Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Joe Rogan Experience Podcasts

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Musk on again. Listened to a bit. Musk probably has a far more interesting mind than he appears to have. He seems quite slow witted in ways. You can tell he's introverted and has to process information thoroughly before spitting it out but it lends itself to bad interviews. Wouldn't annoy me but the "He's an Alien/AI because he visually looks like he is processing his thoughts" comments are so cringeworthy.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Coneygree

The Internet's adoration for him over the smallest thing he does is very embarrassing. However I enjoyed the first podcast, he's an interesting guy.

Musk has Asperger's or mild autism I reckon..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,818 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Francis Ngannou one was very good,

I reckon even if you are not an MMA fan you would enjoy it as it is mainly about his illegal journey from Cameroon to Europe

For Francis English is his 3rd language so it can be a bit slow in parts ,You could tell Joe was trying to speed him up ,
    i think he could have done with a bout 5 hours as so much went on and id have liked more detail ,

I'd also imagine there are a lot of things Francis left out that the wider audience may have judged him for ,
    As life of an African trying to flea the continent could bring up some things people might find morally wrong ,

Strangely I think he could have down with 4 or 5 hours ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Musk on again. Listened to a bit. Musk probably has a far more interesting mind than he appears to have. He seems quite slow witted in ways. You can tell he's introverted and has to process information thoroughly before spitting it out but it lends itself to bad interviews. Wouldn't annoy me but the "He's an Alien/AI because he visually looks like he is processing his thoughts" comments are so cringeworthy.

I like Elon, there's something more human and down to heart about him that is totally lacking in all the other current bit tech millionaires

My usual podcast app just sent me a clip of the Elon Musk interview. I'm guessing not a lot of people migrated onto spotify. I know I've barely listened to Joe since he moved there. I think covid influenced that too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

My usual podcast app just sent me a clip of the Elon Musk interview. I'm guessing not a lot of people migrated onto spotify. I know I've barely listened to Joe since he moved there. I think covid influenced that too though.

Yeah, I noticed that. An 11 minutes clip; first time anything has appeared on that stream since he moved to Spotify.

I really dislike Spotify, even for music, and hate the idea of service-locked podcasts, so I've not even entertained the idea of looking for JRE on there.

I'd love to get even a rough insight into the numbers he's lost but I'd say it's huge. The clips posted on YouTube are still getting millions of views pretty quickly, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I only listen to it now when someone I really want to hear is on, whereas I would have watched anyone really when it was on youtube.

On the flipside, I find my youtube time has gone down an awful lot as a result, I could possibly get bored with a podcast and start listening to music - now im just not on youtube to do that either.

I think youtube has lost more than spotify has gained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

I managed to find an RSS feed that I could put into Podcast Addict. Found it on Reddit and still have every episode downloading onto PA. Might be worth a search

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

yermandan wrote: »
    I managed to find an RSS feed that I could put into Podcast Addict. Found it on Reddit and still have every episode downloading onto PA. Might be worth a search

https://spotifeed.timdorr.com/4rOoJ6Egrf8K2IrywzwOMk

That's the rss feed.

Seems to work fine.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

No show this week so far? I wonder has the weather conditions been a problem.

Does make me laugh a bit, Texans with their rugged, can-do, independent frontiersman notion of themselves and this weather spell has people burning their baby's cots.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭BrentMused

Finally got around to listening to the Francis Ngannou podcast and wow, what a listen that was.

The 3 and a half hours just flew by and is up there with one of Rogan's best ever IMO, certainly in the last couple of years anyway. It was helped by the fact that Joe let Francis speak freely and didn't interject anywhere near as much as he usually does.

That podcast certainly helped to put things into perspective, especially in the current climate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Magown3

I haven't listened to a single podcast since he moved on Spotify.
    For me it was the straw that broke the camels back. He was becoming more annoying to me, constantly cutting people off or waffling himself.

2 things stand out for me that happened on his show. One was a really funny guy he Had on, the guy from YouTube channel Rich Rebuilds , he was making so many jokes that were really funny and Joe either heard them and didn't get it or was just plain not listening to him.

I recently discovered a US comedian that puts out 3/4 min clips on YouTube, great for filling in that amount of time if you have to sit down ye know. It's good clean easy to watch stuff. So I wondered if he was ever on JRE, which he was. I gave it a listen and a 3 hour podcast turned out to be joe talking for 2.5 hours and it really boiled my piss. In fact, that could have been the last one I listened to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Anyone know how to find JRE on Spotify.

Any time I've done a search it's all old podcasts from years back.

Do I need to reinstall Spotify.

Edit: reinstalling fixes it. Thanks

Anyone know how to find JRE on Spotify.

Any time I've done a search it's all old podcasts from years back.

Do I need to reinstall Spotify.

You probably just need to sort by date..

No reinstalling fixes it.
    Sorting by date didn't work before.
    Thanks.

Just watching the Elon Musk podcast there.

I am not a fanboy of Musk but it's amazing that the richest man in the world is so accessible and seemingly down to earth (no pun intended) and he's clearly a guy who thinks a lot about things.

Very interesting guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Just watching the Elon Musk podcast there.

I am not a fanboy of Musk but it's amazing that the richest man in the world is so accessible and seemingly down to earth (no pun intended) and he's clearly a guy who thinks a lot about things.

Very interesting guy.
    The Musk interview reminds me of what Bill Burr had to say about Steve Jobs. He gives no praise to the team of people who actually did the work.
    I couldn't warm to Musk at all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ew6fv9UUlQ8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I never realised people actually thought he was smart.

MadYaker wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,655 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Had a conversation at work the last day with two young fellas about Joe Rogan. They were big fans: "he's really smart. He reads loads."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

At one point he seemed quite open to listening to more intelligent people, which is a good sign of not being a moron yourself, but over the years he's got pretty insufferable and takes up far too much time with his own ideas/opinions. The most I listen to these days is when a clip starts trending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I used to watch the clips and a few of the interviews he did with people who never do interviews were good but since he moved to Spotify I've paid zero attention to him and I doubt I'm the only one. This thread has sure gotten quiet since he made the move.

I forgot the podcast existed tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

You can listen on Spotify without paying a cent. I wouldn't pay for it but it's handy background noise when out for a stroll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Laszlo Cravensworth

The JR podcasts can be very enjoyable as long as you cherry pick what to listen to. Most of the stand up comedian guest and navy seal podcasts are very boring and samey but every now and then you'll see him interview an interesting person.

I really don't like JR as a comedian. His material is just not appealing to me. He has zero comedic finesse or subtlety

The Professor Brian Greene episode was quite enjoyable. Joe talked a bit too much, as usual, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

I am now going to go and eat a breakfast of freshly hunted elk meat along with 2kg of vitamin D.

Dmt is good craic in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,818 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

The JR podcasts can be very enjoyable as long as you cherry pick what to listen to. Most of the stand up comedian guest and navy seal podcasts are very boring and samey but every now and then you'll see him interview an interesting person.

I really don't like JR as a comedian. His material is just not appealing to me. He has zero comedic finesse or subtlety

The Professor Brian Greene episode was quite enjoyable. Joe talked a bit too much, as usual, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

I am now going to go and eat a breakfast of freshly hunted elk meat along with 2kg of vitamin D.

Have to agree with the above a lot of guest are boring but every so often one is brilliant ,

Again as you said Brian Greene is always a good listen ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Joe himself hardly ever says anything too interesting

I get the feeling he is gullible type of guy

Any time there’s someone on making mad claims about ufos/paranormal joe completely accepts and believes what they are saying

Maybe that’s his act I dunno

Any time there’s someone on making mad claims about ufos/paranormal joe completely accepts and believes what they are saying

Actually he has been openly skeptical about paranormal stuff. As for ufos he has dismissed many famous stories like the skinwalker ranch.

The last episode with Josh Rogin is brilliant

https://youtu.be/nKOI2QkrmSA?t=103

Eventually they redecorated the studio to the old style. I was getting used to the red one, but I think i like the new one better

"Joe Rogan is a gateway to the ideology of the last person that he spoke to"

Another apt quote on Rogan.

Embarrassing for him. He had to backtrack. Spotify showing him who's boss.

He needs to accept he doesn't know everything. Leave some things to the experts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭robwen

6 wrote: »
    Embarrassing for him. He had to backtrack. Spotify showing him who's boss.

He needs to accept he doesn't know everything. Leave some things to the experts.

Hardly embarrassing for him going by that clip posted and more of a clarification (one he's made many times) rather than a backtrack.

Saying taking vaccine to stop the spread is a different argument... it's one of the main purposes of a vaccine. That's the issue everybody had with what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Saying taking vaccine to stop the spread is a different argument... it's one of the main purposes of a vaccine. That's the issue everybody had with what he said.

Said by someone who doesn't understand what a vaccine is trying to achieve. What's Texan for a me feiner?

hots wrote: »
    Said by someone who doesn't understand what a vaccine is trying to achieve. What's Texan for a me feiner?

Well he has form.

Moves to Texas to avoid paying taxes (and only 13 %, not like 40% or anything like that) and comes out with complete tangents about LA being "overcrowded" and Covid and not having the balls to admit the truth.
    “Also I think that where we live right here in LA is overcrowded. And I think, most of the time that’s not a problem,” Rogan said. “But I think it’s exposing the fact that it’s a real issue when you look at the number of people that uh, are catching COVID because of this overpopulation issue.”

never mind that he pretends to be socialist sometimes - endorsing Bernie Sanders and "supporting" a change to a socialist economy in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,038 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Sums it up really. "sometimes we're drunk or high and we stay stupid ****".

The Nal wrote: »
    Sums it up really. "sometimes we're drunk or high and we stay stupid ****".[/QUOTE

Well this is it really, he's said that loads of times and I think most listeners understand that.
    Yet when he does say something stupid (drunk or not) people who don't like him have a meltdown on Twitter (for e.g) "Oh my God! Rogan is so stupid! I can't believe he'd say that!"

He's qualified the show and explained his own intellectual failings a lot. And yet he's still judged to be something he clearly says he isn't by people that don't listen to the show.

He's just a variety entertainment podcast host.

Nobody is excused for coming out with dumb sh1t that could have serious effects like spreading Covid in this case among the population.

More especially in his case where he has a platform with a lot of listeners.

Not an insignificant % of which are the "trusting" sort to take what they hear as gospel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

glasso wrote: »
    Nobody is excused for coming out with dumb sh1t that could have serious effects like spreading Covid in this case among the population.

Not an insignificant % of which are the "trusting" sort to take what they hear as gospel.

No shortage of young Americans not interested in the vaccine anyway. Regardless of what Joe Rogan does or doesn't say

Such as the WHO back in March '' 20 saying there's no need to wear masks if you're not sick? Or throw in many examples like that (including our own Luke O'Neill) from experts in this field that was misguided.

Joe is a host of an entertainment show. Those who think he's more than that haven't been listening to the show and expect too much from a presenter that often says-don't listen to his advice.

humberklog wrote: »
    Such as the WHO back in March '' 20 saying there's no need to wear masks if you're not sick? Or throw in many examples like that (including our own Luke O'Neill) from experts in this field that was misguided.

Joe is a host of an entertainment show. Those who think he's more than that haven't been listening to the show and expect too much from a presenter that often says-don't listen to his advice.

your first point is whataboutery

the second point about what he might say about his own views is not actually valid if what he says actually does have a negative effect regardless

as has been shown in this case from surveys

(just click browse now - free to read)

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2021/05/03/joe-rogan-told-his-millions-listeners-not-take-his-anti-vaccine-advice-seriously-is-it-too-late/

Glasso, we won't agree so let's leave it there.

Well he has form.

Moves to Texas to avoid paying taxes (and only 13 %, not like 40% or anything like that) and comes out with complete tangents about LA being "overcrowded" and Covid and not having the balls to admit the truth.
    Meh, himself and a ton of the other comedians (Burr, Segura et al.) have been giving out about LA for years at this stage. Dr Drew (who kinda gives a **** about homelessness etc.) mentioned he was considering a run for governor because of how ****ed things are. Most of it pre-dates Covid as well. Who would want to pay any tax there? One of Burr's best bits is about sinking cruise ships and people just noticing day-by-day a few spots opening up on the highway, less queuing for coffee. :pac:
    Austin's been an obvious "up and coming" spot for close to a decade now. Liberal enough and artsy. Tech's been moving in, huge facility built for F1. Who wouldn't want to move there?

never mind that he pretends to be socialist sometimes - endorsing Bernie Sanders and "supporting" a change to a socialist economy in the US.
    I just put in $60k into a tax calculator for CA, take-home would be $3700 per month. Overall within a couple of per cent of what it is here on €50k. And while we may complain in Ireland you get an awful lot less return on those taxes in the States.
    I consider myself fairly socialist and don't mind paying tax. If I could easily move and increase my income by ~15% while sacrificing nothing in public services and getting access to cheaper land and housing would I be a hypocrite for doing it?

Sure no real problem doing it for tax reasons but at least be honest about it instead of the horse**** that he came out with

- "something something LA crowded something something Covid"