Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone else fed up of dating apps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    I merely wanted an explanation, I hadn't done anything to her, she was the one who wanted to keep in touch and I confronted her, I was being treated unfairly and I wasn't going to let it go that easy.

I was with you up till the final third of your story. I get that it can be rare to have these great nights with people and so it's very hard to let it go but unfortunately that's what you needed to do. We've all been there, I'd say.

When she said she wanted to be friends unless ye had friends in common what she really meant is that she wanted to leave it there. You were harbouring hope because social media allows us to maintain contact with people we're really not in contact with at all (again, I get it, we all do it).

But I think lashing out at her puts you in the wrong, even if I understand how it came to be. And though again I understand your general frustration with women they're free to do what they want, even if you think it's a waste of time; indeed, even if it is a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Feisar

I was stewing after not getting a text back, and I fired one more saying "and to think, I was actually going to send you flowers when you passed your exam, thanks, thanks for making me feel like s**t, sorry I bothered, have a nice life"

Stewing after not getting a txt back? Dude seriously? Please hand back yer man card ASAP.

Ya got a ride, read way to much into it, (To be fair not yer fault if you are not getting the leg over regularly.) and turned into a total bunny boiler.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

I'm not sure. I mean I sometimes match with a girl who looks great in the first few photos but then looks dreadful in the rest so I can't make my mind up. Or sometimes I match with a girl who could be attractive but they have silly filters with dogs ears and glasses. Theses wouldn't be young girls either.

I wouldn't give someone who uses Snapchat filters on a dating site the time of day.

A friend of mine went on a date with a girl he was chatting to off Tinder. She looked completely different in real life - she must have used filters for her face and her figure.
    He cut that date short.

Anyone using filters is only codding themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,916 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

You have no right to make that assumption, you know nothing about me.

Dude, you have written absolute reams on here about your issues with women over the years. There comes a time, and I've said this to you before, when you have to accept that there's only one common denominator in these scenarios and it's you.

As a wiser person than me once noted, women are not vending machines that you put "nice" into until sex comes out. I think you'd do very well to keep that in mind. Neither are they other-worldly goddess beings that need to be placed on pedestals. You seem to absolutely fixate on every woman who has ever given you so much as the time of day on these sites.

Seriously, you need to calm down.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I met my other half on a dating website. I was just over a breakup and wanted to date to take my mind off things. Went on three dates with one guy. He was really nice but we just didn't have a spark. Went on a date with my OH and we both knew pretty much straight away we were a good match and wanted to keep seeing each other. We are expecting our first child together.

I don't think I was up my own backside or anything like that, and it's everyone's prerogative (men and women) to say something is just not working out for them. Sometimes there is just no spark. It doesn't mean people are bad.

I only remember one guy being weird, and we hadn't even dated, just messaged. I had to cancel a coffee to bring my parents to the airport last minute, and he didn't like that. Started texting incessantly, then facebook prowled a bit. A few weeks later he saw a picture of me with my OH on facebook and sent me a message saying that "they are all the same" and that I'd "be sorry". Aside from that, everyone seemed normal and genuine.

• Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭bitofabind

Zcorpian your post reads like a textbook “what not to do” when dating and trying to attract women. I think this woman was overly polite and her biggest mistake was not cutting contact and instead feeding you the “busy but let’s be friends” cliche that we all drum up when we’re not interested in someone. I suppose she thought you’d get the hint but you went Helen in a hand basket nutso instead.

Find a counsellor and work on your self esteem. Hit the gym and blow off your steam there. Otherwise you’ll be back posting about this wan you shagged ages ago in a years time when she’s long since moved on with her life and forgotten you entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭lunamoon

If I found out my brother sent a picture of his nephew to a girl he once banged in a hope to get back into her knickers I would absolutely belt him with the back of a shoe. I think what others have said is right. She was just being polite by saying she still wanted to be friends, she should have cut contact immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Anyone else mistake the last word of the thread for 'apes' and expect the OP to be complaining about uncouth Irish males?

No, just me then...

bitofabind wrote: »
    Zcorpian your post reads like a textbook “what not to do” when dating and trying to attract women. I think this woman was overly polite and her biggest mistake was not cutting contact and instead feeding you the “busy but let’s be friends” cliche that we all drum up when we’re not interested in someone. I suppose she thought you’d get the hint but you went Helen in a hand basket nutso instead.

Find a counsellor and work on your self esteem. Hit the gym and blow off your steam there. Otherwise you’ll be back posting about this wan you shagged ages ago in a years time when she’s long since moved on with her life and forgotten you entirely.

Solid advice, hopefully the OP follows it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,721 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

Ah look, they are what you make of them. I have some great experiences, not so great experience, and also relationships come from them over the years. IMO Tinder ruined the whole thing by making it more of a "game". It's a double edged sword because it made online dating less taboo but then you got a bunch of people joining just for the craic with no intention of actually trying to meet someone.

I have an account at the mo. I'll check it now and then. If someone takes the time to send me a message that goes beyond "hi hw ru?", has a photo up, and has actually made an effort to fill in a profile, I'll usually respond if even just to say I'm not interested. Unfortunately, even in that case I've had to block men who just turn nasty right away and inform me I'm only a stuck up b1tch anyway.

If someone messages me with a 5 word message and a blank profile, I won't reply. If they send me the same ****ing message 3 times over the space of 2 weeks, I'll block them.

If I'm interested in someone, I've no qualms about messaging him first.

I talk to one person at a time usually. I've no interest in dating as a hobby and I don't go on 2-3 dates every week. I could, given the messages I get, but that would be dating people I have no interest in just for the sake of dating. Why would I waste someone's time like that? To be clear, I'm an average enough looking early 30s female. Maybe a little alternative in my lifestyle and look but that's the height of anything setting me apart. I'm just not your stereotypical "i luv drinks wit me mates at the weekends" type. So if I don't get conversation out of someone early on that indicates they have a brain that isn't in their pants, I move on. I'm quite content with my life. I'd like to meet someone but I'm not going to settle just for the sake of being in a relationship. I've never been like that.

I'll only meet somone if I've a fair idea that we'll click. Years ago, I got that wrong a few times! In recent years, most "first dates" have turned into relationships so it looks like I'm getting it right (well, aside from the breaking up part! ;) ).

I wish people would stop ****ting in dating apps. They work but not for everyone. If it's not working for you, try something else. The world is a big place once you get out from behind the computer screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Your gender determines everything on dating websites and apps.
    Have a vagina? well expect your inbox to be hopping from all the guys messaging you. Your looks don't matter. Your weight does not matter. As long as you have that vagina.
    Have a cock? get used to seeing tumleweeds in your inbox :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭S.G.M.

usually respond if even just to say I'm not interested.

I really appreciate when a woman does this. It just gives ya a definitive answer cos I've messaged a few times in the past in case my first message was missed or didn't land. I do know a lot of guys get offended and come out with 'ur not tht hot anyway' etc so I don't blame women for ignoring us. Frankly, how we get any replies is a miracle.
    I actually have gotten 'sorry I didn't see your messages' quite a bit and we just take it from there, I've also gotten silence which the women probably think I'm a clown etc with my 'ok plan C' messages lol
    I never take these sites seriously unless ya get chatting to a woman that excites me.
    As a guy anyway, you have to be able to laugh at yourself on them or you're better off to stay clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Met my other half through it and I have nothing but good things to say about Tinder at least. The main thing that used to be tiring and boring was the effort you would put into a conversation only to get just the answer and no question back or interest in you from the other side.

Draining stuff, and a whiff of entitlement that it's upto one person to keep and get the conversation going all the time. Like they're waiting for you to pull out some amazing one liner or witty repose in relation to their profile. That is replete with obscure one liner quote that makes them look edgy. They were generally the most boring.

Then there were some great matches who were brilliant people, some ending in dates that unfortunately didn't go anywhere after but eventually one of them went on to another, then another.....and now I have a wonderful Girlfriend who I would have never met without tinder.

Just be clear from the outset with what you want and engage someone who isn't boring and can actually hold a conversation and you're golden. Also calm down on the judgement of people on profile pics with 500 filters. There's much more to a person than looks and that gets so lost on those dating apps. The instant attraction you have with someone in real life is generally rooted in how your personalities click in that moment, that takes time to get across in the digital world.

So don't give up on it as there is someone on another phone somewhere looking for what you're looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,478 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Your gender determines everything on dating websites and apps.
    Have a vagina? well expect your inbox to be hopping from all the guys messaging you. Your looks don't matter. Your weight does not matter. As long as you have that vagina.
    Have a cock? get used to seeing tumleweeds in your inbox :pac:

That's bollocks. I honestly wasn't able to keep up with all the messages on Bumble and Tinder sometimes so I'd have to stop swiping. It's you, not the women!

Well I mean so many men you see in relationship issues here saying they can't get a date or a girl they met on tinder doesn't want to see them any more.
    They also live at home are between jobs suffer from OCD and depression have a kid with a woman who hates them etc...
    If you have your sh*t together and look after yourself it's just as rewarding for men as it is for women.
    Oh and know your audience, you should be able to gauge your level of attractiveness and what you should be looking for in return, instead of getting frustrated and bitchy if some super hot girl doesn't respond to your message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Ah look, they are what you make of them. I have some great experiences, not so great experience, and also relationships come from them over the years. IMO Tinder ruined the whole thing by making it more of a "game". It's a double edged sword because it made online dating less taboo but then you got a bunch of people joining just for the craic with no intention of actually trying to meet someone.

I have an account at the mo. I'll check it now and then. If someone takes the time to send me a message that goes beyond "hi hw ru?", has a photo up, and has actually made an effort to fill in a profile, I'll usually respond if even just to say I'm not interested. Unfortunately, even in that case I've had to block men who just turn nasty right away and inform me I'm only a stuck up b1tch anyway.

If someone messages me with a 5 word message and a blank profile, I won't reply. If they send me the same ****ing message 3 times over the space of 2 weeks, I'll block them.

If I'm interested in someone, I've no qualms about messaging him first.

I talk to one person at a time usually. I've no interest in dating as a hobby and I don't go on 2-3 dates every week. I could, given the messages I get, but that would be dating people I have no interest in just for the sake of dating. Why would I waste someone's time like that? To be clear, I'm an average enough looking early 30s female. Maybe a little alternative in my lifestyle and look but that's the height of anything setting me apart. I'm just not your stereotypical "i luv drinks wit me mates at the weekends" type. So if I don't get conversation out of someone early on that indicates they have a brain that isn't in their pants, I move on. I'm quite content with my life. I'd like to meet someone but I'm not going to settle just for the sake of being in a relationship. I've never been like that.

I'll only meet somone if I've a fair idea that we'll click. Years ago, I got that wrong a few times! In recent years, most "first dates" have turned into relationships so it looks like I'm getting it right (well, aside from the breaking up part! ;) ).

I wish people would stop ****ting in dating apps. They work but not for everyone. If it's not working for you, try something else. The world is a big place once you get out from behind the computer screen.

Why do people swipe right if they’re just going to tell the other person they’re not interested? Speaking from a male perspective but know of guys who do the same!

Surely if you’re not interested from the offest you’d just swipe left from the get go?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

I was on this thread yesterday and ressurected my old POF profile....

Same old story, it reminded of a photo album of Ireland's most wanted....

The same narcissistic cluster b people who were there the last time.
    So I decided to mail the usual psychopath she's from Loughreagh Co Galway
    She always starts off nice, then by message 6 she's asking will I bring her out for cocktails.
    I message her back sure you know that I don't drink anyhow we decided that we're only going to meet for coffee because it was established that we're looking for something different, what's the point in me buying you cocktails all evening while I'm having a few coffee's...

Then the drama kicks off, what kind of man are you ?
    I'm old school...yada yada yada
    The last man I met came here 3 time's and bought me cocktails all night.

I'm 44 she's 51
    An absolute classy bird, reminds me of Patsy Stone on absolutely fabulous...

No doubt she'll be back again with the good old, my my my aren't you a tall dark and handsome....

She's always pissed I'd say...

bless

So why are you talking to her at all?

Were you situated in a city or a more rural area?

Why do people swipe right if they’re just going to tell the other person they’re not interested? Speaking from a male perspective but know of guys who do the same!

Surely if you’re not interested from the offest you’d just swipe left from the get go?

Sometimes I would swipe without thinking about it too much and then if they message you you look at more pictures and shudder and realise it was a mistake and don't reply and delete them.

S.G.M. wrote: »
    Were you situated in a city or a more rural area?

Dublin city baby

I think she means sites like Plenty of Fish where any guy can message her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

I merely wanted an explanation, I hadn't done anything to her, she was the one who wanted to keep in touch and I confronted her, I was being treated unfairly and I wasn't going to let it go that easy.

I was being the nice guy at the end of it, she instigated my reaction.

And I hate that saying "whatever's meant for you won't pass you" ugh...

I have relatives still single in their 50s and 60's, the thought of that for me makes me want to puke really.

Jesus! It’s lads like you that make the idea of having a daughter a terrifying prospect!

“I wanted an explanation”
    “I wasn’t going to let it go that easy”

Get a grip man

Dublin city baby
    Ah ok. Id love to try a big city sometime. Would be nice not knowing every woman around my age in 30km radius.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Also calm down on the judgement of people on profile pics with 500 filters. There's much more to a person than looks and that gets so lost on those dating apps.

Some are using filters to do the point of looking like a completely different person. That's borderline catfishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,153 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Research for this thread, obviously.

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭zapper55

The amount of times I'd get a message from a guy, think he's attractive then read his profile only to have my heart sink because he's written something bitchy or passive aggressive about women or dating apps.

There seems to be an idea on here that every woman is looking for some sort of Greek God, completely oblivious that there's something on their profile that puts women off.

Funnily enough the very attractive men usually has shirtless selfies or be hugging their fancy car which guaranteed I'd never respond to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Its very difficult to find someone who shares your vision of the future on there.

You are absolutely hilarious. Aren't you a medium? Can't you just wander off into the void and see the future?

I was being the nice guy at the end of it, she instigated my reaction.

Nobody owes you an explanation, and you blame her for losing your temper? Wow...
    she friendzoned me after the second date, which I thought was a bit unfair, didn't really keep in touch with her.

Unfair? That's some real incel shít right there. What would have been a "fair" outcome in your opinion?

r/niceguys

Just some research on behalf of the thread.
    A lot of these male and female loons are off their Chuck.

It's just as people are saying here about POF
    full of misfits mixed in with the odd reasonable sane person.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

This is funny

zapper55 wrote: »
    The amount of times I'd get a message from a guy, think he's attractive then read his profile only to have my heart sink because he's written something bitchy or passive aggressive about women or dating apps.

There seems to be an idea on here that every woman is looking for some sort of Greek God, completely oblivious that there's something on their profile that puts women off.

Funnily enough the very attractive men usually has shirtless selfies or be hugging their fancy car which guaranteed I'd never respond to them.

Will you check out my profile, give me a few pointers if I'm going wrong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,121 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I had a great time while I was on them, several relationships along with a couple heart breaks.

Met my girlfriend on it back in January after three dates with another girl. Knew straight away that the spark was there and it's been fantastic.

Also had the pleasure to meet many wonderful women, and a couple of absolutely amazing, talented, intelligent and beautiful women with whom any man would be lucky to be with but who just weren't right for me.

I'm a relatively tall, built handsome chap who's intelligent, witty, and many other good attributes so I had a very good experience, but it startles me to read how bitter and misguided some of the lads are on there.

If women as a whole aren't into you, they aren't the problem. YOU are, so do some introspection /work on yourself / therapy and sort your self out.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Sottol

As I started to read through the thread I was tempted to reactivate my tinder account. Now I’m at the end I feel it would definitely be a bad idea!
    From a female perspective I would say I found it tough for a guy to suggest or agree to meeting. I didn’t want to chat endlessly on some app running out of things to talk about. Interesting that the guys here say they found it tough to get a woman to meet with them. Perhaps 99% of people on it just like the ego boost or having the chats.

I'm a relatively tall, built handsome chap who's intelligent, witty, and many other good attributes so I had a very good experience, but it startles me to read how bitter and misguided some of the lads are on there.

You sound like great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Sottol wrote: »
    As I started to read through the thread I was tempted to reactivate my tinder account. Now I’m at the end I feel it would definitely be a bad idea!
    From a female perspective I would say I found it tough for a guy to suggest or agree to meeting. I didn’t want to chat endlessly on some app running out of things to talk about. Interesting that the guys here say they found it tough to get a woman to meet with them. Perhaps 99% of people on it just like the ego boost or having the chats.

Was only reading this yesterday, interesting read

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/the-attraction-doctor/201909/tinder-dating-can-you-find-love-or-just-lust

What is it with people on AH and their absolute bitterness towards anyone who's happy with their looks/life/personality and confident enough to admit it? It's bizarre.

I sound like someone with a lot of dating experience. But don't let that cloud your judgement.
    Dial Hard wrote: »
    What is it with people on AH and their absolute bitterness towards anyone who's happy with their looks/life/personality and confident enough to admit it? It's bizarre.

I know right?

Self loathing, lack of self esteem and a lack of awareness or lack of desire to tackle it. Much easier to externalise the loathing than examine the self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭Homelander

I'm a remarkably average looking guy with a serious dad bod and I have no trouble talking to, and meeting with, women from Tinder or POF. It's where I've meet all of my last few exes (definitely all better looking than me). It's really not that hard once you put in some proper, genuine effort. Anyone who claims they can't get anywhere....unless you're horrifically disfigured, the problem is definitely you, or how you're putting yourself out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Sottol wrote: »
    Interesting that the guys here say they found it tough to get a woman to meet with them.

Well they used to say lonely hearts ads were a good place to meet a serial killer...

Dial Hard wrote:
    I call it arrogance. Humility is a nice asset.

There's a yawning gulf between arrogance and confidence.

Dial Hard wrote:
    There's a yawning gulf between arrogance and confidence.

True but I put it firmly in the camp of arrogance as the part after how he described himself was him looking down on other guys in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

True but I put it firmly in the camp of arrogance as the part after how he described himself was him looking down on other guys in this thread.

Its not hard when you consider some of the bitter, self entitled bile being spewed here. I'd hope that most men would look down on other guys with such attitudes.

SusieBlue wrote:
    Its not hard when you consider some of the bitter, self entitled bile being spewed here. I'd hope that most men would look down on other guys with such attitudes.

You should never look down on anyone imo. It's right they are called out on their crap and it's obvious that they have to work on themselves if they view women negatively but to think you're better than them, is a poor way to be and shows a lot about your own character.

I call it arrogance. Humility is a nice asset.

It's only arrogance if you can't back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

You should never look down on anyone imo. It's right they are called out on their crap and it's obvious that they have to work on themselves if they view women negatively but to think you're better than them, is a poor way to be and shows a lot about your own character.

Pot calling kettle black there. You yourself judged and looked down on PP for being "arrogant" and not having "humility".
    Double standards? Or are they only ok when you're being nasty about women?

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Pot calling kettle black there. You yourself judged and looked down on PP for being "arrogant" and not having "humility".
    Double standards? Or are they only ok when you're being nasty about women?

I didn't look down on him, I called him out for what I felt was poor behaviour as I would do to any guy that was nasty to women as I stated earlier. I don't appreciate the last comment at all as I have a lot of female friends and I see the **** they go through when it comes to dating. A lot is frankly terrifying so don't throw that dirt my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I had a great time while I was on them, several relationships along with a couple heart breaks.

Met my girlfriend on it back in January after three dates with another girl. Knew straight away that the spark was there and it's been fantastic.

Also had the pleasure to meet many wonderful women, and a couple of absolutely amazing, talented, intelligent and beautiful women with whom any man would be lucky to be with but who just weren't right for me.

If women as a whole aren't into you, they aren't the problem. YOU are, so do some introspection /work on yourself / therapy and sort your self out.

Biggest load of shi*e i've read on here in a while... and thats saying something!
    I'd expect shi*e like that to be said on some dating forum. Like "look at me girls... i'm a nice guy" angle. But ffs :pac:

I didn't look down on him, I called him out for what I felt was poor behaviour as I would do to any guy that was nasty to women as I stated earlier. I don't appreciate the last comment at all as I have a lot of female friends and I see the **** they go through when it comes to dating. A lot is frankly terrifying so don't throw that dirt my way.
    I'm 25 and not a bad looking fella but I'm not the type where a woman will take a second look and I find online dating quite poor. I'm in a rural enough area so not close to any of the major cities in Ireland. Ive personally never had any luck with matches or replies from the women I want to get to know but I know people that get on quite well. The best looking people get on the best (obviously) but I've firmly veered away from online dating sites now and am focusing on real world interactions.

You reacted because you're (by your own admission) not a guy that women will give a second glance to, and my confidence caused anger. Simples.

Plus add in your rural background (both geographically and culturally) where nobody talks like this, and it was always going to ruffle your feathers.

Like I said, take a look at yourself first. See why you react rather than where you direct your reaction.