Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Jewish community

• Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

Wibbs wrote: »
    For someone who claims to be a buff of the period your take is decidedly partisan and more Hollywood than fact and painting an entire nation under a totalitarian dictatorship in such terms is shabby indeed. The German people did not at any stage "vote" for the Final Solution. Even those of lower position who served within the inner circle of the orchestrators of this mass murder of all those they considered subhumans, Jews, gypsies, gays, Soviets, even "Arian" Germans who stood in their way, vanishingly few were privy to the realities. Why do you suppose the death camps were situated outside Germany? There was a reason for that.

While he was the very definition of a hero, Witold Pilecki was not Jewish, he was a devout Catholic from a Polish aristocratic family. And "everyone" didn't know what was going on. Why do you think he volunteered for such a deathly dangerous task to pass as a Jew to see for himself and then tell the world what was going on?

So yeah, maybe hone your facts first?

Its like an excuse some 11 year old comes up for not doing their homework.

I didn’t know that the Wermacht Stormtroopers who had rolled Panzers through the low countries, murdering thousands, had launched a Blitzkreig air warfare on the one remaining country standing up to them , whos freely elected Government had rallied against the Jew since 1928 was going to do something bad to my neighbor of 20 years who I shopped to them and they shipped them , their grandparents and under 10s off with one suitcase in their possession.
    Your honor I didn’t know what these German vermin were going to do to them, I was too busy finding out who got their house and business premises.

Ive read all the books, I know of all the incidents of German treatment of any resistance, more importantly I also know about the logistics involved in major military manouveres.

Its laughable to consider that few knew about what was going on .
    Its laughable to consider that the Nurenberg trials and the noble efforts of Simon Wisenthal to round up Germans involved , touched any more than the tip of the iceberg.

When you had among other things the national railways of Holland, Belgium and France (NS, SNCF still paying fines for their involvment) and an estimated 2000 companies in Germany benefiting from slave labour, and everywhere from Guernsey to Dansk was under the German whip.
    But yeah nobody knew ...

I was just re-reading a pamphlet I have that was airdropped by the Luftwaffe over Britain in Aug 1940 , it was an English translation of some speeches Hitler gave at the Reichstag and Berlin Opera House July 1940. Gemans widely and wildly celebrated the early success of the War , were confident of total success and bought into it, and it was clearly outlined that Judaism was one of the main targets.

Yeah the extermination of 6 million people, and coincidentally by the end of the war there were 6 million members of the Nazi party and you want me to believe nobody knew.

Plenty academics have grasped the thorny issue and rasied the spectre that most Nazis were ordinary Germans who freely aided ‘The Final Solution’ and post war hung up the uniform and slipped back and reintegrated into Adenaurs Germany , going on to live long and prosperous lives, including stealing the best deck chairs by the pool in Marbella.

This reintegration of Germans guilty of heinous crimes was only made possible because so many were involved that it was on an institutional level post war, EVERYONE (not literally but you know what I mean) was involved during the war, and EVERYONE was scrambling to disown it and slink back into society post-war.

Back to OP .
    Interesting topic thanks for raising it.
    Judging by the fact the Jewish community has a prescence here and every poster has experience of interaction , but based on the response or lack of response from Jewish people living in Ireland theres a number of conclusions to be reached.

The Jewish Community in Ireland keep a low profile, they don’t draw attention to themselves unnecessarily and most of them seem too busy with getting on with their lives, working and looking after important things like their family to waste grey matter on a inconsequential forum debating with random strangers about who they are.. Maybe the Rabbis teachings are hitting home …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

They do tend to have a tendency to look at the collective whole, the welfare of the whole, rather than their own individual welfare, and thats no bad thing.

Some do, some don't. Jewish people aren't some homogeneous whole who think the same things. Take the only Jewish state as an example: you have all the same types of parties that we have here. Some talk about the welfare of the whole, some talk about individualism.

Wow, I hadn't known that about Hook.

Stop now or you'll have me starting to respect him.

Respect him because he's Jewish or because he converted to Catholicism? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How was the copper wire invented ?

Two Jews fighting over a penny.

That's a joke.,

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I had one Jewish lecturer in college who now is head of a course.

Maybe we need a Jewish dropout character in popular culture to balance the relentlessly successful stereotype.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,910 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

That's a joke.,

I thought it was two Scotsmen?

Tony EH wrote: »
    It works either way.

What do get when you squeeze a synagogue?

Jewwice._._

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

I'm Jewish myself.

Prove it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

Prove it

almismar lakum

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Spent a week in Israel back in April.

Israeli women are the most attractive women on earth. There's no doubt in my mind. Gal Gadot is just an average looking Israeli over there.

Most beautiful women are in Ireland. Find very strange when an Irish man talks about other nationalities as being more beautiful, maybe they are just used to see the same faces.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Osborne

That's a joke.,

I thought it was two Cavan men.

The worst one I ever heard was from scumbag one night.

He said to me how many Jews can you fit in a VW Polo?

It depends on how big the ash tray is.

The most disgusting thing I've ever heard.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

sabat wrote: »
    Maybe it's because it seems like every time people look at the news there's some Jew acting the maggot when it comes to money.
    From pretty early on in Christian Europe, roles considered beyond the pale for Christians were farmed out to non Christian groups. Charging interest on loans was one of these. Like in Islam today it was considered non Christian to charge interest. Jews were one group who took up this task(though many Christians got dug in too and paid for indulgences and the like as a get out of gaol free card) and when banking became the international affair still with us today there was a higher percentage of Jews within it. There were other roles with higher percentages of Jews for similar reasons. EG In France official executioners were picked from a couple of Jewish families.

Other areas like the diamond and gemstone trade have slightly different origins. There were a lot of Jewish artisans who were gemstone workers in the late medieval. It was one profession open to them(and it was more mobile a trade so they could move about more easily if things got locally rough for them). They made deals with others outside Europe(mostly Indians) to buy the raw materials directly, so again you ended up with a higher percentage of Jewish people in that area.

Add in that where you get a diaspora you tend to get them concentrating in certain roles and this increases over time as it becomes more and more a "family business". EG the Irish in America going into the police forces and often generationally. Even the old slang term for a cop "Shamus" has its origins there.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,475 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Tony EH wrote: »

I thought it was 2 Cavan men :(

nuyil simp wrote: »
    the Japanese?

Hold up!
    I've just gotten my head around it being the Swiss...
    And now it's the Japs!.
    Honestly, I like to think of myself as quick on the uptake....
    But this....
    It's almost as if there some huge conspiracy!
    Led by the Swiss, but somehow innovated by the Japs all while following a plan for world domination outlined by Jews....
    Before anyone knew what international banking was or even if the world extended beyond Eurasia/Africa!

Which leads to many many questions re: How the feck the Japs are involved!
    It's a good thing more cogent thinkers than me are able to elucidate this seeming conspiracy theory!

Or otherwise...
    It could appear nonsensical and noone would ever ever know.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

banie01 wrote: »
    I thought it was 2 Cavan men :(
    No. They invented the washing machine friendly toilet paper

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Most of the Cavan man and Jew jokes about being stingy are the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

And Scots

The Irish Judaeo Home Rule Association was founded on 10th September 1908 at a meeting in the Mansion House that attracted around sixty Jews and three Irish Parliamentary Party MPs. The group was formed by Jacob Elyan and Joseph Edelstein and was believed to have contained about two dozen core supporters. MPs John Redmond and John Dillon sent their best wishes to the organisation and the names of Daniel O’Connell and Michael Davitt were recalled at the meeting as great friends of the Jewish people. Speakers at the meeting, besides Elyan and Edlestien, included Arthur Newman and the three Irish Parliamentary Party MPs – William Field, Timothy Charles Harrington and Stephen Gywnn.

An Irish Jew with Unionist sympathies was ejected from the meeting after trying to disrupt proceedings and a fight broke out amongst at least a dozen people towards the end. The Irish Times (11 September 1908) reported:

It appears that some of the Jews who were not in sympathy with the object of the meeting proclaimed their views rather loudly, with the result that they were rather roughly treated at the hands of their co-religionists, who were supported by a number of United League Leaguers.

The organisation seemingly only lasted a few months and didn’t receive any media coverage except for their inaugural meeting. Elyan is the only known original member who continued to be active in Home Rule politics, joining the United Irish League and becoming a member of its Dublin executive.

Another interesting story.

I’ve been made aware of three more Jewish individuals who were supporters of Sinn Fein in the War of Independence period.

The first of these was Philip Sayers, described as a “Lithuanian-born early Sinn Feiner” by the Irish Independent (19 April 1943). When he passed away at the age of 88 in 1964, his short obituary included the line that he “took part in the Sinn Fein movement and was a life-long sympathiser with the national movement”. His Dublin-born son Michael was a well-known and celebrated poet and writer with strong political sympathies who married Mentana Galleani, daughter of the militant Italian anarchist Luigi Galleani. When he passed away three years ago, it was noted that Michael had “vivid childhood memories of [IRA] fugitives being hidden in the house and of police raids”.

Jacob Elyan (1878- 1937), who we mentioned earlier as having been a founding member of the Judaeo-Irish Home Rule Association in 1908, was also a close supporter of Sinn Fein. He had been invited by John Redmond to stand for election but declined due to ill-health. For the same reason, he was unable to take take a seat in the Free State Senate of 1923.

Dr. Edward ‘Eddie’ Lipman (1887-1965) was close friends with Count Markievicz, Arthur Griffith, James Stephens and other figures in the world of politics and the arts. He took up medical practice in London in the early 1920s where he and his Mayo wife Dr. Eva Kavanagh Lipman “ministered generously, both in matters of health and in personal affairs, to Cockney proletarians and working-class Irish migrants and their families” as the Irish Times of 7th January 1965 noted.

During the Anglo-Irish Treaty negotiation in London in 1921, Arthur Griffith used to frequently call on Eddie Lipman for a “talk and walk through the streets of the English capital”. He worked in the East End until retirement when he returned home to his native Dublin. He died there after a short illness in June 1965.

https://comeheretome.com/2013/11/18/jewish-links-to-irish-republican-and-socialist-politics-1901-1960s/

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

sabat wrote: »
    Maybe it's because it seems like every time people look at the news there's some Jew acting the maggot when it comes to money. Even a quick browse of major events of the last few weeks will give you plenty of examples such as British Steel, Arcadia Group, Jared Kushner and his father, the Netanyahus, the Glazers at Man Utd, Jeffrey Epstein and his "procurer" Ghislaine Maxwell, daughter of Robert etc.
    Here's a few more characters from the recent past you might have missed:
    https://www.hackneygazette.co.uk/news/crime-court/charities-laundered-10m-through-fake-viagra-sales-1-6153522
    https://miami.cbslocal.com/2019/04/05/miami-beach-healthcare-exec-philip-esformes-convicted-of-1-billion-medicare-fraud/
    https://www.nj.com/ocean/2017/07/meet_the_26_charged_in_lakewood_fraud_probe_who_th.html

Go back further and the list is as long as your arm-Madoff, Milken, Belfort and so on. Go ahead and call me antisemitic...

Jews have a hugely disproportionate presence on wall St, then again African Americans do so in the NBA

I don't think it's unfair to point out either of these realities yet no one sees anything wrong with pointing to the basketball statistic where as highlight Jewish dominance in the financial markets and your a bigot

So what if Jews are heavily involved in certain sectors but why make referring to it a taboo

The financial sector is crucial and most of the time isn't up to no good

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭sheepondrugs

Theres a great series on Netflix about a family of Orthodox Jews called Shtisel, was hooked after the 1st episode.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭sheepondrugs

I find Jewish people and their history fascinating.

I mean if you're part of a group of people designated "The Chosen People", and you've been involved in many of the greatest outrages and dramas of the history of mankind, that's fairly compelling.

Hope that doesn't sound condescending. Obviously Jewish people are just ordinary human beings who live and eat and work and go to the toilet like the rest of us. What I mean is that their culture and its own internal dynamic, and their place in the world, is what's fascinating.

I have a couple of Jewish friends, but none in Ireland. This wasn't always the most hospitable of environments for the jewish population, not that many places were.

+1 whatever anyones opinion of the current Israel/Palestine situation it is true the history of the Jewish people is absolutely fascinating and intriguing.
    How they came to establish small independent communities in so many varied and far flung places (North Africa, Ethiopia, India, Central Asia, Argentina and many others ) going back centuries in very interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Well hopefully someone of equal character doesn't repeat it.

It's fascinating that a single group of people receive so much hate. I think people have it wrong to suggest that the Rothschild's wealth are the source of the association with Jews and money. During the middle ages the Jews were banned from the majority of jobs and trades. Christians were forbidden to act as usurers (money lenders) as it was seen as an unclean profession. Jewish people were also seen as unclean so therefore allowed to become Usurers. So Jewish people become associated with money for the simple reason that they weren't allowed to do much else. Amazing how prejudice works.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭1641

steddyeddy wrote: »
    It's fascinating that a single group of people receive so much hate. I think people have it wrong to suggest that the Rothschild's wealth are the source of the association with Jews and money. During the middle ages the Jews were banned from the majority of jobs and trades. Christians were forbidden to act as usurers (money lenders) as it was seen as an unclean profession. Jewish people were also seen as unclean so therefore allowed to become Usurers. So Jewish people become associated with money for the simple reason that they weren't allowed to do much else. Amazing how prejudice works.

Not alone unclean - usury (taking interest) was classified as sinful within the Christian church and strictly forbidden by Canon Law. Jews who had been expelled from elsewhere played a vital role as financiers for the Italian cities of the Middle Ages who depended on credit for their vast trade networks. They in turn financed the Renaissance. But it was the Medicis (Christian) who then developed banking on a vast financial scale.

Of course, as always people liked to borrow money but often weren't as keen to pay it back. So blame the moneylender.And Jews were an easy target as they could be driven out of town, eg, drag up the allegation of them stealing Christian children to drink their blood, or any of the other then prevalent conspiracies.

So disgusting you felt yourself compelled to repeat it?
    As what?
    A virtue signal as to how righteously offended you were?

I'm usually the 1st to make a shít joke, often regardless of colour, creed or ethnicity...
    But FFS, don't share a bad joke and then hide behind how offensive it was, at least have the balls to share it and send by it.

1641 wrote: »
    Not alone unclean - usury (taking interest) was classified as sinful within the Christian church and strictly forbidden by Canon Law. Jews who had been expelled from elsewhere played a vital role as financiers for the Italian cities of the Middle Ages who depended on credit for their vast trade networks. They in turn financed the Renaissance. But it was the Medicis (Christian) who then developed banking on a vast financial scale.

Of course, as always people liked to borrow money but often weren't as keen to pay it back. So blame the moneylender.And Jews were an easy target as they could be driven out of town, eg, drag up the allegation of them stealing Christian children to drink their blood, or any of the other then prevalent conspiracies.

Indeed. I find it fascinating that they're associated with greed at all. The knights Templar created the first banking system and the Swiss modernised the banking system.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The Merchant of Venice springs to mind

banie01 wrote: »
    So disgusting you felt yourself compelled to repeat it?
    As what?
    A virtue signal as to how righteously offended you were?

I'm usually the 1st to make a shít joke, often regardless of colour, creed or ethnicity...
    But FFS, don't share a bad joke and then hide behind how offensive it was, at least have the balls to share it and send by it.

I know it's early but i'm guessing alcohol was involved.