Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cork IT - Introduce Yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

There'll never be a bar in CIT. They don't want engineering students turning up drunk for practical labs. not really a good idea to use a soldering iron while drunk.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

There'll never be a bar in CIT. They don't want engineering students turning up drunk for practical labs. not really a good idea to use a soldering iron while drunk.:D
    People are bad enough sober here not to mind drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Webmonkey wrote: »
    People are bad enough sober here not to mind drunk.

true. imagine what the first year scumbags would be like if there was a steady supply of alcohol around the place
    like after a week the bar would be the only thing left standing

edit: i mean the real trouble making first years that were mentioned before. not the ones in this forum :)

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Princess Lou

bored again zzzz

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭joulter

cit bar...ur havin a laugh...

dat bar is never ever going to happen but yet ucc have 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭Creeping-Death

Nearest thing is the feckin training bar for the Bar Management course...

Oh yah, i'm Conal, 18 and 1st year App.Bioscience

ya I kinda realized that but everyone seems to pick up on my bar comment oooppps

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Seanot

I was looking at DIT forum earlier and I saw a great thread. I think we should start something like it. There dose not seem to be allot of CIT heads around but it would be nice to see what courses people are doing and stuff ......and to have it all on the one thread.

Format:
    Name:
    Year/Course:

Name: Seanot
    Year/Course: ITS3
    Societies : Surf....rock climbing...gym.

Name: Donal
    Year/Course: DNET4
    Societies: None I'm too lazy

Maybe could do these too:

Interests: Computers/Cars (MGs in particular)
    Girl/Boy/(Hybrid): Boy

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Seanot

Girl/Boy/(Hybrid): Boy

Boy:P

there are no hybrids in cit thank gawd..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Dr.Millah

Name: Neil
    Year/Course: SET1
    Societies/Clubs: Poker...
    Interests: Music, Gym, all the usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Name: Hazel
    Year/course: Multimedia 1
    Societies: Dance, Trampoline, Ladies Rugby, Music
    Interests: see above + socializing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

Name: James O'Sullivan (friends call me Jamesie)
    Year/Course: ITS3
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Star Wars, Surfing, Music, Reading, Computers

Name: Princess Lou
    Year/Course: BBAdmin 1
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Music, Reading, Computers, Swimming and newest edition to that will be soccer

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭mrac

Name: Marc
    Year/Course: chem eng year 2
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Far too lazy for any club or society :P but as for intrests computers, anime, gym

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

dat bar is never ever going to happen but yet ucc have 2

Feck that, Glasgow Uni have 2 SU's (each with their own building). The one I was in (The QMU) had a nightclub/gig venue on the ground floor, 3 seperate bars, a pool hall, and a canteen that after time X serves only pizza.... but serves til midnight! :D

And they get big name bands to play there. The kind of bands that would play the Savoy/Cruiscin Lan/Cypress Avenue. Bands I remember seeing posters for included the likes of The Darkness, Travis (and an old poster from Nirvana, when they played the QMU on the same tour as they played Cork's Sir Hendrys).

CIT has.... No club. No gig venue. No bar. And rarely get a decent band that isn't a local one.

But if we don't expect great things from CIT then (unlike those who do) we won't be dissappointed!
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Name: Aoife
    Year/Course: 1st year Multimedia
    Societies/Clubs/interests: Trampolining, dance...I surf but haven't gone to the surf club yet cause I'm always working. I like lotsa music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

AFC_1903 wrote: »
    Feck that, Glasgow Uni have 2 SU's (each with their own building). The one I was in (The QMU) had a nightclub/gig venue on the ground floor, 3 seperate bars, a pool hall, and a canteen that after time X serves only pizza.... but serves til midnight! :D

And they get big name bands to play there. The kind of bands that would play the Savoy/Cruiscin Lan/Cypress Avenue. Bands I remember seeing posters for included the likes of The Darkness, Travis (and an old poster from Nirvana, when they played the QMU on the same tour as they played Cork's Sir Hendrys).

CIT has.... No club. No gig venue. No bar. And rarely get a decent band that isn't a local one.

But if we don't expect great things from CIT then (unlike those who do) we won't be dissappointed!
    :(

yeah i've visited a few uni's in the UK and all of them had a club and bar and really nice common rooms and a place of gigs too. I don't think there r any uni's colleges here that have a club in them, are there?

no but in england they have to pay fees. which is sort of good in a way because it means you be mingling with people who can also afford to pay 20,000 a year. over here it would just be filled with scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Cork Like

hey, im enda, i transferred from tralee, straight into second year com.. im chairman of CIT boxing club, and i think im an alcoholic. theres me introduced. lol.... and i need HELP!!! i did java in tralee, and now i need to know C++.. and also i need to to LAN switching and wireless.... never did it in tralee.... :P help me? can pay for grinds if anyone knows their stuff and has some free time... if so e-mail me "formaltracksuit@gmail.com"

Cork Like wrote: »
    hey, im enda, i transferred from tralee, straight into second year com.. im chairman of CIT boxing club, and i think im an alcoholic. theres me introduced. lol.... and i need HELP!!! i did java in tralee, and now i need to know C++.. and also i need to to LAN switching and wireless.... never did it in tralee.... :P help me? can pay for grinds if anyone knows their stuff and has some free time... if so e-mail me "formaltracksuit@gmail.com"

i used to know loads of that stuff. not sure if i still do now

I'd give them to you (need money!) if I wasn't so damn busy :(
    To be honest, find yourself a book. Nothing beats self learning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

i did java in tralee, and now i need to know C++..

im currently learning C++ and well frankly its been a bit of an ordeal so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

Finally, non ITS people, welcome! :)

psshhh...ye'll all end up in ITS some day. It's inevitable...seriously. Might as well join us now and get it over with...

Hey, maybe we should get our own ITS forum on boards?? Would be easier that way :p
    im chairman of CIT boxing club

We have a boxing club?? :eek: Get the f*ck out?? Were ye not at the sports club?? Drop me a PM man, I have been seriously intrigued...

yer own ITS forum dat sounds funny!!!

Your ITS soccer game was invaded by a non ITS person hmmmmm!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Cork Like

I'd give them to you (need money!) if I wasn't so damn busy :(
    To be honest, find yourself a book. Nothing beats self learning.

self learning.. ya.. see the problem is that i have 2 years of work to do by christmas, so if i cud get some emergency help in assignments etc, and with specific topics before exams itd help more than speedreading textbooks... which iv been trying :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

Sarah SC2 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 newkid

Name: Ross
    Year/Course: 1st year Higher cert in Business studies
    interests: Love playing Soccer, Having a few drinks:D

• Registered Users, Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Dogs & Cats

Hi All

I'm incognito. Not doing any course now cause I finished, I work in Cork, very very close to CIT

• Registered Users, Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Dogs & Cats

Cork Like

the C++ thing you can get free grinds from the learning support centre for programming.

the other thing, all I can say is ARRGGGGG!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

Why not?

I'm Adrian, PR3, Somewhere between Cork and Youghal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 newkid

Hi
    I'm Ross
    Studing Business Studies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 mirostunning

hey im miriam 3rd year business:rolleyes:

about time they made a cit thread

hey im miriam 3rd year business:rolleyes:

about time they made a cit thread
    Ah cool another person, welcome :pac:

by cool do you mean 'not ITS'?

towel401 wrote: »
    by cool do you mean 'not ITS'?
    Damn you figured it out, yeah, not another ITS head :)

ya we need more of them around. can't have ITS running the show round here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MissIT

Hi guys :)

ITM1 :cool:

IT Management? - a Miss in IT :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MissIT

yup IT management :D..
    2 of us ladies in the class ;)!

Nice to see few girls in IT alright, not many! Stick with it, easy get job!
    All female students that were in work placement @ xxxxx got full time jobs. Got into placement with this Women in IT thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

hey guys and dolls of cit

I'm Aaron, 21, in 3rd year construction management, living down in Curraheen since 1st year and loving this gaff and the peeps here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 peapod260

Hey!

Vix, 3rd year acc, cork

how r ye all doin after the first day back?

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭Hartyk87

MissIT wrote: »
    yup IT management :D..
    2 of us ladies in the class ;)!

Hi everyone

Rock on ITS1

Hey "MissIT" Whats d story??, seems ders only 2 of ye ladies in ITM lol

Hartyk87 wrote: »
    Hi everyone

Rock on ITS1

Hey "MissIT" Whats d story??, seems ders only 2 of ye ladies in ITM lol
    God damn ITS heads back again. Is Boards.ie a module in yer course or what - welcome though :D

ha ha i wiish it was a module id pass it with flying colours, unfortunatly we have to stupid desktop applications instead!!

what`s wrong with desktop applications?

towel401 wrote: »
    what`s wrong with desktop applications?

Aghhh its a load of rubbish really it could be designed alot better i feel. anyone else have anything to say about it??