Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer Poaching

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1976/act/39/section/36/enacted/en/html

Wildlife Act, 1976

36.—(1) Notwithstanding anything contained in this Act apart from this section but subject to section 42, a person shall not hunt or disturb for the purpose of hunting—

(a) any protected wild animal by means of a mechanically-propelled vehicle, vessel or aircraft, whether it is being so propelled or is stationary,

(b) any protected wild bird by means of such a vehicle, vessel or aircraft while it is being so propelled.

Licence For Use of a Mechanicaly Propelled Vehicle

https://www.npws.ie/licences/education-and-science/hunt-using-mechanically-propelled-vehicle

Section 36: To Hunt Using a Mechanically Propelled Vehicle for Educational, Scientific or Other Purposes

The Minister is empowered, under Section 36(2) of the Wildlife Acts 1976 – 2018, to grant licences to hunt using a mechanically propelled vehicle specifically for ‘Educational, Scientific or Other Purposes’. It is not possible to issue a licence to hunt unprotected animals, such as foxes and rabbits using a mechanically propelled vehicle except for ‘Educational, Scientific or other Purposes’. However you are free to hunt unprotected animals, such as foxes and rabbits, including at night using lamps subject to landowner permission being obtained prior to entering on lands. However no such hunting can be carried out during the day or at night using a mechanically propelled vehicle.

So ducks from a boat are illegal?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Feisar wrote: »

AFAIK once the boat is moored / stationary you can shoot from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭solarwinds

Feisar wrote: »

AFAIK once the boat is moored / stationary you can shoot from it.

Nope whether it is moving or stationary you still cannot shoot from it, as per 36 b above.

I cannot edit that for some reason. I asked that before and i was told that it did not matter, if the vehicle has the capability to be mechanically propelled then it was no. I dont know how you would fair out if it was oars only. Is that still mechanically propelled ?

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭The pigeon man

solarwinds wrote: »
    I cannot edit that for some reason. I asked that before and i was told that it did not matter, if the vehicle has the capability to be mechanically propelled then it was no. I dont know how you would fair out if it was oars only. Is that still mechanically propelled ?

If it doesn't have a motor or engine it's not mechanically propelled. So you should be alright for the purpose of this act.

Same as you can ride around a field on a bicycle or horse back without a special license to hunt from a mechanically propelled vehicle.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

solarwinds wrote: »
    Nope whether it is moving or stationary you still cannot shoot from it, as per 36 b above.

Yes you can, when its not being propelled.. So stop the boat and fire away.
    (b) any protected wild bird by means of such a vehicle, vessel or aircraft while it is being so propelled.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,956 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Belive the NARGC issued a statement on this a few years ago.
    You can also let the boat drift and hunt like that.What the act is " meaning" is literally running the engine and persuing waterfowl.Not using the outboard to get to your lot,anchor,tilt the motor out of the water,and convert the boat to a duck blind etc. It would be ridicilous and literally life threatning to expect you to go out on a body of water with just oars and have to row ashore if the weather changed ot an incident occured.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

My bad, I thought there was a provision to the act for boats....

.... but as it says:
    "any protected wild animal by means of a mechanically-propelled vehicle, vessel or aircraft, whether it is being so propelled or is stationary,'
    ....there you go!

I would assume that all the lads heading out in boats on the lakes for the 1st of Sept are motoring to land fall or shallow spots for the rising sun.

My bad, I thought there was a provision to the act for boats....

.... but as it says:
    "any protected wild animal by means of a mechanically-propelled vehicle, vessel or aircraft, whether it is being so propelled or is stationary,'
    ....there you go!

I would assume that all the lads heading out in boats on the lakes for the 1st of Sept are motoring to land fall or shallow spots for the rising sun.

Jez, I can't keep up with the posts.

So a relook at the Act says this:

Sooooo.... you can use a boat stationary or drifting, regardless of whether or not you have an engine, just as long as its not propelling said boat.... head melted

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,469 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

In that piece of legislation its important to differentiate the two lists of quarry, as garv123 noted above.

Part (A is for wild animals (deer, foxes, rabbits, etc, etc). IOW land based.

Part (B is for birds. (Duck, pheasant, etc)

And before any smart arse tries to nit pick and ask can you drive around in a car,/jeep, etc, stop, and shoot a pheasant or other land based bird (as vehicle is no longer propelled) i'll remind you that common sense is a cheap commodity, and this is a public forum. :D
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭madmac187

Chaps poaching deer is a serious issue where I live tbh. To the pitch that a guy put a round in the ground near where I stood because he was put out of a farm that I had permission. No joke. Foreigners in a certain range in the midlands are poaching like wild fire also. And I do know one particular c**t who has a Facebook page for stalking and he is the biggest one of all and is not welcome in my locality or any adjoining area, as he avidly tells people tall tails about other hunters to get them out of farms/lets. In fact he did it to one person and didn’t realise shooter and farmer were father and son in law. Guys do pay mortgages with this craic and I find it reprehensible that people do that and a guy like me find it hard to get deer as where I go gets lorried at night.

Swear to God, i bet i know who you are talking about.
    madmac187 wrote: »
    Foreigners in a certain range in the midlands are poaching like wild fire also.
    as he avidly tells people tall tails about other hunters to get them out of farms/lets. In fact he did it to one person and didn’t realise shooter and farmer were father and son in law.
    in the case of the second point he done the same to me and a mate. Threatened to report us to the "land owner" for poaching and trespassing without knowing the lad i was with was the land owner.

Done it a second time to me and when i challenged him for his right to shoot there the name he gave was the chap that used to own the land, but sold it years ago. I went to the new land owner, after the sale to continue permission whereas he didn't even know it was sold. So guess who was actually trespassing!
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Cass wrote: »
    Swear to God, i bet i know who you are talking about.

in the case of the second point he done the same to me and a mate. Threatened to report us to the "land owner" for poaching and trespassing without knowing the lad i was with was the land owner.

Done it a second time to me and when i challenged him for his right to shoot there the name he gave was the chap that used to own the land, but sold it years ago. I went to the new land owner, he didn't even know it was sold. So guess who was actually trespassing!

He’s a scumbag, a lot of people do not like him. He’s all over the place at it tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,855 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I had a fella who is a member here contact me by private message asking about the deer shooting around where I live. It turned out some neighbours of his are old friends of mine. Long story short I invited him to call to my home and arranged some shooting for him. He brought a friend too, no big deal. They were happy out with their successful evening.

The one request I made crystal clear was that if he was ever intending to shoot that permission again he let me know in advance, for obvious reasons.

About a month later he was caught carrying a stag back to his van by one of the landowners, he used my name to smooth his deceit.

Knowing he had been caught by the balls and that I would know, he rang me the following day to give his side of the story. The French tourist with him was delighted that he had shot his first stag he told me, and not only that the same French man would pay me well to take him salmon fishing.

I reminded him about my request and he had the cheek to tell me "that's why I'm ringing you now because we were going to go again in the morning."

Some people mistake kindness for weakness, big mistake.

He was told in no uncertain terms that he is not welcome there or in any area near it again.

He, thanks be to God, is the only person I have ever encountered through shooting that lacked integrity and sportsmanship.

Greed is a curse.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Any point in reporting to the GS or NPWS

Local club chairman shooting a farmers animal while lamping, then blaming another member until all comes to light and then telling people no one from the club did it but saying we will just let the club to pay for it to avoid hassle. Ever hear the like. So I do think unfortunately hunting is on the way out because of the type of people involved, between people that are greedy and have to shoot everything and people that have no respect for anything or anyone. I can’t see my kids at it tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭The pigeon man

Local club chairman shooting a farmers animal while lamping, then blaming another member until all comes to light and then telling people no one from the club did it but saying we will just let the club to pay for it to avoid hassle. Ever hear the like. So I do think unfortunately hunting is on the way out because of the type of people involved, between people that are greedy and have to shoot everything and people that have no respect for anything or anyone. I can’t see my kids at it tbh.

That's why lads should own up. I've never caused any damage but if I did I'd tell the landowner straight away and sort it thorough insurance or pay myself.

It's one lad like that that gives us a bad name.

So did your club call an extradoinary general meeting,and state that in light of recent events and the chairmans behaviour,and having the audacity to say the club will pay for his criminal behaviour.That the club,comittee and floor demands his immediate resignation and expulsion??Or was it the usual "ah shure,it was a once off,dont be makin waves..He's a good man,etc ,etc"
    If it was the predictiable in most cases latter,then dont be surprised it it happens again and keeps happening. If people keep covering for others bad behaviour,it will keep happening.People have to really learn to say "NO MORE" alot more in Ireland.It's why we have batterd partners in marrige,kids running rampant,and gob****es like in your above example...Stop covering for and letting people get away with bad behaviour.:mad:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I just want to add to the boat chat.
    A row boat wouldn't be considered mechanically propelled

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Not sure if I mentioned it but around June I found hooves and skins left in open fields up on my permission and no one up there has a section 42.
    And the lack of deer lately is shocking. I’ve seen two or 3 does and a pricket.
    That’s it.
    I’ve a feeling it has to do with the “ new very friendly locals “ that moved in down the road from the land.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

Fair enough poachers are giving hunters a bad name but in my opinion there are guys who aren't breaking any laws but shooting huge numbers of deer purely for profit that are as damaging to the sport as the poachers are

On a serious list of sins.I'd rather have an old school poacher to deal with ,than the modern mass exterminator for profit market hunter.

The old school fellah is doing it for the pot and proably also sheer divilliment of cocking a snook at "stealin ghis lordships deer or pheasents".A nusiance,but if he is doing it right,he wont clean out an area,as he knows he needs to be discrete as he doesnt want to attract attention to himself.

The mass extinction for profit market hunter,is motivated by one thing only ...CASH!And damn the consequences or whether he draws attention to himself,as he knows there is little or no chance of being caught or sanctioned.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Vulture 1

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    On a serious list of sins.I'd rather have an old school poacher to deal with ,than the modern mass exterminator for profit market hunter.

The old school fellah is doing it for the pot and proably also sheer divilliment of cocking a snook at "stealin ghis lordships deer or pheasents".A nusiance,but if he is doing it right,he wont clean out an area,as he knows he needs to be discrete as he doesnt want to attract attention to himself.

The mass extinction for profit market hunter,is motivated by one thing only ...CASH!And damn the consequences or whether he draws attention to himself,as he knows there is little or no chance of being caught or sanctioned.

I agree totally. The romantic view of the poacher is no reflection of the modern day one. This idea of the poacher even protects them in rural communities when people who are not involved in hunting still think of a poacher as a lovable rouge. And fail to report their activities.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Vulture 1

ormondprop wrote: »
    Fair enough poachers are giving hunters a bad name but in my opinion there are guys who aren't breaking any laws but shooting huge numbers of deer purely for profit that are as damaging to the sport as the poachers are

Nail hammer head

To throw a spanner into the works.. Lamping is rampant around here, and lads shooting big numbers legally every year too..

I'm seeing more deer than ever around the place..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭BryanL

Where are you, we can help. : ))

Another article in an Irish paper today about deer hunting and of course poaching.

The main theme throughout all these articles is the use of NV. Some organisations are pushing this narrative and mark my words if it gets enough traction you'll find NV being revised from requiring authorisation to being banned.

Cass wrote: »
    Another article in an Irish paper today about deer hunting and of course poaching.

The main theme throughout all these articles is the use of NV. Some organisations are pushing this narrative and mark my words if it gets enough traction you'll find NV being revised from requiring authorisation to being banned.

Anyone following the videos about poaching from a certain fella on facebook and youtube calling lads high up in organisations out?

A certain high up fella in the IDC has pics up of deer shot with a night vision attachment on his gun.. pics were removed but not before a screen shot was taken and posted on facebook groups...

To me, it seems like certain people want to set up a commercial business and have all the deer management to themselves..

garv123 wrote: »
    Anyone following the videos about poaching from a certain fella on facebook and youtube calling lads high up in organisations out?

A certain high up fella in the IDC has pics up of deer shot with a night vision attachment on his gun.. pics were removed but not before a screen shot was taken and posted on facebook groups...

To me, it seems like certain people want to set up a commercial business and have all the deer management to themselves..

Ho HUM...Nothing new there in Ireland then???:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,855 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

That chap is on Matt Cooper now.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.