Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Drew Harris armoured jeep flung into the air at Garda HQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭adam88

Tomas81 wrote: »
    He should be residing within his own state of responsibility. Sitting in a nice big house In Holywood isn't good enough not even In the jurisdiction.

Where does he pay his taxes. He’s getting done bang for his buck with the current exchange rates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭joeguevara

There was call for a full investigation when a PSNI vehicle took a wrong turn at a roundabout in strabane and ended up in lifford (literally over a bridge).

How could they think it's acceptable to drive towards Garda HQ without full clearance. My God this guy makes the worst choices. It could have easily been a rogue policeman trying to cause mayhem. Obvious calls for a new commissioner will be forthcoming. That's premature but he needs to explain fully why he chose to continue in a psni van and not transfer to Garda car. Is this an indictment of him or a poor decision?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/international-incident-as-psni-land-rover-ends-up-in-donegal-30003529.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,183 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

If only Jeremy beadle was around today and got that footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭adam88

I say the reality is that this has happened more than once but only because a new one was at the gate it’s all come to light.

Maybe the usual guard knew the carry on and always left the boys in but this guard didn’t know and saw this jeep drive towards her and was like Wtf.

Don’t think PSNI should be left into the country, don’t think that level of cost should be afforded to him either. Would a commissioner get a drive up and down from west cork everyday if he or she lived there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭joeguevara

If only Jeremy beadle was around today and got that footage.

Jeremy Beadles footage of a ufo crashing and an alien emerging would seem more believable than a Garda commissioner deciding not to change cars, forget to inform the gardai and come at the entrance of Garda HQ at speed and not expect what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

janfebmar wrote: »
    If they were not armed would Charlie Flannigan needed to have authorised the PSNI though? Any proof the PSNI were armed when they were here?

Is anyone actually naive enough to think that when the commissioner is being transported through the border area by a protection unit, that they are unarmed?

Cmon now.......
    I still think the Gardai should have been the ones escorting him back from the border though.

Well you're not alone there, and it makes you wonder has this kind of thing been happening on a regular basis, or are we to believe that this was the one and only time it happened, and that the one and only time it happened, he was unlucky enough for the series of unfortunate events to unfold, that the public only heard about due to the story 'being leaked".

If, if the PSNI were indeed escorted by an ERU jeep to Dublin, the ERU then continued to protect the commissioner.
    So how would they get back to Northern Ireland? Driving alone, armed, in the Republic? Why would anyone think that is OK!

Any proof the PSNI were armed when they were here?

The PSNI are an armed force. They are armed, particularly when they are on armed protection duty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,694 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Fortunately, we'll be getting that border back up soon.

That'll put a stop to his shenanigans.

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Remind me

bubblypop wrote: »
    The PSNI are an armed force. They are armed, particularly when they are on armed protection duty!

If the ERU are top and tailing the vehicle the PSNI officers might not be armed because ERU would be providing the protection.

A lot of what Tom Conlan said in that piece is inaccurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,085 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Remind me wrote: »
    If the ERU are top and tailing the vehicle the PSNI officers might not be armed because ERU would be providing the protection.

Have you a link to the proceedure?

Are the PSNI met at the border by another PSNI unit to hand over their arms or did they hide them behind a rock until they got back?

Who said they top & tail them? And how did the psni go from being armed protection in Northern Ireland to being unarmed in the south? Did they hide the guns under a bush somewhere to pick up on the way home?
    A lot of what he said is correct

Which parts out of interest?

Have you a link to the proceedure?

Are the PSNI met at the border by another PSNI unit to hand over their arms or did they hide them behind a rock until they got back?

If the call was made before they even departed the event that they would be going all the way to the weapons could have been secured before departure.

If visiting vips are coming in with protection who have not received permission to carry firearms AGS take custody of them before they get off the plane and return them on departure.

ERU, if it is ERU provide adequate protection for them not to have their weapons.

Not saying this happened in this case.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Who said they top & tail them? And how did the psni go from being armed protection in Northern Ireland to being unarmed in the south? Did they hide the guns under a bush somewhere to pick up on the way home?
    A lot of what he said is correct

A lot of what he said is correct yes, but he takes a leap at automatically presuming they were armed and had no permission even though he talks about the procedures for a foreign police service. There is nothing to say this procedure was not followed if they were armed.

If the call was made before they even departed the event that they would be going all the way to the weapons could have been secured before departure.

If visiting vips are coming in with protection who have not received permission to carry firearms AGS take custody of them before they get off the plane and return them on departure.

ERU, if it is ERU provide adequate protection for them not to have their weapons.

Not saying this happened in this case.

Have you a link to the proceedures?

I would find it highly unlikely that a professional team would allow him travel in a vehicle without an armed presence in the actual vehicle. That would seem most irregular and irresponsible.
    What happened at the gate shows very clearly what can happen if there is separation.
    Doesn't stack up to be honest.

Have you a link to the proceedures?

I would find it highly unlikely that a professional team would allow him travel in a vehicle without an armed presence in the actual vehicle. That would seem most irregular and irresponsible.
    What happened at the gate shows very clearly what can happen if there is separation.
    Doesn't stack up to be honest.

If the Taoiseach, President or any Irish VIP is abroad and AGS are not permitted to carry their weapon they could regularly be in a car with no armed security.

Likewise on incoming visits here, a VIP who has armed protection in their home state permission may not be given if Justice feel the threat assessment does not warrant it so they would have no armed protection at all.

When AGS are in the UK they do not carry firearms.

Which parts out of interest?

To say PSNI can’t carry firearms here for starters. If they have permission they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

Do you seriously think they drove through the north unarmed?
    Maybe they threw out their weapons at the border?

I can see the only mangled solution to this mess being that their Landrover is designated as a diplomatic vehicle, so they can act (remain armed) as if they’re effectively still in the U.K.

Very uncomfortable with the idea of armed foreign personnel in the state but this was a foreseeable consequence of appointing a former psni officer... bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

To say PSNI can’t carry firearms here for starters. If they have permission they can.

That's not in dispute. However, it takes more than the wave of a hand from a Garda Commissioner to allow an extra-territorial agency or police force to carry arms in the state. The weapons don't magically become legal in the state because the Garda Commissioner says so on the Newry Bypass.

If they've been granted permission, (even a reciprocal one) there'd be a paper trail that the justice minister would have signed off on.

Charlie Flannigan should come out and clarify this, and it could get put to bed.

That's not happening, or at least hasn't happened yet.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

Harris would have had his own arms and the protection of those in the garda escort vehicle. That should have been enough. No proof the psni were armed,like the us bodyguards were for the us President. Who would want to attack a Garda anyway.
    Any truth in the rumour the vehicle was stopped at the checkpoint when the Garda activated the button for the bollard, and she did not know the bollard was under the jeep Instead of in front of it?

minikin wrote: »

You know they were probably escorted through the North and escorting vehicles drop off at the border and the vehicle is picked up by AGS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sjb25

I know it’s unlikely but say he was attacked in say Dublin in the psni jeep and a psni officer protecting him shoots and kills the attackers where does that leave the psni officer

If they've been granted permission, (even a reciprocal one) there'd be a paper trail that the justice minister would have signed off on.

Charlie Flannigan should come out and clarify this, and it could get put to bed.

That's not happening, or at least hasn't happened yet.

Why?

Why would they release it?

It has been said correct procedures were followed.

I don’t know if they were armed or unarmed, I’m just explaining what normally happens.

If it is the case that they were armed, without permission it is a massive boo boo and should rightly be followed up and acted on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

sjb25 wrote: »
    I know it’s unlikely but say he was attacked in say Dublin in the psni jeep and a psni officer protecting him shoots and kills the attackers where does that leave the psni officer

If proper authorization procedure wasn't followed, at the centre of a political and legal sh*tstorm.

They probably had a psni escort vehicle to the border, where the Garda escort vehicle took over. Poor form of the Garda escort vehicle not to notify hq or the Garda on security at the checkpoint outside he though.

sjb25 wrote: »

Very easy to be separated from a lead vehicle in a city.
    I would be astounded if the PSNI detail were not armed, why would they be even in the car...day trip to Dublin Zoo? :)

Very easy to be separated from a lead vehicle in a city.

Not really

You know they were probably escorted through the North and escorting vehicles drop off at the border and the vehicle is picked up by AGS?

Do you seriously think close protection officers can provide such protection when unarmed? There would be no point in having them accompanying him in the car if they are unarmed. Let’s get real for a moment.

Not really

Look what happened at the gate.

Do you seriously think close protection officers can provide such protection when unarmed? There would be no point in having them accompanying him in the car if they are unarmed. Let’s get real for a moment.

Christ.

He is in 1 vehicle, there is a vehicle in front and behind with armed officers. He is in a bullet proof vehicle. Surely you can see where the protection is?

Look what happened at the gate.

Is the gates of Garda HQ a city now?

Very easy to be separated from a lead vehicle in a city?

Not by properly trained police. I would say the Garda who destroyed the vehicle which was stopped or almost stopped will be transferred to some country town far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

They probably had a psni escort vehicle to the border, where the Garda escort vehicle took over. Poor form of the Garda escort vehicle not to notify hq or the Garda on security at the checkpoint outside he though.

So,lastnight it was the sentinels fault and now it's the escort vehicles occupants fault ?. Why not just blame the commissioner ?

Is the gates of Garda HQ a city now?

In a few seconds the Harris car was taken out accidentally. The Garda car might as well have been in Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Not by properly trained police. I would say the Garda who destroyed the vehicle which was stopped or almost stopped will be transferred to some country town far away.

Were you there ?? Stopped or almost stopped ?. Now I'm convinced your trolling.

Christ.

He is in 1 vehicle, there is a vehicle in front and behind with armed officers. He is in a bullet proof vehicle. Surely you can see where the protection is?

Why does he need ‘unarmed’ protection officers with him so if he’s so protected by the vehicle? Protect him from boredom and loneliness?

In a few seconds the Harris car was taken out accidentally. The Garda car might as well have been in Belfast.

And?

The Gardai would have been within metres of it and if it was driving down a busy road they would have been at the scene.

Why does he need ‘unarmed’ protection officers with him so if he’s so protected by the vehicle? Protect him from boredom and loneliness?

He needs someone to drive the car, unless PSNI are in for google self drive vehicles

Stopped or almost stopped .

According to someone else earlier in the thread the vehicle was left high in the air on the billiard.

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭Tomas81

Christ.

Ok this post clears it up. You don't know what your talking about. There was a car in front and behind him, he was led in from the M1 by AGS while in a PSNI vehicle no car behind. Stop misleading people.

And?

The lead car was useless in that situation. If the officers in the Harris car were unarmed, he was essentially unprotected in a stationary car.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

What MPG was he getting out of that 4X4? Not a single thought for the poor environment.

The lead car was useless in that situation. If the officers in the Harris car were unarmed, he was essentially unprotected in a stationary car.

Ah here....

If it was a situation in town where the vehicle was ‘taken out’ the AGS in the vehicle in front and behind, within metres of him would be a lot more beneficial than a driver possibly trapped in the car driving.

And?

The Gardai would have been within metres of it and if it was driving down a busy road they would have been at the scene.

My rudimentary physics education tells me that is BS.

Two speeding cars, one gets stopped suddenly - the other one is a good distance away almost instantly.

Tomas81 wrote: »
    Ok this post clears it up. You don't know what your talking about. There was a car in front and behind him, he was led in from the M1 by AGS while in a PSNI vehicle no car behind. Stop misleading people.

I have said if.....and if it was 1 vehicle no problem but still does not take away from the simple point that there is no evidence that the PSNI were armed and if they were armed I am sure they would have necessary clearance.

If they did not it is a massive F up as I have said.

Why would they release it?

It has been said correct procedures were followed.

I don’t know if they were armed or unarmed, I’m just explaining what normally happens.

If it is the case that they were armed, without permission it is a massive boo boo and should rightly be followed up and acted on.

Oh I'm not expecting them to release the finer details of the security arrangements, merely questioning why, if the PSNI/Gardai have reciprocal legal agreements to carry arms in each others territories, the justice minister isn't confirming so.

He needs someone to drive the car, unless PSNI are in for google self drive vehicles

He can’t drive???
    He really is unsuitable for the role!
    Can he even pronounce ‘fehickal’ correctly? :)

Harris would have had his own arms and the protection of those in the garda escort vehicle. That should have been enough. No proof the psni were armed,like the us bodyguards were for the us President. Who would want to attack a Garda anyway.
    Any truth in the rumour the vehicle was stopped at the checkpoint when the Garda activated the button for the bollard, and she did not know the bollard was under the jeep Instead of in front of it?

Earlier in the thread you were questioning why the car didn't stop at the checkpoint?

Rumors from where?