Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland agrees to plan on migrant resettlement

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

How does this benefit the Irish people?

5% of these migrants will be doctors and other things useful to us, and for that reason we should let in uneducated 25 year old sheep farmers pretending to be 15 year old school children who also follow the teachings or preachers who think women have as much autonomy and agency as a lamp.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,541 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Migrants were never that inclined to come to Ireland and always preffered the UK.

That is hardly surprise given Britain's colonial past.
    Maybe the word is spreading on what a soft touch we are.

10-15 years shacked up in a modified theme park on 20 quid a week?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

This is all legalized trafficking
    NGO's, Government officials, Solicitors, Direct provisions & now hoteliers making €€€€ of the backs of human suffering.

As for the migrants
    Jumped to the front of the housing Q for a newly built house, medical care & of course benefits
    €5000 to refurbish your house even when the house in most cases already furnished, so you can spend that money on a big screen tv & some shiny trinkets or trainers
    a grant of €8000 for a car
    All paid by the taxpayer

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Tony Tucker

5% of these migrants will be doctors and other things useful to us, and for that reason we should let in uneducated 25 year old sheep farmers pretending to be 15 year old school children who also follow the teachings or preachers who think women have as much autonomy and agency as a lamp.

So a hindrance more than anything else. We should be opting out. We arent obliged to be taking these people in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Migrants were never that inclined to come to Ireland and always preffered the UK. Maybe the word is spreading on what a soft touch we are.

Just maybe. Like wildfire and you know how fast that spreads around Africa? ..and that’s just for starters other continents not included. We are indeed seen as a little Britain and a little America too

The farthest flung little land this side of Europe is the very definition of the west, somewhere between UK and USA only more beneficial. Priority destination I’ll tell you that much.

So a hindrance more than anything else. We should be opting out. We arent obliged to be taking these people in.

Only way to fix this is to not vote for the parties who are for this, which is pretty much all of them

Help!!!! wrote: »
    This is all legalized trafficking
    NGO's, Government officials, Solicitors, Direct provisions & now hoteliers making €€€€ of the backs of human suffering.

As for the migrants
    Jumped to the front of the housing Q for a newly built house, medical care & of course benefits
    €5000 to refurbish your house even when the house in most cases already furnished, so you can spend that money on a big screen tv & some shiny trinkets or trainers
    a grant of €8000 for a car
    All paid by the taxpayer

Is this actually true? Ireland isnt gonna be a nice place for these people to live when the recession comes.

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Just maybe. Like wildfire and you know how fast that spreads around Africa? ..and that’s just for starters other continents not included. We are indeed seen as a little Britain and a little America too

The farthest flung little land this side of Europe is the very definition of the west, somewhere between UK and USA only more beneficial. Priority destination I’ll tell you that much.

Come here become 'paper Irish' leave it a few years apply for American visa or move freely around Europe because of course you are now 'IRISH'

and for that reason we should let in uneducated 25 year old sheep farmers

Perfect, let him in.
    The Irish agri-food sector remains one of the lowest paying, while significant employment issues are highlighted as farmers struggle to find labour.

Irish Farmers' Association president Joe Healy recently said Irish agriculture has a genuine need for extra workers from outside Europe as we approach full employment - and recovering EU economies have labour needs of their own.

Is this actually true? Ireland isnt gonna be a nice place for these people to live when the recession comes.

Yep afraid so

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Didn't stop them before actually after the crash migrants coming here actually increased .

They will still be housed and financially supported no matter what the economic situation is it's win -win for them

Gatling wrote: »
    Didn't stop them before actually after the crash migrants coming here actually increased .

They will still be housed and financially supported no matter what the economic situation is it's win -win for them

Yes & the tax payer will keep getting squeezed more & more. Wait until petrol & diesel go up, car tax etc under the pretense of climate change.
    Heres another fun fact
    Did you know 100% of your car tax goes to Irish water?
    Was told by a person working for the tax office

• Registered Users Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

It's so obvious EU using Brexit and Backstop to force Ireland into accepting this.

Damn lazy migrants!! *shakes fist*

Oh wait >

?width=893&version=4274837

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Il Fascista

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    It's so obvious EU using Brexit and Backstop to force Ireland into accepting this.

There's little force about it. If we had any politicians with a backbone this wouldn't be an issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Boggles wrote: »

Oh wait >

Remove Europeans, American's and Chinese and the results will paint a different picture.

Oh wait >

Give it a few years for the 'refugees' to have an impact on the figures
    Huge difference between the Polish migrants who came here to work & what is being trafficked here by our Government

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Perfect, let him in.

1) they don't speak any english
    2) The IFA president wants farm hands below minimum wage , which has its own issues.
    3) The belief system causes issues.

Damn lazy migrants!! *shakes fist

Oops !

African nationals living in Ireland have a higher unemployment rate than other migrants and Irish people.

The new study from the Economic and Social Research Institute has examined how well migrants are settling in the country.

It has found that 16% of Africans living in Ireland are out of work, compared with 4% of people from western European countries.

The employment rate for Africans in Ireland was also very low at 45%, while 66% of Irish nationals were working.

Lead author of the report, Dr Frances McGinnity, said the findings were concerning in relation to immigrants from Africa, whereas people from Europe and North America had high levels of employment and educational attainment and were performing very well in the Irish labour market.

The research also found that consistent poverty rates were highest for non-EU nationals at 29% compared with 8% for Irish people.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/1107/1009164-esri_migrants/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

There's little force about it. If we had any politicians with a backbone this wouldn't be an issue.

Unfortunately we’ve a Taoiseach instilled for the wrong sort of backbone. We desperately; badly need someone propped up by sterner stuff for the sake of our fabric and of our very dna. We’re getting shafted lads.

That degenerate doesnt care about the Irish people. That much is obvious.

Continue voting for the main political parties & we only have ourselves to blame

Lead author of the report, Dr Frances McGinnity, said the findings were concerning in relation to immigrants from Africa, whereas people from Europe and North America had high levels of employment and educational attainment and were performing very well in the Irish labour market.

Hardly surprising. From the Good Doctor herself.
    poorer labour market outcomes among this group are likely
    to be a combination of somewhat lower educational outcomes, time spent in the asylum system and not in the labour market for those who were seeking protection, and potentially also the experience of racism and discrimination in the Irish labour market

Thanks for highlighting it, it's important.

People seeking asylum were forbidden from working up until very recently.

Hardly surprising. From the Good Doctor

Thanks for highlighting it, it'

Shows that the article you posted isn't exactly true

• Registered Users Posts: 12,483 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Help!!!! wrote: »
    Continue voting for the main political parties & we only have ourselves to blame

We're not given other options, the choices are these main parties or far left half wits from the smaller parties and independents.

Varik wrote: »
    We're not given other options, the choices are these main parties or far left half wits from the smaller parties and independents.

The National Party is now ready for the next general election & support is growing daily

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭creeper1

This idea should not be entertained until the housing crisis and homelessness have been fixed.

Wasn’t that what a minister recently said?

What caused the backing down? Threats about the backstop?

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭creeper1

Also I think it is important to note that Europe seems powerless to deport failed asylum seekers with return rates dreadfully poor because of legal appeals and human rights lawyers.

When they are in they are effectively permanently in.

creeper1 wrote: »
    This idea should not be entertained until the housing crisis and homelessness have been fixed.

Wasn’t that what a minister recently said?

What caused the backing down? Threats about the backstop?

More like €€€€€

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Hardly surprising. From the Good Doctor herself.

Thanks for highlighting it, it's important.

Quote:
    poorer labour market outcomes among this group are likely
    to be a combination of somewhat lower educational outcomes, time spent in the asylum system and not in the labour market for those who were seeking protection, and potentially also the experience of racism and discrimination in the Irish labour market

People seeking asylum were forbidden from working up until very recently.

"poorer labour market outcomes among this group are likely
    to be...potentially" is not a factual statement. It's the purely speculative opinion of the writer, based on their own biases, seeking to explain away empirical data that presents an inconvenient truth.

An inconvenient truth which you deliberately obscured by presenting the headline figure only, until you got called out on it. I recall most of the media did the same in presenting the report. Can you not say how treating people like idiots, dismissing their reasoned concerns and attempting to mislead them in this way, is only going to increase resentment and fuel racism?