Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Signs you are dealing with a 'Rooter'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,523 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

He's hardly spending that though every year. If he is he'll have a perfect tractor or he has a dear mechanic.

or a bad one

Dunedin wrote: »
    €1500 is hardly small money to spend on repairs. In 10 years he’ll have spent €15k and still have no tractor.

How much is a replacement tractor that's maintenance free? The chap is well into his 70s. Splashing out on a tractor mightn't appeal when he has one that does the job with TLC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

I was in the local hardware today and your typical rooter landed. 01 cruiser with cow box on. Neither the cruiser, box or the driver had a wash in over 10 years. A dog riding shotgun with him. No lights on the box working, engine sounded good as he left it ticking over while he went about his business.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Augeo wrote: »
    How much is a replacement tractor that's maintenance free? The chap is well into his 70s. Splashing out on a tractor mightn't appeal when he has one that does the job with TLC.

I’m only following the poster earlier that said he’s probably spending €1500 on repairs.

€1500 is hardly TLC.........

Given the below limiting factors id say a lot of typical farms in Ireland have an element of rooting in them:

1. Time
    2. Money
    3. Help from others
    4. Good weather
    5. Reliable animals

Lets say if you are a part time farmer that spends about 45 hrs in work including the commute, surely you by default end up doing a bit of rooting?

The only way you don't is if your parents / spouse / kids are putting in the hours on the ranch when you aren't there?

Lets say if you farm full time and are on your own and not married then the temptation to be a rooter might be higher unless you have a relative that can take on the farm after you retire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,624 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Given the below limiting factors id say a lot of typical farms in Ireland have an element of rooting in them:

1. Time
    2. Money
    3. Help from others
    4. Good weather
    5. Reliable animals

Lets say if you are a part time farmer that spends about 45 hrs in work including the commute, surely you by default end up doing a bit of rooting?

The only way you don't is if your parents / spouse / kids are putting in the hours on the ranch when you aren't there?

Lets say if you farm full time and are on your own and not married then the temptation to be a rooter might be higher unless you have a relative that can take on the farm after you retire?

From what I see people are often confusing lads running a low cost system with lads farming via bad practice or poor practice.

We run two old tractors, balls of shiite I’d imagine many above would say. But our DB for example has been on farm for 30+ years and never been away for a repair, we’ve done clutch etc ourselves but at that age that’s expected. It rarely fails to start and feeds all silage all winter, agitates slurry etc. I just see that as low cost operating on a small holding, is this rooting ??
    Our slurry equipment is old as well, 20+ years, but works year after year for our needs.

Things like having gates hanging, tidying up plastic wraps, decent fencing, no wild cattle, these things are important to us and signs of rooting if your not.

Dunedin wrote: »
    I’m only following the poster earlier that said he’s probably spending €1500 on repairs.

€1500 is hardly TLC.........

.......... did you miss the bit where it's likely there's zero depreciation?

_Brian wrote: »
    Things like having gates hanging, tidying up plastic wraps, decent fencing, no wild cattle, these things are important to us and signs of rooting if your not.

Id say some of your examples there line up with what I was saying on resources

fencing / tidying up plastic / having gates hanging = time / help

wild cattle = reliable animals

.......... did you miss the bit where it's likely there's zero depreciation?

Tractors don't deprecate much over time compared to cars

Buy a car for 10 k and a tractor for 10 k, after 2 years the tractor is probably wort 9 k and the car is probably worth 5 k

Tractors don't deprecate much over time compared to cars

Buy a car for 10 k and a tractor for 10 k, after 2 years the tractor is probably wort 9 k and the car is probably worth 5 k

I know.
    I'd just not be reckoning a lad in his 70s throwing a guesstimated €1500/annum keeping a tractor going is too far out of the way. Why splash out on an upgrade at that stage in your life if you're quite happy with the thing you have?
    A €10k tractor could give trouble also.

Plenty fancy tractors out there with folk struggling to pay for them.

I know.
    I'd just not be reckoning a lad in his 70s throwing a guesstimated €1500/annum keeping a tractor going is too far out of the way. Why splash out on an upgrade at that stage in your life if you're quite happy with the thing you have?
    A €10k tractor could give trouble also.

Plenty fancy tractors out there with folk struggling to pay for them.

To me a fancy tractor is more tractor than I need

1500 a year sounds like a lot on maintenance but I guess it all adds up, maybe that includes fuel and insurance etc?

To me a fancy tractor is more tractor than I need

I would agree, I would guess the chap doesn't need anything more than the ole yoke he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,519 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Old kit is not a sign of rooting, quite the opposite in many cases. Nothing better than an old classic running like a clock.
    Broken up machinery on the other hand...

Lads with places full of scrap on public display, then complaining about all the visits from "any oul scrap dere bass" types.

Oul lad with a car battered from ramming the gate open as he was too lazy to get out and open it.

Another pair who killed both cow and calf by pulling the calf with the tractor.

Usually owner of a demented dog permanently chained in a shed for his natural life.

Household rubbish gets fcuked in a big hape in the ditch.

One, or more, cars with trees growing up through them, won't sell or scrap.

Cut down wellies used as shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭minerleague

Cerveza wrote: »
    I was in the local hardware today and your typical rooter landed. 01 cruiser with cow box on. Neither the cruiser, box or the driver had a wash in over 10 years. A dog riding shotgun with him. No lights on the box working, engine sounded good as he left it ticking over while he went about his business.

01 jeep ticking over nicely - well maintained so - hardly a rooter
    stop start driving bad for diesel engines - see above
    brings the dog with him - better than the poor designer breeds locked up in tiny suburban gardens with an x marks the spot to do their business

If its a suckler rooter then cows calving every month

Another rooter trait might be cattle/sheep breaking out and grazing the long acre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

01 jeep ticking over nicely - well maintained so - hardly a rooter
    stop start driving bad for diesel engines - see above
    brings the dog with him - better than the poor designer breeds locked up in tiny suburban gardens with an x marks the spot to do their business

A landcruiser is not a jeep, the most abused landcruiser of that era had engines that just went on and on. A dog who has wrecked the interior yea that’s not a router.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

I wish I had a 01 land cruiser...

Fcuk it - I don’t even have a dog to wreck the interior...

And with the way prices of both land cruisers and dogs are going, I won’t be getting either anytime soon...

That man ye speak of - he has it all... fair play to him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The classic Rooter keeps his poultry in scrap cars - my Dads cousins in Tipp spring to mind;)

PS: also operate a number of "cabless" old rusting JCB's for jobs around the farm:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Swaps the one good battery between the different machines in the yard.
    Vince grips fixes everything
    A window broke in at least one machine
    Uses baling twine to hold up their trousers
    Slurry and dung is full of netting, twine and pallets and has no idea how it got there.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

A load of concrete will stretch twice what it would do for anyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,624 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Birdnuts wrote: »
    The classic Rooter keeps his poultry in scrap cars - my Dads cousins in Tipp spring to mind;)

PS: also operate a number of "cabless" old rusting JCB's for jobs around the farm:D

Must be careful. Find myself looking at old diggers wondering how useful it would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

A load of concrete will stretch twice what it would do for anyone else

Or the other extreme - never orders enough and you have to mix a metre to finish the job.

He'd keep a 5 gallon drum of burnt oil for medical emergencies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭minerleague

Cerveza wrote: »
    A landcruiser is not a jeep, the most abused landcruiser of that era had engines that just went on and on. A dog who has wrecked the interior yea that’s not a router.

whist my 3 mutts will be upset if they cant come with me, interior is fine ( liner ) whats he going to do trade it in for a few 100 more? call everything a jeep or a digger ( or hoover ! ) Yopur ould boy is happy out ( prob has the price of a new Jeep and/or tractor in the back pocket anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

He'd keep a 5 gallon drum of burnt oil for medical emergencies

He uses it for the ring worm. :)

No spanner or socket set has all its bits. The latches or hindges are broken the box and has to opened or closed in a special way to stop dropping everything.

There are more tools on the ground than in the tool box or bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Household rubbish gets fcuked in a big hape in the ditch.

This one boils my piss a lad near has his own personal dump, everything from dead calves to old fridges goes in a hole in the back field.

Never heard the term rooter though, we'd always call them raw lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭Oops!

This one boils my piss a lad near has his own personal dump, everything from dead calves to old fridges goes in a hole in the back field.

Never heard the term rooter though, we'd always call them raw lads

Or just dog rough!

No spanner or socket set has all its bits. The latches or hindges are broken the box and has to opened or closed in a special way to stop dropping everything.

To be fair, even with the most careful, at least a few get rounded, break or get lost. It would be a genuine achievement if you actually had a full set for years unless you never used them.
    There are more tools on the ground than in the tool box or bench

That's more like it.

Hoarding. I've seen batchelor brothers hoard years upon years of newspapers.

Putting the broken part back into the box that the new one came out of.

Saving sh1t like worn out grinding discs, broken tines, broken bolts, broken tools in case they'd find a use for them.
    (Spoiler: they almost never find another use)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Hoarding. I've seen batchelor brothers hoard years upon years of newspapers.

Putting the broken part back into the box that the new one came out of.

Saving sh1t like worn out grinding discs, broken tines, broken bolts, broken tools in case they'd find a use for them.
    (Spoiler: they almost never find another use)

Not until you throw them out, and then you could have done with one of them.

To be fair, even with the most careful, at least a few get rounded, break or get lost. It would be a genuine achievement if you actually had a full set for years unless you never used them.

That's more like it.

a good guy will replace tools when something like that happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,048 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

a good guy will replace tools when something like that happens.

Ibe misplaced the 24 spanner, their a rip off separate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Rooters are great have to say. I've about 300 black plastic pallets at home and there is some of them broken / cracked at this stage. My neighbour came into me this morning and took 4 broken ones off me as he has cattle housed and one part of where the cattle are has no gates but various barriers put up and electic fencing wire then near the top to keep them in. I said to him to take the good ones and he insisted on taking the cracked ones. Anyway I've now an outlet for these broken plastic pallets so long live the rooter. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,841 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

kevthegaff wrote: »

13,17,19 and 24 most used.

whelan2 wrote: »

dont forget the 10mm .

1/2,11/17,3/4 and circa an inch for those who happen to have a traveller set of imperial sitting around

7/8 is circa 22mm

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭The Rabbi

But the rooter needs the 1/2",11/16",3/4"and15/16" for his auld yokes.
    The 13/16"or7/8"might fix the leak on the loader if he hadn't used the vise grips last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭zetecescort

1/2,11/17,3/4 and circa an inch for those who happen to have a traveller set of imperial sitting around

7/8 is circa 22mm

and if you need two of a certain size just use the correct one and the closest one from the metric/imperial set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,841 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The Rabbi wrote: »
    The 13/16"or7/8"might fix the leak on the loader if he hadn't used the vise grips last time.

Vice grips will still be in place from last time

The Rabbi wrote: »

has the set for old tractors....deosnt use the 7/16 on the fuel filter bowl,because "takes too long to find it"

Instead uses vice grips and now nut is rounded to ****,wont tighten right,draws air,

complains its "leaking/wet underneath" when lying up and cuts out/runs like crap 15 to 20 mins into topping and now wants to take out injector pump and diesel tank to sort it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

7/8 is circa 22mm

Do ye go buy nut size or bolt size?
    27 is 5/8
    32 is 3/4
    36 is 7/8
    41 is 1"
    46 is 1"1/8

And as always a 1/2" bolt is like a hens tooth around our place.
    We go by bolt size for good measure.

Better living everyone

Do ye go buy nut size or bolt size?
    27 is 5/8
    32 is 3/4
    36 is 7/8
    41 is 1"
    46 is 1"1/8

And as always a 1/2" bolt is like a hens tooth around our place.
    We go by bolt size for good measure.

Jesus,i only go by nut size as be using same for opening pipes/hoses etc,force of habit more than anything

For bolt size,use metric M10,M12 etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

kevthegaff wrote: »

Grind out the 23 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

mayota wrote: »
    Grind out the 23 ;)

Ya rooter :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Base price

NcdJd wrote: »
    Rooters are great have to say. I've about 300 black plastic pallets at home and there is some of them broken / cracked at this stage. My neighbour came into me this morning and took 4 broken ones off me as he has cattle housed and one part of where the cattle are has no gates but various barriers put up and electic fencing wire then near the top to keep them in. I said to him to take the good ones and he insisted on taking the cracked ones. Anyway I've now an outlet for these broken plastic pallets so long live the rooter. :)
    Those black plastic pallets (with the holes in them) are fierce handy. We use them under the water drinkers in the slatted shed that we bed up with straw to rear calves.

A few years ago a dairy farmer friend got auto feeders to rear calves and he couldn't keep the straw dry under them cause the auto feeder was always washing even though he had a drainage channel underneath. I suggested he get a few black pallets with holes in them and put them around the drinker stations. He bought some and uses them ever year.
    Edit - you could turn those plastic pallets into €€'s yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Base price wrote: »
    Those black plastic pallets (with the holes in them) are fierce handy. We use them under the water drinkers in the slatted shed that we bed up with straw to rear calves.

A few years ago a dairy farmer friend got auto feeders to rear calves and he couldn't keep the straw dry under them cause the auto feeder was always washing even though he had a drainage channel underneath. I suggested he get a few black pallets with holes in them and put them around the drinker stations. He bought some and uses them ever year.
    Edit - you could turn those plastic pallets into €€'s yet.

They are handy as they slot into each other and don't take up much space. I use them in the polytunnel stacked 3 high as temporary areas I can put seed trays on and then remove them when finished. I could have got a 40 ft loads of them but had to stop myself :) The pharma industry use them alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Base price

NcdJd wrote: »
    They are handy as they slot into each other and don't take up much space. I use them in the polytunnel stacked 3 high as temporary areas I can put seed trays on and then remove them when finished. I could have got a 40 ft loads of them but had to stop myself :) The pharma industry use them alot.
    That's them although we use them the other way round with the larger surface up. Your missing a €€€ trick :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Jesus,i only go by nut size as be using same for opening pipes/hoses etc,force of habit more than anything

For bolt size,use metric M10,M12 etc

Havent got going on the M system yet, it took a but of getting used to the guide we do use.

Better living everyone