Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Greatest Song Sung By A Woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,952 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

List 8 was really really good.
    Even by my own really high overall points, this list averaged on nearly 15 points, with only one song on single digit points.

I just like them all!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 30,353 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Part 8 scoring consists of:

1 scored 20
    1 scored 17
    2 scored 15
    1 scored 13
    3 scored 10
    2 scored 7
    3 scored 5
    13 scored 0

• Registered Users Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Irish Aris wrote: »
    List 8 was really really good.
    Even by my own really high overall points, this list averaged on nearly 15 points, with only one song on single digit points.

I just like them all!!!

Part 8 scoring consists of:

1 scored 20
    1 scored 17
    2 scored 15
    1 scored 13
    3 scored 10
    2 scored 7
    3 scored 5
    13 scored 0

giphy.gif

Part 10

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLOF8MMEgcF4n0aV8fiRKDtE7wvkV-GTrI

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/0ALR2BWL2Hxkg41ap656SZ?si=Ne0_M4nNSe6HmlT6vv8ZIw

I Feel The Earth Move - Carole King
    Complicated - Avril Lavigne
    Song To The Siren - This Mortal Coil
    Scorn not his simplicity - Sinead O Connor
    California - Joni Mitchell
    Just Give Me a Reason - Pink and Nate Reuss
    Dog Days Are Over - Florence and the machine
    Songbird - Fleetwood Mac
    Fast Car - Tracy Chapman
    Take My Breath Away - Berlin
    Safe & Sound - Taylor Swift ft Civil Wars
    Rebel Girl - Bikini Kill
    Into The Groove - Madonna
    How Do I Live - Trisha Yearwood
    Stars - Grace Potter
    Think Twice - Celine Dion
    You Outta Know - Alanis Morissette
    Paradise (What About Us?) - Within Temptation ft Tarja
    I Feel Love - Donna Summer
    Love Sensation - Loleatta Holloway
    Proud Mary - Tina Turner
    Nutbush City Limits - Ike & Tina Turner
    Now We Are Free - Lisa Gerard
    I Say A Little Prayer - Aretha Franklin
    I'll Take You There - The Staple Singers
    Only Time (Who can say) - Enya

• Registered Users Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Few songs on that list that I'm delighted to see come up :)

Still haven't got to playlist 8 though, I'm very behind :(

Part 11

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLOF8MMEgcF4npkvGWhWOCIIbIoh-Stg7_

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/6s3PJRyosF1ilJuDsYcYgh?si=4ad_tO3DTcu6OFf9kPAfUQ

Malibu - Hole
    Trust in Me - Belly
    Say what you want - Texas
    Rescue Me - Fontella Bass
    Stay High - Brittany Howard
    Daniel - Bat For Lashes
    Bette Davis eyes - Kim Carnes
    Candles in the rain - Melanie
    Needle In A Haystack - Velvelettes
    Both Sides Now - Joni Mitchell
    Cruel - St. Vincent
    Groove is in the Heart - Deee-Lite
    People Have The Power - Patti Smith
    Nobody But You - Gwen Steffani and Blake Shelton
    Honey - Moby
    Who will save your Soul - Jewel
    Blood Red River - Beth Orton
    Roam - The B-52s
    Gigantic - Pixies
    What's Up? - 4 Non Blondes
    At Seventeen - Janis Ian
    Never Say Never - Romeo Void
    It's too late - Carole King
    My Guy - Mary Wells
    Time to say Goodbye - Katherine Jenkins

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Still haven't got to playlist 8 though, I'm very behind

Not as far back as me I'm still only on 6 :(

• Registered Users Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Scoring for part 9 consists of:

2 scored 20
    2 scored 19
    2 scored 17
    3 scored 15
    1 scored 13
    2 scored 10
    1 scored 5
    13 scored 0

Round 8 scores: average score 12.308

Score #
    20 2
    18 2
    16 6
    14 3
    12 4
    10 2
    8 3
    6 2
    4 0
    2 1
    0 1

Round 9 scores: average score 12.000

Score #
    20 3
    18 0
    16 3
    14 3
    12 6
    10 6
    8 3
    6 1
    4 0
    2 0
    0 1

Scoring for part 10 consists of the following:

4 scored 20 including 2 of my own
    2 scored 15
    3 scored 10
    3 scored 7
    2 scored 5
    12 scored 0

To whoever nominated Down By The Water...

64eea985d56f4afa476011a4ad81fe05.gif

Love that song! Slightly ashamed it slipped my mind

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Never heard of her before but Grace Potter has a great voice, whoever nominated her, great job

Ugh, Number 10 contains one of my most hatest songs of all time. Like seriously properly allergic to hearing it. >__<; If I could give minus points, I would. And I'd probably have refrained from handing out any zeroes at all previously if I knew this would crop up, because this one deserves the ultimate zero. Absolute zero, if you will.

There's another on that list I strongly dislike as well, which would probably have been a zero if on any other playlist but even that's going to be bumped up to 2 points now because its awfulness is minimised in comparison to the other abomination.

On the plus side there at least six songs here that will score 16 or higher, and there are still a good few I'm not familiar with yet so hopefully there'll be some more high scores too.

Haha I'm trying to guess which song it is you despise so much.

I can't stand most of Pink's music and that song is no exception

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,282 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

There's a song in group 10 that I feel the same way about. I don't just want to change station if it comes on the radio in the car, I want to rip the radio out and throw it out the window just to be sure that it'll never be heard again in my car. I wonder if it's the same song?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Round 9 was a strong one, some great tunes. You could almost release it as a compilation cd, Strawbs.

Part 12

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLOF8MMEgcF4nwjFX-GTN1MBbJ7O53Do63

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/6D69vNc6945k39BrSqwbkR?si=YKqUr2X2S-ehsoFpQ8N3uA

At Last - Etta James
    Black Horse and The Cherry Tree, Live on Later With Jools Holland - KT Tunstall
    Shallow - Lady Gaga/Bradley Cooper
    Walking in the Air - Nightwish
    Love Exists - Amy Lee
    Edge of Glory - Lady Gaga
    Tom's Diner - Suzanne Vega
    There must be an Angel - Eurythmics
    Linger - The Cranberries
    Flashdance...What A Feeling - Irene Cara
    White Flag - Dido
    Pon de Replay - Rihanna
    The Ice cream man - Mary Coughlan
    Shake It Out - Florence + the Machine
    Hips Don't Lie - Shakira
    Penicillin Blues - Stone the Crows
    I Don't Want a Lover - Texas
    Running Up That Hill - Kate Bush
    Eternal Flame - The Bangles
    Go your own way - Fleetwood Mac
    Crying - Roy Orbison and kd lang
    Didn't Leave Nobody but the Baby - Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss, Gillian Welch
    Babooshka - Kate Bush
    Joan of Arc - In This Moment
    Sanvean - Lisa Gerrard
    Over The Rainbow - Judy Garland
    God Rest ye Merry Gentlemen - Alison Kraus

ShaneU wrote: »

Hi Shane - is it easy to swap the KT Tunstall song (#2) for this one...?

https://play.google.com/music/m/Tw2tzq74qd7b4lcxr756qokv7aq?t=Black_Horse_And_The_Cherry_Tree_Live_On_Later_With_Jools_Holland_2004_-_KT_Tunstall

My nom. Sadly it's one of those songs that got murdered in the studio, the normal version is cack. When she turned up on her own to the Later... studio with just a guitar and a loop pedal though, I think the result was really special :)

Done

• Registered Users Posts: 4,952 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Listening to list 10 now, lovely to see This Mortal Coil and Lisa Gerrard in it, thank you to whoever nominated them.
    I completely forgot about Dead Can Dance, some great vocal performances from Ms Gerrard throughout their career!!

Part 11 scoring consists of:

1 scored 20
    1 scored 17
    1 scored 15
    1 scored 13
    1 scored 10
    1 scored 7
    2 scored 5
    4 scored 3
    13 scored 0

And that was me being very generous. For me Part 11 is probably the weakest thus far.

Part 12 scoring consists of:

2 scored 20 and both were my nominations
    1 scored 19
    2 scored 17
    4 scored 15
    3 scored 13
    2 scored 10
    3 scored 7
    1 scored 5
    1 scored 3
    8 scored 0

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Part 11 scoring consists of:

1 scored 20
    1 scored 17
    1 scored 15
    1 scored 13
    1 scored 10
    1 scored 7
    2 scored 5
    4 scored 3
    13 scored 0

And that was me being very generous. For me Part 11 is probably the weakest thus far.

Yeah part 11 was quiet weak indeed, only 2 songs got 20 from me, 16 songs scored 10 or lower, possibly my lowest scoring round

Round 10 finished.
    None of my nominations here but still gave two top scores. Lots of clustering around the middle with this one, with lots of "meh" songs and then a gap to the two duds at the bottom.
    Average score 11.7

Score #
    20 2
    18 2
    16 2
    14 3
    12 5
    10 6
    8 4
    6 0
    4 0
    2 1
    0 1

WARNING! WARNING!

A certain song in this part may be best listened to with headphones on or when you're on your own. You may get strange looks from your work colleagues if its playing in the background whilst you're on a zoom meeting. And god knows what your teenage kids will think you're up to if they hear the words :D

2 songs can only be heard on YouTube (Joanne Newsom & Florence & the Machine Live from Albert Hall).

Part 13

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLOF8MMEgcF4lt2nzJbDGSX7nvK6IjHHvH

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/77GsJKNwLl5VH1fBnMLomb?si=ueA2xO2bRmiKH1hJAbfPnA

Here's Where The Story Ends - Sundays
    I Say a Little Prayer - Dionne Warwick
    Sapokanikan - Joanna Newsom
    Feeling Good - Nina Simone
    Superstar - Karen Carpenter
    Butterflies - Katie Musgraves
    The Wind That Shakes The Barley - Dolores Keane
    Closer to fine - Indigo Girls
    Total Eclipse of the Heart - Bonnie Tyler
    When Tomorrow Come - Eurythmics
    I Will Never Let You Down - Rita Ora
    Material Girl - Madonna
    Down to the River to Pray - Alison Krauss
    Im your baby tonight - Whitney Houston
    Stop dragging my heart around - Stevie Nicks
    Travellin' Soldier - Dixie Chicks
    You got the love (Live from The Albert Hall) - Florence & The Machine
    Glory Box - Portishead
    Flower - Liz Phair
    Still Into You - Paramore
    Who Knew - Pink
    Red Dirt Girl - Emmy Lou Harris
    Human - Christina Perri
    Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now - Starship
    Murder on the Dancefloor -Sophie Ellis-Bextor
    Gold-dust Woman - Fleetwood Mac
    Here You come again - Dolly Parton
    Rush Hour - Jane Wiedlin
    No One - Alicia Keys
    Primitive - Roisin Murphy
    Loving You - Minnie Ripperton
    Why does my heart feel so bad - Diane Charlemagne (Moby)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

WARNING! WARNING!

That song was one of my favourite discoveries of the the tournament. :D

The song in question being
    Liz Phair - Flower

Fair play to whoever nominated that one

• Registered Users Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭Niska

Found I was giving out a lot less 20s (And also 0s) with playlists 9 through 14.
    Probably not a reflection on quality, more fatigue and sub-conscious 'balance'.

Nice to see Crash, boom, bang in there - forgot how much I like that song.

Also trying to think of any obvious/surprising omissions. (Also, after Worst Song Ever was half expecting Jan Terri to show up. Also also just received a new box of italics...)

Can only think of three (omissions) - no Corrs, Aimee Mann or Fiona Apple.