Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Fine Gael TD sues Dublin Hotel after falling off swing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

If the crazy lady cannot manage to look after herself on a swing, then she has no business in any position of responsibilty.

Half the country has sat on that swing, most of them with a few drinks on them, and manage to escape the evil contraption without injury.

She should be embarrassed by her stupidity ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

ChikiChiki wrote:
    I said it before and I will say it again, there are a LOT of politicians in Dail Eireann an.d especially the Governing parties whose sole motivation is lining their pockets. This extends to local councils. I remember working in a previous job and seeing absoloutly insane amounts of cash being transferred from a County Council to the plant hire company of a sitting councillor. The plant hire company had won a lot of contracts in the area from the council. Alarm bells were ringing Happy to get elected then sit on the sidelines. They are taking us for fools.

Kerry C.C.?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭NSAman

So does this mean that she is ultimately a "swinger"?

BPKS wrote:
    The point is when you put a swing in a pub you should have foreseen that there was a good chance that at some stage some drunk person would fall off it.

Luckily for her she didn't fall over a chair/table/off the toilet in the hotel. Fair play defend her if you wish. Lots of people will see her and her ilk as to why our premiums are climbing.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,280 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Best story ever. Can't wait for this to be featured on all the UK/US chat shows in their 'ah sure look show stupid the Paddies are' section.

That's what the Healy Rae family is for.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

NSAman wrote: »
    So does this mean that she is ultimately a "swinger"?
    She sounds more like the type that would charge for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

BPKS wrote: »
    You are comparing apples and oranges.

The point is when you put a swing in a pub you should have foreseen that there was a good chance that at some stage some drunk person would fall off it.

A swing belongs in a playground, not a pub.

While I see your point where does personal responsibility kick in?

For instance lots of places will hand you a sharp steak knife while also serving booze. Should we sue if we cut ourselves?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Feisar wrote: »

While I see your point where does personal responsibility kick in?

For instance lots of places will hand you a sharp steak knife while also serving booze. Should we sue if we cut ourselves?
    Only if the knife doesn't come with instructions on how to use it and a warning that it is sharp. Some choking warnings and advice on how to chew correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

When she seen the swing in a pub she should have forseen there was a good chance she'd get pissed and fall off it and taken personal responsibility to avoid that situation.

Instead what does she do? Lep on the swing with her hands full and cry there were no instructions or supervision when she fell off it

https://youtu.be/Y0tSlGYjNkY

• Registered Users Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

This sort of snout in the trough, money-grabbing avarice genuinely makes me sick to my stomach. The fact it's being initiated by someone supposedly serving the needs of their constituents is even harder to stomach.

Amidst businesses closing their doors because of insurance hikes caused by spurious claims such as this one, you'd think our public representatives would be working their asses off to improve the situation, not looking to add to the misery caused by such actions.

Michael D'Arcy, Minister of State at the Department of Finance and the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform recently opined our 'bananas compensation culture' and here's his brass-necked colleague along with her hand out after falling off a ****ing swing!!

We truly get the politicians we deserve...unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Driving down steps. Falling off swings! Some shower of morons we elect!

Common denominator-Fine Gael.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

This sort of snout in the trough, money-grabbing avarice genuinely makes me sick to my stomach. The fact it's being initiated by someone supposedly serving the needs of their constituents is even harder to stomach.

Amidst businesses closing their doors because of insurance hikes caused by spurious claims such as this one, you'd think our public representatives would be working their asses off to improve the situation, not looking to add to the misery caused by such actions.

Michael D'Arcy, Minister of State at the Department of Finance and the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform recently opined our 'bananas compensation culture' and here's his brass-necked colleague along with her hand out after falling off a ****ing swing!!

We truly get the politicians we deserve...unbelievable.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Bailey_(Irish_politician)

Her father's wiki is some reading

Thing is she is also displaying her greed. Her claim in the first instance would have gone to PIAB. PIAB would have suggested an award she turned it down and hired her colleagues Madigan the culture minister's firm to pursue a claim. I hope she looses and costs are awarded against. Can't see this publicity doing her Daddies election chances alot of good on Friday.

The Apple clearly doesn't fall far from the tree.

Del boy has nothing on these chancers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Thing is she is also displaying her greed. Her claim in the first instance would have gone to PIAB. PIAB would have suggested an award she turned it down and hired her colleagues Madigan the culture minister's firm to pursue a claim. I hope she looses and costs are awarded against. Can't see this publicity doing her Daddies election chances alot of good on Friday.

I hope so, unfortunately chancers like him usually land on their feet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Aha, I see the potential problems now with Ms Bailey's claim, she should be arguing that a drunk person may fall off a swing, that belongs in a children's playground.

Problem is - I didn't see anywhere in the report where she claimed she was drunk.

Just a claim that she wasn't to be trusted unsupervised on a device usually found in kids playgrounds without signage instructing her how to properly use something the rest of us mastered as toddlers.

The culture Ministers ex law firm will hopefully pick up on this now too and change the grounds for the claim.

Jesus H Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

the greedy apple didn't fall far from that sickening treestump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I hope so, unfortunately chancers like him usually land on their feet :rolleyes:

Not if they're on a swing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Told my eight year old child about this case- he asked me how old she was, and when I told him he refused to believe the story.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

So a 43 year old claims they can't use a swing without instructions in a court but feels she is competent enough to be a TD. Give her the cash but explain to her that if she can't operate a swing properly then it's in the best interest of the country that she probably shouldn't be in a position where decisions she makes can affect the whole country.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Hopefully the judge will make an example of her and lambast her for her frivolous near fraudulent claim. How can any adult with any self respect claim she fell because there was no supervising the swing???

I hope she loses the case, has costs awarded against her and then loses in the election because people are disgusted at her greed and stupidity.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Unbelievable tbh.

The last one stood out like a sore thumb.
    He opposes same sex marriage and abortion

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭dk6dk6

How did we let this country get so bad, the claim culture is shocking and idiot judges are to blame for handing out such big claims for next to nothing.

Woman slips on a chip in Liffey Valley awarded 30 odd grand despite having numerous claims in past few years. Disgraceful, maybe foodhalls should have people hiding in bins waiting to jump out and pick up dropped foods. If you slip on a chip, it’s your own fault if you ask me for not looking where your going. If you fall off a swing it’s most certainly your own fault for not holding on properly.

This woman like all the others just looking for an easy payday should be ashamed of herself. Her and greedy ***** like her are putting businesses and jobs at risk all for greed.

It’s time judges took responsibility and stopped handing out these payouts.

• Registered Users Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Can't find any mention of this on the journal, free press?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I don't like him but thought it was worth sharing :-)

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2019/0521/1050900-maria-bailey/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

I don't like him but thought it was worth sharing :-)

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2019/0521/1050900-maria-bailey/

Yes, McDowell articulates the problem very well -

Mr McDowell added that "if the Government is serious about driving down the claims culture, we cannot stand idly by when adults lose their seat with two objects, one in each hand, and fall off a swing and then claim there should have been a supervisor looking after them.

"Especially when it comes from somebody who has so much public influence and clearly influence over Government policy in these matters," he added.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Did this only reach the news because the hotel publicized it? Thats two FG TDs with dodgy claims. Also the fact that staunch Fine Gaelists Madigans solicitors are involved is even shadier.

Leo must surely be absolutely fuming with her. Im just perflexed by how stupid the claim is. It reaks of desperation for some reason or another. Did she see it as an easy way to raise campaign funds? Are there any more that we dont know of?

Its a sad day for the country if she is compensated and there will be real ramifications going forward.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

My perception during this Local/EU is that the Fine Gael TDs (with nothing to lose) are talking very arrogantly and pompously. They have lost touch. They sound like the Fianna Fail TDs in the early 2000s.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Yeah that sounds fair and right.

There will be no one or no parties left to vote for if people won’t vote over one members behavior.

Don’t worry she will top the poll, because the blue shirts will put a spin on how she is fighting for kids rights in the play ground and will promise to get every one in dunLaoghaire a big pay out.