Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€35,000 compensation for seeing excrement on prisoners face.

It is a compensation scheme for members maliciously injured in the course of their duty.

Maliciously injured.
    Exactly.
    So how did she claim then??

Has anyone used the "he must have looked like sh1t" line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

bubblypop wrote: »
    Maliciously injured.
    Exactly.
    So how did she claim then??

Because it was a deliberate act by a prisoner that caused her mental trauma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Mental trauma? You're having a laugh!?

I stepped in dog ****e yesterday, going to sue the Co. Co. soon :rolleyes: Cannot leave my house...

It's just poo ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Ah stop. You see worse with one wrong click on porn hub.

Mental trauma? You're having a laugh!?

I stepped in dog ****e yesterday, going to sue the Co. Co. soon :rolleyes: Cannot leave my house...

It's just poo ffs.

Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

The next train to leave the (garda) station will be the gravy train. WOOO WOOOO....

Ah seriously, you are trying to defend this girl, who as far as I can see, just took the piss out of the Compensation Act.
    It's far from an isolated case, but probably one of the most unbelievable I've ever heard!

It just takes away from the genuine cases out there, and makes the public think all gardai are soft/ taking the piss/ not up to the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Paulzx

To be honest you're struggling here. I have no issues with Gardai receiving compensation for injuries and traumas on duty. I also believe that being assaulted while on duty is not and ever should be "part of the job." Nobody doing any job should consider being assaulted as normal.

However, in my humble opinion viewing someone eating there own **** through the hatch in a cell door, knowing they can't get at you is not a valid case for a claim. If you are mentally traumatised so easily maybe a career change is in order.

These type of cases just provide easy ammunition for slagging all Gardai and reduce the importance of compensation for genuine life changing injuries and traumas.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ah seriously, you are trying to defend this girl, who as far as I can see, just took the piss out of the Compensation Act.
    It's far from an isolated case, but probably one of the most unbelievable I've ever heard!

It just takes away from the genuine cases out there, and makes the public think all gardai are soft/ taking the piss/ not up to the job.
    Paulzx wrote: »
    To be honest you're struggling here. I have no issues with Gardai receiving compensation for injuries and traumas on duty. I also believe that being assaulted while on duty is not and ever should be "part of the job." Nobody doing any job should consider being assaulted as normal.

However, in my humble opinion viewing someone eating there own **** through the hatch in a cell door, knowing they can't get at you is not a valid case for a claim. If you are mentally traumatised so easily maybe a career change is in order.

These type of cases just provide easy ammunition for slagging all Gardai and reduce the importance of compensation for genuine life changing injuries and traumas.

Hang on there. I'm just explaining the compensation scheme. I didn't make the decision that the act caused the harm. That was the decision of medical professionals and accepted by a court.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,836 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

As CuChulainn said, everyone reacts differently to different situations. The sight of blood, brains or body parts might not even make one person blink their eyes, but the sight of ****e, or other bodily fluids could genuinely traumatise a person, especially if they believe that they could have come into contact with it. In this situation, from what i can read, the prisoner covered in ****e was face to face with her, and in that moment she believed that he was going to spit ****e into her face. While you or me may not react the same to that, it's obvious that she had that reaction. And, again as CuChulainn said, this could just have been the straw that broke the camels back. She could have witnessed/beeing involved in a lot of horrible situations, and it took this final incident for her to start suffering from PTSD.

And who are we to judge how someone can be effected? We know what we are like ourselves, but no one can judge anyone elses frame of mind. I've no issues with ****e, spit, puke, semen, etc, but if someone threw a spider at me i could very well need counselling! Obviously the ****e is what this woman feared quite a bit.

Not defending her, just trying to look at it from a neutral point of view.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Learning from this thread: to avoid arrest by cops, carry a cat and a spider :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

As CuChulainn said, everyone reacts differently to different situations. The sight of blood, brains or body parts might not even make one person blink their eyes, but the sight of ****e, or other bodily fluids could genuinely traumatise a person, especially if they believe that they could have come into contact with it. In this situation, from what i can read, the prisoner covered in ****e was face to face with her, and in that moment she believed that he was going to spit ****e into her face. While you or me may not react the same to that, it's obvious that she had that reaction. And, again as CuChulainn said, this could just have been the straw that broke the camels back. She could have witnessed/beeing involved in a lot of horrible situations, and it took this final incident for her to start suffering from PTSD.

And who are we to judge how someone can be effected? We know what we are like ourselves, but no one can judge anyone elses frame of mind. I've no issues with ****e, spit, puke, semen, etc, but if someone threw a spider at me i could very well need counselling! Obviously the ****e is what this woman feared quite a bit.

Not defending her, just trying to look at it from a neutral point of view.

Of course people are triggered by different things.

However, given that it's not unreasonable to expect that you might encounter this situation in the job she had, why should the state pay her compensation? I feel that the most that should be offered is a reasonable period of sick-pay and counseling.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Of course people are triggered by different things.

However, given that it's not unreasonable to expect that you might encounter this situation in the job she had, why should the state pay her compensation? I feel that the most that should be offered is a reasonable period of sick-pay and counseling.

You could be right. But that isn't offered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Learning from this thread: to avoid arrest by cops, carry a cat and a spider :pac:

....better options than going round with a mouthful of shite....

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

Does there not need to be wrong done by a person through negligence or professional misconduct to allow such a claim for compensation? If it's just that a person reacted badly to something that happened at work and subsequently suffered a mental illness, then I'm struggling to see how anyone else is responsible other than the person and their illness, and therefore compensation should not be a consideration.

What about a doctor on a paediatric oncology team who has seen a lot of children die under their care, despite best practice? If they suffer depression as a result of the consistent potential for sadness inherent in their work, should they sue for compensation?

If this case was settled on the basis that she was not offered counselling or adequate time off following an incident that she was obviously upset by, due to negligence or misconduct on the part of her superiors, then I can understand why she might be entitled to compensation, but if it's just that she had a negative reaction to something that happened while she was at work, then I'm not sure I understand the judgement.

I think one thing is clear; she may have gotten €35,000, but you'd have to think her career as a member of the force is pretty much finished. Certainly she can't expect to be up for a promotion at any point. Desk sergeant from now on. Not to denigrate her for suffering a from mental condition, but she's obviously not suited to that line of work. She may regret having made the case, in the years to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,567 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Yillan wrote: »
    Does there not need to be wrong done by a person through negligence or professional misconduct to allow such a claim for compensation?

Not withe the Garda Compensation Scheme, which just deals with compensation for Gardai suffering from malicious behaviour while on duty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

PandaPoo wrote: »
    €35,000!!! Actually I'd probably be OK with €3,500....if anyone is interested :P

Pm sent

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

If the woman was traumatised she was traumatised. Maybe she could deal easily with a fatal RTC but this particular just got to her. I'll take the word of a couple of health professionals over outraged internet folks. The size of the award is not her doing.

the same thought struck me as i was reading this thread , it's great to have so many experts on mental issues willing to give opinions on a case they have read about in the paper . How does anybody on here know how the incident effected her. I would be reasonable sure that over the course of her career she has seen RTC'S and dead bodies and just maby she could handle that better
    The first body i pulled from the water , a stranger , effected me greatly for a long time afterwards but the next one a couple of years later who was a son of a friend of mine i handled much better . different things effect some people differently
    there are people on here who complain about this and other claims awarded to the guards but then on the other hand the same people will defend the 'entitlement brigade ' to claim everything they can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    A Garda has been awarded €35k compensation for post traumatic stress disorder for seeing a prisoner who had smeared his face with his own excrement.

Is this justified and deserving or another example of people with a sense of entitlement looking for easy money from the state.
    For the record I think it is ridiculous. If you become a Garda, you expect to come across some distressing situations, road traffic accidents, etc. Its the nature of the job.

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-civil-court-case-win-2648263-Mar2016/

From what I have heard this guy was eating it as well as wearing it and using his tongue to smear what was in his mouth around his lips and face. Seeing something like that pop up in front of your face when you open a cell can be very disturbing and way above what might be considered reasonable for even a Garda to observe in their day to day duties!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

osarusan wrote: »
    Not withe the Garda Compensation Scheme, which just deals with compensation for Gardai suffering from malicious behaviour while on duty.

Not malicious behaviour, malicious injury. And I think that's the distinction that most people are questioning. While the behaviour was certainly unsavoury, can it really be described as causing injury? And is a hefty compensation payment the correct response to this relatively minor incident?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Ah stop. You see worse with one wrong click on porn hub.

I was showing my husband the porn that has the big fat women slapping their fat off men. The results were just women shoving butternut squash in places it shouldn't go!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

But it was a female Garda, and she thought that he was going to spit the excrement at her!

So, didn't they drop ban Garda because they wanted equality.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

somefeen wrote: »
    Pm sent
    Lets go for a feed of guinness first.
    foggy_lad wrote: »
    From what I have heard this guy was eating it as well as wearing it and using his tongue to smear what was in his mouth around his lips and face. Seeing something like that pop up in front of your face when you open a cell can be very disturbing and way above what might be considered reasonable for even a Garda to observe in their day to day duties!
    I wonder where was she when two girls one cup was doing the rounds?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,209 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Not malicious behaviour, malicious injury. And I think that's the distinction that most people are questioning. While the behaviour was certainly unsavoury, can it really be described as causing injury? And is a hefty compensation payment the correct response to this relatively minor incident?

injury does not have to be physical.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

injury does not have to be physical.
    I don't see how this event can be classed as an injury. I defended the last guard because she was physically assaulted when she shouldn't have been. It wasn't just about the assault, it was the fact the guard was put in the position to be assaulted by being left alone.

This is completely different, she saw something she didn't like, get over it. Lots of people see things they don't like. She was never in any danger, so this isn't like reliving an actual trauma, she wasn't attacked, abused, insulted, threatened, as far as I can tell anyway. The guy just did something she didn't like, maybe his behaviour could be seen as intimidating but he was behind a steel door, there wasn't nothing he could do to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Garda brings that case to court.
    "Hmm, let's see. We must apply the Garda compensatipn multiplier."
    €3,500 x 10.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,209 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't see how this event can be classed as an injury. I defended the last guard because she was physically assaulted when she shouldn't have been. It wasn't just about the assault, it was the fact the guard was put in the position to be assaulted by being left alone.

This is completely different, she saw something she didn't like, get over it. Lots of people see things they don't like. She was never in any danger, so this isn't like reliving an actual trauma, she wasn't attacked, abused, insulted, threatened, as far as I can tell anyway. The guy just did something she didn't like, maybe his behaviour could be seen as intimidating but he was behind a steel door, there wasn't nothing he could do to her.

Have you considered a career in counselling?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,567 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Not malicious behaviour, malicious injury.
    I'm trying to avoid describing what happened to her as an injury, although it seems to have been classified as such, as evidenced by the award.

And I think that's the distinction that most people are questioning.
    Sure, I agree. But not the poster I was responding to - they were wondering about who was being held responsible/blamed (I think they reasonably assumed this award meant somebody was responsible/at fault) but I was pointing out that in this case it doesn't mean that.

Just put "TRIGGER WARNING" signs up, seems to be necessary in most places these days.