Waffletraktor wrote: » Well, I can't argue with that but one thing I would suggest we are looking at a long recession simply due to us having got too good at produce bulk quantities of relatively cheap food. The fact us in Western Europe have increased our cost base for stuff and are struggling to make a margin is of little consequence until we get a food price spike or we take a hit and everyone else catches up.
Bass Reeves wrote: » Every body is chasing efficiency and higher numbers to sustain the same income
patsy_mccabe wrote: » It's a race to the bottom in every business. Ye dairy guys are just not used to it. Too protected under the milk quotas.
Farmer Ed wrote: » To be fair Patsy I don't see why this has to be about who is suffering the most. If a dairy farmer loses his shirt, it doesn't nessacerily make you any richer. If we all just continue down the road of producing commodities, then we shouldn't be too surprised if we end up having a lot in common with coffee bean producers. Maybe it's time to introduce fair trade meat,milk and other farm products. It's unreasonable to expect farmers to produce below cost.
Waffletraktor wrote: » Milked out wrote: » Tbh when I hear figures like that I'd have to call bs. Again the furthest I've 'heard' is two lads bidding up to 350/acre dairy and tillage with tillage man winning out. Unless someone says theyre paying it or receiving it I couldn't believe the 500/acre I hope mr tillage man grows veg or drugs as that's just shy of what a wheat crop will cost him.
Milked out wrote: » Tbh when I hear figures like that I'd have to call bs. Again the furthest I've 'heard' is two lads bidding up to 350/acre dairy and tillage with tillage man winning out. Unless someone says theyre paying it or receiving it I couldn't believe the 500/acre
Milked out wrote: » Previous tenant was a veg crowd, new fella it's grain. Couldn't understand it but then some would say I'm worse for buying land to farm it.....
whelan2 wrote: » 900/acre for potato ground close to me. Not bull****
Timmaay wrote: » It will probably be worthless for the next 3yrs though ha.
enricoh wrote: » 1000 an acre offered for land beside me by a lad doing parsnips. Land hadn't seen a plough in 30 years. Apparently he saves a fortune on fertilizer that way. My garden is 3/4 of an acre I might ring yer man n offer it!
Dawggone wrote: » Can we not face up to the fact that Irish dairy farmers are mining their true worth to sustain an industry that has persuaded us that we can burn the competition? Really? #grasstomilk and you're a millionaire....:)
jaymla627 wrote: » Nearly convinced here the local grass to milk guys have won the euro millions, have tagged on an extra 500 cows the last 2 years opened up a new dairy unit on a greenfield site 50 unit rotary/350 outdoor cubicles and dropped the guts of 2 million on top of this buying and reclaiming 200 acres that's on a floodplain bordering them and here I am scratching my head wonder where I'm going wrong trying to keep the show on the road haha
Dawggone wrote: » Tut, tut. You must have a feed wagon...:)
Sam Kade wrote: » Milked out wrote: » Tbh when I hear figures like that I'd have to call bs. Again the furthest I've 'heard' is two lads bidding up to 350/acre dairy and tillage with tillage man winning out. Unless someone says theyre paying it or receiving it I couldn't believe the 500/acre Teagasc must be lying then, they mentioed it on the local radio farm program.
kevthegaff wrote: » ".!is the FJ trying to ride us all..
Milked out wrote: » They hardly confused it with ha? Seeing as most of their forms are in ha now not acres. Crazy if true.
kevthegaff wrote: » FJ supposedly written FOR us farmers heading earlier in the year "record rent prices" my landlord was looking for more soon after, last week "spiralling contractor rates".!is the FJ trying to ride us all..
keep going wrote: » could also be he s on the right track too