Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

ShaneU's Walrus - The Reveal (Mod: no quoting videos)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,941 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

In 21st place with 1 point is
    CJ Maxx
    Chumbawamba - Tubthumping

Have I listened to this artist before? Yes
    Have I listened to this song before? Yes

Sorry but this song wrecks my head at this point. It was on the FIFA road to the world cup '98 soundtrack which I played to death and I must have heard it 1000 times by now. If it came out more recently it would score higher but I'm just sick of hearing it at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,149 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

ShaneU wrote: »
    In 2nd place with 20 points is
    Mustang Shelly
    AC/DC - Thunderstruck

The build up at the start is perfect for pumping up the crowd and then the drums and “THUNDER” kick in. Just an epic song.

well played Shelly, excellent choice!!

In 1st place with 21 points is
    The Purple Tin
    Iron Maiden - Run To The Hills

Remember when I said I didn't like Metal? There are exceptions! :pac:

Brilliant pick here. Drums are banging, guitar is fantastic. Telling your opponent to run for their life. It has it all!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

In 3rd place with 19 points is
    Necro
    Sia - The Greatest

A fantastic choice. I could totally see Muhammad Ali coming out to this :D

Woo hoo! I came across this song a while back when researching entrance themes for my PW Draft write ups in 2019, ended up writing a long ass entrance to it for one of my picks and realised I was projecting :D

It's been my own entrance music ever since ;)

Top two were great in fairness. Thunderstruck is such a great choice in particular, that build up is unreal.

When can we expect the next entry Shane?

Might it be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,495 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

In 21st place with 1 point is
    CJ Maxx
    Chumbawamba - Tubthumping

A guilty pleasure tune, still like it

Next round is tomorrow at 8pm

Olympic Peehs is on Saturday night and Kolido's Surlaw is on Sunday so don't know after Friday :confused:

Next round is tomorrow at 8pm

Olympic Peehs is on Saturday night and Kolido's Surlaw is on Sunday so don't know after Friday :confused:

Peehs is Sunday, so I *think* Saturday might be free

Please enjoy this interactive table :D

Name Making an Entrance Piano Perfection Driving Miss Walrus Disco Fever True Colours Hindsight is 2020 Total
    The Purple Tin 21 21
    Mustang Shelly 20 20
    Necro 19 19
    Sawduck 18 18
    Homer J. Fong 17 17
    Osh 17 17
    JP Liz V1 15 15
    Beakerjoe 14 14
    RasTa 13 13
    Irish Aris 12 12
    Kolido 11 11
    LeVar 10 10
    Gru 9 9
    Deja Boo 8 8
    Green&Red 7 7
    y0ssarian22 6 6
    FixXxer 5 5
    JohnGreenFan 4 4
    S1ppy 3 3
    Pretzill 2 2
    CJ Maxx 1 1

Necro wrote: »
    Peehs is Sunday, so I *think* Saturday might be free
    Kolido's is on Saturday I got them mixed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Pretzill
    Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov - The Flight of the Bumble Bee

Brilliant choice!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The Purple Tin

Brilliant pick here. Drums are banging, guitar is fantastic. Telling your opponent to run for their life. It has it all!
    Cool! It's my second ever no. 1 :)
    To be clear, it would be me running for my life. Picture the scene: A packed stadium. Steve Harris's iconic galloping bassline comes blasting from the PA, the crowd go wild, a spotlight fills the entrance tunnel and...
    I have legged it through the fire escape and am booting it up the main street in my dressing gown and boxing gloves looking for a taxi :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,221 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

In 2nd place with 20 points is
    Mustang Shelly
    AC/DC - Thunderstruck

The build up at the start is perfect for pumping up the crowd and then the drums and “THUNDER” kick in. Just an epic song.
    The Purple Tin

2 great picks. what tunes! they were on my shortlist as well, but have given myself the unofficial policy of not entering the same song into different comps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

What a round, one I knew Is enjoy.... my thoughts.

A fair bit Eminem. I wouldnt choose either though over Til I collapse or even Fight Music with D12.

Lots of Fallout Boy too, I feel thanks 4 the memoirs is more a PPV theme song for an overall show rather than a entrance song and Centuries is a dull affair.

Johnny Cash is a great choice though should have been higher.

Cochise would be my own Aufioslave choice..... I miss Chris too. Sadface.

My oen choice was a no brainer, but I had thought of others.

RATM's Sleep now in the fire, Puff Daddys Come with me or even Metalicas For whom the bells tolls would have been highly highly considered.

Would they have scored highly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

great choices, but I still think Pink Panther outscores them all :D...the intrigue, lol

beakerjoe wrote: »

RATM's Sleep now in the fire, Puff Daddys Come with me or even Metalicas For whom the bells tolls would have been highly highly considered.

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,221 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

beakerjoe wrote: »
    What a round, one I knew Is enjoy.... my thoughts.

A fair bit Eminem. I wouldnt choose either though over Til I collapse or even Fight Music with D12.

Lots of Fallout Boy too, I feel thanks 4 the memoirs is more a PPV theme song for an overall show rather than a entrance song and Centuries is a dull affair.

Johnny Cash is a great choice though should have been higher.

Cochise would be my own Aufioslave choice..... I miss Chris too. Sadface.

My oen choice was a no brainer, but I had thought of others.

i get 1 lyric stuck in my head that applies...'i'm gonna make you bend and break'. that suits the theme, lets go with that.

this song is so good, prob not suited to this round but 2 geniuses that were best mates :(:

Tonight at 8pm it's time for....

PianoPerfectionLogo.jpg

Here's a few of my favourite Piano songs to get you in the mood

Nina Simone - My Baby Just Cares For Me

Yiruma - River Flows in You

Marc Cohn - Walking in Memphis

Alicia Keys - No One

Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons - December, 1963 (This would also have done well in the Disco round ;))

And of course you didn't think I'd leave out ABBA did you? :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Love Walking in Memphis.

There'd better be some songs by that famious black artist Billy Joel in this round.

Don't think Kol is playing so unlikely ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,480 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

I was going to go with Alicia Keyes No One but given how poorly she did in the greatest song by a woman I figured it was too dodgy.

84853552.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

I Entered a song that I have entered in a different competition unfortunately it was overlook in that one, hope it fares better in this

I'm unsure what to expect with this one, could go either way for me. It's a brilliant tune with an arguably "iconic" (yeah, I know that word is overused) piano riff....but it's also a relatively simple riff that serves more as the 'rhythm' section, with other instruments providing the 'lead'.

If Shane is judging on the quality of the song as a whole, I hope I'll do well here. If he's mainly judging the piano component.....well, I hope he enjoys my driving song at least! :o

Mine is a bit of an unknown and a very simple song, so I don't expect much. . . but I guess you never know. . .

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Sawduck wrote: »
    I Entered a song that I have entered in a different competition unfortunately it was overlook in that one, hope it fares better in this

If it’s Goo Goo dolls you can GTFU

I’ve entered the best version of one of the greatest love songs of all time

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

af29c0f405cc1f3b796cbbd555725d2e.gif

We ready?

giphy.gif

In 11th place with 11 points is
    Deja Boo
    Billy Joel – New York State of Mind

You didn’t think we’d have a piano walrus without the Piano Man himself did you? I’ve heard this maybe once or twice before but after a few listens I really like it. The saxophone three minutes in is great.

quickbeam wrote: »

There'd better be some songs by that famious black artist Billy Joel in this round.

Good woman, Deja!

In 12th place with 10 points is
    Gru
    Evanescence – My Immortal

A powerful haunting song. I like the strings in this as much as the piano. If more of their songs were like this I’d be a big fan but everything else I’ve heard from them doesn’t do it for me. They just had to squeeze in 40 seconds of unnecessary rock at the three minute mark otherwise it would have placed higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,421 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

In 12th place with 10 points is
    Gru
    Evanescence – My Immortal

A powerful haunting song. I like the strings in this as much as the piano. If more of their songs were like this I’d be a big fan but everything else I’ve heard from them doesn’t do it for me. They just had to squeeze in 40 seconds of unnecessary rock at the three minute mark otherwise it would have placed higher.

Beautiful song, there is a non rock version, do you know which version was nominated?

Kolido wrote: »
    Beautiful song, there is a non rock version, do you know which version was nominated?
    It just said Evanescence - My Immortal

In 10th place with 12 points is
    RasTa
    Oscar Peterson – C Jam Blues

Have I listened to this artist before? No
    Have I listened to this song before? No

Would have loved to be around when Jazz bars were popular and this kind of music was playing. It’s just not the same watching old videos of it. Love the piano in this, it’s very creative. Like the title says he seems like he’s just jamming and coming up with it on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭Gru

Kolido wrote: »

shhhh its fine, i did know the album version (without the unnecessary rock bits :D ) better than the "official video version" but tis grand, all in the name of fun of course*! :pac:

*if i by some miracle lose out on the win of this Walrus based on points i could have got in this round....well then i'll be mad....

In 13th place with 9 points is
    Pretzill
    Billy Joel - Prelude/Angry Young Man

Everyone’s favourite Black pianist returns! Sing us another song Piano Man! So the prelude part is great, especially when it gets fast. The second part is completely different and more of what I’d expect from Billy Joel. The synth at 3:30 was an unexpected surprise.

Fantastic choice, Pretzil! Love that song too.

Am surprised you scored it lower than New York State of Mind though, I much prefer this one.

In 10th place with 12 points is
    RasTa
    Oscar Peterson – C Jam Blues

Would have loved to be around when Jazz bars were popular and this kind of music was playing. It’s just not the same watching old videos of it. Love the piano in this, it’s very creative. Like the title says he seems like he’s just jamming and coming up with it on the spot.

a great choice!! When I went through my jazz phase, the Oscar Peterson Trio was among my favourite jazz artists!!

In 9th place with 13 points is
    Sawduck
    Agnes Obel – Riverside

Really enjoyed this, a very haunting sound to it. A new artist for me to explore for sure.

In 14th place with 8 points is
    JohnGreenFan
    Niall Horan – Put A Little Love On Me

Ah good aul Niall from Mullingar. I’ve liked a few of his solo songs already but haven’t heard this one. It’s a really nice ballad. For someone from a naff boyband he’s put out some really good material on his own. I think he should just ditch the rest of them at this stage.

In 8th place with 14 points is
    Kolido
    Christina Perri – Jar of Hearts

I don’t think I’ve heard this before but it sounds strangely familiar. I like how the song gradually builds and the strings are brilliant.

In 14th place with 8 points is
    JohnGreenFan
    Niall Horan – Put A Little Love On Me

Ah good aul Niall from Mullingar. I’ve liked a few of his solo songs already but haven’t heard this one. It’s a really nice ballad. For someone from a naff boyband he’s put out some really good material on his own. I think he should just ditch the rest of them at this stage.

I believe One Direction have parted ways with a few years now ;)

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I believe One Direction have parted ways with a few years now ;)
    Glad to hear it :p

In 15th place with 7 points is
    FixXxer
    Scott D. Davis – Nothing Else Matters

Okay, confession time. I listen to a lot of piano solo covers of songs, there’s a guy on YouTube called The Theorist who’s particularly good. I really like the Metallica version and Scott does his best to transfer it to piano. I was wondering how he would do the guitar solo and he somehow pulled it off.

In 7th place with 15 points is
    Mustang Shelly
    Gary Jules (feat. Michael Andrews) – Mad World

One of the best covers ever and one of the best Christmas number ones ever. I know it best from the advert for Gears of War because I’m a huge nerd. Unlucky not to place higher.

In 16th place with 6 points is
    Green&Red
    Wille Nelson – Always On My Mind

I always liked the Elvis version of this song and I enjoyed this country version too but I’d choose Elvis first. Willie just doesn’t have the same vocal range as The King.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Jaysus there are some absolute crackers in this round, except Niall Horan haha i don't like him

In 6th place with 16 points is
    Osh
    Nick Drake – One Of These Things First

I’m a big fan of this man. Unfortunately he didn’t achieve fame during his life and it’s one of the saddest stories in music. A special talent who would have been a huge star if he had the technology available today to share his music.