Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Just when you thought they couldnt lower themselves after the bastardisation that was Rachael and Steve.

That campaign confused me a little. The start of it made sense from the point of view of the lad with the annoying housemate and his annoying girlfriend "I need to get my own space" angle I.e. let's get a mortgage.

But then it followed the annoying couple as central characters. The guy next door has got himself a new place beside Rachel & Steve. I'd have thought that would suggest he should have stuck to the flexibility of renting.

ligerdub wrote: »
    That campaign confused me a little. The start of it made sense from the point of view of the lad with the annoying housemate and his annoying girlfriend "I need to get my own space" angle I.e. let's get a mortgage.

But then it followed the annoying couple as central characters. The guy next door has got himself a new place beside Rachel & Steve. I'd have thought that would suggest he should have stuck to the flexibility of renting

Maybe Steve and Rachael represented the Bank of Ireland themselves?.. an annoying nuisance that has a vice like grip around your balls wherever you go and is reluctant to relinquish :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Raven Runner

if i hear that dee dee la la la ad for X-factor with Dermort O'Leary one more time i might just throw my television out in the yard it's only what 2 seconds but f'n hell it's so annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

The panadol actifast ad with the hipster van "does it look like I've time for a headache"
    What a gobsheen a belt of a shovel would cure him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Oh no not yer man and Sue (the pig). Give me strength...

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Capt Peacock

Just saw a Burger King advert where chickens with human voices are delighted because they are having chicken fries for dinner. Chickens eating chickens. I feel quite sick at the depths they will go to to peddle their junk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,964 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Ah FFS the AIG ads with the 2 **** and some rugby twats are back now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,427 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

"This is a letter to my mam, thanks for the thirty best meals of my life..."

Fup off.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Just saw a Burger King advert where chickens with human voices are delighted because they are having chicken fries for dinner. Chickens eating chickens.
    They are not eating the fries, the young chicken announces she is pregnant with fries -presumably to her parents.

A small chicken sticks his head around the corner and says "again", meaning "pregnant again" or that the fries are available again. I guess some might think he means "chicken fries for dinner again"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭valoren

That Domnio's ad with the famous works of art (Mona Lisa, The Scream etc) extolling the brilliance of Shiddy Pizza using 'totes amazeballs/this is going on my insta' type language.

Very, very Irritable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

valoren wrote: »
    That Domnio's ad with the famous works of art (Mona Lisa, The Scream etc) extolling the brilliance of Shiddy Pizza using 'totes amazeballs/this is going on my insta' type language.

Very, very Irritable.

That ad frightens me but I dont know why.

Not a commercial ad per se, but the ad for the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon irritates the bejaysus out of me. Ive never been a big fan of american tonight shows. Ive never been a fan of Conan O'Brian. Jay Leno was ok. They always seem so over the top, laugh out loud, be as stupid as possible. Jimmy Fallon looks like the embodiement of everything I dislike about US late night chat shows. Loud, brash, thinking he is so starspangled awesome, and his audience agreeing and cheering him on because everything he says is so damn funny.

Urgh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,850 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Just saw a Burger King advert where chickens with human voices are delighted because they are having chicken fries for dinner. Chickens eating chickens. I feel quite sick at the depths they will go to to peddle their junk.

Probably not the effect they were hoping for but ever since seeing those talking hens my son has refused to eat chicken entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,067 ✭✭✭✭neris

The JML plug in disco ball. Looks like a 6th class project done on a mobile phone.

Also House of Fraser Xmas ad. Noise and non sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The Calpol ad. Must be powerful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Total fail this year.

So disappointing.

The worst thing about their Ad this year is, It totally debunks Santa Claus! What will the young kids make of that?⁠⁠⁠⁠

John Lewis Christmas Advert 2016

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

It totally debunks Santa Claus! What will the young kids make of that?⁠⁠⁠⁠
    That never crossed my mind, but a fair point, similar was said about a paypal one too. In both cases I figured it was a gift from the parents and not santa.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/john-lewis-christmas-advert-2016-father-christmas-ruined-video-a7409141.html

though I guess in some households the kids might not get a gift from the parents, and they all come from santa.

Someone will have to make spoofs of it. Kid going out to find the wild animals have ripped it up and crapped everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,067 ✭✭✭✭neris

kevin the carrot, only place for you ya little orange b****x

HTB1FrGhJXXXXXaPXFXXq6xXFXXXT.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Current Newstalk 106 Advert
    https://youtu.be/LbwBt1MtGbI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

The woman's voice in the Pampers ad, I'd love to smack her with a dirty nappy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Total fail this year.

So disappointing.

The worst thing about their Ad this year is, It totally debunks Santa Claus! What will the young kids make of that?⁠⁠⁠⁠

John Lewis Christmas Advert 2016

Just what you'd like to see - vermin all over your kid's new trampoline on Christmas Eve night, leaving plenty of their own presents for the mother or father to clean up and disinfect on Christmas Day before the child gets to have a go on it. Triffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

All this nonsense about the John Lewis ad, are people that sensitive? Shocking stuff wild animals in your garden and all children will click that the parents bought the trampoline :rolleyes: It's only an ad FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Sam Kade wrote: »
    All this nonsense about the John Lewis ad, are people that sensitive? Shocking stuff wild animals in your garden and all children will click that the parents bought the trampoline :rolleyes: It's only an ad FFS.

You won't like what the Guardian's Stuart Heritage has had to say about this ad, then. :o;)

"This is the story of a little girl called Bridget who loves to bounce," says the John Lewis website as it introduces its new Christmas advert. Bridget has always loved to bounce. She's put in the hours, endlessly springing up and down on her bed as her dog Buster watches from the sidelines. Arguably, there is no individual better qualified to bounce than Bridget. She's been preparing for this her whole life.

Finally, Bridget is given her big shot. Someone has assembled the trampoline of her dreams in her back garden. On Christmas morning, Bridget wakes up and sees the thing she's always longed for. She races downstairs. She has a clear shot at the trampoline. But then, at the last moment, Buster barges in ahead of her and grabs the trampoline for himself. Bridget stands on, astonished that something as stupid as a dog could have beaten her to it. Meanwhile, Buster gets his stupid dog mouth and his stupid dog parasites all over the trampoline, ruining it for anyone who ever wanted to use it afterwards.

That's right, Buster the dog is Donald Trump. Buster the dog is Donald Trump, Bridget is Hillary Clinton and the trampoline is America. Thanks for rubbing it in, John Lewis.

Perhaps I'm reading too much into this. Perhaps the John Lewis brain-trust got together and looked around them. Perhaps they looked at the state of the world, with Brexit and Trump and the rise of the right and all our dead heroes. Perhaps they looked at their own past offerings, where a woman relentlessly ages and a penguin is forced to seek companionship with a monstrous cadaver and the world's loneliest man dies in space. Perhaps they took stock of all this and shrugged "surely a dog on a trampoline won't upset anyone".

In theory, the intention was admirable. But this year has been such a domino stack of heartbreaking disappointment that John Lewis wouldn't have had to do much to make everyone cry. An advert where a weekend dad saves up to buy a toy for his son, soundtracked by a sad cover of Heroes by David Bowie. An advert where an old man sits on the white cliffs of Dover watching Europe fade into the distance, until he cheers up when a cartoon Belgian monkey gives him a gift voucher. Literally just a static card reading "2016". Any of these would have been a shot straight to the tear ducts.

But no. This year John Lewis tried to be happy. It tried to show us something as innocent and gleeful as an animal on a trampoline, in a bid to remind us that there's still some good left in the world. Our lives are flat and grey and trodden on, but so long as there's a dog bouncing next to a weirdly anachronistic telephone box, we'll still be fine.

And what did it make? A sledgehammer allegory for Donald Trump. A woman who gets shoved aside by an unthinking, self-interested animal even though she's much more suited to the task at hand. Watch the advert while listening to Hillary Clinton's concession speech. I dare you. It's heartbreaking. John Lewis, you've done the impossible. You've made 2016 worse.

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2016/nov/10/john-lewis-christmas-advert-buster-the-bouncing-dog-a-sledgehammer-to-2016

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It drives me mad that people here go on and on and on about those f*cking John Lewis ads when they haven't got any shops in this country.

Also the weird thing people have about it in a sense that they look forward to the emotional pangs to be had from them.
    Personally I find it a little dark that these marketing campaigns know the impact it has on people and seek to outdo themselves the whole time.

Also the weird thing people have about it in a sense that they look forward to the emotional pangs to be had from them.
    Personally I find it a little dark that these marketing campaigns know the impact it has on people and seek to outdo themselves the whole time.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It's only an ad FFS.
    They are not run of the mill ads though...
    You won't like what the Guardian's Stuart Heritage has had to say about this ad, then.
    I was actually going to say its not some €100 ad like a harvey norman crap one.

Just like some might like to see what ads come on at the superbowl, or budweiser christmas ads, or well produced guinness ads.

Its even got its own wiki page. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Lewis_Christmas_advert
    last years estimated to cost £7million
    It drives me mad that people here go on and on and on about those f*cking John Lewis ads when they haven't got any shops in this country.
    You can buy from them online, would amazon adverts upset you too? if they had high production ads people discussed. They had pop up some shops in the US. But either way the shop has little to do with why people have an interest in them or discuss them, its not like people are saying "did you see the price of the TV in that advert, in a shop we cannot even buy from. Its similar to how people who hate guinness might enjoy watching an ad with high production value.

If the ads appearred each year with some cryptic symbol and nobody ever knew who put them up people would still watch -i.e. the fact they cannot shop in them is irrelevant. I have seen many ads that gave me a giggle and have no recollection what they are trying to sell/advertise.

If people were watching a boring ad showing the prices of milk & bread in some japanese supermarket which did no online business then I would "be driven mad" if people harped on about it.

-I think this years one is crap BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭taytobreath

That Christmas Tesco add, that hand writing is waaaay to perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭taytobreath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Plus there's something very inherently depressing about those ads. They wouldn't exactly have me bouncing off to Tesco to do my Christmas shopping.

Alot to be said for Maurice Pratt and Darth Vader :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Oh no, it's back :(

"Your only option is: a grant boiler" :mad::mad:

You won't like what the Guardian's Stuart Heritage has had to say about this ad, then. :o;)

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2016/nov/10/john-lewis-christmas-advert-buster-the-bouncing-dog-a-sledgehammer-to-2016

someone thought the same as that guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

rubadub wrote: »
    someone thought the same as that guy
    ]

That's brilliant. Just brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Tell me I'm not the only one who replaces the soundtrack to the latest RSA speed kills ad with Alabama 3 - Woke up this morning. (The Sopranos theme tune)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

The drink driving ad (where the car grinds to a halt with the child crossing the road) is the best ad I've seen Ireland produce in ages. The song is haunting (sounds like Beth Gibbons?) and really hits home the seriousness of the message.

it's meant to be about speeding rather than drunkness. As the ad goes the things they are looking at and singing about start to appear faster and the song speeds up too.

http://www.rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Campaigns/Current-road-safety-campaigns/Anti-Speeding-/

Though its meant to be for drivers and speeding I hope it also warns moronic "I know my rights" pedestrians who would blindly step out onto a zebra crossing with their young child in hand while a car is speeding towards them.

There was some female comedian on room 101 complaining about this newish phenomenon. I have noticed these idiots quite a lot in recent years.

Resolute Cub1 week ago
    -Yeah I gst the message, but is that the whole song?

John Smith3 days ago
    -Yes, it's just a short piece that the RSA commissioned Cathy Davey to write specially for the video. I'd recommend anyone who enjoyed it to check out her other work - some of the songs on New Forest, her latest album, have a similar feel
    never heard of her, but she has done quite a bit. Neil Hannon's girlfriend
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cathy_Davey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

That new ad for the latest MacD's burger, with that woman doing the Mexican wave on a, I think, train. That voice of hers; to quote Quint in Jaws, "Jesus H Christ".

Though its meant to be for drivers and speeding I hope it also warns moronic "I know my rights" pedestrians who would blindly step out onto a zebra crossing with their young child in hand while a car is speeding towards them.
    Not the place for this sort of debate but as per rules of the road, pedestrians using a zebra crossing with flashing amber lamps have right of way over vehicles. Vehicles are required to pass these crossings at such a speed as to allow them to stop should a pedestrian approach the crossing and allow the pedestrian to cross. Also required not to park in such a way as to impair the ability of either the pedestrian or the driver to see each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

The music in the RSA advert is like nails on a chalkboard to me, pure ****e. It goes for haunting but completely misses the mark and sounds goofy.

flazio wrote: »
    Not the place for this sort of debate but as per rules of the road, pedestrians using a zebra crossing with flashing amber lamps have right of way over vehicles. Vehicles are required to pass these crossings at such a speed as to allow them to stop should a pedestrian approach the crossing and allow the pedestrian to cross. Also required not to park in such a way as to impair the ability of either the pedestrian or the driver to see each other.

disturbing to see the amount of thanks you got for that. I wonder if you and all the "thankers" would have crossed in the exact same manner as the guy in that ad.

Now for the actual rules of the road
    http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/Rules_of_the_road.pdf
    Zebra crossing
    This is marked by yellow flashing beacons. The actual crossing area is marked by
    black and white ‘zebra’ stripes.
    Drivers must stop to let you cross. As they approach the crossing, they should
    slow down and be prepared to stop. They must stop behind the stop line if there
    is one and must not enter any part of the crossing.
    Drivers must not overtake or park within areas covered by zig-zag markings on
    either side of the crossing. Section 10, on parking, has more information.
    You do not have the right-of-way over other traffic until you actually step
    onto the crossing. Never step onto the crossing if this would cause a
    driver to brake or swerve suddenly.

You must not cross within the area marked by zig-zag white lines if these
    are provided on either side of a zebra crossing. If they are not provided,
    you must not cross within 15 metres of the crossing.
    If there is a central island, treat each side as a separate crossing.
    Always watch carefully for approaching traffic. Place one foot on the
    crossing to indicate that you wish to cross. Wait until traffic has stopped
    before you start crossing.

Even if that was not in the rules only an idiot would presume the car is going to stop and stroll across the road like that. This "I was in the right" attitude is not going to help when you're dead. Only a moron does not realise morons are out there, be it in cars or on foot.

I wonder why they put in "Never step onto the crossing if this would cause a driver to brake or swerve suddenly." it clearly stated before that that the drivers must slow down, hmmm, maybe, just maybe, the lads writing it copped on that they might not have slowed down :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

disturbing to see the amount of thanks you got for that. I wonder if you and all the "thankers" would have crossed in the exact same manner as the guy in that ad.

Now for the actual rules of the road
    http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/Rules_of_the_road.pdf

Even if that was not in the rules only an idiot would presume the car is going to stop and stroll across the road like that. This "I was in the right" attitude is not going to help when you're dead. Only a moron does not realise morons are out there, be it in cars or on foot.

I wonder why they put in "Never step onto the crossing if this would cause a driver to brake or swerve suddenly." it clearly stated before that that the drivers must slow down, hmmm, maybe, just maybe, the lads writing it copped on that they might not have slowed down :rolleyes:

I don't think he actually said what you're implying.

He just said the pedestrian has right of way but obviously nobody is ever going to step out onto the road without checking and making sure a car is not close by.

obviously nobody is ever going to step out onto the road without checking and making sure a car is not close by.
    They do, as I said before "I have noticed these idiots quite a lot in recent years." People crossing who should have the right of way but do not check to see if some lunatic driver is coming, a joyrider, a cop car (who do not have to obey the road laws), head straight down not a bother on them. I have seen many close calls. I very rarely saw this years ago.

I know this thread is meant to be lighthearted, but this advert truly is worth despising. The driver and pedestrians were both breaking the rules of the road, but there is nothing really inferring the pedestrian was in the wrong. Its pretty dangerous to imply this.

The gardai were also called up over a recent campaign which had incorrect information and images. They were actually showing graphic images supposedly for safety, but which were actually illegal.

They do, as I said before "I have noticed these idiots quite a lot in recent years." People crossing who should have the right of way but do not check to see if some lunatic driver is coming, a joyrider, a cop car (who do not have to obey the road laws), head straight down not a bother on them. I have seen many close calls. I very rarely saw this years ago.

I know this thread is meant to be lighthearted, but this advert truly is worth despising. The driver and pedestrians were both breaking the rules of the road, but there is nothing really inferring the pedestrian was in the wrong. Its pretty dangerous to imply this.

The gardai were also called up over a recent campaign which had incorrect information and images. They were actually showing graphic images supposedly for safety, but which were actually illegal.

I think you both make good points on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭brian_t

All Ads have a target audience and that one is aimed at motorists.

Whether the pedestrian is in the right or wrong is irrelevent.

Whatever we think about Christmas ads appearing now, between the two major mobile phone companies at least Three made an effort to follow up on last year's ad. (and rather pleasant it is too) Vodafone have come out with the exact same advert as last year and it isn't all that memorable. Still, I suppose I should be thankful it isn't Sue the pig dressed up for Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

flazio wrote: »
    Whatever we think about Christmas ads appearing now, between the two major mobile phone companies at least Three made an effort to follow up on last year's ad. (and rather pleasant it is too) Vodafone have come out with the exact same advert as last year and it isn't all that memorable. Still, I suppose I should be thankful it isn't Sue the pig dressed up for Christmas

I could think of many lovely dressings you could dress Sue in. That would be an ideal Christmas dinner for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The cheeseiest ad I have ever seen is running on ITV3. The one where older folk are encouraged to phone up to enquire about life insurance and 'get a free pen'. The old dears in the ad are over the moon about this pen, endorsed by Michael Parkinson. Absolute patronising s***e.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I don't know if it's on television but there's an add I've seen in the cinema a couple of times recently that drives me up the wall. It's the Ethiad Airlines one with Jennifer Anniston. She's up in Club Class and some obnoxious kid starts hassling her so she brings the little b0llox back to his moronic parents. All the while this little fcker is droning on about carrot juice and becoming a pilot. And the coup de grace is that the kid can't pronounce his 'Rs'.

If it was on TV at least I could turn it off but in the cinema I'm stuck like Alex at the end of A Clockwork Orange.

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    I don't know if it's on television but there's an add I've seen in the cinema a couple of times recently that drives me up the wall. It's the Ethiad Airlines one with Jennifer Anniston. She's up in Club Class and some obnoxious kid starts hassling her so she brings the little b0llox back to his moronic parents. All the while this little fcker is droning on about carrot juice and becoming a pilot. And the coup de grace is that the kid can't pronounce his 'Rs'.

If it was on TV at least I could turn it off but in the cinema I'm stuck like Alex at the end of A Clockwork Orange.

I've been meaning to post that, great shout!

I found it particularly odd given Aniston's recent comments that she hates being spoken of in terms of her not being a mother. This is a clearly a ploy by the marketing of Etihad with that angle as Aniston in the maternal role, one she hams up pretty well too I might add.

This is after the kid brings her back towards the parents area, and rather than the Dad going all wide eyed with Aniston both himself and the mother clear off, leaving Aniston to look after the kids!