Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It is, they have it in their posession recovered from the scene, they want to know about its movements...

Car in front truck is victims Passat, car behind is shooters 7 Series BMW which Gardaí referring to as 5 Series...
    http://www.irishtimes.com/polopoly_fs/1.2659344.1464117361!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_620_330/image.jpg

They're also towing a Hyundai coupe there. I wonder about it's involvement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭Benevolent Misanthrope

smash wrote: »
    They're also towing a Hyundai coupe there. I wonder about it's involvement.
    Was parked beside car Hutch was getting into - could have DNA evidence etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

I wish i could afford to drive a VW Passat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

So why would the shooter hand himself in ? doesn't make sense - unless he's not part of the gang and was pressured into it ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

TheNap wrote: »
    I wish i could afford to drive a VW Passat

Not sure what relevance this has to the victim or the thread? the murdered man worked as a taxi man,maybe if you went out and worked you could afford one.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Not sure what relevance this has to the victim or the thread? the murdered man worked as a taxi man,maybe if you went out and worked you could afford one.
    Or if you made your money from crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

blue_blue wrote: »
    I, for one, am glad Gareth Hutch is dead. All these scumbags can continue killing each other. It means the state won't be paying for their social welfare for the rest of their disgusting lives wearing tracksuits.

And where might you be from good sir?Not the north inner city im guessing.

Yeah victim must of really been living it up living in them corporation flats great life from crime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭coniosumadre

So why would the shooter hand himself in ? doesn't make sense - unless he's not part of the gang and was pressured into it ?
    Exactly. I'd imagine the guy who handed himself in was the guy who's house was raided around the corner. If he was one of the two directly involved, I seriously doubt he would of handed himself in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

And what about the innocents that are killed ?

Why would you give that dog the pleasure of responding to its comment? I just ignore them obvious attention seeking trolls out for shock value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Yeah victim must of really been living it up living in them corporation flats great life from crime.

Ah sure God love all them poor Hutchs - not a penny between them. :angel:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Can you live in social housing while working full time as a taximan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭gangstergossip

depends how much you earn i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

humberklog wrote: »
    The Garreth Hutch assassination looks clunky but it was effective. The killers got into a position of observation and we're able to remain there, they made sure to kill Garreth and they escaped the scene.

Firing over the shoulder of his accomplice surely wouldn't be best practice but I thought it showed a comfort with each other rather than a haphazard moment. He took those shots to make sure of the kill. That takes experience and confidence.

"Best Practice", "Comfortable", "experience and confidence".

You reckon they took training courses ?

Good God man, the papers are correct, Irish people are becoming indifferent to the killings at this stage when commentary on the quality of the killers is being discussed with such descriptiveness.

Lol was wondering where you disappeared to thought you might have gone into hiding

i only pop up when their bullets are running low lol

I can't think of a better way to avoid hassle from CAB (other than to get a real job, I suppose).

whats saorseans new twitter accounts name is it still saorsean?

I can't think of a better way to avoid hassle from CAB (other than to get a real job, I suppose).

Yeah serious boss with that passat worth about 5 grand,escobar hutch they called him just stayed in that flat while under threat so cab wouldnt get to him,was on his way to his malahide mansion when killed.

depends how much you earn declare i suppose
    FYP

Yeah serious boss with that passat worth about 5 grand,escobar hutch they called him just stayed in that flat while under threat so cab wouldnt get to him,was on his way to his malahide mansion when killed.

He was involved in the attempted bank robbery in Lucan and I very much doubt that was his first or last "job" ever. The guy was a criminal, maybe a "retired" criminal but a criminal none the same (how do you "retire" as a criminal? Do HR ring you up one day and tell you you've hit the shceme retirement age??)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Exactly. I'd imagine the guy who handed himself in was the guy who's house was raided around the corner. If he was one of the two directly involved, I seriously doubt he would of handed himself in.

There was 2 shooters. After that fella handed himself in, the media said gardai were looking for one other person in connection to it.

Coat22 wrote: »
    He was involved in the attempted bank robbery in Lucan and I very much doubt that was his first or last "job" ever. The guy was a criminal, maybe a "retired" criminal but a criminal none the same (how do you "retire" as a criminal? Do HR ring you up one day and tell you you've hit the shceme retirement age??)

No idea where your going with this :confused: I have no access to the mans financial details either do you,the assumptions he has money because he drove a passat is hilarious,if he was worth money he wouldnt be begging the council to move him from his ground floor flat.

The general had more money than you or I, he drove a ****ty Renault 5 and he still queued up for his dole without fail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

The general had more money than you or I, he still queued up for his dole without fail!

And also had houses in ranelagh and upmarket Cowper downs,collected his dole as a finger to the authorities than actual need, not all these lads are loaded

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

Coat22 wrote: »

He was acquitted of that. But sure dont let that stop your ramblings. If he was the millionaire mastermind criminal you believe you think he would be sitting in his council flat in Dublin City Centre like a sitting duck. Wheres his major convictions either.

Use some logic ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

He was acquitted of that. But sure dont let that stop your ramblings. If he was the millionaire mastermind criminal you believe you think he would be sitting in his council flat in Dublin City Centre like a sitting duck. Wheres his major convictions either.

Use some logic ffs

Does that mean he wasn't involved ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭septictank

More top journalism, the Regency hotel has moved to Raheny.

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/courts/hutch-may-face-non-jury-trial-as-other-man-released-from-custody

That and the 7 series BMW, no wonder the Gards are getting nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 ciapen

eamonnq wrote: »
    Does that mean he wasn't involved ?

Aquitted = Not guilty,

So there wasn`t the evidence to say he was involved.

Use some logic ffs

So you honestly believe he had no involvement in that just because the state could not prove it beyond a reasonable doubt??

The robbery was foiled by the ERU. I'm assuming some escaped. Derek Hutch was jailed for it. Gareth Hutch suddenly went to live in Amsterdam for 2 years. Gardai and the DPP had enough evidence to seek and be granted a European arrest warrant for him. They couldn't prove in a court of law beyond a reasonable doubt that he was involved - fair enough. But you're either naeve or a sympatiser if you somehow believe this was all just either a big coincidence or some sort of set up.

I'm not a millionaire but I have my own house. I don't think anyone said he was a millionaire - but he has lived off the proceeds of crime. His uncle was allegedly involved in some of the biggest robberies in the history of the sate and yet most of the family all still live within a square mile or two - do you really think thats down to poverty or some other reason?

David Byrne hardly lived in Dalkey but did you see his funeral? Where they chose to live has nothing to do with how much they're worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,918 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The most strange thing about all this is how much it's been played out in full view of the public. Faces and names known of those involved save a couple of the killings. Only this morning I stumbled on the identity of flatcap, his Facebook page and him grinning away there in the 'new hat he got for Christmas'. Quite surreal.