Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Well done on the 5k win, lovely report and great pictures :eek: and Congrats on the 2 Leinster medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

nop98 wrote: »
    Hey BG - sorry, a bit late to the party, but your Iceland report is just wonderful. For years I have been trying to convince the lot here that we should go to Iceland on holidays and I get told to Talk to the Hand. :)

Oh do go! It's an amazing place and so much to do and see. Clear your credit card though, and smuggle in a few beers ;)

denis b wrote: »
    Nice work G. A truck full of pb's on the back of your holliers. So that's why McGregor goes to Iceland to train! Seems as though someone is planning to destroy the xc field sometime quite soon. Enjoy.

Thanks Denis. Well, I'm hoping the XC won't be as much of a shock to the system after a summer of racing on the track!

Firedance wrote: »
    This is what grabbed my attention too Dubgal, triathlon eh? Did you come over here from the darkside :D

Ha ha. I may have dabbled :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Great reading there BG. Delighted to see you reaping the rewards because you have been working bloody hard and consistently. So, when are you moving down to 400?? :pac:

You're like me, my shorter stuff is definitely better on the old v dot scale. I'm planning to approach the longer stuff by focusing on the faster stuff and working my way up while building up cycles of endurance. That's the plan anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Some great running G and medals and PB,s galore, being a track fairy really
    paying off, and all the hard work off course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

:eek: :eek: I go off the grid for a weekend and all this happens!!

Great going BG, well done in Iceland and at home. That's a nice haul of medals and podium finishes you got yourself. You must be well chuffed with project HTFU :) Your consistency and dedication to the plan is paying off, delighted for you.

Interested to hear more about this dabbling you did in a past life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Ok I have some more questions now about this Leinster medals crack, to add to the ones I asked DG...

...is there a minimum entry standard? Or a minimum time to get a medal...?

E.g., if a very slow o-50 showed up for the race and there were only 2 (very speedy) o-50's in the race, is a bronze medal still guaranteed? Even if 2 mins slower than the real athletes?

If yes, how do I apply?

annapr wrote: »
    Ok I have some more questions now about this Leinster medals crack, to add to the ones I asked DG...

...is there a minimum entry standard? Or a minimum time to get a medal...?

No and No. How do you think I got a medal :rolleyes: ?
    E.g., if a very slow o-50 showed up for the race and there were only 2 (very speedy) o-50's in the race, is a bronze medal still guaranteed? Even if 2 mins slower than the real athletes?

Yes and Yes. See above.
    If yes, how do I apply?

Just click HERE by 12th August :D

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    No and No. How do you think I got a medal :rolleyes: ?

Yes and Yes. See above.

Just click HERE by 12th August :D

I need a team manager apparently :p

You got a medal because you're bloody fast!!! (Although not as fast as those o-50's of course...;))

So really it's not much different than a road race if you get a medal for just showing up... Ok, I'll stop now before I spoil the party... Your onesie is a much bigger achievement. :D

Mulberry wrote: »
    Oooh, 2:45? That's a good time, perhaps it should be your focus all right. Well done!

Thanks Mulberry and seeing as you STILL have no log, I'll just have to congratulate your here, for now, on your most impressive medal haul. Was great to catch both your races and witness the super-speediness. See you in Tullamore in August if not before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

You got a medal because you're bloody fast!!! (Although not as fast as those o-50's of course...;))

So really it's not much different than a road race if you get a medal for just showing up... Ok, I'll stop now before I spoil the party... Your onesie is a much bigger achievement. :D

This begs the question - why don't more people compete in these races? Because the training is too severe? Because there's no hiding from anyone on a 400 meter track? Because it's too big a jump from the mass participation sport that most of us sit comfortably in?

I would say that anyone who takes on the training that's needed for these events, as BG has done, deserves their medal, rather than simply picking one up for having turned up. After all, the rest simply weren't brave enough.

I know you agree that BG deserves her medal, but so do the rest of us!

Sorry for hijacking your log BG :)

Don't worry, we'll get you in ;)

I did admit to someone (FD ?) that I could have cartwheeled the last lap and still claimed my medal :D.

It's actually a two-piece :cool:.

No argument from me in relation to the default medals. I feel fraudulent sharing a podium with runners of the calibre of DG who actually earned their medals. That said, the high standard in front of me did push me to a couple of PBs. I do think some clubs (Dunboyne for example) really embrace the track and field with a massive showing of masters athletes and if more clubs did this the entry lists wouldn't be as sparse in some of the events and all the medals would be hard fought.

See you in Tullamore ;)

This begs the question - why don't more people compete in these races? Because the training is too severe? Because there's no hiding from anyone on a 400 meter track? Because it's too big a jump from the mass participation sport that most of us sit comfortably in?

I would say that anyone who takes on the training that's needed for these events, as BG has done, deserves their medal, rather than simply picking one up for having turned up. After all, the rest simply weren't brave enough.

Dunboyne had an amazing turnout on Sunday. Is that due to the club actively promoting track to their members or what would you put it down to ? D&D had a good showing as well I think but that was about it.

To be honest, while I was delighted with my races and my times, I did feel the need to explain to everyone that I didn't earn them in the same way as DG, or yourself, or my clubmate in the 3000m. If I'd had someone (anyone!) behind me in 4th place, I'd have felt a lot more deserving if that makes sense.

Don't get me wrong, Mulberry, I am genuinely in awe of runners like yourself and BG and DG... I'm just curious about the nature of the Leinster track event, not having ever heard much about it before. And I was being smart arsed by saying I would even consider showing up because I'm nowhere near that level.

So I agree BG deserves every medal she wins, and then some... And particularly her courage in competing with people she knows are faster than her...

But maybe it is a shame that more people don't participate... Surely clubs (I'm not a member of a club) should encourage more runners to train and participate?

Isn't it a shame that only 3 athletes competed for a provincial level in BG's category? And 2 in the o-50... 1 senior...

I should be in bed, BUT, I am very tempted to register for the 1500m in Santry tomorrow (deadline is 1pm). Do I now have an addiction to track ? Is that the dumbest idea I have ever expressed in writing ? Should I just grab a couple of cans of Heino and go to support my clubmates instead ?

Will go with the best advice received here in the morning :D

I should be in bed, BUT, I am very tempted to register for the 1500m in Santry tomorrow (deadline is 1pm). Do I now have an addiction to track ? Is that the dumbest idea I have ever expressed in writing ? Should I just grab a couple of cans of Heino and go to support my clubmates instead ?

Will go with the best advice received here in the morning :D

Register!!! Then go to bed now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I think you know the answer to your own question, BG. Enjoy the race.

Thanks Anna and Murph, but after a good night's sleep I have got some sense and booked in for Pilates instead :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Yiz should all have been long in bed by 23.42 :cool: FWIW I'd have said sign up too :p oh well, I'm sure pilates will be lots of fun....!

She still has till 1pm.

Dunboyne had an amazing turnout on Sunday. Is that due to the club actively promoting track to their members or what would you put it down to ? D&D had a good showing as well I think but that was about it.

It's quite simple really. We now have a new middle distance coach and a new sprints coach.

The majority rules and in the case of our club the majority want to do road races and marathons, plus XC. Therefore until we got our new coaches (just recently) all the sessions were geared to suit the road runners.

Without dedicated and specific coaching it's very difficult to train for this type of discipline - not everyone has your single mindedness BG.

So it comes down to the availability and willingness of qualified people to give their time volunteering to coach the rest of us.

We're still looking for more people to join the groups which are still quite small. There were 16 athletes competing on Sunday from Dunboyne which was huge compared to previous years. Kudos to the coaches for facilitating this.
    To be honest, while I was delighted with my races and my times, I did feel the need to explain to everyone that I didn't earn them in the same way as DG, or yourself, or my clubmate in the 3000m. If I'd had someone (anyone!) behind me in 4th place, I'd have felt a lot more deserving if that makes sense.
    I started sprint training in January and competed in the Leinster Indoors a few weeks later. I won bronze in the 400 and was killed telling everyone there was no-one behind me :o

However, I've been putting a huge amount into the training I've done since then. It's been a tough but enjoyable few months, and I'm delighted to have gotten my medals this time. OK there were only two of us in my 200, but I'm confident enough to think my training warranted a medal regardless of who turned up. And I'm very happy to say I broke the O40 record in the 100: there were five of us in that race but I think again my training effort warranted the gold, regardless of how many turned up (within reason!). (I'm not usually this boastful - but I need to make the point!)

I think the same applies to you BG. You've been doing the HTFU training recently, giving it everything and improving steadily. You went to Tullamore to test yourself and in my view you came out on top, 3rd position, and well deserved. There's no difference between you and I other than perhaps I started training for this discipline a few weeks before you did. Otherwise, if you say I deserve my medal then so do you ;)

But maybe it is a shame that more people don't participate... Surely clubs (I'm not a member of a club) should encourage more runners to train and participate?

Isn't it a shame that only 3 athletes competed for a provincial level in BG's category? And 2 in the o-50... 1 senior...

Hi Anna. We are killed trying to encourage people to start sprint or middle distance training. However, certainly in our club, unless people have a bit of a 'yen' for it most prefer to stick with what they're at - road running generally. Little do they know how thrilling track racing is, and how fascinating it is to train and run completely differently. Track is like a different sport compared to road racing.

It appears to be the same in other clubs. I was gutted to see the fields were so small in my races. To train for months single-mindedly and to have so few turn up to race was really disappointing.

I will continue to sing the praises of track though, and hopefully convert a few. You never know, I might see you in Tullamore yet ;)

Thanks Anna and Murph, but after a good night's sleep I have got some sense and booked in for Pilates instead :rolleyes:

My clubmate Ciara whom you met on Sunday must have no sense either - she's booked in for the 1500! Why wouldn't you! Still got an hour....

I
    I started sprint training in January and competed in the Leinster Indoors a few weeks later. I won bronze in the 400 and was killed telling everyone there was no-one behind me :o

However, I've been putting a huge amount into the training I've done since then. It's been a tough but enjoyable few months, and I'm delighted to have gotten my medals this time. OK there were only two of us in my 200, but I'm confident enough to think my training warranted a medal regardless of who turned up. And I'm very happy to say I broke the O40 record in the 100: there were five of us in that race but I think again my training effort warranted the gold, regardless of how many turned up (within reason!). (I'm not usually this boastful - but I need to make the point!)

I think the same applies to you BG. You've been doing the HTFU training recently, giving it everything and improving steadily. You went to Tullamore to test yourself and in my view you came out on top, 3rd position, and well deserved. There's no difference between you and I other than perhaps I started training for this discipline a few weeks before you did. Otherwise, if you say I deserve my medal then so do you ;)

This, absolutely this. You've both worked hard, you both turned up to race and you raced flat out, I don't care if no one was behind you BG, you earned those medals and that's that. The PB's too but you still earned those medals. I'm glad to see Mulberry seeing it that way too, finally :p

You might have one more for track in the not to distant future, seeing as you've done such a good sales pitch there R... :pac:

Brilliant!!!!
    :D:D:D

Did she sign up, that is the question.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Just catching up here, G. Great going over the last few weeks. You are putting in the effort and getting the rewards. If someone thinks otherwise let them stand on the startline and take them from you;)

Btw buff is a great prize. I have been running in the buff for the last few days in Croatia and it's to be recommended in the hot weather :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Tempted also!!!:eek:

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Just catching up here, G. Great going over the last few weeks. You are putting in the effort and getting the rewards. If someone thinks otherwise let them stand on the startline and take them from you;)

Btw buff is a great prize. I have been running in the buff for the last few days in Croatia and it's to be recommended in the hot weather :)

:eek: :eek: