Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Something called eSports on Sky Sports

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Video games cannot be sport, they’re games. Chess isn’t a sport for the same reason.

Breakdancing is likely to be included in the forthcoming Paris Olympic games!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

thats the thing. i can put on gran tourismo and drive a ferrari are 200mph and set blistering fast laps, in reality i would be upsidown in a ditch at the first corner.
    i agree there is a lot of skill etc in e sports but its not the same as actually doing it.
    E-Sports are simulations of potential real life events.

When you drive a car you are actually driving a car.One of the main aspects of motor racing is having the bravery to drive a car that fast, you don't need any of that to do the e-sport version of it.

My issue with e-sports is they are simulations of real things and not actually the real thing.

To be honest the point I was making is really not that difficult to understand.

The two of ye should get onto the heads of all the F1 teams and tell them they are doing their jobs wrong.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,131 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I mean there's lots of things I don't consider sports - more skills - but I don't mind them being on the sports channels.

Where else do people suggest putting them? MTV or the History Channel perhaps?

Fact is people pay for certain sports. I pay to watch the soccer, and I guess the darts at Christmas, with a bit of WWE thrown in there.

The other stuff that's on there - golf, cricket, F1, etc. I don't watch it. But I also don't mind that they're there as obviously someone else does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 FrankieFeeler

pjohnson wrote: »
    The two of ye should get onto the heads of all the F1 teams and tell them they are doing their jobs wrong.

So you are saying that what Lewis Hamilton does isn't actually happening and is just a simulation and that if he makes a big mistake he wouldn't even have a risk of having a scratch after it.

I'm sure there are thousands of people who could set faster Lap Times on the F1 video game than Forumla 1 drivers do on a track.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Its hilarious. The old men in this thread claim to not give a fvck about esports, yet feel so passionately against it.

Its obvious its not about esports. Its about feeling left out in a changing world.

Esports is the thing nowadays, old man. Itll be on TV and on the internet. If you dont like it then skip it. But dont complain because its not what youre used to. Worlds changing.

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Its hilarious. The old men in this thread claim to not give a fvck about esports, yet feel so passionately against it.

Its obvious its not about esports. Its about feeling left out in a changing world.

Esports is the thing nowadays, old man. Itll be on TV and on the internet. If you dont like it then skip it. But dont complain because its not what youre used to. Worlds changing.

I guess you're right, someone in their mid twenties would be old in the eyes of a seven year old.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

I guess you're right, someone in their mid twenties would be old in the eyes of a seven year old.

Lame comeback.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

So you are saying that what Lewis Hamilton does isn't actually happening and is just a simulation and that if he makes a big mistake he wouldn't even have a risk of having a scratch after it.

I'm sure there are thousands of people who could set faster Lap Times on the F1 video game than Forumla 1 drivers do on a track.
    No I'm saying that F1 teams spend a fortune designing realistic simulators to allow them to test new parts/components or let drivers acclimatise to a new track etc. Ferrari used their sim driver (now actually in a race seat) to aid their race drivers in perfecting the car set-up last year when the race drivers were struggling on track.

If the sim is that shíte that thousands of people can do better than the race drivers they really need to redevelop the sim. Even the F1 game posts realistic times :pac:

All F1 teams have at least one sim driver now. And yes often the race drivers do also use the simulator. The simulator is the only form of testing available to the teams now. But you really need to save them from themselves with your luddite wisdom!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

These threads are the worst.

One side: “This thing I don’t understand but can easily ignore should go away. I’m going to create a really thin argument for why it’s actually wrong when really I’m just annoyed that a lot of people like something I don’t understand!”

The other: “This thing makes money so if you don’t like it you’re wrong and an idiot! I also don’t like certain things myself but I’m right for not liking the things I don’t like and you’re an idiot for not liking the thing I do like!”

And it goes on and on and on. Someone was literally questioning what reality was at one stage. That’s the post that resonated most with me reading this thread. I don’t know how I feel about esports myself so I read this hoping for a good explanation that’d swing me either way. Now I hate people who both like and don’t like it and am just more confused.

No I'm saying that F1 teams spend a fortune designing realistic simulators to allow them to test new parts/components or let drivers acclimatise to a new track etc. Ferrari used their sim driver (now actually in a race seat) to aid their race drivers in perfecting the car set-up last year when the race drivers were struggling on track.

If the sim is that shíte that thousands of people can do better than the race drivers they really need to redevelop the sim. Even the F1 game posts realistic times :pac:

All F1 teams have at least one sim driver now. And yes often the race drivers do also use the simulator. The simulator is the only form of testing available to the teams now. But you really need to save them from themselves with your luddite wisdom!

I understand they have simulators.

My point being that regardless of the sport a simulation does not come close to the real thing precisely because it is not the real thing. Thats been my entire point in this whole thread.

Did this simulator drivers have zero experience in a real car that actually moved around a track before graduating to racing in F1?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

My point being that regardless of the sport a simulation does not come close to the real thing precisely because it is not the real thing. Thats been my entire point in this whole thread.

Did this simulator drivers have zero experience in a real car that actually moved around a track before graduating to racing in F1?

I think you are missing the forest for the trees, here. I don’t believe anyone is claiming that they are involved in the sport of motor racing. They are involved in the sport (older definition of “fun/enjoyment”) of playing a computer game. It happens that the computer game you are speaking of now is a motor racing sim, but that not to say that the esport is the same as motor racing, it patently is not. Tha said, it is also true that some sims can be so realistic that there is crossover into the real world. F1 sims being a case in point. I personally use a tank sim to train my crewmen to operate the real tank.

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

An Olympic sport? Lads sitting around playing computer games and getting a gold medal for it? I’ve heard it all now.

A lot of computer games require more physical exertion than golf, rifle, and archery, all of which are staple sports at the Olympics.

It would certainly make more sense than having football in the Olympics, which always features sub-par players, and general disinterest among fans.

At the moment eports are not being considered for inclusion in the Olympics for being too violent/ promoting violence.
    https://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-45407667

• Registered Users Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭CFlat

An esport F1 champion actually got a job as McLaren's official simulator driver.

If you're good enough you can get a profession from it.

That could explain an awful lot considering how **** they've been over the last few years :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Because its true. You’d have to be out of touch to ignore the esports industry

https://www.investopedia.com/news/booming-esports-industry-hit-138b-2018/

Nobody’s taking anything away from you. All theyre doing is adding in another revenue stream and a younger audience.

Its really not that hard to understand. Unless youre out of touch.

I’d say you’d be a big fan of the old video games yourself?

Funny I believe this place started as a gaming forum - people seem hostile now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

You've never used a FFB wheel on a modern racing game, I can tell by your post. Go and try one if you can for the craic, they're great fun.

Lots of sim racers have graduated into professional racing drivers. A good few have come GT Academy on the PlayStation.

Lots of the tracks in modern racing games are even laser scanned for accuracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

leggo wrote: »
    These threads are the worst.

One side: “This thing I don’t understand but can easily ignore should go away. I’m going to create a really thin argument for why it’s actually wrong when really I’m just annoyed that a lot of people like something I don’t understand!”

The other: “This thing makes money so if you don’t like it you’re wrong and an idiot! I also don’t like certain things myself but I’m right for not liking the things I don’t like and you’re an idiot for not liking the thing I do like!”

And it goes on and on and on. Someone was literally questioning what reality was at one stage. That’s the post that resonated most with me reading this thread. I don’t know how I feel about esports myself so I read this hoping for a good explanation that’d swing me either way. Now I hate people who both like and don’t like it and am just more confused.

There's no such thing as just 'liking esports' There's far to many games so it's a massive blanket statement if somebody says they like it and don't like.

I like a game in esports, but I dislike a lot more. It just depends on the game.

Personally wouldn't watch FIFA esports

• Registered Users Posts: 10,561 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Is the remote control helicopter racing considers an “eSport” or is that something different?

Could do without either of them being included by Sky Sports, to be honest. Next they’ll start showing that Robot Wars and you’ll have the losers involved calling it a sport.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I saw an interview with one of these blokes.

He had just signed up to compete in a tournament in Croydon to determine the representative for Crystal Palace in the e Premier League.

The guy said he was putting in 10 hrs a day practice. 10 hrs a day, Jesus Christ. He wasn't a 'pro' just a random guy who entered the open draw. About 25 and looked like a walking stereotype.

I'd say that fella has broken his mother's heart.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,069 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I saw an interview with one of these blokes.

He had just signed up to compete in a tournament in Croydon to determine the representative for Crystal Palace in the e Premier League.

The guy said he was putting in 10 hrs a day practice. 10 hrs a day, Jesus Christ. He wasn't a 'pro' just a random guy who entered the open draw. About 25 and looked like a walking stereotype.

I'd say that fella has broken his mother's heart.

A lot of people put in ten hours a day of practice at something before they become professional - how else do you think they got to be that way...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Its not a sport in the sense of it being physically challenging. But its definitely competitive and requires a lot of skill at the given game.

They call it eSport, not sport.

It will never be included in the olympics.

You have people argue "Why would you want to watch people play a computer game". For the same reason you have people watch football, rugby, golf etc. Its entertaining to watch people do something at the highest level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

does this include watching squirt porn

thats my favourite esport or geesport as I like to call it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Don't see the point of watching a virtual representation of a sport when I can watch the real thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Heckler

Don't see the point of watching a virtual representation of a sport when I can watch the real thing.

Whats the point in watching someone else play a game of football, hurling etc when you could go out and do it yourself ?