Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

john.Reid wrote: »
    Haha your right, but I have no idea who owns it. But can categorically confirm it's not an ags vehicle.

Can you elaborate on what agency you think it belongs too as I’m thinking you have the wrong car that I stated. I’m very well aware of the unit the car I quoted is attached too and who was driving it on the day in question. Please take into careful consideration I was in front of it in an i40 as we were going to the same incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Lads

This insignia has confirmed AGS. We won’t go to much detail due to nature of the role.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

I was told a story that there is 2 armoured AGS vehicles and if you try to cartell them it comes up blocked.

Would such a story be true?

I was told a story that there is 2 armoured AGS vehicles and if you try to cartell them it comes up blocked.

This old news seized cars they are x5s one is blow up yesterday ago.... won’t blame the rebel county drivers and one in specialised unit still in service

POGAN wrote: »
    This old news seized cars they are x5s one is blow up yesterday ago.... won’t blame the rebel county drivers and one in specialised unit still in service

One of them is a 181

It’s very rare that if you run the reg of special units car and get an accurate result especially of cartell, that would be an operational disaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Dohvolle

I remember back in the dark ages, during the Free Legal aid strike, Crime Task force in Cork had a Rover on UK plates (falsies). Ideal for sneaking up disused lanes, and pretending you were a lost tourist....
    It reached peak usefulness at an altercation in a New Age traveller camp site, when reinforcements were called in from nearby stations, and CTF arrived in the UK car. Fight died down, but CTF remained standing by, didn't get involved.
    Crusties panicked, thought it was the HM constabulary popping by to serve a few outstanding warrants. Most departed the location within 24 hours, just in case.

Dohvolle wrote: »
    I remember back in the dark ages, during the Free Legal aid strike, Crime Task force in Cork had a Rover on UK plates (falsies). Ideal for sneaking up disused lanes, and pretending you were a lost tourist....
    It reached peak usefulness at an altercation in a New Age traveller camp site, when reinforcements were called in from nearby stations, and CTF arrived in the UK car. Fight died down, but CTF remained standing by, didn't get involved.
    Crusties panicked, thought it was the HM constabulary popping by to serve a few outstanding warrants. Most departed the location within 24 hours, just in case.

I got to Rover and immediately thought of the liver run....

2 observations on my travels today.

That or one like it 201 Insignia estate came up behind me this morning southbound on M11. Very much AGS and in fairness very well lit up. My compliments to the fit out crew on that.

Northbound M11 this afternoon went past a 201 Tucson. Thought nothing of it until it went past me and I noticed the Tetra aerial. Very stealthy! No visible LEDs in the back, no dash mount in the front. You had to look quite closely to notice the side repeaters. Decent pull on it as well. I was tipping along around 110kph when it decided to go past me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

2 observations on my travels today.

That or one like it 201 Insignia estate came up behind me this morning southbound on M11. Very much AGS and in fairness very well lit up. My compliments to the fit out crew on that.

Northbound M11 this afternoon went past a 201 Tucson. Thought nothing of it until it went past me and I noticed the Tetra aerial. Very stealthy! No visible LEDs in the back, no dash mount in the front. You had to look quite closely to notice the side repeaters. Decent pull on it as well. I was tipping along around 110kph when it decided to go past me.

The aerials are the only obvious signs on those Tucson's. I see they all seem to have rear tinted windows, looks very well.

Around Kilmainham they have an unmarked i40 but looks so high spec you'd find it hard to notice it was a patrol car. It's a very unusual blue colour, flashing blues from the fog lamps and alloys..

carzony wrote: »
    The aerials are the only obvious signs on those Tucson's. I see they all seem to have rear tinted windows, looks very well.

Around Kilmainham they have an unmarked i40 but looks so high spec you'd find it hard to notice it was a patrol car. It's a very unusual blue colour, flashing blues from the fog lamps and alloys..

It’s the executive spec i40 few around

I think the tuscon facelift black grill isn’t as unnoticeable like the 191

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It’s the executive spec i40 few around

I think the tuscon facelift black grill isn’t as unnoticeable like the 191

Little bit of black tint on the casing would help, they are very noticeable.....

Lights could easily be fitted inside the window from sides and back.
    Strobes in rear light clusters and front also,

New video with new 202 vans 202 rpu tuscon and disco for the water unit looks well

It’s good those transits are still coming through. Imagine that LDV tender went through....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭kala85

Can you post a link

It’s good those transits are still coming through. Imagine that LDV tender went through....

Transit is the future thank god

See a few prison vans as the ldv.... Who thought that was a good idea.... They're pure Chinese dirt.

Spoke to my local postie about them recently, he says they are very light on the road, but when they inevitably break down, they are easier to fix, than most vans, and you aren't off the road long.

Would still prefer a transient though.

Was the editing and music choice made by a 15 year old on work experience?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,234 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Saw an unmarked had pulled over a car on the M50 the other day.

Looked like a navy Toyota Corolla or Camry. Does such a car exist or did I see something else?

Well lit up with hidden LEDs

Saw an unmarked had pulled over a car on the M50 the other day.

Looked like a navy Toyota Corolla or Camry. Does such a car exist or did I see something else?

Well lit up with hidden LEDs

Was it a 171 Avensis?

Could have been that. I was in the outside lane and 'doing a 100'. I knew it wasnt a hyundai or skoda.

It's the nice blue too....

If it's the one I seen it has the antenna on the roof, passed me the other day, kept slapping the brakes, pulled in slowed down, I passed and he then passed again a flew up the road, that was on M11, but was heading to Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Capri wrote: »

1. Cheapest.
    2. Do I play golf with the distributor.
    ends.

The Holden was some act to follow. I'm surprised they didn't go down the SUV route. The Superb has a massive boot though. You'd easily fit 3 bodies in the boot.

Ref: BMW unmarked, the way he jumps out of the jeep leads me to think he thought it was a fake lol

Must of done something really bad to get light up by that car 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Borgo

Must of done something really bad to get light up by that car 😂

Yeah definitely, as my father always said never piss off an unmarked garda car those lads will cut through ye haha