If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Happy Pears twins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

What a lovely thread.

Between being gay,<mod snip>.....</mod snip> and annoying most of an entire generation of Greystone locals (whilst secretly wishing they lived in Dalkey) I don't know how they find time to run a successful business.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

What a lovely thread.

Between being gay, <mod snip>.....</mod snip> , and annoying most of an entire generation of Greystone locals (whilst secretly wishing they lived in Dalkey) I don't know how they find time to run a successful business.
    Think they aren't gay in fact (though obviously that is a comment in itself about Veganism). By the way being Gay is fine we all agree and even if we don't.

edanto wrote: »
    If I get cancer, I won't be going to the Happy Pear for some mung beans, don't get me wrong. I'll be going straight to an oncologist and doing exactly what they recommend...

Oh then we are in absolute agreement. And also where you concede their claims are not "perfect", which sounds to me like you are putting a gloss on it. I would have thought in your job the accuracy of claims is important and so their statement is either correct, or not, or might be correct if they added qualifications.

2011 wrote: »
    You need to stop getting so worked up about other people's success.
    So what if they make money from promoting and selling healthy food?

I'm not getting worked up, it's not in the least bit personal by me. Hence I didn't comment at all on other posts that refer to their private lives. You, on the other hand, know them, worked for them albeit years ago etc. etc. so I do appreciate why you got sweary and personal, but I'm not that bothered by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Some people have clearly bought into the hype and are prepared to voraciously defend them against any criticism..

Similarly I suspect to those willing to queue for hours in the rain for a coffee..

It clearly demonstrates just how effective their marketing strategy is..

That level of brand loyalty is difficult to achieve...

While the rest of us are probably more content, sitting warm, dry and toasty and eating a fry in the 3q's.. I know I am :D

Just different strokes... Nothing for people to get antsy about.

Each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Swanner wrote: »
    Some people have clearly bought into the hype and are prepared to voraciously defend them against any criticism..

Absolutely, it's verging on cult-like.

Claiming that their beans can fight cancer is a manipulative and dangerous sales pitch to the wrong ears, I believe it was Steve Jobs who delayed conventional treatment believing he could cure his cancer by eating carrots.

I'm not at all surprised to see healthy skepticism being interpreted as 'typical irish begrudery' by the Happy Pear-ites in this thread.

I'm sure they're really nice guys etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Swanner wrote:
    While the rest of us are probably more content, sitting warm, dry and toasty and eating a fry in the 3q's.. I know I am

Then a coffee in caffe De stelle. Yum. I'm a proper fan boy for their coffee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

I'll be in the "Happy Pear" in twenty minutes to see what all the fuss is about.
    I'll report back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,263 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It's a safe bet to assume both lads have looked at this thread :pac:

Claiming that their beans can fight cancer is a manipulative and dangerous sales pitch to the wrong ears, I believe it was Steve Jobs who delayed conventional treatment believing he could cure his cancer by eating carrots.

I'm not at all surprised to see healthy skepticism being interpreted as 'typical irish begrudery' by the Happy Pear-ites in this thread.

I'm sure they're really nice guys etc...

Some of just like their food and cook some of their recipes. I doubt the majority of people on here who are supporting the brothers evangelically follow the Happy Pear philosophy, but they make some good and healthy food products and have produced a couple of cookbooks that have some tasty and nutritious recipes.

My first port of call if I was diagnosed with cancer would not be the Happy Pear. It would be a medical expert in a hospital. But neither do I begrudge the brothers their success or feel the need to knock and rubbish everything they do. They are not claiming that they can cure cancer, or setting themselves up as an alternative to proper medical care; they are simply encouraging healthy eating as a way of helping to combat illness or aid recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

I'll be in the "Happy Pear" in twenty minutes to see what all the fuss is about.
    I'll report back.

Hot chocolate......gooood
    Seedy nutty cookie thing.......goooood
    Alternative twice thingy...........gooooood
    However expensive enough but that's ok. I'd rather have good expensive nosh than bad cheap gruel...I'll be back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Mec27 wrote: »
    They actually look pretty good for irish people and their ages

how old are they?

They are not claiming that they can cure cancer, or setting themselves up as an alternative to proper medical care; they are simply encouraging healthy eating as a way of helping to combat illness or aid recovery.

They specifically state that the hero mix fights cancer. There is no scientific evidence to back such a claim .

Don't see Aldi making such claims regarding their weekly super 6 offers.

Eating fruit and veg from Aldi or tesco is just as healthy as anything they have to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 ohmplate

Most of their food isn't particularly healthy. People assume vegetarian = heathy, it doesn't.

Anyway I was only there once and was served up an enormous bowl of al dente dahl. It shouldn't be al dente unfortunately. My mot had a giant bowl of some sort of cheesy pasta.

Not very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I know people that know them, but all I know is that their Pesto is fecking gorgeous.

A tad expensive maybe, but fecking gorgeous and isn't like that gulpy shyte that you buy from jars in supermarkets or tubs from the likes of Lidl.

Actually once got Pesto from Donnybrook Fair also in Greystones and I reckon freshly cut silage would have been better
    And it was as bloody expensive. :mad:

Don't know about the rest of the Happy Pear stuff ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Some of just like their food and cook some of their recipes. I doubt the majority of people on here who are supporting the brothers evangelically follow the Happy Pear philosophy, but they make some good and healthy food products and have produced a couple of cookbooks that have some tasty and nutritious recipes.

My first port of call if I was diagnosed with cancer would not be the Happy Pear. It would be a medical expert in a hospital. But neither do I begrudge the brothers their success or feel the need to knock and rubbish everything they do. They are not claiming that they can cure cancer, or setting themselves up as an alternative to proper medical care; they are simply encouraging healthy eating as a way of helping to combat illness or aid recovery.

I see you still haven't figured out the difference between begrudgery and criticism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

jmayo wrote: »
    I know people that know them, but all I know is that their Pesto is fecking gorgeous.

A tad expensive maybe, but fecking gorgeous and isn't like that gulpy shyte that you buy from jars in supermarkets or tubs from the likes of Lidl.

Actually once got Pesto from Donnybrook Fair also in Greystones and I reckon freshly cut silage would have been better
    And it was as bloody expensive. :mad:

Don't know about the rest of the Happy Pear stuff ?

I was going to let it go, but then you slagged off Lidl pesto!

Love the green one in the tub

I see you still haven't figured out the difference between begrudgery and criticism.

Nope. I am well aware of the difference. I've seen lots of criticism on here, and also some begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Yeah. It's a marketeers wet dream...

They've built a massively successful brand out of nothing and that'll always come with a large spotlight and a good dose of begrudgery.

Yeah. It's a marketeers wet dream...

They've built a massively successful brand out of nothing and that'll always come with a large spotlight and a good dose of begrudgery.

And a lot of people who trot out the begrudgery line to drown out any criticism whatsoever of anything Irish. So we all gotta love Bono and Bertie and Westlife and Roz Purcell cos...well if you don't...it's the b word...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,139 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

And a lot of people who trot out the begrudgery line to drown out any criticism whatsoever of anything Irish. So we all gotta love Bono and Bertie and Westlife and Roz Purcell cos...well if you don't...it's the b word...

total begrudgery. and absolutely nothing to do with bono being a c*nt, bertie being as corrupt as they come, westlife being nothing more than a covers band and roz purcell being, well, actually not so sure who she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

Similarly I suspect to those willing to queue for hours in the rain for a coffee.

Slight exaggeration there don't you think ?:rolleyes:

I love their food and the cafe. The guys themselves are a bit mad but at the end of the day, who are they hurting ?

I say fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,719 ✭✭✭✭ted1

total begrudgery. and absolutely nothing to do with bono being a c*nt, bertie being as corrupt as they come, westlife being nothing more than a covers band and roz purcell being, well, actually not so sure who she is.

Bono is the only one you mentioned that is an emotion based opinion. The rest are factual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,139 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

ted1 wrote: »
    Bono is the only one you mentioned that is an emotion based opinion. The rest are factual

oh i thought the bono thing was pretty factual.

Bit of a leap there, Conor.

Sheesh, the begrudgery.

You have to love them all. They are Irish and thus any criticism is based on begrudgery.

Bit of a leap there, Conor.

Not at all. In fact, in cases like Bono, well he has made far more than the Happy Pear Twins, so any criticism must be based on extreme begrudgery.

That's the great thing with the begrudgery defence. It can be trotted out every time, in any circumstances, once there is some connection with Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Nope. I am well aware of the difference. I've seen lots of criticism on here, and also some begrudgery.

Well could you point it out to me then please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

So if you dislike them its begrudgery and you like them you're a fanboy. Can't really win can ya?