Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

There is a generation that has not grown up with .......

• Registered Users Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

My wife's friends 13 year old daughter doesn't know how to turn on an oven or butter bread.

My 11 year old daughter bakes twice a week, completely independently. She looks up the recipe herself, goes down to the shop herself to buy any ingredients we don’t have with her own money, uses the mixer and oven herself. Our dishwasher is currently broken, and yesterday she washed everything up by herself after. The stuff she bakes is genuinely delicious, and there’s a few recipes she knows totally off by heart now, so she can bake perfect shortbread cookies and fairy cakes without looking up the recipe at all. But just as my example isn’t typical of the entire current generation of tweens, yours isn’t too.

Every generation fears that the upcoming generations aren’t as good as them. If boards are been around in 1980, our parents generation would be on it complaining that hat the kids are all listening to crap like The Smiths and they don’t know what real music like Elvis is. How we’re all wasting our time playing with Action Man and Sindy dolls stupid plastic Lego, and don’t know what a real toy like Mechano with lead paint is. If boards had been around in 1940, their parents would be on it complaining that the “kids today” are so pampered that they don’t even get jobs in coal mines at 12, and they wouldn’t know a good Count John McCormack gramophone record if the Kaiser threw it at them.

There’s differences between every generation, and it can be fun to point them out. But let’s not pretend that civilisation is ending with the current one. There’s stuff that they will absolutely run rings around us with. They’ll be the ones on here in 2060 complaining complaining about how their stupid parents can’t even program a hologram, or that they still keep reaching for the gearstick in the flying car.

• Registered Users Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Cushtie

no internet access ! going to phone box to ring your mates who had phones

Or ringing the phone box and asking the person who answered it to get Mary at no 27 and hoping no one would come on in the meantime and hang it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭logically

Jim2007 wrote: »
    I’m sure current and future generations will get on just fine without all the crap of previous generations. After all there are a lot of 50+ year olds that don’t know how to solder a hole in a bucket with a fire iron, or an electric one for that matter... replace a valve in a radio or fix a tv... all skill that were thought to be useful when I were a boy.

Can the OP not start a 'reeling in the years' type thread for a bit of entertainment and reminiscing on things that came to his mind without the Buzzkill D'Arcy type response ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭rockatansky

Your Face wrote: »
    Count themselves lucky if they never hear The Smiths.
    A band for cunts.

It's so easy to laugh, it's so easy to hate, it takes strength to be gentle and kind.

Yours sincerely

A Cunt

• Registered Users Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Cushtie

Another one in our local. Was when the phone would ring the girl Inside the bar would ask "who is here?" before she answered it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

My wife's friends 13 year old daughter doesn't know how to turn on an oven or butter bread. I do blame the (single) mother but I fear there is a generation coming up that don't have basic skills in self sufficiency. They are more concerned with men having periods (which is mental illness)

I shared a house with someone 15 years ago who was afraid to switch on the gas fire or oven. She was from a county (the same one as me) that doesn't have natural gas available. She was 'afraid' of it, apparently. While she was younger than I she was no child either. She"d be about 40 now. She was bone idle, round the house as well - never once lifted a finger to clean up after herself. My point being, it's not just the kids now who are like that. There"s always been a cohort of useless adults and there always will and they'll always find some mug to 'mind' them.

My 11 year old daughter bakes twice a week, completely independently. She looks up the recipe herself, goes down to the shop herself to buy any ingredients we don’t have with her own money, uses the mixer and oven herself.

Ah you were doing so well....

(Only messin- fair play to her. Mine is the same, a great life skill)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Music wasn't better or worse at anytime, it's just the good songs keep getting played. We'll forget all the crap from this decade just as much as we've forgotten the crap from previous decades.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

It's so easy to laugh, it's so easy to hate, it takes strength to be gentle and kind.

Yours sincerely

A Cunt

There’s always someone somewhere (with a big nose) who knows
    Who’ll trip you up and laugh when you fall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Blowing into videogame cartridges in the forlorn hope that it'll make them work.

Praying that the Playstation would get beyond the little start-up jingle and load the disc.

Phone cards. Phone boxes. Actually smelled of piss most of the time but how and ever. Being able to go out the door in the morning with no more than "I'll be back later" and just play outside for hours with friends. Dial-up internet sounds and connecting at 31k on IOL most of the time. Floppy disks.

Mobile phones that were the size of bricks and were just phones. AERTEL telly text. Looking for football results on that. Movies that weren't remakes or reinterpretations all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭dmc17

Going to the video library , renting your video, getting it home to discover its crap

Probably should've checked the reviews on Rotten Tomatoes first :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭CountNjord

Geography, history, mythology, heritage...

The country side, robbing orchards, picking black berries, getting sick from foraging...

The bitter tastes of a sloe, popping fuchsia flower's, getting lost...

Getting a good shlap, wearing wellies and still getting them full of water.

Finding porn mags dumped in the bushes, that was like a treasure trove in the 80's for lads...

I remember when a rubber Jonnie would appear somewhere half the school would be looking at it, then the usual messer would pick it up with a stick and chase someone with it.

The famous five, the hardy boys, the fall guy ..

Lighting fire's and cooking sausages on a stick.

Smoking John Player Blue at 11, the first one you'd cough then after that they're ok although Major were a smooth smoke..

Oh the childhood of the 80's we were tough, rugged and had more cuts and bruises and never had to go to A and E.

Haunted houses, creepy woods, chased by bulls, eating ice from a puddle.

Catching crow's, building forts, territorial area's controlled by kids from different parts of the town, scermishes with kids from different parts of town.

Calling teen-agers name's and getting chased and maybe held there when we're caught by the mods or rockers, the ska guys were the worst..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭mojesius

Being slowly gassed to sleep by a superser in the sitting room

Wallpaper on school books

Giant ashtrays on brass stands (that may or may not spin)

That heavy duty plastic covering that everyone used to protect their carpets

How to expertly untangle a VHS tape when it got eaten by the video recorder.

Frosties sweets

• Registered Users Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Corporal punishment.

Abject awe and fear of the church and its henchmen and women.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,433 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Outside toilet in the yard or at the bottom of the garden.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Without phones and communication literally everywhere. When I started out driving a truck at 18 there were no phones and you only had a tiny handful of phone boxes that you could stop with a truck at.
    So you’d leave home and that was it, if you got broke down or whatever you just had to sort it yourself.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,091 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

PGE1970 wrote: »
    I was 50 this year. It makes you think.

I look at my kids.

For me they they are a generation that has not grown up with nor know.......

The Smiths

Only Fools and Horses

Abject Unemployment

Anyone else?

You can put on The Smith's and OFAH any time you want to let them experience them.

As for abject unemployment, the next ten years will make the 80s seem like a dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Valresnick

Don’t write off this generation just yet. They may have grown up without a lot of skills from the past but they are making up for that with their awareness of our planet. Sure, there are a few bad apples and lazy kids around but I know many a 50 year old person who can barely make a dinner and has awful taste in music. Every generation blames the one before ! Great song !

• Registered Users Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Holes in the soles of their shoes.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Valresnick wrote: »
    Don’t write off this generation just yet. They may have grown up without a lot of skills from the past but they are making up for that with their awareness of our planet.

It's strange that pre Covid they weren't sacrificing school ski trips to northern Italy for the good of the planet.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Recoding songs from the radio onto a cassette and praying the DJ wouldn’t start talking

To this day, whenever I hear particular songs I expect to hear Dave fanning at the end of my recording.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Your Face wrote: »
    Count themselves lucky if they never hear The Smiths.
    A band for cunts.

A crack on the head
    Is just what you get
    Why, because of who you are

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

"Meet you under Clerys clock at 9."

And at 9 o clock when there's no sign of them you don't know if they're only around the corner, stuck in the bus, forgotten about you or dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,083 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Far too much smiths bashing for my liking in here...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,727 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

.....only 2 sexes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    .....only 2 sexes.

Only 2 that you were aware of. This has never been true. I think the term you probably meant was gender. Same answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    "Meet you under Clerys clock at 9."

And at 9 o clock when there's no sign of them you don't know if they're only around the corner, stuck in the bus, forgotten about you or dead.

People ALWAYS turned up thou - unless there was a death. And you see huddles of people waiting and lots of singles -
    hoping in anticipation their date was a hot as when they made the plan the previous Saturday night at 2am!!

Free refills of coffee.

Not having to have change for the bus - the conductor would pay you back before you got off or let you off if they didn’t have it at the time.

Powerstrikes where people used candles.

Automatic emigration to tge cousin in the US or boat & train/bus to the UK when you left school/college. Everyone gone.

Waiting for the second post for something important like a job reply.

Seasonal only products in shops - Strawberries,
    Cadbury Cream eggs, caramel Whispas.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

The excitement when some lad In your class brought in a page torn out of a porn mag and it gets passed around

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Locks on the dial on the house phone!

Applying for a second phone for the house from Eir/Eircom - and being told the waiting list for instillation was 8 months-2 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Going to the video library , renting your video, getting it home to discover its crap

Or doing that annoying thing the whole way through where the picture breaks up every ten or so seconds