Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€35,000 compensation for seeing excrement on prisoners face.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Jaysus
    As someone who works in mental health I need to sort out my retirement fund so
    I'll be able to quit at the age of 35 if I start putting in claims now

I've lots of family and friends that work(ed) in mental health.

You can imagine their delight at hearing how this garda got a princely sum for this :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Clearly not cut out to be a detective if something like that traumatised her for over a decade, albeit as unpleasant as it must have been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I'm sorry is this not in her job description!?

I'd love to see that job description you are referring to.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

BMJD wrote: »
    how much is a "few"?

some of that compensation is for some horrific injuries that they suffered from

Most of the cases I've read have involved little or no serious injuries alot involve PTSD which has become a buzz word for personal injury claims here

13.4 million between 121 gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭mmooney1983

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I've lots of family and friends that work(ed) in mental health.

You can imagine their delight at hearing how this garda got a princely sum for this :pac:

My most recent memory is of a patient in the emergency room Hep C positive who began to rip the bandages off his self inflicted wounds and spray bloods towards me because I asked him to do a drugs test

Gatling wrote: »
    Most of the cases I've read have involved little or no serious injuries alot involve PTSD which has become a buzz word for personal injury claims here

That's what happens when you send people to do a dangerous and sometimes disgusting job and don't provide them with the proper equipment or post incident counselling services. Not only that, but any indication of mental health issues or related absence can see you struggle to find promotion either through the ranks or to specialist units, so many will hide any issues until they build up into something bigger.

And you'll be seeing a lot more claims as there is close to a thousand in the process of being handled at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

My wife has worked as a care assistant and a nurse in both general practice and nursing homes.

We're gonna be rich! Rich I tells ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

And you'll be seeing a lot more claims as there is close to a thousand in the process of being handled at the moment.

900 cases due before courts but when you see claims of €390,000 for PTSD and no actual injuries I'd expect that number to rise dramatically over the next 2-3 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    A Garda has been awarded €35k compensation for post traumatic stress disorder for seeing a prisoner who had smeared his face with his own excrement.

Is this justified and deserving or another example of people with a sense of entitlement looking for easy money from the state.
    For the record I think it is ridiculous. If you become a Garda, you expect to come across some distressing situations, road traffic accidents, etc. Its the nature of the job.

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-civil-court-case-win-2648263-Mar2016/

I read this in case it was a daily mail type misleading article but no, it seems to be genuine whinging - jaysus help her if she had to drag a dead body out of a river or canal. And Christ help the other bean gardai who don't whinge.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Squiggle

He's in the halfpenny class of awards :pac: . http://www.thejournal.ie/erin-andrews-court-2647706-Mar2016/

keano_afc wrote: »
    My wife has worked as a care assistant and a nurse in both general practice and nursing homes.

We're gonna be rich! Rich I tells ya.

Shite is it? And well for them that has it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,300 ✭✭✭Quandary

Imagine how much she would have gotten if the prisoner had spat it in her face??

She'd probably be getting a six figure sum along with early retirement.

Gatling wrote: »
    900 cases due before courts but when you see claims of €390,000 for PTSD and no actual injuries I'd expect that number to rise dramatically over the next 2-3 years

That's what happens when you ignore an issue like this. The GRA constantly highlighted the number of Gardaí being injured and nothing was done about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭wehuntmonsters

Jesus Christ this is ridiculous. She's really taking the piss out of what PTSD actually means to some people. I cannot believe she was even awarded anything, never mind that sum. Sure is it not in her job description? She should look into another line of work. Nurses have to put up with this stuff all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I'd let someone take a shit on my face for €35K :eek:

Jesus Christ this is ridiculous. She's really taking the piss out of what PTSD actually means to some people. I cannot believe she was even awarded anything, never mind that sum. Sure is it not in her job description? She should look into another line of work. Nurses have to put up with this stuff all the time.

Again, can you show me this job description. The problem with comparing it to hospitals is that bodily fluids are par for the course in those places. It's part of the training and you are given protective equipment. In a Garda station the most you can hope for is a pair of gloves, if you're lucky.

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    I'd let someone take a shit on my face for €35K :eek:

'O shit on my face, and tell me that you love me....'

• Registered Users Posts: 40,288 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Oh well... up go the insurance premiums again.

F me this has to stop.

what insurance premiums would these be?

Again, can you show me this job description. The problem with comparing it to hospitals is that bodily fluids are par for the course in those places. It's part of the training and you are given protective equipment. In a Garda station the most you can hope for is a pair of gloves, if you're lucky.

Given the amount of abuse, violence and so on aimed at gardai, and the number of disturbed, odd, violent headers they come across, does it not strike as a bit odd that - out of all the threats, violence and general nasty crap they come across, somebody with shite on them is a bit low on the scale....?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I'd probably let someone sh*t on my face for €35k

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I'd probably let someone sh*t on my face for €35

:eek:....wonder what you'd do for a 'nifty'!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

But it was a female Garda, and she thought that he was going to spit the excrement at her!

Maybe you're joking, but I fail to see how this is relevant?

Women fight hard to get treated equally with men whenever possible, including being faced with the sight of sh1te. I should know, I am a woman and yes, I have seen sh1te and lived to tell the tale.

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I'd probably let someone sh*t on my face for €35k

A friend has just told me that's way above the usual and you're pricing yourself out of the market.

Nodin wrote: »
    Given the amount of abuse, violence and so on aimed at gardai, and the number of disturbed, odd, violent headers they come across, does it not strike as a bit odd that - out of all the threats, violence and general nasty crap they come across, somebody with shite on them is a bit low on the scale....?

I don't know. Have you ever had to pull a person covered in their own **** out of a cell covered in **** and drag them to a new cell and strip them out of their ****ty clothes with nothing but a pair of light plastic gloves to protect your person?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

kfallon wrote: »
    :eek:....wonder what you'd do for a 'nifty'!!!

€35,000!!! Actually I'd probably be OK with €3,500....if anyone is interested :P

maudgonner wrote: »
    Maybe you're joking, but I fail to see how this is relevant?

Women fight hard to get treated equally with men whenever possible, including being faced with the sight of sh1te. I should know, I am a woman and yes, I have seen sh1te and lived to tell the tale..

How do we know that's true though? You could be dead and typing this for all we know.

Also, are you talking about shite shite or just shite like an RTE chatshow...?

It's worth noting that these claims are usually "straw that broke the camels back" awards. They are awards for PTSD, a recognised condition, not simply for the incident alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

I'm assuming she has quit her job? Since she's not able to handle it?

I don't know. Have you ever had to pull a person covered in their own **** out of a cell covered in **** and drag them to a new cell and strip them out of their ****ty clothes with nothing but a pair of light plastic gloves to protect your person?

No, but I'd still guess its less bothersome than the smell of a corpse after a week or two in the water, and certainly less hastle than a pan of boiling water in the face as struck one gardai a while back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

I had a full health check in a previous job. Everything was perfect but for the hearing in my right ear being less than the left. The Nurse asked me did I go to nightclubs a lot and we had a bit of laugh when I said I always brought both my ears on a night out.

Then the Army deafness claims came out. I had been in the FCA and, as a right hander, my right ear was presumably more exposed than the left. I had my discharge papers and the test results paid for by my employers and for a while the Dept of Defence weren't even contesting the claims once you could prove you were a member prior to when they implemented this basic H&S rule.

I never gave it a second thought, I didn't even know one ear wasn't as good as the other so there was never any question of sending in a claim. Karma and all that.

I feel like some plonker now.