Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I tell ya, if I ever manage that sub 21, the drinks will be on me :D

You mean when !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Coachy's wise words: 'race the wo/man and the times will follow'.

If you 'race' while looking at the watch, you're essentially time-trialling, i.e., your focus is being distracted by the watch. To get the maximum out of yourself, the focus is ideally on the race and nothing else.

By referencing the watch during the race, you are allowing the watch to dictate how you feel and even limit you. Racing without the watch means you will be more in tune with your sensory data and I guarantee you, you will extract more out of yourself....even get to retching point ;) Yes, you should be feeling queasy with half a mile to go.

Plus 1 also to the 'blowing up' risk. Experiment, what's the worst can happen? You might get treacle-legged but you are very strong now and fast, it may feel like you slow but you won't considerably.

What do you want more: sub 21 or data telling you how you split a 21:xx? :p

Sold :D

Seriously, DG thanks so much for that. You are right, of course (*stamps on watch and breaks it into tiny pieces*)
    Not really

I love to race XC but never seem to get as much enjoyment out of a road race (with a couple of exceptions). Probably because I tend to treat them as a time trial (with all the associated pressure) rather than a race. So a change of approach is required and I'll start with ditching the watch. Thanks again.

Mulberry wrote: »
    Why not bring the watch but put some tape or something over the face/display? Start and Stop button is all you'll do with it.

(I understand - when you do smash 21 you want to be able to look over the data to enjoy it all over again! From one data nerd to another ;))

Oh I like this. So I don't have to go completely cold turkey :D. Dubgal do you approve ?

FBOT01 wrote: »
    +1 to this but at least if you blow up on a 5k you know that you won't have far to walk home and you won't spend the walk wondering if you pushed hard enough :)

True :rolleyes:. My excuse up to now has always been the Flabs but the S&C focus seems to have paid off in that respect and it's rare that I even get a hint of that pain now so time to start pushing a bit harder all right.

annapr wrote: »
    Yeah but which wo/man...? How do you know how fast they're going...? If BG had just raced your man she was hanging out behind she wouldn't have gotten a better time.... ?

I knew I shouldn't have been hanging out behind yer man but I thought about it too much and wasted time. If there had been a cheap plastic trophy and a team XC title at stake there's no way I would have stuck behind him. You do end up racing the same familiar faces though, particularly at the BHAA races. Invariably though the people I'd beat in XC will be way ahead of me on the road :rolleyes:

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    You mean when !

I don't think I'll be buying the rounds for a while :o.

For BG I think, as FBOT has suggested, a large part of it is believing and training her 'mental racing process' (re arrange those three words and chaos might ensue....).

I'm gonna get me some mantras!
    I'd say she will be very pleasantly surprised at the rewards to be gained by leaving the watch behind when road (and track, tell me no watch next wed??! :eek: ) racing.

Not now :o

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Really what I think we are saying is bring the XC BG to the road for your next 5k, chase people not time and don't back off until you cross the line....or puke!!

Chase, race, vom. Got it :pac::pac::pac:

Monday – LSR

Saw on the DCM website there was a new route map up for the Frank Duffy 10, so of course I had to try it out. The changes make for a more undulating route, all within the park, and you’ve still got that climb towards the end. Factor in yesterday’s wind and I’d to slow the pace right down to keep it anyway easy. The first couple of miles are fast and also from about 6 – 8 miles is net downhill but overall I’d say it’s a good bit slower than last year’s route. The half marathon has changed too – no super-fast start down the Khyber and no Chapelizod Road.
    • 10 miles @ 9:05 (tarmac)

Tuesday – Speed

The plan called for 2 sets of 5 x 200m @ mile pace with 1 min recovery and 3 minutes between sets. I wasn’t too hopeful of hitting the pace on tired legs after racing on Sunday and a long run on Monday. There was a bit of a breeze out too. Excuses declared and out of the way, this actually went really well. I have a 200m stretch marked out close to the Bull Wall end of the promenade that tends to be dog-free or at least has fewer of the frisbee-catching, ball-chasing, badminton-playing* variety.

Alternated the reps so that every second one was with the wind. These were grand, comfortable even, with the ones into the wind somewhat tougher. Legs very tired at the end though and the cool down back to the car was a bit of a plod.

*Couldn’t quite believe my eyes last week: two women playing badminton across the running trail/track on the promenade, while a dog ran back and forth between them chasing the shuttle and causing every runner to divert. Maybe I need to work on my tolerance :rolleyes:.
    • 5.5 miles incl. 2 x (5 x 200m). 1,3,5,7,9 into the wind, 2,4,6,8,10 wind-assisted.
    Paces: (5:49, 5:41, 5:43, 5:32, 5:44, 5:33, 5:39, 5:35, 5:41, 5:32) on grass.

Wednesday – S&C, Easy

Intermediate Pilates with a substitute instructor. Not as tough as the regular class but a good workout all the same. Short run up to the Bull Wall along the grass then drove to physio for some work on my foot, quads, ITB and calves. All good.
    • 3.0 miles @ 9:07 (grass)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 32.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Have the trophy shop lined up its all there for the taking:)

Where's all this positive mental attitude gone ?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Where's all this positive mental attitude gone ?????

Plus one :D it'll be sooner than you think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Monday – LSR
    Saw on the DCM website there was a new route map up for the Frank Duffy 10, so of course I had to try it out. The changes make for a more undulating route, all within the park, and you’ve still got that climb towards the end. Factor in yesterday’s wind and I’d to slow the pace right down to keep it anyway easy. The first couple of miles are fast and also from about 6 – 8 miles is net downhill but overall I’d say it’s a good bit slower than last year’s route. The half marathon has changed too – no super-fast start down the Khyber and no Chapelizod Road.

Nicely spotted! I guess it was flat, but I never enjoyed being out on the road. I'll appreciate that downhill before hitting the Upper Glen Road in both the HM and FD :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Singer wrote: »
    Nicely spotted! I guess it was flat, but I never enjoyed being out on the road. I'll appreciate that downhill before hitting the Upper Glen Road in both the HM and FD :)

Good to have the S bends and Military Rd back, even if it's in the wrong direction. That section will be fast too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Oh I like this. So I don't have to go completely cold turkey :D. Dubgal do you approve ?
    *sigh* ok.....actually it's a deadly idea. I get to approve the taping technique, ok?
    Chase, race, vom. Got it :pac::pac::pac:

I am so stealing that. Brilliant!! :D

Singer wrote: »

It actually cuts across via the pedestrian path (the one where Jingle Bells finishes) so the downhill is cut short, according to the map anyway. But that means the uphill is cut short too :D

Thursday – REST

Friday – S&C, Easy

Gym first then escaped into the fresh air for a lovely run along the promenade and out the Bull Wall to the end of the pier. Breezy enough on the way out but it was lovely and refreshing after the stuffy gym. First time this season to see a swimmer in the sea. Brave man in just a pair of togs :eek:. I used to dread the arrival of the first week in May back when I was doing darkside stuff because it meant you couldn’t put off the open water swimming any longer. Brrrrrrr!
    • 6.0 miles @ 9:02 (grass, path)

Saturday – Easy

Easy miles in the local park in the late afternoon. Legs fairly heavy still after the gym the previous day. I’m finding it hard at the moment to get the balance right between the gym work and the running. I think I’m working hard in the gym and should probably be resting more to get the full benefits. But anyone who knows me or reads this log knows I’m not great for resting. It has come back to bite me more than once. I also tend to eat like I’m running 50 miles a week so always a bit suspicious (and wary!) of resting in case I turn into Ten Tonne Tessie.
    • 4.0 miles @ 8:58 (grass) incl. 6 x 20 sec strides

Sunday – Irish Runner Paced Mile (Phoenix Park)

This did not go well.

I did write a race rant report but deleted it as I’m so, like, over it already ?
    • 1.5 miles incl. paced mile @ 6:27 :o + warm up drills and strides.

Monday – S&C, Easy

Only had time for a few miles before Pilates. Good class using the spine corrector and felt nicely stretched afterwards.
    • 4.0 miles @ 8:47 (grass)

Tuesday – Easy

Had a short window for this between work and heading to Santry with aquinn to cheer Annapr and Laura_ac3 at the Clonliffe Harriers 2 miler. Great juvenile fun supporting them from the shelter of the grandstand shouting “You got this!”, “Almost there!” (after a lap), “She’s behind you” and such like. Fair play to both for gutsy runs in conditions that would be considered testing for XC in the depths of winter.
    • 2.3 miles @ 9:02 (tarmac)

Wednesday – Graded Meet Tallaght 1500m

Loved this. Admittedly I’d a soft PB of 6:03 from 2012 (the last time I raced 1500m), but after Sunday’s performance I had demons to exorcise and the only goal was to get around in one piece and not finish in a vat of lactic acid. The Graded Meets are so well organised, and this was just a pleasure to be part of. Plans for base building this summer have been cast aside. I’m gonna do track, hell yeah!

Well done to Mulberry whose speed in the 200m was a sight to behold. Super stuff.
    • 4.0 miles incl. 1500m @ 5:44 (PB)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 21.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

See racing is your thing, pace mile says it all, think better to race than pace.
    Well done on PB, nice chunk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

Yay! Another track convert! I love it!

EVERYONE should give it a try! Makes a great change from the road.

Bungy Girl check out:
    http://www.athleticsleinster.org/
    Leinster Masters is on Sunday 5th June in Tullamore, get past times on the website.

National Masters is in August. Details and age category results are on the Athletics Ireland site.

By the way - 5.44 for 1500 equates to 6.09 for the mile :) Keep up the good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    See racing is your thing, pace mile says it all, think better to race than pace.
    Well done on PB, nice chunk off.

+1. Just race the pacer and hey Bingo! Going well overall at the moment.

Do you happen to know when they are planning another one of these. Can't find any dates on the website?

As a general point, you're a busy Mother, Gym work, pilates, running, all takes its toll on the body. Do you ease up on the other stuff (apart form the Mothering obviously :)) coming up to a race? Do you think these things might have any negative short term impact on your performances. I know they have longer term benefits clearly but just wondered if you have thought about this and are happy enough with your current regime?

BTW I wish I had half your energy so I'm not suggest you give up anything, just wondering how much consideration you give to the other stuff when preparing for a particular race that you want to do well in?

Hope that makes sense and I'm not rambling here.

RedRunner wrote: »
    +1. Just race the pacer and hey Bingo! Going well overall at the moment.

Do you happen to know when they are planning another one of these. Can't find any dates on the website?

It was actually the opposite for me RR, the paced mile was a disaster but the Graded Meet (no pacer) went really well. Tell ya all about it at the Staff Relays ;). They tend to announce the paced miles a week to 10 days in advance so if you like the Irish Runner on FB you'll get the notification. Or just email them to get on the mailing list.
    RedRunner wrote: »
    As a general point, you're a busy Mother, Gym work, pilates, running, all takes its toll on the body. Do you ease up on the other stuff (apart form the Mothering obviously :)) coming up to a race? Do you think these things might have any negative short term impact on your performances. I know they have longer term benefits clearly but just wondered if you have thought about this and are happy enough with your current regime?

BTW I wish I had half your energy so I'm not suggest you give up anything, just wondering how much consideration you give to the other stuff when preparing for a particular race that you want to do well in?

Hope that makes sense and I'm not rambling here.

Cheers for the feedback, and you're right, I am trying to get the balance right and it does have an impact on performance for sure, but if I've a particular race where I want to do well I'll generally skip the gym and go down a level in Pilates that week. I suppose because I'm racing a lot, I can't taper like that much or I wouldn't do much training at all. Have to say in general I'm feeling pretty strong and the gym work is paying off. I just need to rest a bit more than I do. And outsource the mothering sometimes :D. Catch up with you at the staff relays ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

It was actually the opposite for me RR, the paced mile was a disaster but the Graded Meet (no pacer) went really well. Tell ya all about it at the Staff Relays ;). They tend to announce the paced miles a week to 10 days in advance so if you like the Irish Runner on FB you'll get the notification. Or just email them to get on the mailing list.

Ok cool. I'll have a look at that. Thanks

[/QUOTE]
    Cheers for the feedback, and you're right, I am trying to get the balance right and it does have an impact on performance for sure, but if I've a particular race where I want to do well I'll generally skip the gym and go down a level in Pilates that week. I suppose because I'm racing a lot, I can't taper like that much or I wouldn't do much training at all. Have to say in general I'm feeling pretty strong and the gym work is paying off. I just need to rest a bit more than I do. And outsource the mothering sometimes :D. Catch up with you at the staff relays ?[/QUOTE]

Yep, hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Monday – S&C, Easy

Only had time for a few miles before Pilates. Good class using the spine corrector and felt nicely stretched afterwards.

Is this the machine thingy you mentioned before or another torture gym device?

Also well done on the race in Tallaght :)

spaceylou wrote: »
    Is this the machine thingy you mentioned before or another torture gym device?

Also well done on the race in Tallaght :)

No, it's a different Pilates thingy - almost like a big kid's car seat flipped over and made of a very strong polystyrene foam. You drape yourself over it and it helps with roll up technique and other Pilates moves.

And thanks, Tallaght was fun (the 1500m, not the 5K :eek:)

Great stuff and great to see the WTF* group growing :cool:

Now. Race report. please

Oh and for both;) Dump gym or whatever tonight, pour yourself a glass and get writing :D

*Women Track Fairies

Great stuff and great to see the WTF* group growing :cool:

Now. Race report. please

Oh and for both;) Dump gym or whatever tonight, pour yourself a glass and get writing :D

*Women Track Fairies

WTF! Love it :D

There will be no reports. I deleted my 1,000 word rant about the mile so I'm not writing it again. I have, however, been telling anyone who will listen about the horror of it all. The 1500m is all a bit of a blur and can easily be summarised: Bang, run, run quite fast Ted, ugh legs hurt, thank flip that's over.

:cool: :D :cool: :D :cool: :D :cool: :D :cool: :D :cool: :D

Thursday – REST

Friday – S&C, Easy

Level 1 Pilates, easy peasy, followed by an inadvertent naked run up to the Bull Wall and back as I had forgotten my watch.
    • 3.5 miles (grass)

Saturday – Naked parkrun @ Malahide

What a glorious day! Got the DART to Malahide and apart from the unpleasant experience of having a ticketless commuter ‘share’ the exit barrier with me (eh, personal space please !? Ugh!) it was a very relaxing journey. Was early (of course :rolleyes:) so grabbed a coffee before heading to the start and doing a warm up jog along with drills and strides.

The plan was to race – naked – and aim for at least a course PB (<21:47), hopefully reverse the current backwards trend (<21:40) OR, best case scenario, run a new (non-Jingle Bells) PB (<21:21).

For someone who only got a Garmin in the last year I’ve become worryingly attached so I was going to take Mulberry’s sage advice to cover the screen so I’d technically be running naked but would have the stats to drool (or wail!) over afterwards depending on how everything went. But I forgot to bring anything to tape the screen so I changed the screen to calories and switched off the auto-lap beeper thingy as I knew I would be tempted to look at the splits as they beeped. I also forgot my barcode, duh, so I took this as a sign that I was going to have the best run ever and there would be no proof.

There was a big crowd (390 runners) and I made sure to line up just a few rows back as I knew based on recent results I’d probably be in the top 40 or so and I didn’t want to be stuck too far back.

I can’t remember the last time I raced (other than XC) without paying attention to the watch. It is strangely liberating :D. I may do it again :D.

The start was fast enough and even though I was reasonably close to the front there was still weaving to do before getting some space. There was a guy ahead of me with massive headphones who kept on cutting corners so the least I’d have to do was come in ahead of him :rolleyes:. There was also a woman (with headphones) who I overtook three times, each time she’d come sprinting past only to slow down again. I wasn't going to let her overtake a 4th time :pac::pac:

Short lap completed we turned off for the bigger loop which takes in the forest trails and is the nicest part of the route. Turns out the watch would have been a hindrance here as, like in parts of St.Anne’s, the tree cover throws the GPS off and the graph, after the fact, shows crazy dips and peaks in pace through this section even though I was, I think, fairly steady. I was feeling pretty good here but working hard and focussed on a guy in an orange t-shirt ahead who appeared to be slowing and a guy in a navy t-shirt who was a few seconds ahead but holding a nice steady pace. He eventually overtook orange guy and I followed suit. Was starting to feel it now but had no idea how far there was to go without the feedback from the watch. Thought briefly about stopping (“No one knows I’m here”), then felt guilty and re-focussed in on navy guy who was holding steady just ahead. I also figured I’d come this far, I can’t give up now or I’ll never find out how the naked experiment ends! We came up around the tennis courts again which meant less than half a mile to go and a spectator shouted 3rd female (who, me ?). If he was right then it was worth hanging on and digging in. Up the incline and I was on navy guy’s shoulder now. About 200m to go and he got a second wind from somewhere and took off but I made sure to thank him afterwards for getting me through.

Saw 21:17 on the watch and went to see if I could get my result included without the barcode. They said they would try and sure enough I got the text and email within the hour with the official result which matched my watch. Happy Days and thank you Malahide parkrun.

So, to Dubgal and everyone else who commented and offered advice after the Tallaght 5K : you rock! Thank you so much for taking the time to make those suggestions, the trend has been reversed and the 5K monkey is off my back. Naked running is the best. But naked running backed up by technology is even better, thank you Mulberry for the taping suggestion.
    • 4.5 miles (tarmac) incl. parkrun @ 21:17 (non-JB PB )

Stats:
    29th overall, 3rd F
    73.92% age grading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great stuff BG, very well done. Some 5k demons laid to rest for you.

Well done G great run was a great idea so ! Sub 21 coming soon so !!!