Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland one of 6 countries which has agreed to take migrants from Med ship

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    The government could agree to take in a hundred thousand " refugees" tomorrow and the media would heap praise upon them, as would much of the opposition parties

We are sitting ducks for mass bogus immigration as we have a singular kind of public discourse in this country

The word is out on what a soft touch ireland is. The only thing saving us from being swamped is the sea around us and relative non central location in Europe. Basically if you can get in here at all then you are sorted for life and can bring the family over after that. The Irish people are very well meaning and compassionate which is unfortunately our downfall for being taken advantage of in this scenario

The government could agree to take in a hundred thousand " refugees" tomorrow and the media would heap praise upon them, as would much of the opposition parties

We are sitting ducks for mass bogus immigration as we have a singular kind of public discourse in this country

Please don’t give them ideas- they would actually do it but for the public uproar it would cause. They prefer the drip drip drip approach to bogus migration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

Who do we vote for next election lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,941 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Build a wall, build a wall!

Wanderer78 wrote: »

No we just want sensible migration policies based on economic needs- seems to be too much to ask for

road_high wrote: »

No we just want sensible migration policies based on economic needs- seems to be too much to ask for

I'd rather the wall, slogans at election time are better to.

Our housing issues are far more complicated than just a few immigrants and the unemployed getting 'free' homes

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Unadulterated wrongness.

USSR was never socialist. Ethiopia and Mozambique made an attempt at it decades ago post colonialism. . Abysmal failure. The current Ethiopian constitution is younger than me.

Angola may have Marxist principles in its constitution but they ceased all pretence of being socialist in the early 90s.

The state created by the first socialist revolution and called itself the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and abolished private property was not socialist.

What was it then?

BTW, one of the last socialist states, Cuba, does not allow any migration in or out and as for guys claiming to be girls, well they have a place called the Isle of Pines where they used, maybe still do, intern and torture gay men.

lola85 wrote: »
    Which party is there to vote for that supports views here?

People saying remember this come election time, but who is there to vote for?

Peadar Toibín of Aontú mentioned need for sustainability and was almost lynched!

Anyone who puts their head over the parapet is accused of being "alt right" or "racist" whereas even the worst of the European left in places like Denmark and Britain who cheerled all this nonsense are starting to cop on.

Only six of 27 states agreed to be conned this time. And of course Paddy is first in the queue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Ireland is the dumbest country in Western Europe. Africa is the dumbest continent. There's the connection.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,684 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

lola85 wrote: »
    Who do we vote for next election lads?

Shhh, it's a secret.

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭creeper1

Stephen15 wrote: »
    Did the government ask the Irish people did they want to take the migrants no they are being imposed on us against our will. Government won't consult with the people about immigration as they know the response will not be negative look at the situation with the direct provision centres which are being imposed on communities against their will and they weren't even consulted.

?
    Obviously the Irish government would much prefer not to take a very unpopular decision like this.

The Europeans have decided ireland takes a hundred or so and probably more to follow. I guess ireland could refuse like Eastern Europe but I think fines and a look at tax arrangements for multinational corporations would follow.

I’m not sure what practically could be done to avoid this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

creeper1 wrote: »
    Obviously the Irish government would much prefer not to take a very unpopular decision like this.

The Europeans have decided ireland takes a hundred or so and probably more to follow. I guess ireland could refuse like Eastern Europe but I think fines and a look at tax arrangements for multinational corporations would follow.

Rubbish - we are one of 6 countries that volunteered in this instance. Nothing to do with pressure from Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Exactly because the answer would be a resounding NO. The majority of people do not want these migrants who are going to be a drain on our economy.

Why can't the EU ask the people aswell the majority of Europeans probably don't want them either. It's no wonder people don't like the EU when the EU is doing nothing to stop immigration why can't the EU stop the migrants and keep them in Africa as that is what the European people want?

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭creeper1

Rubbish - we are one of 6 countries that volunteered in this instance. Nothing to do with pressure from Europe.

So all 6 enthusiastically volunteered without any threat or coercion whatsoever ?

Maybe I'm wrong about it being an unpopular decision then.

maybe it's welcome by most people ?

So all 6 enthusiastically volunteered without any threat or coercion whatsoever ?

Maybe I'm wrong about it being an unpopular decision then.

maybe it's welcome by most people ?

If there was threats and coercion then there would be more than 6 countries volunteering.

The truth is that the government has an agenda to increase the population by a million, these are low hanging fruit to achieve that goal. I’m actually surprised they didn’t volunteer to take the entire lot.

I won’t use the term refugees as the people in this case are not refugees, they are at best bogus asylum seekers (assuming they attempt to claim asylum).

By giving in we are encouraging illegal migration into Europe and Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

The word is out on what a soft touch ireland is. The only thing saving us from being swamped is the sea around us and relative non central location in Europe. Basically if you can get in here at all then you are sorted for life and can bring the family over after that. The Irish people are very well meaning and compassionate which is unfortunately our downfall for being taken advantage of in this scenario

We are too easily hushed by the prevailing message of the day, the media, academic and quango class light on anyone who asks if taking in foreigners is a wise idea

Questioning immigration ( refugee related or other) is a form of holocaust denial in Ireland

I'd rather the wall, slogans at election time are better to.

Our housing issues are far more complicated than just a few immigrants and the unemployed getting 'free' homes

Housing is always about numbers, it's simple sums, if you build a million houses next year, you still got problems if two million need - want them.

No need to dress it up in ideological rhetoric

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Peadar Toibín of Aontú mentioned need for sustainability and was almost lynched!

Anyone who puts their head over the parapet is accused of being "alt right" or "racist" whereas even the worst of the European left in places like Denmark and Britain who cheerled all this nonsense are starting to cop on.

Only six of 27 states agreed to be conned this time. And of course Paddy is first in the queue.

If a left winger like toibin has his head torn off, what chance for a centre right politician

It's noticeable that since Kevin Myers career was killed, no Irish journalist of the right has discussed immigration, Ian o Doherty is prepared to tackle identity politics etc but says very little about direct provision

You can see your career destroyed for asking hard questions about the sacred cows of the left wing establishment

Housing is always about numbers, it's simple sums, if you build a million houses next year, you still got problems if two million need - want them.

No need to dress it up in ideological rhetoric

theres nothing simple about housing, if it was simple, we wouldnt have housing issues like we do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

You can see your career destroyed for asking hard questions about the sacred cows of the left wing establishment

As Peter Casey proved by the amount of support he received after being honest about Traveler behaviour in Ireland, I believe politicians should stick their head over the parapet and bring to the fore the topic of non-EU economic migrant importation into our small country. The last massive plantation of humans into Ireland did not work out too well for our little Island; this one could even be worse, as there will be no turning back.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Vincent van Gogh

Unadulterated wrongness.

USSR was never socialist.

Why?

I find this particularly galling at a time when the HSE is trying to abolish the very small €30 weekly training allowance for people on disability payments due to budget over runs- but we can find millions to house and welfare economic welfare migrants from god knows where. Really infuriating and shocking priorities

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Give me 10 Sudan lads who want to work for a better life, than 1 Margaret Cash type.
    The problem is you take 10 sudanese lads and 1 of them becomes a tax payer, 2 work cash in hand and 7 become margaret cash types

The only differences between these and Margaret cash is that Cash is an Irish citizen that we can’t get rid of- we freely import the other scroungers like prize turkeys of our own free will.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

This is really depressing- it seems we have absolutely no control or say over our own country. What value are these going to add to our economy? Vast majority are uneducated and culturally mismatched.

It is all part of the EU grand plan to dissolve national identities. The little man's opinion on this subject doesn't matter to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

pay human traffickers some outrageous sum to drive you and a boatful of other young men a few miles off the north african coast where upon you are picked up by some well meaning NGO (in cahoots with the traffickers) and ferried to Europe where the authorities are blackmailed into letting you disembark.

is this utter sh1tshow of a system to be encouraged by any right thinking nation?

pay human traffickers some outrageous sum to drive you and a boatful of other young men a few miles off the north african coast where upon you are picked up by some well meaning NGO (in cahoots with the traffickers) and ferried to Europe where the authorities are blackmailed into letting you disembark.

is this utter sh1tshow of a system to be encouraged by any right thinking nation?

All the boats should be turned and bright back to Africa. Not one should be allowed land on European soil. This namby pamby approach is only opening the floodgates and encouraging more

• Registered Users Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Paddy is the First Nation to put their hands up to take them

well meaning NGO

You mean naive patsies who should be arrested and charged with human trafficking.

https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/722432/Calais-migrants-female-journalist-raped-refugees-Jungle-Camp

They don't even show any regard for the idiots who go to highlight their "plight."

One of the rapists of an aid worker was briefly a hero for making it across the Channel on a kayak.

Didn't stop some still being outraged at proposal he be deported.