Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids refusing to go to school

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭QueenMTBee

spurious wrote: »
    Did your parents have any particular reason for not sending you to school, even after JC?

Religious reasons (it's complicated and I don't want to post too much on an open forum). They do since regret it - particularly as my two youngest brothers did finish their schooling in a "normal" school and now have really great careers. I'm not being "poor me" - I've worked my way up the ladder, have a couple of diplomas and have a decent job and lifestyle but definitely would have been capable for a lot more with a better/more advanced education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Chrongen wrote: »
    "Home-schooling" fcuks kids up. They don't develop social skills properly

That's a fecking lie. I home schooled all my kids and they are flipping awesome, got highest level results in their Universities and are better socialised and more decent than anyone I've met. Feck off. :mad:

Any 'home-schooled' kids I've met have all been... odd... to put it mildly.

The majority were very sheepish and timid. Ocassionally they would be the archetypical spoiled child type with severe social retardation and very poor ability to read social situations.

Bull****.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭QueenMTBee

Just to clarify - I'm not knocking home schooling (although I wouldn't be in favour of it). I'm saying that from my experience of being home schooled and having the benefit of several (ahem) years to assess the longer term results, (a) parents need to be very sure that when it gets to a certain level they bring in outside help and encourage college/university and (b) the children should be involved in some kind of a team or club to help broaden their extended social circle and teach them to interact with the mean kids as much as the nice kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Malayalam wrote: »

That's a fecking lie. I home schooled all my kids and they are flipping awesome, got highest level results in their Universities and are better socialised and more decent than anyone I've met. Feck off. :mad:

Ohhh la-di-da. Isn't mumsy the best!!!!

With your attitude I've no doubt you think your offspring are "the best".

In reality I'd hazard a guess they are complete knobends

• Registered Users Posts: 33,687 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

grahambo wrote: »
    I work in IT as team lead.
    Genuinely, IT is having MAJOR issues with grads and young people starting work in our sector. Not so much me, but my colleagues/contacts that are taking them on in their teams.

These young people are just out of college and it's very apparent from the very beginning of working with them that:
    (A) They've never been told NO.
    (B) They've never been told they did a sh*tty/sloppy job at something.

They've basically been mollycoddled their whole lives and now can't cope with "The Real World"

It's fu*king ridiculous so it is.

I’m a parent and I’m holding up my hands here, I’m guilty and I’m sorry and I’m trying to fix it now but it’s not easy.

hawkelady wrote: »

You're the knob end. I was responding to an person who ignorantly said that home schooling fcuks kids up. It most certainly does not.

And I am not going to feel bad for thinking my children are flipping awesome. they are! Just like everyone hopefully thinks their kids are awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Stuckforcash

Whereas your parents obviously did a fine job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

You're the knob end. I was responding to an person who ignorantly said that home schooling fcuks kids up. It most certainly does not.

And I am not going to feel bad for thinking my children are flipping awesome. they are! Just like everyone hopefully thinks their kids are awesome

How many kids did you home school?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Whereas your parents obviously did a fine job.

Well with your knowledge I'd say you weren't homeschooled , eh !! I'll pass on the compliment to my parents. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

I hope they got your humility as well 😂

danganabu wrote: »
    I hope they got your humility as well ��

Why should I be humble about my children? Being their Mam is the most wonderful thing that ever happened to me in my whole life, and I am super proud of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

School had me in tears as a kid. I've suffered life long anxiety and panic disorder. I had friends and did well with school work and was never bullied or anything but I just couldn't cope with it. I was written off as being a brat by everyone but my parents, in the end they got me homeschooled.

In a long term full time job now living away from home. Often wonder if I was made to stay what effect it would have had. Quite happy right now though.

Maybe your username would not be 'stuckforcash' if you had stayed in school? You could be called 'livingcomfortably.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Give him a good crack on the arse and send him on his way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Why should I be humble about my children? Being their Mam is the most wonderful thing that ever happened to me in my whole life, and I am super proud of them.

Genuine question to you as a homeschooler, how did you teach them subjects where you knew it'd be out of your knowledge/ skills? Like maths, science subjects etc. How did you make sure your kids are on level with kids going to ordinary schools?
    I'm just interested in that, I'd never homeschool but I also don't think I could teach them certain things the way a qualified teacher could do.

Maybe your username would not be 'stuckforcash' if you had stayed in school? You could be called 'livingcomfortably.'

Doubt it. Homeschooling is superior in terms of education.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Doubt it. Homeschooling is superior in terms of education.

To the detriment of social skills which are key for suceeding in life.

Also it might be fine up to primary level. However when you get on to secondary there is no way a parent could have the depth of knowledge needed to cover topics as diverse as Maths, English, Poetry, Physics, Chemistry History etc.

To the detriment of social skills which are key for suceeding in life.

Also it might be fine up to primary level. However when you get on to secondary there is no way a parent could have the depth of knowledge needed to cover topics as diverse as Maths, English, Poetry, Physics, Chemistry History etc.
    There were no detriment to mine anyway, played sports and a member of various clubs. Not sure why you insist that homeschooling involves zero social skills. Perhaps you don't actually understand it?

I had three different teachers coming to my house, got all honours in my leaving. Went on to college, did a course I loved and got a job and subsequently married. Did you think only parents can homeschool kids?

Can you point to any studies on this so called detriment to socal skill development?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

There were no detriment to mine anyway, played sports and a member of various clubs. Not sure why you insist that homeschooling involves zero social skills. Perhaps you don't actually understand it?

I had three different teachers coming to my house, got all honours in my leaving. Went on to college, did a course I loved and got a job and subsequently married. Did you think only parents can homeschool kids?

Can you point to any studies on this so called detriment to socal skill development?

Its common sense. Another subject that is not on the home school cirriculum.

OK so you don't like homeschooling just because? Great argument.

Where's your evidence that being exposed to bullying as a kid is essential in dealing with bullying as an adult? You threw that out earlier and never followed up on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

It might work for you, but there most certainly is a big difference between knowing the information yourself and acting as an educator successfully teaching content or teaching methodologies, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

How do you homeschool and fit in work and study on top of that?

LirW wrote: »
    Genuine question to you as a homeschooler, how did you teach them subjects where you knew it'd be out of your knowledge/ skills? Like maths, science subjects etc. How did you make sure your kids are on level with kids going to ordinary schools?
    I'm just interested in that, I'd never homeschool but I also don't think I could teach them certain things the way a qualified teacher could do.
    I arranged schooling hours with other people. They were involved in many social activities that were not school. I also arranged workshops with other home schoolers so we could pool knowledge and skills. I liased with friends who were teachers to gauge standards but in general they were far ahead of regular school because a love of learning and curiosity is innate to children and if provided with resources and support and a comfortable setting they are boundlessly interested. Individual attention and variety of activity is helpful to them. It's hard work for the parent, a full time job, but they tell me they enjoyed it. Also I have a couple of degrees and reasonably wide knowledge base so I felt confident I could teach them. Not boasting, just in case people jump in to say so, just saying it helped.
    I didn't intend to home school, it became absolutely necessary due to intractable bullying in a very rural area. It worked out wonderfully. Thank goodness

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

One of my young lads started acting the bollix and refusing to go to school. I'm not the most technical of men, but I managed to cancel his playstation account and some of the other things he felt he could use my credit card for. He wasn't long getting out of the bed and heading down there for some learnin'.

The little prick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Cant they be developed in other ways such as sports/arts

• Registered Users Posts: 43,025 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

One of my young lads started acting the bollix and refusing to go to school. I'm not the most technical of men, but I managed to cancel his playstation account and some of the other things he felt he could use my credit card for. He wasn't long getting out of the bed and heading down there for some learnin'.

The little prick.

Did you cancel the PlayStation with a hammer?