Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harvey Weinstein scandal (Mod warning in op.)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭allym

I would think that’s highly likely to be a hoax made by someone with anti-Israeli sentiment.

Of course none of us could know that for a fact but just my initial thoughts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    What do people think is the real motivation for the numerous (very) minor celebs who have rushed to twitter today to make remarks about - or even claim to have been a victim of - the unnamed Irish celeb?

No idea, I just hope their first thought was to go to the guards (especially the one who claimed to be raped).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,972 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

It points to him because of the "comedians don't like me because I'm successful" quote, but then Neil Delamere is one of the people in that twitter thread saying "fair play, don't take any abuse", but is happy to work on the same radio station?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    What do people think is the real motivation for the numerous (very) minor celebs who have rushed to twitter today to make remarks about - or even claim to have been a victim of - the unnamed Irish celeb?

I haven't a clue what any of this is about :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

rusty cole wrote: »
    the author says the memory haunts her 13 yrs later.
    this means it's in 2004, the year gadot was 18 and touring for miss world
    it also says she was in Ireland on a fashion shoot at the weekend of the rape.
    wouldn't take a genius to poke holes in that story id imagine.

if it's false you'd sort it quickly.

That's the weird thing about the article, its really detailed in so many places and touches on some very specific instances and time frames which if someone was making crap up, you would think they would avoid and be more vague so as to make debunking the story much harder.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

Got to say that Gal Gadot story reads in a way that feels false. Especially, as has been pointed out, the bit about her hatred of Palestinians. I'd be the first to point out the human rights abuses committed by Israel but that still read as anti-Israeli propaganda to me.

Maybe I'm wrong and Gal is an enabler and a hypocrite but that really did not feel authentic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-In case any one missed the ADMIN warning, Do not name the Irish person alleged to have done something. Bans from After Hours will be forthcoming for transgressors and the admins may take it further than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

Conspectus wrote: »
    Mod-In case any one missed the ADMIN warning, Do not name the Irish person alleged to have done something. Bans from After Hours will be forthcoming for transgressors and the admins may take it further than that.

I'm not going to name anyone. But I will put this publicly available article here for everyone to see:

https://www.thejournal.ie/al-porter-allegations-today-fm-statement-3703725-Nov2017/

• Registered Users Posts: 874 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

The front page headline of the UK Times (Ireland edition) tomorrow reads: Al Porter Sex Pest Claims

This appears to be on the lower end of the scale compared to what Weinstein was involved in. In the current climate, will Porter manage to weather this or will his employers cut him loose. He has a number of high profile gigs with TV3 and Today FM. It will be interesting to see how they react to these allegations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

A very good musical on here in Belfast this weekend on the whole issue of harassment called Cosi Fan Tutte. Very topical and I enjoyed it throughly. In general it comes down on the side that women enjoy being harassed and do yield in the end, having no loyalty to one man. And for men, it encourages that perseverance is the key, and not to be deterred by a woman saying no initially, that they just have to be a little more forceful. Running a little counter to some of the current mood but raises some interesting questions, has some lovely tunes, and the applause from the crowd at the end was very enthusiastic.
    On for the next few days and well worth going to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 874 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

A very good musical on here in Belfast this weekend on the whole issue of harassment called Cosi Fan Tutte. Very topical and I enjoyed it throughly. In general it comes down on the side that women enjoy being harassed and do yield in the end, having no loyalty to one man. And for men, it encourages that perseverance is the key, and not to be deterred by a woman saying no initially, that they just have to be a little more forceful. Running a little counter to some of the current mood but raises some interesting questions, has some lovely tunes, and the applause from the crowd at the end was very enthusiastic.
    On for the next few days and well worth going to see.

Perhaps you should avoid the comedies and pay more attention to the story of Tarquinius and Lucretia as per your username.

Your shtick is wearing thin.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

So now the writers of Transparent are looking into the possibility of cancelling the show, or writing out Jeffrey Tambor-he seems to have a thing for Trans actresses. As in likes to harass em.
    Two trans-women have accused him so far.

Well-here's one secret Family Guy and American Dad have possibly kept to themselves-Lost actor's daughter accuses one of their writers of rape.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5094689/Girls-writer-reported-police-RAPE.html

So now the writers of Transparent are looking into the possibility of cancelling the show, or writing out Jeffrey Tambor-he seems to have a thing for Trans actresses. As in likes to harass em.
    Two trans-women have accused him so far.

Well-here's one secret Family Guy and American Dad have possibly kept to themselves-Lost actor's daughter accuses one of their writers of rape.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5094689/Girls-writer-reported-police-RAPE.html

Lena Dunham has form for that, in the past she has repeatedly attacked people accused of sexual assault but only if she isn't friends with them. She was quite happy to work with Terry Richardson and then defend him when she was called on being a hypocrite. Also, her own biography has some pretty twisted stuff in it that she did when she was younger. Granted she was a child at the time but that she wanted the world to know all about it is creepy.

She also had a go at Odell Beckham Jr last year for not speaking to her at a Gala event they both attended and then tried to imply that he did so because he was unable to comprehend what a beautiful woman like Lena Dunham was doing in a tuxedo. She never made the effort to speak with him but she's a perpetual victim and spends more time apologising than anything else.

In relation to a certain Irish celebrity who is on the front page of some newspapers today, I have heard from a couple of people that this celebrity's very public discussion of his mental health issues was nothing but a fantasy to get him into the papers and that after the interview he told people what a great actor he was for making people think he had mental health issues.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

While I would take any utterance by Lena Dunham with a large pinch of salt, the statement she released(co signed by others I gather?) contained this part: "our insider knowledge of Murray's situation makes us confident that sadly this accusation is one of the 3% of assault cases that are misreported every year". That insider knowledge may be that the chap is gay and unlikely to be involved in the sexual assault of a woman?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    While I would take any utterance by Lena Dunham with a large pinch of salt, the statement she released(co signed by others I gather?) contained this part: "our insider knowledge of Murray's situation makes us confident that sadly this accusation is one of the 3% of assault cases that are misreported every year". That insider knowledge may be that the chap is gay and unlikely to be involved in the sexual assault of a woman?

23667508_10155807312525097_1238219751_n.jpg?oh=a60bd805bf1e7098f81522527802fd34&oe=5A123523

Seems that women can lie about rape but only when it's about someone Lena Dunham knows.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

23667508_10155807312525097_1238219751_n.jpg?oh=a60bd805bf1e7098f81522527802fd34&oe=5A123523

Seems that women can lie about rape but only when it's about someone Lena Dunham knows.

Lena Dunham is a dead-eyed, talentless **** with a very dangerous agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I quite like Dunham's work but she is a tortuous, hypocritical, privileged little cnut. This is what happens when you give kids too much self esteem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Max Keiser tweets..
    Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences @TheAcademy - rolls out new design for this year’s Oscars to be renamed ‘The Weinstein’.
    DO7iqi7VAAAXykt.jpg:large

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Malayalam wrote: »
    Max Keiser tweets..
    Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences @TheAcademy - rolls out new design for this year’s Oscars to be renamed ‘The Weinstein’.

A bit of an insult to the penis though..

It's Weinstein who's the sick predator & power-hungry rapist, nothing at all to with sex or the penis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Mr.Wemmick wrote: »
    A bit of an insult to the penis though..

It's Weinstein who's the sick predator & power-hungry rapist, nothing at all to with sex or the penis.

Yes, true.
    I think it was more like an ironic comment on how to get a hold of an oscar one might have had to first hold his penis.

But your point is correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Malayalam wrote: »
    Yes, true.
    I think it was more like an ironic comment on how to get a hold of an oscar one might have had to first hold his penis.

But your point is correct.

With horrible men like Weinstein who live to destroy and damage those around them..

The balance is to remember all the beautifully natured, kind, decent, hardworking, respectful men in the world, of which there are many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Lena Dunham is a dead-eyed, talentless **** with a very dangerous agenda.

It's one thing to be stupid enough to think that but to make it public and permanent borders on critically stupid.
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duke_lacrosse_case

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Ah here, who's next? Jesus himself.

Aled Jones is axed by the BBC amid allegations of sexual harassment

Songs of Praise host Aled Jones has been suspended by the BBC over claims he sexually harassed a female colleague.

The former choirboy, who shot to fame for his Christmas cover of Walking In The Air in the 1980s, has not been on the BBC since October 22 as a result of an investigation into the claims.

467E23BE00000578-5096683-image-m-19_1511050148080.jpg

The married father-of-two, 46, is accused of sending inappropriate messages to a female member of staff at the Corporation 'over a decade ago'.

A source told the newspaper: 'There is an allegation that inappropriate messages and contact with a female member of staff took place.

'He's been told by the BBC about the complaint and after it came to light he has been taken off air.'

Just once I'd love for some actor to do a George C. Scott or Marlon Brando and give back or refuse the Oscar.

Just stand there and say 'Everything this award represents, I oppose...and do not wish for it to stain my mantlepiece'. And just walk off and leave it there.
    It would be the strongest way to say 'this kind of behaviour is disgusting beyond words...and all for this 'trophy''.

But sadly, nobody's gonna do that...instead the biggest 'scandal' in their eyes was reading out the wrong winner. And making jokes about Trumps behaviour, while ignoring the Open Secrets (yes, plural) hiding in the room.
    Ah here, who's next? Jesus himself.

Reminds me of that George Carlin joke about the Catholic Church-'When Jesus said 'little children, come unto me-that's not what he meant!'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

It seems Dunham has now decided to retract her support for her friend who is accused of sexual assault.

That poster above who described her as dead eyed wasn't joking. There's a serious Irma Grese/Myra Hindley vibe off her. The warning signs and alarm bells have been ringing about Dunham for some time now, I hope this latest controversy is the straw that breaks the camel's back and destroys her career.
    A seriously deranged and unstable individual.

_98815770_dunham.jpg

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-42042852

Back to Weinstein. It appears he had complied a hitlist of 91 individuals in the film industry that were to be targeted by his heavies.
    Interestingly, the list had been drawn up at least 9 months before the current allegation arose, which suggests that this was business as usual for Weinstein:
    The Observer has gained access to a secret hitlist of almost 100 prominent individuals targeted by Harvey Weinstein in an extraordinary attempt to discover what they knew about sexual misconduct claims against him and whether they were intending to go public.

The previously undisclosed list contains a total of 91 actors, publicists, producers, financiers and others working in the film industry, all of whom Weinstein allegedly identified as part of a strategy to prevent accusers from going public with sexual misconduct claims against him.

The names, apparently drawn up by Weinstein himself, were distributed to a team hired by the film producer to suppress claims that he had sexually harassed or assaulted numerous women.

https://www.theguardian.com/film/2017/nov/18/harvey-weinstein-secret-hitlist-sex-scandal

So Jeffrey Tambor has quit Transparent based on the allegations. Cannot see them keeping the show going without him.

http://deadline.com/2017/11/jeffrey-tambor-leaving-transparent-sexual-harassment-allegations-amazon-jill-soloway-1202211711/

Justice League has pretty much bombed. 96 million on a 300 million dollar budget. Wonder if this has anything to do with the drama surrounding the movie-Joss Whedon, Ben Affleck groping, and Ratner on production?
    More than likely didn't help.

http://deadline.com/2017/11/justice-league-opening-weekend-box-office-lower-thor-ragnarok-wonder-the-star-1202211094/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It seems Dunham has now decided to retract her support for her friend who is accused of sexual assault.
    Well her own Twiteratti rounded on her, so she had to. Support someone you believe to be innocent V stay on the Correct philosophy? Easy decision to make it seems if one's moral compass is fooked.

The more I read of the guy accused in this case, the more I smell shenanigans. Turns out his accuser's lawyers had sent him demands for money or they'd spill the beans. Blackmail essentially. However yer man it seems is so sure of his innocence and being able to prove it, he told them and her to publish and be damned. Only then did she file a police report. Hmmmmm.... If I were him and had the proof he claims I would destroy her and her team in court and in public and counter sue her into the nearest poorhouse.

Rose McGowan was also in talks with Weinstein and his lawyers looking to get more cash on top of her original settlement, but the story broke before that was finalised and only then did she go full Twitter.

Just in case someone with their offence switch permanently set to ON gets confused, this does NOT mean that Harvey wasn't and isn't a greasy rapist scumbag and he should be thrown in gaol, but it should open up the dialogue around how these type of scumbags can operate and what environments encourage it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

A few people were curious about how far into politics this stretches with references to the House of Lords secrets and rumours and the likes of Pizzagate over in the US... it turns out one of Donald Trump's campaign coordinators from last year who himself is a long term politician has been arrested for child sex trafficking.

http://www.newsweek.com/republican-sex-trafficking-child-trump-coordinator-716348
    Ralph Shortey, former Oklahoma state senator and a county campaign coordinator for President Donald Trump’s campaign last year, will plead guilty to a child sex trafficking offense for soliciting sex from a 17-year-old boy in March.

In exchange for his guilty plea, government prosecutors have agreed to drop three counts of child pornography against him.

Shortey is scheduled to plead guilty on November 30, two weeks before his trial was set to commence on December 5. Sex trafficking of a minor carries a minimum sentence of 10 years in prison, but Shortey faces the possibility of being sent to life in prison for the offense at a sentencing hearing in early 2018.

On March 9, Shortey surrendered to police on charges of engaging in child prostitution, transporting a minor for prostitution and engaging in prostitution within 1,000 feet of a church. He was released on a $100,000 bond a couple hours after being booked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

The more I read of the guy accused in this case, the more I smell shenanigans. Turns out his accuser's lawyers had sent him demands for money or they'd spill the beans. Blackmail essentially. However yer man it seems is so sure of his innocence and being able to prove it, he told them and her to publish and be damned. Only then did she file a police report. Hmmmmm.... If I were him and had the proof he claims I would destroy her and her team in court and in public and counter sue her into the nearest poorhouse.

Rose McGowan was also in talks with Weinstein and his lawyers looking to get more cash on top of her original settlement, but the story broke before that was finalised and only then did she go full Twitter.

I've lately thought the order is:

Have career
    Move career on by "whatever" means necessary
    Realise money/career bounce can be obtained by keeping quiet about activities consented to in point 2
    Ask for money for said silence
    Be turned down flat
    Go to Twitter

Bit worrying.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,232 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I've lately thought the order is:

Have career
    Move career on by "whatever" means necessary
    Realise money/career bounce can be obtained by keeping quiet about activities consented to in point 2
    Ask for money for said silence
    Be turned down flat
    Go to Twitter

Bit worrying.

From what I recall, it was Weinstein's team who approached McGowan offering her money to basically say nothing about Weinstein, which is likely given the account of Weinstein's spies getting copies of extracts of McGowan's proposed book and Weinstein in general seeing the walls closing in around him and how stories about him might come out.

Maybe McGowan felt taking more money might be in her best interests not knowing the lid was going to be blown off and that a lot of women were about to come forward with stories about him. I'm not condoning that, but again from what I read, they approached her offering her money and negotiations were on-going when the story about Weinstein came out. She didn't look at an empty purse one day and decide to go chasing him for money.