Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,435 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Well, I can't argue with that but one thing I would suggest we are looking at a long recession simply due to us having got too good at produce bulk quantities of relatively cheap food. The fact us in Western Europe have increased our cost base for stuff and are struggling to make a margin is of little consequence until we get a food price spike or we take a hit and everyone else catches up.

Every body is chasing efficiency and higher numbers to sustain the same income

Slava Ukrainii

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

Every body is chasing efficiency and higher numbers to sustain the same income

If you look at it objectively this is a race to the bottom. All the spin about white gold was just that. Spin. What is the answer?
    Well they do say doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is the definition of lunacy. There just has to be a better way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,462 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It's a race to the bottom in every business. Ye dairy guys are just not used to it. Too protected under the milk quotas.

To be fair Patsy I don't see why this has to be about who is suffering the most. If a dairy farmer loses his shirt, it doesn't nessacerily make you any richer. If we all just continue down the road of producing commodities, then we shouldn't be too surprised if we end up having a lot in common with coffee bean producers.

Maybe it's time to introduce fair trade meat,milk and other farm products. It's unreasonable to expect farmers to produce below cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    To be fair Patsy I don't see why this has to be about who is suffering the most. If a dairy farmer loses his shirt, it doesn't nessacerily make you any richer. If we all just continue down the road of producing commodities, then we shouldn't be too surprised if we end up having a lot in common with coffee bean producers.

Maybe it's time to introduce fair trade meat,milk and other farm products. It's unreasonable to expect farmers to produce below cost.

The ultimate problem is in the wester world we just do not put any value on food anymore! We have become obsessed with material wealth instead, ya spend 1/2 your life chasing the 161 car and the big semi-d house, and once ya get there nether are good enough and you have to upsize again etc. However food wise it doesn't matter the f*ck the fact that you eat processed crap as 80% of your daily diet for much your life. Which will make a much much bigger difference on the quality of your life and both your physical and mental health than any sort of material goods could ever make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Milked out wrote: »
    Tbh when I hear figures like that I'd have to call bs. Again the furthest I've 'heard' is two lads bidding up to 350/acre dairy and tillage with tillage man winning out. Unless someone says theyre paying it or receiving it I couldn't believe the 500/acre

I hope mr tillage man grows veg or drugs as that's just shy of what a wheat crop will cost him.
    Previous tenant was a veg crowd, new fella it's grain. Couldn't understand it but then some would say I'm worse for buying land to farm it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,791 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Previous tenant was a veg crowd, new fella it's grain. Couldn't understand it but then some would say I'm worse for buying land to farm it.....

900/acre for potato ground close to me. Not bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

whelan2 wrote: »
    900/acre for potato ground close to me. Not bull****

It will probably be worthless for the next 3yrs though ha.

Timmaay wrote: »

Crazy money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭enricoh

1000 an acre offered for land beside me by a lad doing parsnips. Land hadn't seen a plough in 30 years. Apparently he saves a fortune on fertilizer that way. My garden is 3/4 of an acre I might ring yer man n offer it!

enricoh wrote: »
    1000 an acre offered for land beside me by a lad doing parsnips. Land hadn't seen a plough in 30 years. Apparently he saves a fortune on fertilizer that way. My garden is 3/4 of an acre I might ring yer man n offer it!
    Yeah this had been in dairy paddocks for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

One thing talking up about getting this money but actually being paid is a different story. The local agri contractor here has dropped a few customers he knew were slow payers and has a few in court proceedings over debt.
    Flip side is farm at home is let on long term for 120/acre to farmer with it on his milking platform, but he's relaying half the slats in cubicle shed this year(keeps his beef stock there) after re-sheeting 1 and painting all the sheds last year. Swings and roundabouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

But think of the development potential...:pac:

The tiger might roar again:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Timmaay wrote: »

Excellent Swheat after spuds.

Can we not face up to the fact that Irish dairy farmers are mining their true worth to sustain an industry that has persuaded us that we can burn the competition? Really?

#grasstomilk and you're a millionaire....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Dawggone wrote: »
    Can we not face up to the fact that Irish dairy farmers are mining their true worth to sustain an industry that has persuaded us that we can burn the competition? Really?

#grasstomilk and you're a millionaire....:)

Nearly convinced here the local grass to milk guys have won the euro millions, have tagged on an extra 500 cows the last 2 years opened up a new dairy unit on a greenfield site 50 unit rotary/350 outdoor cubicles and dropped the guts of 2 million on top of this buying and reclaiming 200 acres that's on a floodplain bordering them and here I am scratching my head wonder where I'm going wrong trying to keep the show on the road haha

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Nearly convinced here the local grass to milk guys have won the euro millions, have tagged on an extra 500 cows the last 2 years opened up a new dairy unit on a greenfield site 50 unit rotary/350 outdoor cubicles and dropped the guts of 2 million on top of this buying and reclaiming 200 acres that's on a floodplain bordering them and here I am scratching my head wonder where I'm going wrong trying to keep the show on the road haha

Tut, tut.
    You must have a feed wagon...:)

Dawggone wrote: »
    Tut, tut.
    You must have a feed wagon...:)

Haven't the price of one, do have a good milky herd of holstein cows though and would be putting in a nice bit of feed....
    ole chap was at a wake last night and was got chatting local grass to milk guy couldn't get over the group of maiden heifers we had grazing beside the main road where's your young lad going with them was his best line , would be a lot of Shottle through them so where big typey white heifers, would be a endangered species around my area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Tbh when I hear figures like that I'd have to call bs. Again the furthest I've 'heard' is two lads bidding up to 350/acre dairy and tillage with tillage man winning out. Unless someone says theyre paying it or receiving it I couldn't believe the 500/acre
    Teagasc must be lying then, they mentioed it on the local radio farm program.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    They hardly confused it with ha? Seeing as most of their forms are in ha now not acres. Crazy if true.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    They hardly confused it with ha? Seeing as most of their forms are in ha now not acres. Crazy if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

FJ supposedly written FOR us farmers heading earlier in the year "record rent prices" my landlord was looking for more soon after, last week "spiralling contractor rates".!is the FJ trying to ride us all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

The reality is if you don't include a land charge when doing the ole sums.

You are basically giving siobhan Talbot or Larry Goodman or whoever the use of your land for free.

kevthegaff wrote: »
    ".!is the FJ trying to ride us all..

You been reading the lonely hearts page!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

No it was acres. €200/acre for land around here would be considered cheap.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/evanmcsan/sanders-claims-cbs-canceled-agriculture-interview-because-mo

Could this be influencing us production costs and also turning consumers away from dairy products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭billie holiday

kevthegaff wrote: »
    FJ supposedly written FOR us farmers heading earlier in the year "record rent prices" my landlord was looking for more soon after, last week "spiralling contractor rates".!is the FJ trying to ride us all..

"Fearlessly on the farmers side"
    Ornua sponsor ifj podcasts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

jaymla627 wrote: »
    could also be he s on the right track too

keep going wrote: »
    could also be he s on the right track too

Time will tell, a wet November and December similar to last winter and a lot of this reclaimed/bought ground will be under 6-7 feet of water.
    I personally don't think theirs any cow type/system that can pay back 4-5 grand debt per cow at current prices not having a whinge about their system it seems to be working well and have no bias towards crossbreeds even have a nice few here but am getting more disappointed as they mature compared to Holstein herdmates simply aren't producing the litres for the feed and do they"re getting,

Hard to beat a good holstein cow.