Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Breaking: At least 1 man dead after stabbing rampage in Dundalk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Omackeral wrote: »
    Absolutely.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=105353373&postcount=30

Never replied when called out on it either.
    Did you see who thanked the post?! Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Those figures from the same people and polls that told us that Trump had no chance and that Brexit wouldn't happen?

If this turns out to be a religiously motivated attack, it's incredibly serious situation. Even if it doesn't turn out to be religiously motivated, it does show others how easy it is to circumnavigate our border and immigration controls.

As always, my sympathy goes out to anyone affected by this needless attack. People from both sides are at least talking and debating here. There are valid points and good people on left and the right and conversation is good.

Unfortunately, alot of the usual suspects are also out on both sides, showing pleasure in defending and attacking Islam without any nuance or reason. They disgust me in equal measure.

I hear you. I'm as right wing as they come. However, over the past few years I've been disgusted with the behaviour of some on the right and their constant fear-mongering and general hatred of anyone different to them.
    Is it any wonder that people are turning away from the right in their droves once their lies and hysteria has been exposed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

I would be absolutely hilarious if this chap had connections to a certain IH
    That would defiantly shut some lefties up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

dav3 wrote: »
    Is it any wonder that people are turning away from the right in their droves once their lies and hysteria has been exposed.

People are turning away from the right?

Thats news to me.

I'd be interested to know what lies and hysteria you think the right have been saying.

In fact I'd suggest the concerns people on the right were voicing 2 or 3 years ago have all come true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Odhinn wrote: »
    So are we getting our traveller hate on in the muslim kicking thread now?

Why do you think the Egyptian is a Muslim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,553 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Amalgam wrote: »
    UK kicked him out and the authorities here seemed to be in the process of assessing his case here.

I hope he serves a very long prison sentence. What a waste of space.

EDIT: UK press are going to have a field day with this, as a 'perfect example' of having a soft border.

Isn't the point of the Dublin agreement that someone can't go country to country looking for asylum.

He shouldn't have been assessed just deported, no appeal no nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Binzer

It appears that they are hunting another suspect connected to today’s murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Virgil° wrote: »
    Even if what you say is true(let me be clear I don't for a second believe it is) What's the solution? Do we just accept semi-regular knife attacks/ lorries driving on footpaths as a consequence of having thousands of unvetted supposedly aggrieved people on our isle?
    Just take our medicine because we somehow all had a part to play in the civil wars of foreign nations or drone strikes in the middle east?

I don't know is the honest answer, policing, evidence-based approaches as to how integrating people can be effectively done, stricter immigration controls, education, new legislation, would all be part of it I imagine. I was just arguing the point that this is all somehow the fault of the treehugging heart bleeders who were the people who argued against neo-colonialist policies in the ME.

I am not in favour of unrestricted immigration, but mass deportations or total closed borders are not right either.

For the poster who quoted IS there, yes I realise IS are religious fundamentalist lunatics who want a calpihate. But they would never have been able to get a foothold if the region hadn't been so destabilised.

And for anyone who's wondering about the amount of new accounts posting and stuff, quelle suprise!

DSoGFKEX0AULdJ-.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Binzer wrote: »
    It appears that they are hunting another suspect connected to today’s murder.

Where are you getting this info from may I ask???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

That would defiantly shut some lefties up

Might be tricky to get your head around, but most people probably sit across the left/right fence when it comes to politics in Ireland.

Varik wrote: »
    Isn't the point of the Dublin agreement that someone can't go country to country looking for asylum.

He shouldn't have been asses just deported, no appeal no nothing.

Do the guards pick people up like that for being illegal though? I doubt they can be deported immediately.

Or turn a blind eye?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

UK kicked him out and the authorities here seemed to be in the process of assessing his case here.

I hope he serves a very long prison sentence. What a waste of space.

EDIT: UK press are going to have a field day with this, as a 'perfect example' of having a soft border.

Source for this? I can't find it anywhere.

And for anyone who's wondering about the amount of new accounts posting and stuff, quelle suprise!

DSoGFKEX0AULdJ-.jpg

Who are those simpletons?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

I hear you. I'm as right wing as they come. However, over the past few years I've been disgusted with the behaviour of some on the right and their constant fear-mongering and general hatred of anyone different to them.

Do you think people would be surprised that a poster as pro-Islam as you would be right wing?

You are in every thread where Islam is mentioned calling it's detractors racist.

The arch conservative values in Islam are the very definition of hard right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

CZ 453 wrote: »
    I'd like to know how he got to Ireland. Was it via the UK? Or Egypt?

Courtesy of RTE: https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0103/930792-dundalk-death/
    Initial investigations indicate that he may have applied to remain in the UK, but may have been refused and entered Ireland following the refusal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I wonder how many people were afraid of that Japanese man walking down the street ?
    How many people have asked or queried why was he here in our country ?

Then ask if you notice people being uncomfortable around Japanese people, young men in particular.
    Yes they have a different concept of personal space which can be kinda funny and uncomfortable when you are jammed into a lift or surrounded on a sight seeing trip with flashing cameras, but I never got the idea that people were afraid of them.

Then just watch the reaction to young men of North African/Middle Eastern background, especially if they are in a transport/airport situation and are carrying a backpack or case.
    There can be a noticable uneasiness.

Have you ever actually wondered why ?

Shouting racist at people and ignoring the facts that people of a certain background and profile have carried out and are continously carrying out attacks, be they massive planned terrorist ones or small lone wolfe ones, is the very reason people are actually turning to the right.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

We need a hard border!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

We need a hard border!!!

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Who are those simpletons?

That'd be good ol' 4chan.

These days it seems to mostly exist to flood other better sites with right wing shills.

No I lie, I think it's still mostly weird porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Do you think people would be surprised that a poster as pro-Islam as you would be right wing?

You are in every thread where Islam is mentioned calling it's detractors racist.

The arch conservative values in Islam are the very definition of hard right.

That's some amount of imaginary bullsh*t you've posted there.

Speaking of imaginary bullsh*t… While we're all grateful to the OP for racing to his keyboard to post about this story and taking the time to highlight the nationality of the attacker. Will he be returning to edit his post reflecting the latest information out there, or did he go straight back to bed?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭Odhinn

splinter65 wrote: »

I never said he was. The animosity in this thread is towards muslims though.

Speaking of imaginary bullsh*t… While we're all grateful to the OP for racing to his keyboard to post about this story and taking the time to highlight the nationality of the attacker. Will he be returning to edit his post reflecting the latest information out there, or did he go straight back to bed?

So you're saying the op is on the dole?
    Source please..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,049 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Odhinn wrote: »
    I never said he was. The animosity in this thread is towards muslims though.

A bit like the thread slagging of The Jews/Israel over on the politics thread that you are quite active on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

We need a hard border!!!

The question will be how did this guy end up in Britain ?
    Did he come on a flight or was he smuggled across through Europe ?

We no doubt have already had failed asylum seekers from Uk turn up here to take advantage of the p**s poor asylum system.

Sure even if you don't get in, there is a willing legal egal just waiting to take your case and a few politicos and other campaigners will be more than happy to go to bat for you.

Speaking of legal eagles does anyone know where is our resident one is as they are conspicuous in their absence.
    Maybe they are off with our resident .......... ?

forums rules prevent me from completing the users most apt description.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

RIP to the victim and my thoughts to his family.

That is a hell of a call that they will receive half-way across the world....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

If this is an act of terrorism then what do you call an Irishman that plants a bomb on a bus in Longford or who has a rocket launcher intent to kill prince Charles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Daily Mail cranking it out..

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5231769/One-person-dead-random-stabbing-attacks-Ireland.html

You just know the article comments will be the real icing on the cake..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

deco nate wrote: »
    Source please..
    At least half of my workplace has been off yesterday and/or today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

The joys of multiculturalism, we get the full immersive experience. The left-wing liberals must be delighted.

It is sad that a Japanese person working and making a life for himself here was to be the first victim of this in Ireland. Had he remained in Japan a country with severe restrictions on immigration he would have remained safe instead he choose Ireland a country with a reputation for safety but in reality being destroyed by cultural Marxists. We need to get smart and learn from this.

There is over 100,000 Brazilians in Ireland (mainly Christian) and none have carried out terror attacks wheras there is a long list of terrorists from other less well behaved countries and religions. We need to get smart with who we admit and who we keep out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    Why?

To obviously keep these people from entering the country!

He apparently came over from the UK as his application for residency had been refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Ffs why was this man encouraged to go to Dublin to apply for asylum by Gardai after it was discovered he was an illegal immigrant he should have been deported there and then what ths hell is going on in this country at all.

Daily Mail cranking it out..

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5231769/One-person-dead-random-stabbing-attacks-Ireland.html

You just know the article comments will be the real icing on the cake..

I'm sure Katie Hopkins will be making comments soon.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,049 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Ha ha good one Dev I’m going to send that on tol Mark Humphries he’ll have a good laugh at that statement that you are right wing!

Your posts always give me a good chuckle dav3, everything outside your direct opinion and experience is imaginary, good lad.

The weird racial superiority practiced by you and your ring-wing ilk is fascinating though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

splinter65 wrote: »

As egypt is 90% muslim, obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Speaking of imaginary bull****. Can you back up your statement that people are leaving the right in their droves because of lies and hysteria?

If anything I would think the opposite is happening. So wouldn't mind reading where you got that information from.

Billy86 wrote: »
    At least half of my workplace has been off yesterday and/or today.

It's not the first time dav3 has posted that comment insinuating that a lot of posters on here are dole heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭enricoh

Are u really grateful for him racing to the keyboard as u say? Or would you be more grateful if this thread could be locked and just be swept under the carpet. Hmm, I do wonder!

DSoGFKEX0AULdJ-.jpg

Ah...Barrett.

So people have been waiting for this attack. Sounds gleeful in his post.

What a wanker

Will the looney left continue to push for open borders absolutely after all they have an agenda to uphold nothing can get in the way of that even innocent people being killed by a knife welding lunatic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

New report out today from Germany

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/wireStory/study-young-male-migrants-fuel-rise-violence-germany-52113402

Study: Young male migrants fuel rise in violence in Germany

"The recent influx of mostly young, male migrants into Germany has led to an increase in violent crime in the country, according to a government-funded study published Wednesday.

The study used figures from the northern state of Lower Saxony to examine the impact of refugee arrivals on crime in 2015 and 2016, a period when the number of violent crimes reported increased by 10.4 percent.

The authors concluded that 92 percent of the additional crimes recorded could be attributed to the increase in refugee numbers."

Anyone can post on 4chan anonymously. Like the student types on Reddit who would use a handy post like that to dismiss every post critical of Islam as 4chan brigading for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,594 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Two knives and an iron rod, attacking 3 groups/individuals. Probably knew his time was up here, after being turfed out of the UK. Thankfully, we'll get more straight answers from the UK press over this, they seemed to have assessed this person as a risk, hence him being refused entry/right to stay in England.

Trending on BBC News. This will be politicised by them.. and over here, for entirely different reasons, by left/right.

So UK refused him but he got in here, how?

sad day for eire,
    someone should set up a gofundme to help the victim's repatriation etc. i will contribute,
    i shed a tear for ireland today,
    it could have been ourselves or our loved ones

Why didn't you post fully in Irish?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

deco nate wrote: »
    Source please..

Yeah that would be par for the course alright. Gets personal with anyone with a different viewpoint. Bulletproof for some reason though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Doltanian wrote: »
    The joys of multiculturalism
    And as has already been pointed out, we've you right wing lunatics to thank for the huge recent influx of multiculturalism into Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Noel82 wrote: »
    New report out today from Germany

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/wireStory/study-young-male-migrants-fuel-rise-violence-germany-52113402

Study: Young male migrants fuel rise in violence in Germany

"The recent influx of mostly young, male migrants into Germany has led to an increase in violent crime in the country, according to a government-funded study published Wednesday.

The study used figures from the northern state of Lower Saxony to examine the impact of refugee arrivals on crime in 2015 and 2016, a period when the number of violent crimes reported increased by 10.4 percent.

The authors concluded that 92 percent of the additional crimes recorded could be attributed to the increase in refugee numbers."
    9.4 percent increase directly due to migrants is not that big. Its much more to do with the fact they are young men. Young men are the likeliest demographic to commit crimes all over the world. If you had imported a large number of young men from anywhere in the world I would assume the crime levels in the area would increase a bit, given the demographic, not where the migrants are from

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

Mutant z wrote: »
    Will the looney left continue to push for open borders absolutely after all they have an agenda to uphold nothing can get in the way of that even innocent people being killed by a knife welding lunatic.

We need "hard border" with NI as soon as possible. UK have around one million illegals from 3rd world countries and anyone of them can almost freely get to Ireland via NI.

wakka12 wrote: »
    9 percent increase directly due to migrants is not that big. Its much more to do with the fact they are young men. Young men are the likeliest demographic to commit crimes all over the world. If you had imported a large number of young men from anywhere in the world I would assume the crime levels in the area would increase a bit, given the demographic, not where the migrants are from

Great so lets not import millions of unskilled young men. Forget anyone mentioned Islam! Men are fair game for all criticism!

/thread

Of course many of them are the cowards of isis and al nusra who have fled from Syria during the refugee crisis is it any wonder we have this crap happening here made worse by Merkels stupidity in open up the borders to these absolute parasites.