Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Whiplash85 wrote: »
    I expect Waterford to improve on last year. I definitely think getting to a Munster final, league final replay and All Ireland semi final would represent a successful year for Waterford. They have definitely improved on the sweeper system but I also expect other teams will have improved in their ability to mitigate it.

You wouldn't know what to expect from Kilkenny. They had a very up and down league, a few injuries since. They have been knocked out of minor and U21 leinster championships. Are they currently running on fumes and is Winter finally coming. God I hope so but with Cody you never know. If he wins it this year with Kilkenny it will be his best win yet.

Don't we say all this every year about Kilkenny though? Having said that this season does seem to be shaping up a bit like 2013 for them when they had an early exit but they still managed to knock out Tipp that year.

I can't see them winning it with all their injuries now but I still wouldn't fancy playing them in a knock out game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Don't we say all this every year about Kilkenny though? Having said that this season does seem to be shaping up a bit like 2013 for them when they had an early exit but they still managed to knock out Tipp that year.

I can't see them winning it with all their injuries now but I still wouldn't fancy playing them in a knock out game.

Nope we have said it in the two years that followed the 2013. But I distinctly remember the Sunday Game hurling championship preview of 2013 with Des Cahill asking can anyone beat the big three (Kilkenny, Tipp and phenomenally Galway. They were close to an all ireland the year before but that sort of talk you'd think they were there every year for the previous few years).

The consensus was it was hard to see. A lean period for Kilkenny is inevitable. That they are on for three in a row this year is remarkable and a credit to them. But they cannot afford to be without players like Michael Fennelly and Richie Hogan in championship matches. I think they'll be beaten at least once this year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭crottys lake

It is nothing more than I expected this year from our management and players. They have been quietly moving forward as a unit now for two years and I believe will become stronger and better as the season progresses.

Just a few observations :

I think that John Mullane's column in the Independent in the build up to last Sunday's game was top class but also had a big bearing on what happened on the touchline during the entire game. The great man called publicly for our management not to take any bull from Fitzgerald and company but that also alerted the referee and the powers that be and in all my time going to matches I have never seen a fourth official behaving in the manner that he did on Sunday. He allowed no shenanigans from Clare whatsoever and it was noticeable how quiet the little man from Clare was throughout the game, a fact that Mullane alluded to when reviewing the game on Monday. It was also quiet telling how little influence Paul Kinnerk was able/allowed to exert on his charges as he seemed to be positioned well in the background by Fitzgerald and Cusack. Mullane has consistently praised Kinnerk and with good reason. Kinnerk is a fabulous coach and mentor to the Clare players and this was a huge surprise to me. Cusack ran to the referee as soon as the whistle went at half time but sure enough he was blindsided by the quick thinking Waterford selector, Fintan O'Connor who stepped in and took on the Cork man.

Another point that might have been forgotten by some is money, yes that bad old money. Can anyone remember the disastrous state of affairs that our county found itself in not so many years ago ? Under the stewardship of this management team and board our finances are now coming into line and THAT IS ANOTHER TESTAMENT to Derek McGrath, Fintan and Dan in the prudent way they have gone about their business as opposed to another manager from the past.

A note to Mullane : Keep telling it as you see it as so many others will not. You were brave with that article. Good on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,614 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

If we were to lose the Munster final to Tipperary and Dublin beat Kilkenny going on to lose the Leinster final to Galway the all Ireland quarters could look like this

Clare vs Dublin (winner vs Tipperary)
    Kilkenny vs Waterford (winner vs Galway)

It's hard to knw until the draw is made but Clare Wud be odds on to make the quarters if they get the right draw

If we beat Tipperary in the Munster final and both Clare/Tipperary win the quarters than its a semi final pairing of

Tipperary vs the Leinster champs
    Clare vs Waterford

As the semi finals can't be a repeat of a prov final (rule brought in after 2007 which ****ed us over)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭blueflame

Have resisted to this point entering debates about whether we are good enough to win an all Ireland and watching how so called neutral supports love telling us to be realistic and that we were well beaten by Tipp and Kilkenny last year and how we were lucky that things went wrong for Clare last Sunday and they will be back.

Quite simply only time will tell whether this side are good enough but there are a number of factors that give me personally and a lot of other i know reasons to be optimistic for this and the next couple of years:

1. Tipp since the last Munster Final have suffered a couple of demoralizing defeats such as last years AI Semi Final and this years Leageu Semi Final and dare i say it a home league match to ourselves. These results have increased the pressure on Tipp no matter what they might say.

2. KK have a lot of injuries and a lot of miles on the clock - they are still favourites for the All Ireland but they have undoubtedly come back toward the chasing pack.

3. Galway, Dublin Clare and Waterford are all in the same bracket at least and if they have a reason to be optimistic so have we.

Looking at our own set up:

- The return of Darragh Fives who missed more or less the whole of last year is a massive plus for Waterford
    - The return of Paudie Mahony to fitness (if last Sunday is anything to go by) is a massive plus for us.
    - The experience gained last year and the progression of Shane Bennett, Patrick Curran and Austin Gleeson is a massive plus for us.
    - Competition on our bench has never been as strong.
    - the belief of our management has grown and i feel they now feel we are ready to compete at any level.

Whether or not these factors will result in an ALL Ireland win remain to be seen, but i refuse to be anything but really optimistic about our chances of taking the big prize. We started the year hoping to surviving in Division 1, not only did we survive we very nearly done back to back league titles, we are back in a Munster Final against all the predictions and i do not see any other team having made that kind of progress this year - please God we will stay clear of major injuries that could hamper our efforts and roll on July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭redlead

I think that it's time just to come out and say we're going for the All Ireland. Waterford have improved again from last year and we can't underestimate the difference having Darragh Fives and Pauric Mahony back in the team makes to us. Gleeson has really filled out and is one of the best players in the country at the moment. Bennett and Curran have developed considerably over the last year too.The lads coming off the bench are making a big difference which is something we never had before.

I think that we are being seriously underestimated by many as a "defensive team". The fact is that we have by far the best defence in the country which is down to a combination of having sweepers that really know how to play the position and having very high quality players in the backs. The big difference is that we also put up very good scores. The players that track back know exactly when to assist in attack. We are seeing a lot less aimless ball than last year.

The question is who can beat us? I think Tipp have the best chance as they have the best firepower which no-one can really argue with. If they get more than two goals against us I just couldn't see us getting enough scores to overcome them.

I'd fancy our chances to come out on top of a close game with Kilkenny this year. Reid and Hogan are two of the best players in the country but there is nowhere near the same class around them that there used to be. Can the likes of Larkin keep producing? Their full back line is suspect enough too by their own very high standards. There's nothing special about Prendergast, Holden and Murphy in goals at all. I don't think they'll reach the final this year.

Galway have absolutely no chance of beating us. Their forwards literally don't have a clue what to do when not given space (similar to Cork) and space is not something you get against Waterford.

We'll see how the year pans out but I think we have a serious chance. Still need luck along the way but someone has to win it. Could be eating my words after Kilkenny go on and cakewalk another championship but it's time that we have the confidence to admit we are serious contenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

I must admit that I think the way Limerick are being written off by some on this forum quite insulting if I didn't know better I would have thought I was on the cork or kk page but at least they'd have form to do so but lads from water ford?for what it's worth I don't think we'll beat tipp but surely a team that beat tipp in thurles just two yrs ago deserves not to be written off in chats by water ford lads when they talk of what way the mun final will go plus a lot of your much vaunted team were beaten by our no hopers at underage two years in a row.

So lads we know yer excited and rightly so but please tipp arent playing a club side in mun semi so aren't guaranteed to get thru not unlike yourselves in all Irl semi in 07

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

lim4ev wrote:
    So lads we know yer excited and rightly so but please tipp arent playing a club side in mun semi so aren't guaranteed to get thru not unlike yourselves in all Irl semi in 07

2 days ago on this thread YOU yourself said tipp would beat Limerick.

Not only did I say I didn't think we'd beat tipp 2days ago I just said it 5min ago but there are no certainties in sport?

Plenty here are assuming Tip will win and on recent form they should, but personally I wouldn't write off Limerick . They have had lots of time since the league semi final, there isn't a word been written about them and they have some very talented hurlers and It wouldn't be the first time they upset Tipp.

Exactly my thinking mcgoo we are re building but still have a chance albeit small genuinely think we've forwards that can do damage but our backs will be our downfall I fear but hope I'm wrong.look let's face it if I was a water ford man of course you'd think it should be tipp but my point is some are making points about playing tipp in mun final when the semi hasn't even been played and to me that's disrespecting Limerick

lim4ev wrote:
    Exactly my thinking mcgoo we are re building but still have a chance albeit small genuinely think we've forwards that can do damage but our backs will be our downfall I fear but hope I'm wrong.look let's face it if I was a water ford man of course you'd think it should be tipp but my point is some are making points about playing tipp in mun final when the semi hasn't even been played and to me that's disrespecting Limerick

It's not that they are disrespecting Limerick they are going on form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭blue note

lim4ev wrote: »

I half agree with you that we shouldn't be disrespecting Limerick. But I must say I find it a bit ironic being accused of it from a Limerick man. I remember reading (I think in 2011) that Limerick should be beating "the likes of waterford." I think at the time they hadn't won a Munster match in a decade (if you count going to extra time as a draw) whereas we were Munster champs at the time.

But it's quite different to us playing Limerick and writing them off. The reality is we'll probably play tipp in the final. We want to chat about the final so playing tipp is what we'll chat about most.

The square in thurles was very quite last Sunday I thought. The days where the town was packed are long gone

Funny pic of Paul Flynn from the programme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The square in thurles was very quite last Sunday I thought. The days where the town was packed are long gone

Funny pic of Paul Flynn from the programme

God be with the days of going on a minibus with a load of the lads from the parish at home with a hape of cans , then hit hayses or the county for a few, there would be massive buzz and excitement around the square. Hit down to the stadium mouldy drunk, singing and chanting, great craic. Onto the terrace, if you can find somewhere to squeez in youd be doing well. The ball is thrown in the nerves and adrenaline kicks in, if the was sun beaming down the sweat comes out through you. jesus the drink wouldn t be long wearing off you then. Different now Im a older it just dosent seem half the buzz. Driving with the flask of tae and hangsangidges in the boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

lim4ev wrote: »
    Not only did I say I didn't think we'd beat tipp 2days ago I just said it 5min ago but there are no certainties in sport?
    So you're saying it's not a problem if you are writing off your own teams chances but if anyone else (outside Limerick) says ye won't win it's disrespectful?

Look, for what it's worth, I think ye are in a nice position. Ye're coming into the game with absolutely no pressure and nobody giving ye a hope. Leave whoever say what they want and hope that mentality and line of thinking seeps into the Tipp team. No better team than Limerick for upsetting the odds. I'd actually give ye a chance of pulling it off.

As for our aspirations of an AI, I wouldn't be getting ahead of ourselves. Yes we beat a good Clare team (albeit poor on the day) but the acid tests this year will be Tipp and/or KK. And the acid test of acid tests will be KK and/or Tipp in Croke Park - a venue where we have a poor record in the last 20 years. I counted 16 occasions we played there since 1998 and it reads W4, D1 and L11. That's a 25% win ratio, the last of which came in the AI semi final win over Tipp in 2008 - 8 years ago! Badly need to get a win at headquarters, I think if that's all else we achieve this year it'll at least be progress.

Cake Man wrote: »
    So you're saying it's not a problem if you are writing off your own teams chances but if anyone else (outside Limerick) says ye won't win it's disrespectful?

Look, for what it's worth, I think ye are in a nice position. Ye're coming into the game with absolutely no pressure and nobody giving ye a hope. Leave whoever say what they want and hope that mentality and line of thinking seeps into the Tipp team. No better team than Limerick for upsetting the odds. I'd actually give ye a chance of pulling it off.

As for our aspirations of an AI, I wouldn't be getting ahead of ourselves. Yes we beat a good Clare team (albeit poor on the day) but the acid tests this year will be Tipp and/or KK. And the acid test of acid tests will be KK and/or Tipp in Croke Park - a venue where we have a poor record in the last 20 years. I counted 16 occasions we played there since 1998 and it reads W4, D1 and L11. That's a 25% win ratio, the last of which came in the AI semi final win over Tipp in 2008 - 8 years ago! Badly need to get a win at headquarters, I think if that's all else we achieve this year it'll at least be progress.

A Munster title Wud be good progress too. We could get a less challenge Al semi final going in as Munster champs but way to early to discuss stuff like that

The younger guys have no fear of Croke Park as they won matches there in recent years (2013 minor sf vs Kilkenny and final vs Galway) and some players narrowly lost in 2014 to Kilkenny there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

PTH2009 wrote: »
    A Munster title Wud be good progress too. We could get a less challenge Al semi final going in as Munster champs but way to early to discuss stuff like that
    Yeah I agree a Munster title would be good progress. It's an interesting thought which would represent "better" progress - would you rather win a Munster title but then lose an AI semi final or lose a Munster final but make an AI final (and lose that).
    Personally would happily see us lose Munster if it meant an AI final appearance as it would bring the lads on a tonne. Not to mention getting a few more championship wins including in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

Cake Man wrote: »
    Yeah I agree a Munster title would be good progress. It's an interesting thought which would represent "better" progress - would you rather win a Munster title but then lose an AI semi final or lose a Munster final but make an AI final (and lose that).
    Personally would happily see us lose Munster if it meant an AI final appearance as it would bring the lads on a tonne. Not to mention getting a few more championship wins including in Croke Park.

I agree, the biggest difference between Waterford and the likes of Kilkenny, Tipp and even Clare and Galway is the experience of playing in the senior all Ireland final and all the hullabaloo that comes with it. Just getting to the final this year would be huge progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

This should have been a yellow card for Austin Gleeson. It is cowardly to try and soften up a player coming on cold and also probably dangerous as his body will not be prepared to take heavy knocks.

Apart from anything else it is a series of off the ball tackles one of which is enough to merit a yellow card. As you can see from the video clip, Gleeson put in a few frontal charges. Referees wake up and issue a card for this type of behaviour. Very unsporting, it would be far nicer to see a new opponent being welcomed onto the field with a handshake.

Maybe it would be better if the player being attacked went down and stayed down, but a player would not have to do this if the referee was doing his job correctly.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Welcomed with a handshake....in knots laughing.

I'm sure you're proud of the legacy of the Hells Kitchen era teams in Tipp with respect to what they won. What Gleeson did their is a handshake compared to what they went on with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

Xenophile wrote: »
    This should have been a yellow card for Austin Gleeson. It is cowardly to try and soften up a player coming on cold and also probably dangerous as his body will not be prepared to take heavy knocks.

Apart from anything else it is a series of off the ball tackles one of which is enough to merit a yellow card. As you can see from the video clip, Gleeson put in a few frontal charges. Referees wake up and issue a card for this type of behaviour. Very unsporting, it would be far nicer to see a new opponent being welcomed onto the field with a handshake.

Maybe it would be better if the player being attacked went down and stayed down, but a player would not have to do this if the referee was doing his job correctly.

It was a bit of shouldering for f*cks sake - attacked - Christ you must be sheltered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Horseboxhead

Tipperary will beat Limerick, and Waterford will beat Tipp, Limerick are my second favourite team to support, How could you not love Limerick Your a lady best tune for me of any county, love the green and white, love their history and what they bring to the game, very similer kind of supporter too, to Waterford, so we have loads in common, their tradition too very similer to our's, and we don't have that "next door neighbour derby thing" which always ratches up the animosity, but then again, no body likes Tipp.
    But Tipp will beat them, better hurlers , will be Fitter[Something Tj and his backroom team seem unable to rectify}, and stronger panel, which allows Tipp a few more options down the straight when the game will be in the fire, Limerick Need to start well, to have one of those day's, and they have not hadone of those day's for a bit, as they seem unable to maintain the intensity for the full Hour, full back line Peaked three years ago, and Struggle to cope with good fast ball in around them, which Tipp do very well, I also think Tipp will have a Major say Maybe Later in the year, but Limerick will not really test them, and this will suit a waterford side, that has already this year had a league final and replay and Munster semi, and are furthur along, so we'll beat Tipp, now look at that , does not sound so bad, its just an Opinion , and it might be wrong, but i'm entitled to it, and should not feel the need to apoligise for it, for Predicting Waterford Success, its just new , and chances are we might grow into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Waterford have been very decent over the last year and a half, especially in the league. However I genuinely think talk of an All Ireland is premature. Ye played the two "big" teams last year and were beaten comfortably on both occasions, a result I expect to see repeated in the Munster final. Tipp will have too much firepower.
    I do too. I'm not saying we can't win it and I do genuinely think we are better then last year but whether the 5/6 point gap with Tipp+KK has been bridged then i dont know.

I wouldn't rule us out though, far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭blueflame

In my view, if the match was in the Gaelic Grounds i think Limerick would have a real chance of toppling Tipp - with the game being in Thurles I expect Tipp to win but would not write of Limerick by any means. If they can get amongst them and stay in touch up to the final 10 minutesI feel Limerick might just pull it off. There is a lot of pressure on this Tipp side and whether it is arrogance or lack of belief - they have a habit of leaving tight games behind them. Limerick have some great young hurlers and the Na Piarsaigh lads will bring a strong belief to the team. Tipp on teh other hand were involved in what coudl best be described as a "non event" agsint Cork for whatever the reasons, Cork didn't turn up on the day, they tried a system that they did not know how to operate, the weather was crap - non of this has done Tipp any favours.

Looking fro ward to the game and equally to the Dublin - Kilkenny game this Saturday - Dublin have very much been a mixed bag for the last two years but KK have shown a vulnerability in the full back line against Clare and they have massive injuries - they are vulnerable but deadly so for me a really interesting 70 minutes plus of hurling ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    God be with the days of going on a minibus with a load of the lads from the parish at home with a hape of cans , then hit hayses or the county for a few, there would be massive buzz and excitement around the square. Hit down to the stadium mouldy drunk, singing and chanting, great craic. Onto the terrace, if you can find somewhere to squeez in youd be doing well. The ball is thrown in the nerves and adrenaline kicks in, if the was sun beaming down the sweat comes out through you. jesus the drink wouldn t be long wearing off you then. Different now Im a older it just dosent seem half the buzz. Driving with the flask of tae and hangsangidges in the boot

For anyone who didn't experience The Days, trust me: they were sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Xenophile wrote: »

LOL...I needed a good laugh this morning, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭limmyhulk

i take back my well wishes
    what was i thinking
    waterford sickeners,bad as the tipp crowd
    1 half decent performance and yere taking over????
    ye'll win jack s**t blue bottlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

JesusRef wrote: »
    It was a bit of shouldering for f*cks sake - attacked - Christ you must be sheltered

Glad to see that Gleeson was coming out the better of it too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

limmyhulk wrote: »
    i take back my well wishes
    what was i thinking
    waterford sickeners,bad as the tipp crowd
    1 half decent performance and yere taking over????
    ye'll win jack s**t blue bottlers
    Theres no bitterness or disrespect towards any county on this page. people here will just call something as they see it. learn the difference and lighten up