Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Firedance wrote: »
    Did she sign up, that is the question.....:p

Nope, car died this morning so no transport to Santry. It's meant to be!

Mulberry wrote: »
    And I'm very happy to say I broke the O40 record in the 100

Whoop, whoop! That's just fantastic. And off just a few months training :eek: You'll have to change your user name to Usain Mulberry. Or Mulberry Bolt ;).

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Just catching up here, G. Great going over the last few weeks. You are putting in the effort and getting the rewards. If someone thinks otherwise let them stand on the startline and take them from you;)

You're all about the smackdowns, M :D.
    FBOT01 wrote: »
    Btw buff is a great prize. I have been running in the buff for the last few days in Croatia and it's to be recommended in the hot weather :)

I'm sure you get away with that sort of thing in Croatia but I won't be running in my buff along the seafront :o.
    Younganne wrote: »
    Tempted also!!!:eek:

Go for it !!

Tuesday – REST

An overdue trip to the osteopath meant no running today either. But my back/hips/glutes all feel great after a few acupuncture needles and a couple of spinal clicks.

Wednesday - REST

Car crash of a day training-wise, so actually glad I didn’t sign up to the Graded Meet as I’d have been bummed not to make it. Couldn’t go to Pilates because my stoopid car wouldn’t start this morning (stress!) and I had to stay home this evening while the OH drove around for about 2 hours to recharge the battery after getting a jump start from a kindly neighbour ;).

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 6.4:o

On a more positive note I have (finally!) found a 800m training programme (in Daniels’ Running Formula) so I’m going to use that to train for the 800m at the National Masters in August. It looks tough and while the sessions are laid out and target paces for the various reps are very clear, the rest of the easy days and mileage are left up to the individual so there will be a bit of guesswork involved. I also need to factor in some races, of course :D, and with only 10 weeks until the main event it means I’m jumping in at the business end of the schedule :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Whoop, whoop! That's just fantastic. And off just a few months training :eek: You'll have to change your user name to Usain Mulberry. Or Mulberry Bolt ;).

+1 to that

... And just for the record, I wasn't suggesting at all that BG (or anyone else) didn't earn and deserve her medals, I know how hard and consistently she trains...

I’m moving back to Monday-Sunday weeks from next week so these last four days signal the end of Operation HTFU while I come up with a suitable title :confused: for the coming 10 weeks’ training.

Thursday - REST

Already treading a fine line between resting and laziness and definitely crossed the threshold today.

Oh well :rolleyes:.

Friday – S&C, Easy

Tough session in the gym. Serves me right for slacking off the last couple of weeks. All motivated now with a new programme focussing on single leg stuff to sort out my weak side and running-specific moves. Step ups are the devil’s exercise :(.

Easy lap of St.Anne’s on as much grass/trail as possible. Not a bad day for it actually, thought it would be muggier but there was a nice cooling breeze.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:03 (grass, trail, path)

Saturday - LSR

Howth trail loop with a friend. I was in bits after the gym session and she fancied an easy run so we took our time with me leading the uphills while she led the downhills. Chatted the whole way round so effort was easy but the heat made it tougher than it should have been. Went splat near the end after tripping on a rock but no damage done as my hands took the impact. Done and dusted before midday.
    • 8.3 miles @ 11:16 (trail, hilly)
    Splits: 12:46, 11:29, 9:37, 10:12, 12:32, 10:37, 10:25, 12:51 (3:06). Super slow but job done.

Sunday

Started the day with junior parkrun in Albo. It’s a great set-up: close to the playground and lots of friendly volunteers. And, even better, it’s close to home so less panic of a Sunday morning trying to get out of the house on time. Good gang of about 100 kids there today. Met KennyG and 2 of the KennyG juniors as well as a colleague with his gang of 3.

I’m starting the 800m programme a day early because I simply won’t have the time to get it all done in 7 days this week. Getting a bit scared about all these Q1 and Q2 sessions :eek:. Today’s Q1 session called for 6-8 x 1000m @ ‘I’ pace which Daniels says is 4:08 based on my 800m PB. That’s quicker than 5K pace for me so I don’t think I could manage 6 reps, never mind 8. Thankfully there is a qualifying statement in the programme which says the sum of the ‘I’ pace should be no more than 8% of the weekly mileage. So that’s going to be 4 reps. Phew!

Jogged to the track, did some drills and strides. About to start the session when my watch decided to freeze. And remains frozen :rolleyes:. Luckily lane 1 was free so at least the distance would be right. Decided to use the stopwatch on my phone to get an idea of time. These were tough in the heat! Paces below are approximate because it took ages to get the phone into my pocket after clicking ‘Start’ and the same at the other end when I was trying to get it out of my pocket to click for the lap. Happy with the effort. Only thing that got me through the last rep was the promise of chocolate milk and a nutty bar. Jogged home on heavy legs. A few easy days ahead before the BHAA Trinity Track on Wednesday.
    • 7.8 miles incl. 4 x 1000m @ ‘I’ pace (target 4:08)
    Approx paces from phone : 4:10, 4:03, 4:06, 4:06

TOTAL MILES (4 DAYS): 20.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Where do you get your gym plan from BG, someone at the gym? Is it tailored specifically to needs for shorter training or more general?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Good to see you today, sounds like tough afternoon, hope you enjoyed well earned choclate. Have a good one Wednesday:)

I was reading your update wondering what "I" pace could possibly be... Then very impressed with your 4:xx paces... And now I'm confused again... Is that per km?

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Where do you get your gym plan from BG, someone at the gym? Is it tailored specifically to needs for shorter training or more general?

I go to the Dublin Sports Clinic once every 6 weeks or so. I had asked them originally for a programme to make me faster :D, so yeah I think it's specific enough, certainly different from anything I could have dreamed up myself or got in the gym.
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Good to see you today, sounds like tough afternoon, hope you enjoyed well earned choclate. Have a good one Wednesday:)

Likewise, great to see you and to meet the KG juniors :). Thoughts of chocolate milk were what got me through the last rep :pac::pac::pac:
    annapr wrote: »
    I was reading your update wondering what "I" pace could possibly be... Then very impressed with your 4:xx paces... And now I'm confused again... Is that per km?

Ha ha, don't be impressed, those are km paces, lol. I only had the stopwatch on the phone so those are times per 1000m. They were more or less on target. Daniels, (all very new to me), has lots of different paces based on my 800m PB (F,'fast', R 'race, I 'interval) and a few others. Interval pace like I did today is a bit quicker than my 5K PB so I was very happy to get through the session!

Well I was going to be super-impressed if the pace was 4:xx per mile... Now I'm only very impressed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,778 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice week G, esp the session. Was this at Irishtown? Thought it was closed.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Nice week G, esp the session. Was this at Irishtown? Thought it was closed.

Yup, Irishtown. It's open, and recent repairs are evident from the new painted lines around the finish area. Looks like a good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I’m moving back to Monday-Sunday weeks from next week so these last four days signal the end of Operation HTFU [/B]

Thank chryst, I can't handle this Thursday to Wednesday stuff that's been going on :p

And, even in the evil KM's those are impressive paces! g'luck on Wednesday :)

Borrowing this acronym from Dubgal as it seems entirely appropriate for this next phase of training. It combines my aspirations to be a Woman Track Fairy with the trepidation I’m feeling looking at Daniels’ 800m training plan :eek:.

Monday – Recovery

Body was in a heap with the combined after effects of the gym, the trail run and then the track session over the weekend. Went for a recovery run on the grass in the local park and the pace was appropriately slow. The Daniels programme prescribes an easy pace of around 8-8:30 min/miles which I will happily ignore and just run by feel. He doesn’t suggest a recovery pace :rolleyes:.

Physio visit next and I was given out to over the state of my legs and glutes and advised to come back for a proper torture session when I don’t have a race pending. Ha ha, I’ll go back in March ...
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:30 (grass)

Tuesday – Easy

Out and back along the seafront on grass, throwing in 8 x 15 second strides during the last mile or so. Lovely conditions for running: bit of a breeze and cooler than of late.
    • 4.0 miles @ 8:51 (grass) incl. 8 x 15 sec strides

Wednesday – BHAA Trinity Track Races
    Perfect weather and the usual amazing atmosphere in Trinity made for a most enjoyable evening of running.

I ran from home to College Park as my warm up, met a load of clubmates and did some strides and a few stretches. The first race was 1000 yards (914 metres for the metric fans :rolleyes:), the distance chosen for some historic reason I did read about but have since forgotten. There were 2 women’s races and I was in the faster one by the skin of my teeth based on my BHAA standard. So I got to line up alongside Caroline Crowley. Gun (a real one!) went off. Felt I was running well but knew I must be going fast as I was too close to the speedy people and it couldn’t last. Was grand up to about 600m but legs were starting to burn then and I was passed by a few people and couldn’t react at all. 3:21 watch time for the 1000 yards. Meh.

Next race was less than an hour later: 2000m. My time from this last year was 7:59 and I’m still not sure how I did that. It was going to be tough to beat that but no harm in giving it a shot. They combined all women for this one so there was just the one race, 5 laps. We were off and I had decided to be much more conservative this time and tucked in behind a clubmate who had done a similar time to me in the 1000 yards. First split was called at 93 seconds which was grand, but didn’t hear any splits after that and wasn’t looking at the watch. Felt the pace slow in the middle but didn’t have the will to pick it up or to attempt to overtake. Thought I might have a bit of a kick for the last lap, but so did my clubmate and we pushed each other to the line but she had the faster finish. 8:14 watch time. Meh again.

The 800m programme calls for 4 x 200m @ mile pace after races. Not sure what that’s about but I guess it’s good to run fast on tired legs. So I dumped my shoes and ran these barefoot on the track. Should have done this for the races!! Felt great on these, really strong and well under target pace which was 6 min/mile or 45 secs per rep. Reps were 44 / 42 / 43 / 42 and the distance was a bit over the 200m so paces according to Garmin were 5:32 / 5:16 / 5:23 / 5:10 min/mile. Loved these, was the highlight of the evening. Deffo need to do more barefoot running.

Jogged home and had a big feed of spaghetti and meatballs. Rest day tomorrow, looking forward to it.
    • 7.3 miles (path, grass) incl. 2 races and 4 x 200m @ mile pace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,778 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Jaypers. Fair play. I don't know much about this stuff but looks like a good night's work!

Jeez... WTF?!?! Is right... A session after not one, but two, races....:eek: does it really say that??? Sounds like your perfect evening :D

Murph_D wrote: »
    Jaypers. Fair play. I don't know much about this stuff but looks like a good night's work!

Thanks, Murph. More like a tough session than a race really because the distances are so short. And it was on grass so less impact. Legs actually feel better this morning than they did yesterday :rolleyes:.
    annapr wrote: »
    Jeez... WTF?!?! Is right... A session after not one, but two, races....:eek: does it really say that??? Sounds like your perfect evening :D

I know ?!? I double checked and that is what JD says. Although he probably didn't have 2 races in mind. But sure they're only little.

It was a great evening, one of my favourites on the racing calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Well done on those. Were you jogging around with one of your clubmates cheering on a Cru lad who won his 2000? I finished second in that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Looks like tough workout. Any reason for the meh? Tired legs or started too fast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

What a night BG, that's super going after two meh races.

Enjoy new WTF programme, this is brilliant and perfect for you.

Well done on those. Were you jogging around with one of your clubmates cheering on a Cru lad who won his 2000? I finished second in that one.

Hi Wubble Wubble, no that wasn't me. The Cru women were out in force last night so could have been any one of about 10. Well done on 2nd place! It really was a great evening, wasn't it ?
    laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Looks like tough workout. Any reason for the meh? Tired legs or started too fast?

A little from column A, a little from column B. Just not overly impressed with my times but our coach said even the elites lose 2 seconds per lap going from track to grass, so us mere mortals lose even more. That made me feel a bit better. Not a goal race either so no taper etc. Still got my 1000 yards PB though :D.
    aquinn wrote: »
    What a night BG, that's super going after two meh races.

Enjoy new WTF programme, this is brilliant and perfect for you.

Yeah, the after party was better than the main event :rolleyes:. WTF is fun so far, ask me in a couple of weeks :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

'Twas a bit of craic all right. Super weather, and a novel experience for me running in Trinners. First individual prize ever :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

The post race workouts sound a little mad but a lot of coaches use them. After a race, you're hormones and Central nervous system are in a great position to run a workout and absorb training, you're body is primed to run fast and feel good like you did so the idea is to get in a nice workout and soak up the benefits of running fast without huge stress because your body is on the perfect state to do so. Haven't tried it myself but even notice on my cool downs that my legs feel ridiculously good sometimes after a workout.

El Caballo wrote: »
    The post race workouts sound a little mad but a lot of coaches use them. After a race, you're hormones and Central nervous system are in a great position to run a workout and absorb training, you're body is primed to run fast and feel good like you did so the idea is to get in a nice workout and soak up the benefits of running fast without huge stress because your body is on the perfect state to do so. Haven't tried it myself but even notice on my cool downs that my legs feel ridiculously good sometimes after a workout.

Interesting.....thanks for that El C. Good to know the theory behind it. Legs certainly felt good on those reps, better than they did in the races :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

El Caballo wrote: »

I'm the complete opposite, after a race I a big steaming mess that can hardly walk. Even after tough workouts my legs prefer walking!

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

I'm the complete opposite, after a race I a big steaming mess that can hardly walk. Even after tough workouts my legs prefer walking!

TbL

Anything over 5k and that's to be expected. Those workouts are more for mid d runners from 800-5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Savage training!!!! session BG. Don't think my post race repertoire would stretch to more than lying on the grass banks watching the last of the races :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Wow G super stuff well done :)

denis b wrote: »
    Savage training!!!! session BG. Don't think my post race repertoire would stretch to more than lying on the grass banks watching the last of the races :)

And a cold beer, don't forget the cold beer :) I must remember that for next year, it's a good plan.
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Wow G super stuff well done :)

Thanks Mrs Mc, enjoy your second holiday!