Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newstalk Megathread 22/08/16 to date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

pc7 wrote: »
    They are using Williams as the main promo piece this week I just don't get it. I flick back and forth now on my commute between breakfast and rte1. Finding myself staying longer and longer with rte1.

He's actively turning me off Newstalk, and rapidly too. I'm also unhappy wiht them shortening the Moncrief show - why? I thought that was one of the best things on Newstalk.

I don't want to go to Radio1.... to me thats what my parents listen to, and I don't feel I should be in that demographic yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Typer Monkey

I don't want to go to Radio1.... to me thats what my parents listen to, and I don't feel I should be in that demographic yet.

I'm in the exact same position. I don't want to listen to rte 1 but I want current affairs professionally presented so I have little choice at breakfast and lunchtime since the changes to the schedule. I'm especially stuck at half 1. I used to listen to Sean at half 1. I can't abide George and won't even tolerate Joe Duffy at 1.45 so I turned off the radio til Sean comes on at 2.

What have you done newstalk???!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Its a complete mess. And showing zero signs of improvement either. I can just about tolerate Quinlan in that he is just a vacuum, but Williams is too much.

The Drive show is terrible also. Chris, while out of his depth as main anchor, looks a seasoned pro next to the hopelessly green Sarah McIninery. She just smacks of amatuerism and a colelge radio presenter who has notions. Doing this against Matt Cooper is only going to have one result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

gimmick wrote: »
    Its a complete mess. And showing zero signs of improvement either. I can just about tolerate Quinlan in that he is just a vacuum, but Williams is too much.

The Drive show is terrible also. Chris, while out of his depth as main anchor, looks a seasoned pro next to the hopelessly green Sarah McIninery. She just smacks of amatuerism and a colelge radio presenter who has notions. Doing this against Matt Cooper is only going to have one result.

While breakfast is my main bugbear, Drive is also bit of a disaster. Its so unimaginative.

Chris is a drip and Sarah is a bit dreary. Neither of them are exactly heavy hitters.
    Theyre too alike and a bad pairing. Chris was ok playing the straightman character against Ivan Yates, who was funny as he was such a liability. Now he's with a female version of himself and its just Yawnapoloza.

I've never really listened to Matt Cooper but perhaps I'll give it a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,673 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

The worst bit is giving an absolute hypocrite an opinion based show.

Nothing Hook says can or should be taken seriously.

Remember the black armband on tv because rugby was going to Sky? Worn by a man who would actually be the face of an ad campaign for Sky inside a couple of years?

Remember the tears of emotion when the first black president was inaugurated? This from a man who now uses his show to openly support a candidate running on an openly racist platform?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

gimmick wrote: »

I dont think much of the personnel or schedule changes..I actually like Sarah McInernys voice but she just seems too nice lacks any aggression, never asks any probing questions with any conviction IMO..she would do ok on another show..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Is it just me or does drive have an excessive amount of medical/pharma news? Maybe Hooky had that too but managed to make it entertaining. Now it's just "bleh", can't be listening to this at this hour of the day

No way! They're discussing How Did This Get Made?

Best non fotball podcast in the world, I recommend everyone listen to it.

(Instead of, say, Hook tomorrow).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Cheers, I didn't get the name of it at the time.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Jebus turned the radio off driving home.
    Newstalk - mattress mick and Henry McKeen
    Matt Cooper - the Kardashians
    Rte 1 - a poor little boy misdiagnosed

pc7 wrote: »
    Jebus turned the radio off driving home.
    Newstalk - mistress mick and Henry McKeen
    Matt Cooper - the Kardashians
    Rte 1 - a poor little boy misdiagnosed

I've AC/DC blaring.

F*ck that.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Do the likes of Kimmage, Quinlan, Drico have any formal broadcasting training?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

is there a drive time thread? if so apologies for this... sarah whatever her name brought up something called 'reverse ageism' into the liberal agenda, i'd never heard of it to be honest so i googled it and it is apparently young people being discriminated against in the work place for being too young to be considered to be promoted, which is nuts but fair enough i suppose in this present world of 'isms', but she brings it to a level where babies/infants who are acting the b*llocks and somebody feels annoyed during a meal, on a plane etc. are "reverse ageist". she is officially a lunatic, which makes me a sexist misogynistic pro reverse ageist anti mental health etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,450 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

is there a drive time thread? if so apologies for this... sarah whatever her name brought up something called 'reverse ageism' into the liberal agenda, i'd never heard of it to be honest so i googled it and it is apparently young people being discriminated against in the work place for being too young to be considered to be promoted, which is nuts but fair enough i suppose in this present world of 'isms', but she brings it to a level where babies/infants who are acting the b*llocks and somebody feels annoyed during a meal, on a plane etc. are "reverse ageist". she is officially a lunatic, which makes me a sexist misogynistic pro reverse ageist anti mental health etc

Breakfast and Drivetime have turned into amateur hour,**** knows what Hook is supposed to be doing.Only for Moncrieff I wouldn't listen to it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,940 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

kneemos wrote:
    Breakfast and Drivetime have turned into amateur hour,**** knows what Hook is supposed to be doing.Only for Moncrieff I wouldn't listen to it at all.

Pat Kenny is still at the top of his game.

Ah yeah,forgot Pat.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

kneemos wrote: »
    Ah yeah,forgot Pat.
    Pat is the only daytime bit of Newstalk worth listening to. I used to love Hookie for drivetime, but I usually cant listen at lunchtime. Drivetime is just totally ****e across the board now

I think the problem with Hook at lunchtime is that he was giving free reign, there's no goo producer in the background steering the show like at the Right Hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

This is gonna sound crazy, but does anybody else hear a squeaking sound every time Sarah McInerney speaks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

This is gonna sound crazy, but does anybody else hear a squeaking sound every time Sarah McInerney speaks?

That could be Chris

I've heard the squeak.Don't think you're crazy,unless we're both crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 soundcrowd

I thought it was just me. It's a nasal sound, really off-putting. Once you hear it you'll hear it continually!!

• Registered Users Posts: 27 carlowmanken

Their signal in Carlow is awful the past few days, sound keeps dropping and there's like an echo or something. really off putting.

Count your blessings, it's a sign...'turn the dial'

Am actually somewhat warming to Morning Ireland, I honestly think it has a lot to do with the absence of some of the worst unfunny dumbass loudmouth shouty radio ads known which newstalk specialised in, the morning Ireland ads pass by without me noticing. Also, It's all fairly well researched uninterrupted news and interviews conducted by professionals who know what they are talking about and are impartial, I have no real dislike or admiration for, just respect for doing the job they were given. Maybe I'm just getting old and have gone into the RTÉ 1 bracket...or Newstalk breakfast is now an utter pile of steaming shįte.

soundcrowd wrote: »
    I thought it was just me. It's a nasal sound, really off-putting. Once you hear it you'll hear it continually!!

Thank you! I was just about to phone the doctor. That's exactly how I would describe it, "nasal". And she has a lovely soft voice, but that irritating sound is just there all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I was really enjoying this show recently and thought she sounded 'dead on'.

Then in the past 3 days she's slipped in how she 'doesn't have to worry about her mortgage', how her husband is an actuary and today moaning about the roadworks on the Howth Road delaying her commute.

Just seems a bit smug to me. Maybe I'm a bitter begrudger :pac:

Sarah is sounding particularly squeaky today.

I was really enjoying this show recently and thought she sounded 'dead on'.

Then in the past 3 days she's slipped in how she 'doesn't have to worry about her mortgage', how her husband is an actuary and today moaning about the roadworks on the Howth Road delaying her commute.

Just seems a bit smug to me. Maybe I'm a bitter begrudger :pac:

she told them to sort the roadworks out last night because it was delaying her. I think she was being genuine about sending this message out.

begrudger? nah, she seems like a right stuck up cow with serious notions about herself. shes also very crap at her job.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭theoldbreed

begrudger? nah, she seems like a right stuck up cow with serious notions about herself. shes also very crap at her job.

Was very willing to give her a chance but I have to agree, she is terrible. She is just not cut out for it and she comes across as self righteous and at times unprofessional. I believe it's her job to report in an unbiased fashion but she increasingly lets her own very smug opinions take over. Comparing teachers striking to terrorists? I mean seriously.
    Also thank God I'm not the only one who hears that squeaking, although I turn off now do that solved that issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Comparing teachers striking to terrorists? I mean seriously..

Except she didn't.

By 'squeaking', do people mean that sibilance that seems to come through?

Chris - "The show will be utterly biased this evening".

as opposed to what ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Is it just me or has the latest reshuffle in slots and presenters meant the quality of the station as a whole has taken a nosedive.

Paul Williams is close to unbearable in the mornings. He tries to be witty and friendly but it's just not in his make up. The man would eat himself if he could. Far too smug and the 'banter' compared to Ivan and Chris is just crap.

Because of the rescheduling I get to hear only half an hour compared to an hour of Moncrieffe after work now.

However the 'Drive Time' slot is easily the worst now. Chris has nobody to keep him down now that Ivan is out of the picture. He's so banal as a presenter and his overly biased views can be too much. Sarah seems to be genuinely dim as well. She rarely has a good grasp of the topic at hand and she made some outrageous comparison with teachers and terrorists which unsurprisingly wasn't picked up on.

Just disappointed that one of the best radio stations by far has taken a huge dip in quality. Surely the listeners have dropped by thousands? Anyone any info on this?

NufcNavan wrote:
    and she made some outrageous comparison with teachers and terrorists which unsurprisingly wasn't picked up on.

Again: Except she didn't.

What she did do was draw an analogy with the strategic logic behind a choice of tactic: that is, going for maximum impact.

And it was picked up on by listeners very quickly, and she made a further clarification of her meaning.

On the schedule changes in general, it's pretty terrible, I agree.

Again: Except she didn't.

What she did do was draw an analogy with the strategic logic behind a choice of tactic: that is, going for maximum impact.

And it was picked up on by listeners very quickly, and she made a further clarification of her meaning.

On the schedule changes in general, it's pretty terrible, I agree.

I understand what she meant, but it says it all about how useless she is when she has to explain herself by using an analogy that included teachers and terrorists..

What's interesting is that the last two posters to jump on the "she said teachers are like terrorists" thing are both infrequent contributors to the Radio forum, but regulars in Teaching and Lecturing.

That tells me that someone, somewhere has definitely picked up on her analogy...

What's interesting is that the last two posters to jump on the "she said teachers are like terrorists" thing are both infrequent contributors to the Radio forum, but regulars in Teaching and Lecturing.

That tells me that someone, somewhere has definitely picked up on her analogy...

to my knowledge I haven't a post on that teachers and lecturers forum you mention (cue thralling through my post history, :)

i heard her, she said "like terrorists" trying to cause maximum damage when chris mentioned the specific strike dates. it's no reason to be offended, she compared a teacher strike dates to terrorist action...she's an idiot and a very poor journalist, no more no less.

chris must be delighted, she makes him look competent.

she's an idiot and a very poor journalist, no more no less.

chris must be delighted, she makes him look competent.

I think she's certainly out of her competency zone. I can't comment on her print output, but it seems like someone at NT said, "hang on, yer one can answer a question on Tonight with VB, I bet she'd make a good radio anchor..."

Totally different medium, totally different context. However, I might just give her the benefit of the doubt til she learns on the job.

Because the rte and Today at that time don't work for me at all...

Starting to think Newstalk is being sabotaged from within.

Listening online there, an ad for the Wild Atlantic Way just started playing as Chris was talking. Like more ads in between the ad breaks.

And I'd just heard the ad a few mins ago.

F*ckin tired of this. Podcast time.

"Currently unable to connect to the Newstalk stream"

How helpful you are, Newstalk app.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 barryegan

But I think they are trying to help you.

Seriously who goes through other poster's histories to try prove their point. You'll also find I've posted nearly equally in both forums, not that it makes any difference if I haven't really does it?

And I heard her she said 'like terrorists'. Agreeing with another poster it proves her incompetence if she has to resort to such ridiculous analogies.

Seriously who goes through other poster's histories to try prove their point. You'll also find I've posted nearly equally in both forums, not that it makes any difference if I haven't really does it?

I've seen it done often. It can be a useful tool. There's a handy column than shows what forums a user has posted in, so you don't have to trawl through the actual posts.

It was only after the second username that was unfamiliar to me (I read way, way more than I comment) mentioned the 'terrorist' thing that I thought, "I wonder are they teachers?" So I went and looked.

You still misrepresented what she said and the point she was making, though.

I've seen it done often. It can be a useful tool. There's a handy column than shows what forums a user has posted in, so you don't have to trawl through the actual posts.

It was only after the second username that was unfamiliar to me (I read way, way more than I comment) mentioned the 'terrorist' thing that I thought, "I wonder are they teachers?" So I went and looked.

You still misrepresented what she said and the point she was making, though.

Why would you be pedantic! Who cares if we're teachers, would my comment have more validity if I were a pharmacist, a dog walker? Her comment was still ridiculous!

I didn't misrepresent what she said, I can't. It's there, you can re listen. I couldn't give a fiddlers what she, you or anyone else has to say about teachers. She can compare teachers and their striking to many things but terrorists..... I feel embarrassed for her.

Why would you be pedantic! Who cares if we're teachers, would my comment have more validity if I were a pharmacist, a dog walker? Her comment was still ridiculous!

I didn't misrepresent what she said, I can't. It's there, you can re listen. I couldn't give a fiddlers what she, you or anyone else has to say about teachers. She can compare teachers and their striking to many things but terrorists..... I feel embarrassed for her.

Pedantry is part of what I do for a living!

And we'll have to disagree on the "she compared teachers to terrorists" thing.

I heard it and understood it as a simile about tactical approaches, as I outlined in post 234 above.

Let's leave it there, shall we? We're dragging the overall thread off course.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I just heard Sarah McInerney say '...and Chris we blah blah...and when you juxtasuppose something something...'

Juxtasuppose :pac:

Yeah I heard her saying that alright. You would think a journalist would know her words. Especially a word like that, which would probably be used a lot by political commentators.

I'm still baffled by the squeaking noise though. Very prominent today. I think I'm losing my mind. It's like there is somebody behind her washing a window as she speaks.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 carlowmanken

Ok, three mornings in a row there sound is replaced with mass from some church!!!!! Its like that most of the drive from Carlow to Portlaoise. Cant make out which church, but the signal is perfect and the radio name shows "Newstalk"

Yeah I heard her saying that alright. You would think a journalist would know her words. Especially a word like that, which would probably be used a lot by political commentators.

I'm still baffled by the squeaking noise though. Very prominent today. I think I'm losing my mind. It's like there is somebody behind her washing a window as she speaks.
    I only noticed the squeaking when I read it here and listened out for it, now I hear it all the time.

She's terrible.

I see the CEO Editor in Chief has resigned today, at least he's not obliged to listen to the Breakfast Show or Hook anymore.

edit: The Editor in Chief, not the CEO.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I see the CEO has resigned today, at least he's not obliged to listen to the Breakfast Show or Hook anymore.

Where'd you see that?