HTC 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Well, this is the update that Vodafone seemingly want to push out OTA to my unlocked, bought-from-HTC 10. Puzzling!

corwill wrote: »
    Well, this is the update that Vodafone seemingly want to push out OTA to my unlocked, bought-from-HTC 10. Puzzling!

I got that at the beginning too. I downloaded it and then when it asked what apps I wanted to install, I selected none. You can then uninstall the update (it's a Vodafone app). Never received the notification again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,729 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I'd string them up by the balls... Complain on their facebook page, through twitter and on instagram... I'd also write to their customer care Dept and pr people.

That **** really infuriates me. It's obnoxious and taking liberties... They have no right to spam you with their crapware

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Bluefoam wrote: »
    I'd string them up by the balls... Complain on their facebook page, through twitter and on instagram... I'd also write to their customer care Dept and pr people.

That **** really infuriates me. It's obnoxious and taking liberties... They have no right to spam you with their crapware

And if you press now does it reappear after the next reboot? I presume it won't since it gives a maybe later option too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Bradz213

Went to pull the trigger on the HTC 10 today. The voucher code still worked but when I went to confirm purchase the price jumped back to £569.99. I confirmed for the craic and it said the voucher was no longer valid. Maybe I shouldn't be trying to buy a new phone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Flashed the new viper rom today has been my favorite custom rom for htc last few years. Like it so far apart from obviously losing all my data again!!.

I am having this problem with google backing up data and cant find any info online to fix it.

See i have a Galaxy tab s2 which i originally had my main google account on as well as my m9. So what happen was every time i start over with the 10 now it gives me the option to restore the backup from my tablet!!. I have since in the last month deleted that account from my tablet and made a new one.

Google has not backed up any of my data from my main account since from the 10 it always just goes back to that backup from the tablet.

Has anyone any ideas how to fix this?

I have everything turned on to sync and backup on my htc 10 to my main gmail address but it doesnt seem to be working.

I know htc backup doesnt work with the newest version of Android yet it wouldnt be the same for google i assume?

Has anybody who purchased the phone from 3 received the update that contained the camera improvements?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

Bradz213 wrote: »
    Has anybody who purchased the phone from 3 received the update that contained the camera improvements?

What's the version you got? I've got the 8.10 and I remember updating the HTC Camera app as soon as I turned the phone on for the first time, but I don't know if that's the big camera update or not.

I don't own the phone. Was looking to get it from HTC UK as the updates would arrive quicker but just wondering has the network locked version been updated. Was thinking of picking one up the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,540 ✭✭✭micks_address

Ordered from three today... Anyone know where you can source a case locally in Dublin? Would like something short term for safety.. Is there a silicone one included in box like there was with m8?

Went for the topaz gold colour... Had the grey m8..

Looking forward to getting phone
    Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Has anyone had a HTC 10 unlocked successfully?

That's a no then? It's not unlockable yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭seanman is me

I could not find any in Dublin but maybe some of the unofficial phone shops have them now....

I bouught online at spigen. 5 day delivery time. Good cases.

Screen protector too is very good and very easy to put on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,444 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I just bought a cheap one on ebay
    I will get the official one when it becomes available.... if it ever does....

Screen protector too is very good and very easy to put on.

Is that a Spigen film screen protector?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

Has anyone had a HTC 10 unlocked successfully?

That's a no then? It's not unlockable yet?
    Ye after a bit of back and forth, I got my 10 unlock code from 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Ye after a bit of back and forth, I got my 10 unlock code from 3.

How? I tried as well, even in their website they say you "only" need to have topped up 130 €, but when I requested it they specified I had to top up that amount after you buy the phone, past credit won't be considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

Just got an update for my HTC10, over 400mb and includes the camera update. I had to manually check for update, so it may have been there waiting for a while.

EDIT: Update complete and now on software 1.53.771.6. Camera functionality has gone Pro

MoodeRator wrote: »
    Just got an update for my HTC10, over 400mb and includes the camera update. I had to manually check for update, so it may have been there waiting for a while.

What software version do you have? I'm on 1.30.401.1.

EDIT: Update complete and now on software 1.53.771.6. Camera functionality has gone Pro

Did you buy SIM free or through 3?

I took the plunge yesterday and bought from 3. Haven't even unboxed yet. Have to try pick up a case and tempered glass screen protector but everybody giving out about the fit of the screen protectors.

Have up using screen protectors a year or two ago. When I sold my M9, it only had a couple of very faint scratches that you could only see in certain light.

Not brave enough to go without a case, though :D

What software version do you have? I'm on 1.30.401.1.

me too... mine ran update last week.

edit: just checked for updates and it says there are none available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

I bought through 3.

really?

so 3 has gotten updates ahead of a HTC purchased phone!!!!!

crazy

Basil3 wrote: »
    Have up using screen protectors a year or two ago. When I sold my M9, it only had a couple of very faint scratches that you could only see in certain light.

Not brave enough to go without a case, though :D

I've never bothered with screen protectors as I usually mess them up but was thinking of trying again.
    Had a case on my M8 for about 2 weeks then took it off. Dropped it the day i took the case off and chipped the edges so never bothered putting one back on.

Don't use a case of the Z5 compact at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Seve OB wrote: »
    really?

so 3 has gotten updates ahead of a HTC purchased phone!!!!!

crazy

Doubt that, I got mine directly from HTC at launch and it had a day one update and then I had another update last week.

3 and other networks test the update before they role them out.

The only way to get them quicker is through HTC direct. Sometimes you have to force the phone to look for the update.

Doubt that, I got mine directly from HTC at launch and it had a day one update and then I had another update last week.

3 and other networks test the update before they role them out.

The only way to get them quicker is through HTC direct. Sometimes you have to force the phone to look for the update.

what do you doubt? that 3 have the update ahead of an unlocked htc phone? I would have thought the same, but the guy above reckons his 3 phone is running a later software version than mine.

I got mine from htc uk about 10 days ago. it updated straight away an it had another update during the week last week.

Mine is Android version 6.0.1
    Software no 1.30.401.1

what do you doubt? that 3 have the update ahead of an unlocked htc phone? I would have thought the same, but the guy above reckons his 3 phone is running a later software version than mine.

I got mine from htc uk about 10 days ago. it updated straight away an it had another update during the week last week.

Mine is Android version 6.0.1
    Software no 1.30.401.1

Yeah, it's an interesting one. Maybe 3 merge a couple of changes from the latest base and set the version number.

I know some of the custom ROMs like Viper have already integrated latest stuff from software versions that haven't been pushed to unlocked EU devices yet.

Can only be a good thing that carriers are on the ball with software updates though, it's awesome.

interesting, I have pro function on my camera :confused:

me too... mine ran update last week.

edit: just checked for updates and it says there are none available

Saw on XDA that a 1.5xx.etc update is on its way to Europe, US network models have gotten it.