Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Rugby Discussion II

• Registered Users Posts: 11,661 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

awec wrote: »
    Weird that there's 2 games at the same time on the same day.

Especially when its the 1 broadcaster

• Registered Users Posts: 21,609 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I wonder if that's local time

Edit: it is, strange stuff.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Because it's 2 French teams in one and 2 English teams in the other - They obviously reckon that there's no cross over/loss of viewers.

They'd be wrong of course , but that's the only conclusion I can come to..

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Because it's 2 French teams in one and 2 English teams in the other - They obviously reckon that there's no cross over/loss of viewers.

They'd be wrong of course , but that's the only conclusion I can come to..

It makes zero sense to me. If broadcasting is about maximising viewers, ad revenue etc why clash games?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,601 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Eod100 wrote: »
    It makes zero sense to me. If broadcasting is about maximising viewers, ad revenue etc why clash games?

I can only assume it has something to do with Premier League football.

errlloyd wrote: »
    I can only assume it has something to do with Premier League football.

Dont think kos are decided for that yet but could easily clash French game with PL say

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭KevinK

It’s a strange one, obviously they think there is little cross over.

Always find in strange with the group games also, there is always lots of crossover a little need for it now that there is ten games each weekend. They don’t seem to use the 7.39/7.45 slot on Saturdays any more. I wonder why?

• Administrators Posts: 53,443 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

KevinK wrote: »
    It’s a strange one, obviously they think there is little cross over.

Always find in strange with the group games also, there is always lots of crossover a little need for it now that there is ten games each weekend. They don’t seem to use the 7.39/7.45 slot on Saturdays any more. I wonder why?

Maybe with the lighter evenings during knock out stage it’s harder to get viewers on Saturday evenings?

• Subscribers Posts: 41,095 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Toulon starting two kiwi wingers in the center this weekend.

Heem at 12 and savea at 13

Big win for London Irish over saints this evening

• Registered Users Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭ongarite

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Big win for London Irish over saints this evening
    Really struggled to win, even with an extra man for large part of 2nd half.

Nienaber named the new South Africa head coach, and Felix Jones kept on:

Rassie Erasmus – Director of Rugby
    Jacques Nienaber – Head coach
    Mzwandile Stick – Assistant coach
    Deon Davids – Assistant coach
    Felix Jones – Assistant coach
    Daan Human – Scrum consultant

ongarite wrote: »
    Really struggled to win, even with an extra man for large part of 2nd half.

Yeah, but I'm referring to the impact of the result, rather than the performance

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭MaybeMaybe

Is Jackson injured or just totally out of favour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

MaybeMaybe wrote: »
    Is Jackson injured or just totally out of favour?

Injured at the moment, but was behind Myler prior to that and had been lining out at full back.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,778 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Faletau has shipped another injury for Bath. He's basically been injured for the last two years. Hope it's not another serious one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭troyzer

Just booted up Rugby 20.

Leinster are 85/100.

Munster are 86/100.

I don't have high hopes.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,337 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

I'm still tempted though, even though I know it'll be ****e.

Can't go wrong with €50.

All I'll say is that so far, the tutorials are relatively complicated.

The main issue with previous games was their mind numbing oversimplification of rugby

I've heard some absolutely woeful reviews in terms of it being extremely glitchy, opposition team not appearing for scrums and being stuck at said scrum for several minutes, mechanics for goal kicking making no sense, lineouts being similar, rucks being a mess and turnovers laughably easy, and set moves not working if you sprint etc.

I'd rather find an old ps2 and play rugby 08 to be honest than pay 50 quid for it.

What I wouldn't give for Sports Interactive to make a Rugby Manager game. Far too niche a sport to ever make a profit though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

if ye still have Rugby 08 for PC there’s updated rosters and teams/kits out there. i remember playing on a 2015 roster a while back and it was great craic.

Okay, so it's a ****ing mess.

Just had eight lads hover in a pod two metres from the ruck doing **** all.

The AI can't get into shape.

It's a bit of craic for the reasons though. Buggy as **** in a funny way.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,190 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Joe Schmidt to Bath next season by all accounts

• Registered Users Posts: 24,184 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Interesting. Obviously the Dempsey link would be an influence there. They're relatively wealthy and have a serious back line but very little in the front five.

A couple of signings there and some luck and they'd be in the mix for the top few spots in the table.

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Only midi olympique are reporting it (who aren't exactly reliable on a lot of stuff), Wales Online and Rugbypass have just quoted the midi-olympique report and then the smaller social media outlets are regurgitating the Rugbypass article

Burkie1203 wrote: »

If true, I wouldn't be surprised if we see some big money offers for Irish players.

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭the perfect ten

Clegg wrote: »
    If true, I wouldn't be surprised if we see some big money offers for Irish players.

Premiership clubs will have to be very mindful of the salary cap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

I'd rather find an old ps2 and play rugby 08 to be honest than pay 50 quid for it.

If you're going to dig out a PS2, you might as well play Jonah Lomu rugby (the best rugby game IMO :p)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

I'd have taken a reluctant punt if it was a budget game and by all accounts it should be, but full price is outrageous. It'll be €20 by the end of the year.