Still makes you look like one of those asshats who sits in the outside seat though.

Thankfully I have never been the kind of person ever who is concerned with how I look. Once I know what I am doing - and why I am doing it - is the right thing I could not care less about anyone else's impressions of me.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,279 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Kudos to you, dude. Lot of thought went into that that. Still makes you look like one of those asshats who sits in the outside seat though. Not quite as bad as bah on seat monsters, but still the optics are all wrong.

I think the worst of the lot are those who feel the need to almost sit on top of you on an almost empty bus!

I don’t use public transport all that often, as I’m relatively successful in life. However I know the sort you are on about for sure - there’s a small but significant percentage of the population who do not understand the concept of personal space. People from the Indian subcontinent are also notorious for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,367 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I must say this thread is very Boards. I must have taken the bus over a thousand times in my life and, yes, sometimes you might have to ask people to move their bag from a seat because you need to sit there. No-one, in my experience in all these years, as ever made a big deal of it, they just did it and everyone moved on with life.

People talking about quoting by-laws and having the literature on hand to back themselves up... Jesus, guys, how do you make it through life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I don’t use public transport all that often, as I’m relatively successful in life.

Anf yet here you are, with the rest of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,279 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Arghus wrote: »
    I must say this thread is very Boards. I must have taken the bus over a thousand times in my life and, yes, sometimes you might have to ask people to move their bag from a seat because you need to sit there. No-one, in my experience in all these years, as ever made a big deal of it, they just did it and everyone moved on with life.

People talking about quoting by-laws and having the literature on hand to back themselves up... Jesus, guys, how do you make it through life?

I was only asked to move a jacket or something off a seat once by a man. It was a bus that wasn't even a quarter full but he did have a thing for sitting beside teenage lads and rubbing off them.

riemann wrote: »
    Anf yet here you are, with the rest of us.

This isn’t public transport, pal. It’s a message board for cranks, oddballs, and the permanently bewildered. Fairly at home here to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭chrissb8

The worst is those who double down and sit on the outisde seat and put their bag on the window seat. They deserve hellfire.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

is_that_so wrote: »
    I deliberately target them with a smile, especially if there are other empty seats.

I sometimes put my bag on the bus seats if there are plenty others free. Had a lad like you ask me to move it so I said no bother, got up and sat in another row where both seats were free. Attention seeking **** wit he was.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,789 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Would you all feck off with your aisle seat hating. Seriously, feck off.
    If I'm flying, I pay to choose an aisle seat.
    On the train, I'll always book a seat so I am guaranteed an aisle seat.
    So, on a bus, yes, I'll sit in an aisle seat, it's my preference.
    I have a bad spine and am uncomfortable sitting for long and need to stand up a lot. Sitting inside someone in a window seat makes me feel claustrophobic and anxious. I wont put my bag on the other seat and will gladly facilitate another passenger to get past me and use it.

So feck off you aisle seated people haters. You don't know why. And anyway, I was there first.
    Feck off.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭tusk

I get travel sick, so the only time I'm likely to ask someone to move their bag is when its on the front seats.

Saying that I would generally lash my bag on the seat beside me if there's space there. If someone asked me to move it i'd be more than happy to oblige.

I guess we're all just a little mental really...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,856 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If it’s the middle of the afternoon, the bus is half full/empty, I’m not going to have an issue with someone using the seat adjacent to them for their bag. Plenty of free seats. Again, if it’s rush hour and me or people are struggling to find a seat, after a hard days work, long afternoon shopping or whatever I’m not going to be too diplomatic with some fûckwit who is countering my ability to be rested and comfortable for the journey in that situation going back to my family.

THINK, for your ‘peace of mind’ and ‘comfort’ you want to deprive someone of being able to sit, unless they inconvenience themselves by starting a conversation with you about their ability to take a seat and rest. The onus should be on THEM to inform you. That’s self entitled bôllocks at it’s finest. Leave the seat free, adhere to the bye laws which are conditions of you carriage and allow people the option of sitting in any seat they like that has not been occupied by a person.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

bobbyss wrote: »
    Indeed so. This is exactly what boards is for. Or do we all need some kind of permission from Keyser to offer an opinion.

No problem.

In other news, a bird just flew past my window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

This isn’t public transport, pal. It’s a message board for cranks, oddballs, and the permanently bewildered. Fairly at home here to be honest.

Really, how interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭anacc

Hedgelayer wrote: »
    Brown Thomas lol
    She probably has her aldi shopping in it.
    You'll see some people going around rural towns like Ennis and Kilkenny with a Brown Thomas bag, the madness within me would love to say, wow you shop in Brown Thomas...

Roll out the fanfare and golden carpet...

Look everyone they shop in Brown Thomas, and the Metro Goldwyn Mayer Lion on standby....

There's an aul wan at work who brings her lunch in every day in a Brown Thomas bag. It's cringe.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    I sometimes put my bag on the bus seats if there are plenty others free. Had a lad like you ask me to move it so I said no bother, got up and sat in another row where both seats were free. Attention seeking **** wit he was.
    If you don't put your bag there in the first place neither of you needs to engage in inner voice insults nor reflect pointlessly on people who have nothing to do with your life.

Not the bus exactly but the train. Spent some time in Norway a few years back and when travelling I always saw inspectors/conductors walk up and down the carriages between every few stops telling people in no uncertain terms to get their feet and their bags off empty seats. And I mean literally either get your bag off the seat or else pay for a ticket or be escorted by the police getting off at the next stop. This was always done in English so the offending passengers were foreigners btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Not the bus exactly but the train. Spent some time in Norway a few years back and when travelling I always saw inspectors/conductors walk up and down the carriages between every few stops telling people in no uncertain terms to get their feet and their bags off empty seats. And I mean literally either get your bag off the seat or else pay for a ticket or be escorted by the police getting off at the next stop. This was always done in English so the offending passengers were foreigners btw.
    Apparently in Canada there are signs on transport to tell people to take off their backpacks and put them out of the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Sit behind them and come on the back of their head

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Garibaldi?

mfceiling wrote: »
    Yep...Better watch a pregnant woman stand than a fat woman sitting crying.
    is_that_so wrote: »
    Apparently in Canada there are signs on transport to tell people to take off their backpacks and put them out of the way.
    There's a very big difference between putting your bag on an unneeded seat and planking your feet on one.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,005 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I don’t see the huge problem. I’ve a 3 hour train journey for work occasionally and I do it when there’s space. If someone wants to sit they can simply ask. I’ve never refused to move my stuff. It just means that some people who are too childish to assert themselves will find somewhere else to sit and I have a greater chance of having a double seat to myself.

I’ve also never had a problem asking someone to move their bag so I can sit. Never had anyone refuse either. I had a daily commute until recently and now I deal with it semi regularly and it seems like a non issue to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭isohon

Would you all feck off with your aisle seat hating. Seriously, feck off.
    If I'm flying, I pay to choose an aisle seat.
    On the train, I'll always book a seat so I am guaranteed an aisle seat.
    So, on a bus, yes, I'll sit in an aisle seat, it's my preference.
    I have a bad spine and am uncomfortable sitting for long and need to stand up a lot. Sitting inside someone in a window seat makes me feel claustrophobic and anxious. I wont put my bag on the other seat and will gladly facilitate another passenger to get past me and use it.

So feck off you aisle seated people haters. You don't know why. And anyway, I was there first.
    Feck off.

Aisle seats for the win...

Firstly... stretch those legs (or one at least)

Also I'd much rather be the person excusing others for needing to use the bathroom than disturbing them because I need to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I wouldn't do it myself but don't think it's much of a problem on Dublin Bus anyway. I get around 35 buses a week and I have to sit due to health issues and it's just not something I come across very often. I found it was a much bigger issue in Berlin - it was rampant and people regularly refused to move them. I was taken aback at how widespread an issue it was there.

Regarding those sitting in an aisle seat, I just don't get people's problem with it! One of the most awful incidents I ever saw on a bus was some hoity toity man calling out a young lad for sitting in the aisle seat. The poor lad had already offered the inside seat, and his own, to all the standing women and they had refused. This pretentious man then makes a show of him for nothing. He was humiliated and clearly upset. Appalling carry on over nothing but he insisted he was in the right even when several people told him to cop on. Incredible that people can cause such a fuss over nothing. I'm amazed people find so many issues in simple daily interactions.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Boxing.Fan

I don’t see the huge problem. I’ve a 3 hour train journey for work occasionally and I do it when there’s space. If someone wants to sit they can simply ask. I’ve never refused to move my stuff. It just means that some people who are too childish to assert themselves will find somewhere else to sit and I have a greater chance of having a double seat to myself.

I’ve also never had a problem asking someone to move their bag so I can sit. Never had anyone refuse either. I had a daily commute until recently and now I deal with it semi regularly and it seems like a non issue to me.

The point is we shouldnt have to ask, there are by laws in place. It doesnt bother me if there are plenty of seats available but when buses/trains are busy I expect people to have the awareness and the cop on to know that someone is going to need that seat. If people have such a problem sitting beside someone on public transport its probably time to get a car and drive to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,005 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Boxing.Fan wrote: »
    The point is we shouldnt have to ask, there are by laws in place. It doesnt bother me if there are plenty of seats available but when buses/trains are busy I expect people to have the awareness and the cop on to know that someone is going to need that seat. If people have such a problem sitting beside someone on public transport its probably time to get a car and drive to work.

Likewise if someone has such a problem asking to move a bag, it’s probably time to get a car (equally ridiculous argument to the one above).

It’s just not a big deal. Simple assertiveness solves the problem in as little time as it takes to say “ could you move that bag please?”

But some people’s lack of assertiveness means I get a double seat to myself more often. It not good behaviour but it’s hardly a big problem.