Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscommon GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Rossvet

Yep Eddie looked to have something to offer when he briefly wore the County Jersey earlier in the year.
    Well done Brids, good to see football beating negativity.
    Willie H even worse yesterday.
    Really is an embarrassment at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Rossvet wrote: »
    Yep Eddie looked to have something to offer when he briefly wore the County Jersey earlier in the year.
    Well done Brids, good to see football beating negativity.
    Willie H even worse yesterday.
    Really is an embarrassment at this stage.

Willie obviously has alot of clout, nobody to answer to at Shannonside. He really is desperate bad.

He must think he is on television and the listener can see everything as he sh*tes on. Sooner they get a proper play by play man the better. You can tell he doesn't enjoy having a side kick either, he will often butt in when the co-commentator is recapping trying to describe the play that Willie has no intention of doing.

Yep.
    On radio you want to hear where the ball is, where about on the field are they and what do they do with it.
    Blathering on about strawberries and cream and Wimbledon and then saying "Oh that was a fabulous point ".....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Bridgets very impressive considering how young many of the players are, if I was every other club in Roscommon I would prepare for a decade of domination based on that showing.

Pearses very disappointing, once Bridgets got the goal they simply waltzed through the defence over and over. Worrying to see heads drop so quickly on experienced players many with county experience.

Anyways congrats to Bridgets and Órán in the intermediate. The lads let themselves down in the under 20s final vs Galway but 8-9 of those players started for Órán and Bridgets this weekend and were top class.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭rosknight

GARDAÍ IN ROSCOMMON have launched an investigation after it was alleged a GAA team held a dinner for up to 50 people following a challenge match over the weekend.
    The investigation concerns an event in the town of Boyle following a match between Roscommon and Donegal.
    Officers received a number of calls from concerned locals who informed them that the gathering was taking place, the Irish Daily Mail reporting this morning.
    The organisers have told gardaí they were complying with the regulations and did not breach them, according to sources familiar with the investigation.

Post match meal for the team. All in order as "elite" sports people.
    Meal in the Hall in Boyle which has capacity of hundreds in normal time.
    Local busybodies having a field day.
    Media reporting giving impression it was in a pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭rosknight

Where exactly does it say in the Covid Guidelines that 50 people can dine together indoors.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,221 ✭✭✭tanko

rosknight wrote: »
    Where exactly does it say in the Covid Guidelines that 50 people can dine together indoors.

It's grand, there was a partition down the middle of the room.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭White lighting

In the specific guidelines that were issued by the Government to Elite sports teams.

Otherwise the Kerry kads will have to travel to Inniskeen and back with only a sandwich to eat over 16 or so hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭Always_Running

GARDAÍ IN ROSCOMMON have launched an investigation after it was alleged a GAA team held a dinner for up to 50 people following a challenge match over the weekend.
    The investigation concerns an event in the town of Boyle following a match between Roscommon and Donegal.
    Officers received a number of calls from concerned locals who informed them that the gathering was taking place, the Irish Daily Mail reporting this morning.
    The organisers have told gardaí they were complying with the regulations and did not breach them, according to sources familiar with the investigation.

Not like The Daily Mail journalists to use no reseach for their articles..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭rn

They can't tell "elite" athletes to keep playing on one hand and on other hand not support them in competition preparations. Training isn't just running on a pitch. What were they supposed to do? Vouchers for supermacs and a zoom call?

The important thing is not the numbers involved, but that a large venue was used that ensured social distancing.

Correct RN and knowing the individual who organised it you can be sure it was 100% in accordance with every rule and guideline in existence.

Hann Ross!

Top of Div 2. 3-10 - 0-15 defeat of Armagh.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭megadodge

Good hard fought win. And that's all that matters.

I have to say, the lack of penetration in the first half bothered me, especially as I felt that Armagh were there to be taken. But fair play to Roscommon, when it really mattered they upped the pace and the likes of Ciaran Lennon and Cian McKeown really took it to the Armagh defense (literally).

Earlier on I thought Conor Cox should have been taken off, but he came on very strong in the last third of the match to prove his worth. For what it's worth I think McKeown is a better free taker.

I cannot overstate the importance of Compton back in the middle. He's so strong in the air and so intelligent in his use of possession. Hopefully the body holds up.

Overall, a mature performance. Doing what they had to do without ripping up any trees and their fitness looked impressive, something that nobody could really predict with any certainty, so hopefully they'll be flying for the Mayo match.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

A member of the senior panel has tested positive following the Armagh game.
    A large number of players now self isolating as a precaution.
    Had heard the rumour earlier but tomorrow's edition of the Roscommon People is confirming it.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭Francescoli

A member of the senior panel has tested positive following the Armagh game.
    A large number of players now self isolating as a precaution.
    Had heard the rumour earlier but tomorrow's edition of the Roscommon People is confirming it.

It's true but with us winning on Saturday,does it really matter.
    Main thing is to be able to field a team for Cavan ,keep the score down and just get the game over with.

Even with 13 or 14 lads missing we should still be able to field decent 15.

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭cuculainn

Would we forfit and still be promoted? Not great time to be playing Cavan

• Registered Users Posts: 4,365 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

cuculainn wrote: »
    Would we forfit and still be promoted? Not great time to be playing Cavan

I'd bring up a team of non regulars
    Try keep the panel covid free for championship

Between this and the meal inside after Donegal challenge there needs to be serious questions asked of the county board.

In the middle of a f**king pandemic there shouldn't be 20-30 people on a bus for 6 hours up and down to armagh

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭Francescoli

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Between this and the meal inside after Donegal challenge there needs to be serious questions asked of the county board.

In the middle of a f**king pandemic there shouldn't be 20-30 people on a bus for 6 hours up and down to armagh

They brought 2 buses and what are the county board supposed to do once the league was resumed?

Regarding the meal after the challenge game,afaik they didint break any of the rules due to the exemptions for elite sports .

No problem with the meal after Donegal game.
    A shower of *****s in Boyle rang the Guards complaining about a shindig etc.
    There were 2 buses with social distancing to Armagh and some folks drove.
    Those on the same bus as the poor lad who's positive are isolating for 14 days.
    All others are casual contacts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Rossvet wrote: »
    No problem with the meal after Donegal game.
    A shower of *****s in Boyle rang the Guards complaining about a shindig etc.
    There were 2 buses with social distancing to Armagh and some folks drove.
    Those on the same bus as the poor lad who's positive are isolating for 14 days.
    All others are casual contacts.

Cavan travelled to Kildare in cars because we had that many isolating last week. Mickey Graham said he couldn’t take the chance of putting 14 to 15 lads on a bus as, if one later tested positive, that was another number of players gone.

If you saw the TG4 coverage, you’ll see they also kept the forwards and backs apart at the water break.

Up to a third of our panel was missing last weekend and Graham has said he expects that to be the norm most weekends due to people having to isolate if near a close contact.

They brought 2 buses and what are the county board supposed to do once the league was resumed?

Regarding the meal after the challenge game,afaik they didint break any of the rules due to the exemptions for elite sports .

Drive separately. Just asking for trouble having players in a small confined space together for six hours. Kerry players all drove to Monaghan from what I am hearing.

Another Div 2 League title in the bag!

Good to see other panel members getting game time even if the circumstances weren't ideal! Probably our strongest panel in a long long time?
    Have to say the S&C of the players has really gone up a level under Cunningham.
    One thing I would like to see improve is our game management. The last 5 mins and the turnovers would have proved very costly on another day.

Indeed.
    Remember the Laois game��

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭FarmerBrowne

I assume the Mayo game is on this weekend? We better show up and fulfill the fixture anyways, with a bit of luck we might be able to keep it kicked out to the greatest new group of forwards in the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Very different mood coming into this than the game in Castlebar last year, Ros seemingly in decent form, while it's probably fair to say that Mayo are not 100% sure exactly where they're at. I haven't seen the highlights of their game against Leitrim, so no point in commenting in that regard but they have added a couple of exciting young lads into their panel this year in their forwards. That said, our defence has been pretty good (albeit in Division 2). Have clamped down on a lot of the sloppy mistakes that have plagued us at the back and cost us in recent years. If we can keep that going and restrict Mayo to taking their points, we will be there or thereabouts.

Have we a full panel to pick from or how is Conor Daly? Looked a nasty hamstring tweak in the Armagh game?

Always felt we were a beaten docket before we took the field in games with Mayo for a number of years so last years victory was massive. If we perform to our potential we will be there or there abouts come the last 10 minutes.
    Probably our strongest panel in an awful long time but have been impressed with how Horan has added more depth and talent to Mayo panel especially up front.

Paddy Power has the handicap as Mayo by 2, time will tell!