Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Socialist throws a smoothie on Varadkar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Could have been acid. For someone so senior Leo should really look at getting a proper security detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

2011abc wrote: »
    Relax , most of the posts here coming from FG HQ .

From which party's HQ are the posts coming of the yobs who laud this carry on? In the unlikely event that somebody did likewise to one of theirs would they be equally approving? Many of these ignoramuses were showing utter contempt of the ballot box in the past. Now that the said ballot box is showing some of them more favour the rest of us are supposed to lie down like croppies.
    You don't have to be a FG supporter to abide by civilised norms of behaviour. Trouble is some of the new messiahs have yet to be house trained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Where would people live if there were no landlords?

Habitation Block T134, Mao Zedong Boulevard.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Preposterous to suggest Fine Gael are a right wing party. Seriously, it's just silly.

On social issues they're liberal. On economic issues they're very much wedded to the 'leave-it-to-the-market/speculators', 'there-is-no-alternative' Thatcher/Reagan type economics.

It a shame we don't have a truly 'conservative' party here that could act as a sort of home for truly 'conservative' politicians who currently find home in other political outfits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

feargale wrote: »
    From which party's HQ are the posts coming of the yobs who laud this carry on? In the unlikely event that somebody did likewise to one of theirs would they be equally approving? Many of these ignoramuses were showing utter contempt of the ballot box in the past. Now that the said ballot box is showing some of them more favour the rest of us are supposed to lie down like croppies.
    You don't have to be a FG supporter to abide by civilised norms of behaviour. Trouble is some of the new messiahs have yet to be house trained.
    Which posts lauded it?
    One of theirs?

The rest is equal babble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Preposterous to suggest Fine Gael are a right wing party. Seriously, it's just silly.

Pro-immigration, pro-EU, pro-abortion, pro-LGBT. No doubt the left would love nothing more than some big bad authoritarian bogeyman to rail against. Instead, what they get here is Varadkar - a brown, gay son of an immigrant.

Probably why the perpetually whinging mob latch onto and import toxic and divisive US identity politics. They've little to really irk them in domestic politics, such is the predomination of centre-left policy and thinking.

Pro business, certain business, while damaging society. Thats right wing to me.
    They are not fiscally conservative, ill give you that.
    You're confusing human rights with politics. Their dealing with asylum seekers and direct provision and willingness to woo a former FG'er who wanted re-education camps gives insight. They'll back an issue if the winds of popularity are behind it but behind the veneer they are no better than FF, looking after their own.
    You're familiar with the housing, homeless, health crises? 'Very little to irk them? They may not affect you or you might have lost interest but they are issues and they are there.

Necro wrote: »
    People who point to FG as right wing generally don't actually have a clue what right-wing means.

severe I know but would it look like a councillor admiring the blueshirts, or a party favouring private business while exacerbating societal crises?

Where would people live if there were no landlords?

Living in their own homes they could more easily afford if there were less property speculation driving up pricing or state built rentals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Sunningdale was a failure so why even mention it, the Anglo Irish Agreement had mostly Maggies ideas in it because Fitzgerald was nothing more than a house boy to her who was afraid to open his mouth.

Did you not read the item I was responding to?

The poster said no one ever did anything in relation to Ireland /NI until Bertie.

You are welcome to your views on the international agreements that I mentioned, however wrong your views are.

Habitation Block T134, Mao Zedong Boulevard.

Until they bulldoze your block for the Olympics,/ to build a bigger prison etc etc

Suckit wrote: »
    Which posts lauded it?

You haven't been paying attention to this thread, have you? I'm damned if I will do your work for you to pick out the schoolboy posts that demonstrate that the idiots who posted them are greatly entertained. Mr. Stack, when he publicly confronted McGuinness about the murder of his father, didn't stoop to the same level of idiocy as that arrogant little bitch.
    One of theirs?

You know damn well what I mean. Stop pretending to be stupid.

What a profound analysis. :rolleyes:

The first quote isn't mine, I have no idea where you puled that text from, with the exception of the initial question which you failed to answer. Posts or posters.
    You know damn well what I mean. Stop pretending to be stupid.
    I know what you meant, but you are referring to people that you haven't identified (as per the first 4 words of the first quote), so

a: Who are 'theirs'?
    b: Is Leo one of 'yours'?
    What a profound analysis. :rolleyes:
    I thought so. As I found it described it well.

[ quote="Suckit;114681503"] The first quote isn't mine, I have no idea where you puled that text from, with the exception of the initial question which you failed to answer. [/quote]

Your post at 656:
    Which posts lauded it?
    One of theirs?

ollI know what you meant, but you are referring to people that you haven't identified (as per the first 4 words of the first quote), so

a: Who are 'theirs'?

Stop pretending. That's not smart. Remember the gob****es who attacked Joan Burton and the president some time ago? You could include their great leaders for a start. Watch how the gob****es react if their leaders are treated thus.
    Of course, you probably weren't born when the scum of Belfast attacked Gerry Fitt and his home in a most sinister and life-threatening way, causing damage to his wife's health. And lots in between. There are always assoles who, with zero mandate, want to rule the world.
    b: Is Leo one of 'yours'?

Nope. I can't say I've never given no. 1 to a FG candidate but very seldom, and not at the last election. Sorry to disappoint you in that. I don't think I ever voted FF either. And I've voted in a lot of elections. One tends to do that if one doesn't carry a gun to impose one's views on others. The scatter gun response of the idiots who find attacking elected politicians hilarious has been this: "We're all FG." You don't have to be FG to behave half decently and to respect the will of the people.
    I thought so. As I found it described it well.

No need to get stroppy just because, contrary to your expectations, you are the one who is sucking it since the present government was formed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,255 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

He was hit by
    He was struck by
    A smoothie criminal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Could have been acid. For someone so senior Leo should really look at getting a proper security detail.

The thing here though, if Leo had security, the same malcontents and whingers would be using it as a stick.

It is odd though, there is lots of talk that this is staged.

Never under-estimate the foolishness and lack of intelligence of people.

Bowie wrote: »
    You're familiar with the housing, homeless, health crises? 'Very little to irk them? They may not affect you or you might have lost interest but they are issues and they are there.

Ah yes, the usual bluster and bull****.

The trifecta of housing, homeless and health.

You do know that FG fully backs Slainte-Care and in government started its implementation?

What is Slaintecare?
    A universal healthcare system will provide population, promotive, preventative, primary, curative, rehabilitative and palliative health and social care services to the entire population of Ireland, ensuring timely access to quality, effective, integrated services on the basis of clinical need.

— Committee on the Future of Health, Sláintecare Report

FG right wing? Please!

markodaly wrote: »
    Ah yes, the usual bluster and bull****.

The trifecta of housing, homeless and health.

You do know that FG fully backs Slainte-Care and in government started its implementation?

What is Slaintecare?

FG right wing? Please!

Truth hurts :)

Slainte...when?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Slaintecare stemmed from the FG-LAB coalition (white paper 2014) where it was a red-line condition from Labour that progress would be made on a single-tier service.

The committee that hammered out the finer details was led (superbly) by Roisin Shortall and she fought tooth and nail to make sure it was a genuine single-tier plan, with a few bored looking FG deputies hanging around.

FG have consistently long-fingered the strategy and it's implementation in government.

"Fully-support" is - on the evidence - simply not living in political reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Hope Leo's not lactose intolerant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

old_aussie wrote: »
    Hope Leo's not lactose intolerant.

What difference would that make?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

severe I know but would it look like a councillor admiring the blueshirts, or a party favouring private business while exacerbating societal crises?

Seriously, you haven't a clue what right-wing is if you want to continue that comparison.

One needs to only look to our neighbours in the UK to see what damage actual right wing zealots do to a country, through conservatism and hardline policies such as Brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Just anecdotally from talking to 20/30 ppl over the wkend and discussing this

99% said the girl was completely wrong and I would estimate 75% have a higher opinion on LV due to this.

Make of that what you will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

99% said the girl was completely wrong and I would estimate 75% have a higher opinion on LV due to this.

Completely agree with the 99, disagree with the 75, nothing personal against Leo, I'd like to meet the chap, sounds very approachable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Thats an interesting question and obviously he has made a choice here, which is weighing up the risks against the intrusion on his life that a larger security detail would bring.

I would think he's done the right thing. If we are in a situation where politicians need multiple minders to their days work in Dublin or elsewhere, then we are in a bad place.

Almost feel sorry for the girl - I can see whats happened here, she's confused all the bull **** opinions from internet forums with the real world, she probably thought this would make her a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

The irony of this for me - when I was a kid we had real dubious politicians, Charlie Haughey, Ray Burke, Sean Doherty and so on. And yet by and large they were greatly respected by the wider public, specifically they were treated with great respect. Nobody ever threw anything at Charlie Haughey.

The politicians we have today are much more civic minded, they are not out to line their own pockets - compared to the crowd that went before - and I mean that across the board, Martin, Varadkar, Donohoe, McDonald, and so on.

But people have zero respect for them, treat them with contempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Just anecdotally from talking to 20/30 ppl over the wkend and discussing this

Make of that what you will

It's another encouraging sign that, so far, we've managed to avoid the morass of political polarisation that the US and UK are bogged down in.

When milkshaking popped up in the UK it was approved of by newspapers such as The Guardian, which is a reflection of how a significant amount of people viewed it.

Here unprovoked assault on people for their politics is almost universally opposed, even by people like me who wouldn't vote for the victim. I'd say decades of experience with where that can lead to makes us a bit more chary of childish LARPing as violent revolutionaries than the Brits or Yanks are.

There is still a double standard on reporting political violence though. Just the day after this happened the Irish Times cover story on its Weekend Review was on the rise of the violent far-right. While the people involved are scumbags the article studiously failed to mention the violence on the far-left that is a mirror image of those thugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

CrankyHaus wrote: »

There is still a double standard on reporting political violence though. Just the day after this happened the Irish Times cover story on its Weekend Review was on the rise of the violent far-right. While the people involved are scumbags the article studiously failed to mention the violence on the far-left that is a mirror image of those thugs.

Yep - I noticed that too. But at this point, it's exactly what I'd expect from the Irish Guardian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,684 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

has she been found yet? seems easy enough to identify

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Tombo2001 wrote: »

The irony of this for me - when I was a kid we had real dubious politicians, Charlie Haughey, Ray Burke, Sean Doherty and so on. And yet by and large they were greatly respected by the wider public, specifically they were treated with great respect. Nobody ever threw anything at Charlie Haughey.

I can vaguely remember a retired waiter throwing a handful of loose change on the ground in front of Haughey as he walked into Dublin Castle for a Moriarty Tribunal hearing!

It was a marvellous gesture; far far better than the witless smoothie stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,093 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Nobody ever threw anything at Charlie Haughey.

They tried, but they missed:

1981: An attempt is made to throw paint over An Taoiseach Charles Haughey while on a visit to St Michael’s Hospital in Dun Laoghaire.

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2016/0519/789604-paint-thrown-at-haughey/

Threw coins at his car in 2000 too:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/protesters-throw-coins-at-haughey-s-merc-1.295287

Also, someone literally danced on his grave:

https://www.thejournal.ie/man-literally-dances-on-haugheys-grave-to-protest-ff-corruption-21077-Sep2010/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,255 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Sure that was probably Ben Dunne. Was it a bin liner full of pound coins by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

I can vaguely remember a retired waiter throwing a handful of loose change on the ground in front of Haughey as he walked into Dublin Castle for a Moriarty Tribunal hearing!

It was a marvellous gesture; far far better than the witless smoothie stunt.

I hope Charlie hoovered up the free money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,372 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The thing here though, if Leo had security, the same malcontents and whingers would be using it as a stick.

It is odd though, there is lots of talk that this is staged.

Never under-estimate the foolishness and lack of intelligence of people.

There were plenty of posters who ranted on and on about Coveney retaining his Garda driver. There was a coterie of them going on about the trappings of office.

Your post at 656:
    You edited that after I replied. You had added a load of horsecr*p into the quote as well you know, and you still didn't answer.
    Stop pretending. That's not smart. Remember the gob****es who attacked Joan Burton and the president some time ago? You could include their great leaders for a start. Watch how the gob****es react if their leaders are treated thus.
    Of course, you probably weren't born when the scum of Belfast attacked Gerry Fitt and his home in a most sinister and life-threatening way, causing damage to his wife's health. And lots in between. There are always assole who, with zero mandate, want to rule the world.
    Pretending what? You are very desperate to go off in a tangent. You still haven't answered.
    You seem to be fairly adamant that you know who did this.
    I was of the opinion it was a stupid kid, with no real agenda behind it. Maybe you can prove otherwise.
    Nope. I can't say I've never given no. 1 to a FG candidate but very seldom, and not at the last election. I don't think I ever voted FF either. And I've voted in a lot of elections. One tends to do that if one doesn't carry a gun to impose one's views on others. Sorry to disappoint you in that. The scatter gun response of the idiots who find attacking elected politicians hilarious has been this: "We're all FG." You don't have to be FG to behave half decently and to respect the will of the people.
    My response to that was purely as a response to your 'one of theirs'... Again, who are you referring to without going off on another whirlwind unrelated post.
    I don't care (I'll elaborate - I really don't care) about any of the other sh*te you posted, and tbh, I probably don't really care that Leo was splashed with a smoothie either, but I find it comical that you get so stirred up and go into a tirade about it.
    No need to get stroppy just because, contrary to your expectations, you are the one who is sucking it since the present government was formed.
    I definitely haven't got stroppy about it, actually, I'm not even miffed.
    You on the other hand...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Its probably been said, but the reason this is seen as acceptable is because it was lauded and approved of when the target was someone not liked.

The Lord Mayor of Dublin showed her approval when Justin Barrett was pelted with a milkshake. Conor Gallagher wrote a hilarious article at the weekend about the "far-right" and used a woman who's thrown liquids over people as a source. The hypocrisy of these people is astounding.

You edited that after I replied. You had added a load of horsecr*p into the quote as well you know, and you still didn't answer.

I quite honestly haven't a clue what you're on about. Kindly quote the relevant post numbers and say how I have misquoted you. Maybe there was a typo. I don't know.

1981: An attempt is made to throw paint over An Taoiseach Charles Haughey while on a visit to St Michael’s Hospital in Dun Laoghaire.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/protesters-throw-coins-at-haughey-s-merc-1.295287

https://www.thejournal.ie/man-literally-dances-on-haugheys-grave-to-protest-ff-corruption-21077-Sep2010/

Thanks GS.

Re the Charlie Haughey paint attack.

Great to see Frank Dunlop getting caught in the crossfire.

Some of the nurses and nuns sporting FF stickers, more innocent times. :pac::rolleyes:

No mention or indication of what the person was protesting at etc.

I quite honestly haven't a clue what you're on about. Kindly quote the relevant post numbers and say how I have misquoted you. Maybe there was a typo. I don't know.
    Of course you don't... You probably don't remember editing it either.
    feargale wrote:
    You haven't been paying attention to this thread, have you? I'm damned if I will do your work for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The politicians we have today are much more civic minded, they are not out to line their own pockets - compared to the crowd that went before - and I mean that across the board, Martin, Varadkar, Donohoe, McDonald, and so on.

But people have zero respect for them, treat them with contempt.

Charlie took a hiding off a fella cos Charlie was riding his missus. CJ said he busted his face after falling of his horse but it wasnt riding horses that caused it :D

Bambi wrote: »
    Charlie took a hiding off a fella cos Charlie was riding his missus. CJ said he busted his face after falling of his horse but it wasnt riding horses that caused it :D

Are you suggesting that Leo may have taken an unauthorised ride on that young lady's skateboard?

Bambi wrote: »

It was the morning of the budget, Taoiseach Jack Lynch had to read out the budget in the Dail.

A varied life you could say Charlie had.

Truth hurts :)

Slainte...when?

What truth exactly Matt?
    That you think FG is 'right-wing'

The spending on public services under FG is at times a record, that is just a fact.
    Now, there will always be people on the sidelines wanting more and more and more, it will never be enough.

Of course you don't... You probably don't remember editing it either.

Stop playing silly bugger. Show me where I misquoted you, show me what I edited. Otherwise I'm done with you. Put up or shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The first thing you notice in that clip is the gardai are all big lads that are as fit as a butchers dog and wearing proper uniforms, not like the current shower of short arses with beer guts in crumpled school uniforms wearing high viz jackets in case they get lost

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    It's another encouraging sign that, so far, we've managed to avoid the morass of political polarisation that the US and UK are bogged down in.

When milkshaking popped up in the UK it was approved of by newspapers such as The Guardian, which is a reflection of how a significant amount of people viewed it.

Here unprovoked assault on people for their politics is almost universally opposed, even by people like me who wouldn't vote for the victim. I'd say decades of experience with where that can lead to makes us a bit more chary of childish LARPing as violent revolutionaries than the Brits or Yanks are.

Stupid irresponsible article IMO. The far right clowns should never be given any publicity over and above their Court appearances. These morons who never make the paper outside of their District Court outings will have been creaming themselves reading all about how serious their school bully club is being taken

Necro wrote: »
    Seriously, you haven't a clue what right-wing is if you want to continue that comparison.

One needs to only look to our neighbours in the UK to see what damage actual right wing zealots do to a country, through conservatism and hardline policies such as Brexit.

Record breaking crises yet doubled down on the policies exacerbate it to enrich private business. That's pretty Tory to me.

Stop playing silly bugger. Show me where I misquoted you, show me what I edited. Otherwise I'm done with you. Put up or shut up.
    Good for you feargale. You probably shouldn't be playing on the internet anyway.
    As we can say anything without being required to back it up, I'll even suggest that a six year old with no interest in this thread would see where you edited and without having to look at my two previous posts, where I refer to exactly where it is either.
    The same six year old would also probably realise that deflecting doesn't work so well on the aforementioned internet when trying to dodge a question, nor does saying the other poster is playing silly bugger etc. just a different version of deflection really.
    I knew you couldn't/wouldn't answer so no point in keeping this going.
    Silly buggers over and out.

What truth exactly Matt?
    That you think FG is 'right-wing'

The spending on public services under FG is at times a record, that is just a fact.
    Now, there will always be people on the sidelines wanting more and more and more, it will never be enough.

Safe word alert. When you get your knickers twisted you roll out the 'Matt' :)

You are calling it bull, then talking about something else. Housing, homelessness, health.

Spending means **** all if its to plug holes because of failed policy.
    We dont want more we want quality, value for money and it going to the right things.

As we can say anything without being required to back it up,.

Exactly what you've done. Accuse without specifying the facts grounding the charge. I would expect better at an IRA court martial. Or even in a Belfast romper room. The arrogance of the Shinners knows no bounds.

What nonsense are you blathering about now feargale?
    What Shinners or the IRA have to do with Leo getting splashed, is beyond me.
    You seem(ed) fairly confident as to who splashed him, or at least who she was 'aligned to'.
    But, unable to say how or why you are so confident.
    Now babbling about the arrogance of the Shinners.
    I wouldn't be politically aligned to any party, but even I am aware it is the FG lot that are well associated with arrogance.
    I genuinely have no idea, nor care where you are going with this. You seem to have lost your way, and to be fair the internet is a confusing place. Redirect my comments back at me all you like, I won't be commenting back to you as you have nothing to say (again) unless you can answer the original question, but I suspect that you can't. Shock.